Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby stev » October 9th, 2019, 11:08 pm

Update: Everything is working great!

whats left to do:

*small amount of cable management (dam CPU cooler has messy cables)
*get a longer PCI extender so I can plug the GPU to the top slot
*2 more fans below
*install dust filters on the intake fans
*get Plexiglas for the front
*build a custom panel for the power button, light switch and USB ports

Plenty of space for a temperature display and other components including a custom water loop

1.jpg

Have to figure out how to make a panel for these stuff :|

2.jpg

HCCA

Postby HCCA » October 10th, 2019, 12:02 am

stev wrote:Update: Everything is working great!

whats left to do:

*small amount of cable management (dam CPU cooler has messy cables)
*get a longer PCI extender so I can plug the GPU to the top slot
*2 more fans below
*install dust filters on the intake fans
*get Plexiglas for the front
*build a custom panel for the power button, light switch and USB ports

Plenty of space for a temperature display and other components including a custom water loop

1.jpg

Have to figure out how to mhake a panel for these stuff :|

2.jpg

Spacious

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » October 11th, 2019, 12:59 am

jm3 wrote:
stev wrote:I somewhat finished the build but it looks like my CPU cooler has a bad pump :|

been troubleshooting for a couple hours....

anyone have a LGA1151 compatible cooler for sale?

need something temporary until I can RMA the Corsair Hydro

aio's are a set of nonsense lol a custom loop is only scary the first time you do it. you can do it pretty cheap with chinese pumps (they work just fine).
...until you spring your 1st leak.

I've been down that road.

AIOs please and thanks.

Postby RedVEVO » October 11th, 2019, 3:16 am

Where can I purchase Minecraft for PS4 in TT ?

Postby stev » October 11th, 2019, 5:08 pm

RedVEVO wrote:Where can I purchase Minecraft for PS4 in TT ?

Movietowne POS or C3

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » October 12th, 2019, 7:59 am

morning does anyone know the term open ports, someone was describing an issue am having when conneting to the servers and they were saying if i try opening the ports it should help

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » October 12th, 2019, 6:32 pm

RedVEVO wrote:Where can I purchase Minecraft for PS4 in TT ?

https://www.playstation.com/en-us/games/minecraft-ps4/

Look you could be playing it in less than 20 mins.
Or you is a disc collector o wah?

src1983

Postby src1983 » October 12th, 2019, 9:12 pm

fred1266 wrote:morning does anyone know the term open ports, someone was describing an issue am having when conneting to the servers and they were saying if i try opening the ports it should help

Open ports refer to channels that are open on your firewall to allow traffic through

For example standard RDP port is 3389.

To open ports you need to use port forwarding on your router which varies from router to router

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » October 12th, 2019, 10:42 pm

i have a flow router is it possible or should i get another router

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » October 13th, 2019, 7:29 am

fred1266 wrote:i have a flow router is it possible or should i get another router

login to router in browser , (most likely 192.168.100.1) click wireless , enter username admin password password.
Untitled.jpg

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » October 13th, 2019, 7:38 am

ok thanks mate

have one more question is opening the ports a good idea was watching videos and had me wondering if it even a good idea

as i said above certain time of the day lets say 9-3 i get kick out of the game server and they suggest opening the ports should help

from your experience will this be a good idea

thanks in adance

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » October 13th, 2019, 7:56 am

what game is it ?

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » October 13th, 2019, 8:23 am

dean_spleen09 wrote:what game is it ?

FIFA 20

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » October 13th, 2019, 8:24 am

but have the issue with every fifa i play

src1983

Postby src1983 » October 13th, 2019, 8:46 am

fred1266 wrote:ok thanks mate

have one more question is opening the ports a good idea was watching videos and had me wondering if it even a good idea

as i said above certain time of the day lets say 9-3 i get kick out of the game server and they suggest opening the ports should help

from your experience will this be a good idea

thanks in adance

You can open it when you playing and disable when you not. If you worried about security.

My firewall/router allows this

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 13th, 2019, 10:39 am

Mechanical keyboard for sale if anyone interested

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=747895

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » October 14th, 2019, 9:14 pm

dean_spleen09 wrote:
fred1266 wrote:i have a flow router is it possible or should i get another router

login to router in browser , (most likely 192.168.100.1) click wireless , enter username admin password password.

hi mate currently have the white flow modem and it doesn't have a name on on, i tired using 192.168.100.1 but page not being displayed

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » October 14th, 2019, 10:20 pm

open command prompt and enter ipconfig

Postby stev » October 14th, 2019, 10:24 pm

fred1266 wrote:
dean_spleen09 wrote:

hi mate currently have the white flow modem and it doesn't have a name on on, i tired using 192.168.100.1 but page not being displayed

the IP address of your gateway is the IP address of your router....open ;command prompt; from your start menu and type: ipconfig

the address u seeing under your 'default gateway' is what u need to use...

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » October 17th, 2019, 7:53 pm

thanks mate

Arris TG2492LG-FLO.

that the router i have by the way

Postby skylinechild » October 17th, 2019, 8:08 pm

just finished replacing fan on hp pavilion.

not hard nor was it totally easy - has to completely disassemble it to get to it - the fan on the underside of the main board. - SMH

my laptop also needs some work

i have to replace the base enclosure - i broke it by accident.....lol

src1983

Postby src1983 » October 21st, 2019, 9:56 am

I didn’t like the sagging tubes so I tried doing hard line and very pleased with the result

ImageImageImageImage

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 21st, 2019, 10:55 am

src1983 wrote:I didn’t like the sagging tubes so I tried doing hard line and very pleased with the result

ImageImageImageImage

Night and day difference bro very well done and them bends look perfect, you used a bending kit or you did it free hand?

src1983

Postby src1983 » October 21st, 2019, 11:21 am

iM@st@1 wrote:
src1983 wrote:I didn’t like the sagging tubes so I tried doing hard line and very pleased with the result

ImageImageImageImage

Night and day difference bro very well done and them bends look perfect, you used a bending kit or you did it free hand?

2 on the bottom is freehand. From the CPU to GPU those were done with a kit.

Got the tubes before the kit that’s the only reason why

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » November 1st, 2019, 5:30 pm

hello good day, have a pc issue, pc keeps restarting with no signal to screen, tried removing each ram 1 by 1 and switching on back to see if ram was an issue but seems not, any suggestions?

Postby hydroep » November 1st, 2019, 5:57 pm

slickrick777 wrote:hello good day, have a pc issue, pc keeps restarting with no signal to screen, tried removing each ram 1 by 1 and switching on back to see if ram was an issue but seems not, any suggestions?

You can try:

• Reseating the CPU
  • Changing the Power supply
  • Adding an external video card

But most of the time that symptom is indicative of a failed Motherboard.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 1st, 2019, 7:10 pm

slickrick777 wrote:hello good day, have a pc issue, pc keeps restarting with no signal to screen, tried removing each ram 1 by 1 and switching on back to see if ram was an issue but seems not, any suggestions?
How did you determine RAM is not an issue. How old is the system/components in the system.

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » November 1st, 2019, 10:24 pm

ok found the issue, was actually the 1.stick of the ram...

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » December 17th, 2019, 9:01 am

Hi guys quick question
https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B004CRSM ... asin_title

Above Is my current ram,

Apparently one of the stick don't work so have to buy a new set do I have to use back a 1866 KHz, cause not sure where I can get one on short notice so think about an 1600mhz ( hopefully 2x8 GB)

But if I do that Can I still use the 4GB one that's working

Postby Spitfir3 » December 17th, 2019, 11:35 am

fred1266 wrote:Hi guys quick question
https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B004CRSM ... asin_title

Above Is my current ram,

Apparently one of the stick don't work so have to buy a new set do I have to use back a 1866 KHz, cause not sure where I can get one on short notice so think about an 1600mhz ( hopefully 2x8 GB)

But if I do that Can I still use the 4GB one that's working

most boards ain't too picky when it comes to mixing and matching memory just keep in mind they'll all run to the speed of the lowest module