Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby nervewrecker » November 25th, 2018, 6:56 pm

Amazon and ebay has crucial 500gb ssd for 65usd

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » December 29th, 2018, 3:39 pm

Guys, where can I buy a USB-C to HDMI cable? Need it for a Dell XPS 13 to a 4k smart TV. Thanks.

Postby skylinechild » December 29th, 2018, 5:44 pm

Soul Collector wrote:Guys, where can I buy a USB-C to HDMI cable? Need it for a Dell XPS 13 to a 4k smart TV. Thanks.

may get in the wizz or supertech.... failing those.... amazon for it.

Postby ismithx » December 29th, 2018, 7:57 pm

Wizz has at least in their pricelist

Postby Ted_v2 » December 29th, 2018, 10:03 pm

finally got my pc up and running, much thx to HCCA.

2tb mechanical drive
250GB SSD
New power supply
graphics card for HDMI out ect.

my 2C, SSDs really is a huge improvement in speed compared to mechanical drives.

Postby nervewrecker » December 29th, 2018, 10:33 pm

you leave the 120gb in the van or I see wrong?

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 29th, 2018, 11:50 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:finally got my pc up and running, much thx to HCCA.

2tb mechanical drive
250GB SSD
New power supply

my 2C, SSDs really is a huge improvement in speed compared to mechanical drives.

Yup, also using them as a cache drive for your mechanical drive is the best thing ever. Games load like wow

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » December 30th, 2018, 11:52 am

skylinechild wrote:
Soul Collector wrote:Guys, where can I buy a USB-C to HDMI cable? Need it for a Dell XPS 13 to a 4k smart TV. Thanks.

may get in the wizz or supertech.... failing those.... amazon for it.

Tried all those usual suspects but no one had. I'll really just get it off amazon and call it a day. Thanks.

Postby skylinechild » December 30th, 2018, 6:38 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:finally got my pc up and running, much thx to HCCA.

2tb mechanical drive
250GB SSD
New power supply

yup... you should get your hands on the latest ones from samsung..the 860 PRO series... those move nice.
the only downside to the samsung brand is on some AMD boards they dont play nicely...

Postby Ted_v2 » January 5th, 2019, 11:27 pm

any advice on setting up a home network?

have some files that i prefer to keep on the network and can be accessed by all devices. i saw horrible reviews from the WD cloud, but it seems like thats the perfect thing. can access from anywhere too.

Postby skylinechild » January 6th, 2019, 1:47 am

Ted_v2 wrote:any advice on setting up a home network?

have some files that i prefer to keep on the network and can be accessed by all devices. i saw horrible reviews from the WD cloud, but it seems like thats the perfect thing. can access from anywhere too.

get a go0d router that has usb 3.0 on it... get an external hard drive enclosure with UASP support or buy an external hard drive that has UASP support......

in the case of building your own external hard drive enclosure..
put your hard drive into enclosure and setup your router -look thru the manual to see how to configure ut - connect your external drive to the router and access ur files anywhere.

in the case of buying an external hard drive
setup your router -look thru the manual to see how to configure ut - connect your external drive to the router and access ur files anywhere.

putting your files on the cloud is nice but say you dont have internet... what then?
i always prefer my files be locally hosted for me....
they both have their pros and cons....

be sure to use a usb 3.0 cable when connecting ur external hard drive enclosure to the router :!:

Postby Ted_v2 » January 6th, 2019, 11:14 am

Have a extra ssd, would get a 3.0 enclosure.

Sent from my GT-I9060C using TriniTuner mobile app

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 6th, 2019, 1:51 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:any advice on setting up a home network?

What's the budget?

Postby skylinechild » January 6th, 2019, 8:10 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Have a extra ssd, would get a 3.0 enclosure.

make sure and get an enclosure thats usb 3.0 support with UASP support.

try to get an enclosure thats powered via usb so as to minimise the amount to cabling.

essentially you want just one cable from the router to the drive. that one usb cable will handle power and data. so be sure its a usb 3.0 cable. 8-)

Postby stev » January 7th, 2019, 10:03 am

anybody knows where i can get motherboard standoffs in this dam country?!?!?!

Postby ismithx » January 7th, 2019, 10:45 am

by meeeeeee you work in town?

Postby stev » January 7th, 2019, 1:11 pm

ismithx wrote:by meeeeeee you work in town?

nah bro, I'm close to Curepe...where in town? and how do u sell them?

Postby ismithx » January 7th, 2019, 1:29 pm

check PM

Postby skylinechild » January 7th, 2019, 1:47 pm

ismithx wrote:check PM

dat invitation is only for stev oar.... link i man too nuh...

Postby adnj » January 7th, 2019, 2:01 pm

skylinechild wrote:

try to get an enclosure thats powered via usb so as to minimise the amount to cabling.

essentially you want just one cable from the router to the drive. that one usb cable will handle power and data. so be sure its a usb 3.0 cable. 8-)

USB 3.0 specs include UASP support.

Postby skylinechild » January 7th, 2019, 2:04 pm

adnj wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

i know... yet some cheaper brands of enclosures dont support it.... me eah calling names....

Postby stev » January 7th, 2019, 11:06 pm

Thanks smithy but i need plenty....

i bought a 50pc pack on ebay for $3.72US :lol:

i should have some remaining after im finish if you all want them....basically im stripping my PC to be mounted on a backboard instead of a case....also tying to re-purpose a tiny laptop motherboard into an android box....will post some pics if i make any progress. lol

Postby adnj » January 8th, 2019, 2:47 am

skylinechild wrote:

i know... yet some cheaper brands of enclosures dont support it.... me eah calling names....[/quote]

I guess its just an optional part of the spec.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » January 18th, 2019, 8:57 pm

https://imgur.com/5MVzG6d

https://imgur.com/Duc72if

https://imgur.com/cAg1saO

getting the message above when trying to reinstall windows to hard drive, current went and am unable to start up windwows normally but not allowing me to

any suggestions

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » January 18th, 2019, 10:01 pm

you have a ups ? sounds like hardware failure.

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » January 18th, 2019, 11:52 pm

fred1266 wrote:https://imgur.com/5MVzG6d

getting the message above when trying to reinstall windows to hard drive, current went and am unable to start up windwows normally but not allowing me to

any suggestions

The reason why you're getting the message in the last image is because you're trying to install Windows on a 100mb partition.

Postby maj. tom » January 19th, 2019, 6:25 am

SnipeR wrote:

any suggestions

The reason why you're getting the message in the last image is because you're trying to install Windows on a 100mb partition.

Yeah, I'm sure you figured it out already fred, but just delete all the partitions and start over. Windows will manage the hard drive accordingly.

While you're here now is a good time to upgrade to a SSD and keep the hard drive as the media storage. I run my main system on a mere 120GB SSD and keep everything else on the hard drive, even my Google Drive sync. Windows 10 starts less than 5 seconds after the BIOS beep.

ShadowNos

Postby ShadowNos » January 19th, 2019, 10:34 am

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » January 20th, 2019, 3:19 pm

maj. tom wrote:
SnipeR wrote:

any suggestions

Yeah, I'm sure you figured it out already fred, but just delete all the partitions and start over. Windows will manage the hard drive accordingly.

While you're here now is a good time to upgrade to a SSD and keep the hard drive as the media storage. I run my main system on a mere 120GB SSD and keep everything else on the hard drive, even my Google Drive sync. Windows 10 starts less than 5 seconds after the BIOS beep.

hi everyone thanks for the replies it actually my teachers PC so have a SSD might be a waist

also i got the message on the normal partition hard drive

i didn't want to delete since he wanted to keep the files on his system cause they were important so was trying to install windows leaving the files so he could access it

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » January 20th, 2019, 3:20 pm

dean_spleen09 wrote:you have a ups ? sounds like hardware failure.

yea he has a UPS but i still feel the hard drive failed but not sure since i never encountered this issue