PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby sMASH » November 14th, 2018, 7:12 pm

That's a bit much for him, I will hadda go there a and do that myself...

I could handle u sorrel and lime... Sans the spirits, so in a gensing form

Postby skylinechild » November 14th, 2018, 7:19 pm

sMASH wrote:That's a bit much for him, I will hadda go there a and do that myself...

I could handle u sorrel and lime... Sans the spirits, so in a gensing form

lol no scene... gensing lemon lime it is... :lol:

but in all seriousness....

just buy the USB to serial cable haltech recommends or any good stable usb to serial cable with a prolific chipset and stay away from the ebay junk.

use the site i gave you - www.cooldrives.com

link for cables that use the prolific chipset >>> http://www.cooldrives.com/index.php/ada ... l_chip=117

and once you learn how to setup the com ports you wont have any issues with changing it on the fly if needed.
8-)

Postby sMASH » November 14th, 2018, 9:58 pm

By chance does the software have a password?

Postby skylinechild » November 14th, 2018, 10:21 pm

sMASH wrote:By chance does the software have a password?

NO the haltech works as is.

once the cable is plugged in and com ports configured on the cable and the haltech software youre good to go.
hit go online and it should start communicating ( with the car) one time .

if you getting a prompt for a password then the serial cable youre using is at fault

its an issue thats well documented in the haltech webpages help section.

they all lead back to one resolution - buy a good usb to serial cable.

the other likely and very obscure thing that will cause this issue - is IF and i do say IF. - if the communication controller chip on the ECU itself is damaged.

very highly unlikely this would happen as in all the research i did earlier everyone just had to get proper cable - only one guy actually had to return the ecu for them to check that controller chip...and he was under warranty and they sorted him out.

Postby sMASH » November 14th, 2018, 10:41 pm

apparantly a tuner can set a password if they want to keep people from messing with the settings. well, he padnah gave him the passwords so he getting tru... all this is is cool rehersal, for when i ready to jump out... i will go down and take a try on the chunin....
thanks, for the help.

Postby skylinechild » November 15th, 2018, 12:29 am

sMASH wrote:apparantly a tuner can set a password if they want to keep people from messing with the settings. well, he padnah gave him the passwords so he getting tru... all this is is cool rehersal, for when i ready to jump out... i will go down and take a try on the chunin....
thanks, for the help.

i didnt know the haltech settings are password protected....look at that...u learn something new everyday. :lol:

i kno ( from general research) that when the adapter cable has issues communicating it will ask u to input a password...

Postby nervewrecker » November 15th, 2018, 9:39 pm

Collected back my pc from HCCA not too long ago.

16GB RAM ftw
AMD A10-6800K
New board and cooling system.

No more lag, wuckkin like oil

:evilbat:

Postby skylinechild » November 15th, 2018, 10:12 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Collected back my pc from HCCA not too long ago.

16GB RAM ftw
AMD A10-6800K

glad u got thru man.... and nice to see ur name in red...

so you go handle me up soon ???

Postby nervewrecker » November 15th, 2018, 10:13 pm

My boys flooded out

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » November 16th, 2018, 6:42 am

Another has problems with Windows 10 new November updates...my start button,micro Soft edge and few other adds nor working..

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » November 16th, 2018, 8:07 pm

Never mind I did a fresh install this morning..problem solved

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » November 16th, 2018, 8:11 pm

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 16th, 2018, 9:30 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Collected back my pc from HCCA not too long ago.

16GB RAM ftw
AMD A10-6800K

Did he put in this new board recently?

the A10 - 6800K isn't a good CPU for gaming given that we have Ryzen AMD CPU that are far superior.

For everything else though the 6800K is fine. But new modern games Ryzen is the way

Postby nervewrecker » November 16th, 2018, 9:32 pm

I don't game.
But for everything else so far, it very snappy.
I am 100% satisfied and would recommend hcca to anyone.
Very quick turnover and very affordable.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 16th, 2018, 9:55 pm

Yeah I know HCCA he is a very good fella. I eh see him in a while but great guy to do business with

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » November 18th, 2018, 12:56 am

Ryzen is the way...6 core ryzen 1st gen I'm running is worth it...

Postby nervewrecker » November 18th, 2018, 5:52 am

Got to understand I paid small money for the upgrade though. And im not a gamer.
So far ots been really snappy and none of the usual nonsense windows 10 had.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » November 18th, 2018, 9:01 am

:wink:
urbandilema wrote:Ryzen is the way...6 core ryzen 1st gen I'm running is worth it...

What model do you have and what would be the cost landed?

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » November 18th, 2018, 9:09 am

Ryzen 1600 6 c 12 t...runs nice with 16 gb of ddr4 ram..it came up around 1300 tt with taxes and shipping..
20180929_121204.jpeg

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 18th, 2018, 1:50 pm

I'm trying my best to hold out until Zen 2... But if a good deal pops up I might go for it. I require single thread performance more than multithread, and the original 1600 matches my current CPU (i3 6100) in single threaded benchmarks

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » November 18th, 2018, 5:29 pm

Yeah it's good but for video editing u cud for intel..did sum light editing for a school project in the programme I'm persueing.thats the reason for my build..wanted at first a i3 then end up with this build...gaming on it is great for fornite max setting ..the new forza it's excellent..great build and I'm satisfied for a while

Postby Ted_v2 » November 19th, 2018, 5:46 pm

Need some advice, have a flow modem with a built in router. Works upstairs in my house perfectly, built a shed at the front , with all my windows and doors burglar proof ect. The internet connection isnt what it was long time.

what could be done to get internet downstairs, need like a 25ft booster. All connections are wireless
was looking at something that plugs into your wall outlet and sends the signal thru ur 110v plug at a diff freq.

or a signal booster

what you all recommend.

Postby skylinechild » November 19th, 2018, 6:40 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Need some advice, have a flow modem with a built in router. Works upstairs in my house perfectly, built a shed at the front , with all my windows and doors burglar proof ect. The internet connection isnt what it was long time.

what could be done to get internet downstairs, need like a 25ft booster. All connections are wireless
was looking at something that plugs into your wall outlet and sends the signal thru ur 110v plug at a diff freq.

or a signal booster

what you all recommend.

you could try relocating your flow router - to a more centrally located area where u want the wifi - which is free

you can purchase a range extender - also called a repeater - about #350 or so....

you can do away with the flow router and buy your own high end unit and hook it up and just use the flow router as ur gateway.

if you have a old linksys router you can turn it into a repeater - indtead of buying one

heres how >>> https://lifehacker.com/how-to-extend-yo ... -915783308

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » November 19th, 2018, 9:38 pm

I have one of those extender works will...

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » November 19th, 2018, 9:40 pm

urbandilema wrote:I have one of those extender works will...
This is mines here...
20181119_213858.jpeg

garuda98

Postby garuda98 » November 20th, 2018, 12:58 am

have this ddr4 16gb 2666 for $1000 in anyone waa it.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » November 23rd, 2018, 12:32 pm

r3 2200g $65usd (out of stock)
r5 2600x $170usd (out of stock)
r5 2600 $145usd (in stock)

amazon had some good deals today , hope the first 2 return , wouldnt mind getting one of either.

AMD RYZEN 5 1600 $130usd on newegg (in stock)

Postby skylinechild » November 25th, 2018, 6:22 pm

not quite pc relate but anyone have any recommendations for a set of GOOD test leads for a multi meter.??

was using my meter outside today on the car - set the meter aside on a chair to reinstall a piece of trim - and the dog took it (rather stealthily) and chewed up the leads....

meter is fine.....no issues cosmetically or otherwise but i will need a set of leads.

dog however will be dealt with severely (soon)

cat 3 1000V & cat 4 600 volt test leads.
90 degree banana plug compatible

most of the amazon lead kits are only cat 2 and cat 3 compatible...and the ones that are cat 3 &4 are poorly made....

recommend me something.

Postby nervewrecker » November 25th, 2018, 6:28 pm

Fluke dealer right by you

Postby skylinechild » November 25th, 2018, 6:42 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Fluke dealer right by you

they go want meh kidney and left testicle for a lead kit.... and they go coast off on how i dont own a fluke buy buyin their fluke leads.... :lol: