Looking for a good DLP HDTV Technician.

RoadWarrior

Looking for a good DLP HDTV Technician.

Postby RoadWarrior » September 16th, 2010, 4:24 pm

Didn't know where else to post this request, but this is the most widely read forum, here goes. As the title says, I need to contact a good DLP HDTV technician.

I have a Samsung 56" DLP HDTV that has developed white dots (stuck mirrors) all over the screen. I have researched the problem online & have concluded that the DMD chip or as Trini's say, the "mirror" needs to be replaced. This is a 30 minute job, the local agent is charging way too much for this job ($700) & they don't have the DMD chip in stock either.
Can anyone recommend a good, experienced DLP HDTV technician? Preferably from San Fernando / South.
Thanks.
Last edited by RoadWarrior on September 16th, 2010, 4:50 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Re: Looking for a good DLP HDTV Technician.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 16th, 2010, 4:26 pm

Try JD's Electronic Repairs, 10 Union Road, Marabella - Nick Khan (466-7840)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 16th, 2010, 5:55 pm

Also try Circuit Zone
they have a technician that repaired a HDTV for me, the TV was not bought there.

RoadWarrior, in this day and age, and for someone with your audio/videophile position, I'd forget DLP and look at a plasma. IMO its a better investment than trying to repair a DLP which can't compare in picture quality to plasma. With the DLP it might be the mirrors this time, the colour wheel next time and the bulb a few times in between. Go plasma! Budget permitting of course.

RoadWarrior

Postby RoadWarrior » September 16th, 2010, 6:57 pm

Rory, thanks.

Duane, thanks for your response. This Ultra Slim 1080P DLP HDTV is only 2.5 years old & I guess you have not seen the high quality picture of this model. It will compare to any LCD or Plasma.
A $15,000 TV should have quite a few years of servicable life left. It seems as though Samsung had some defective DMD chips used in their TV's, if I was in the USA I would probably get it repaired at no cost to me.
I hope when I get it fixed, no other problems crop up...knock on wood.

Any other recommendations for DLP HDTV technicians?
Thanks.

Postby sharkman121 » September 16th, 2010, 7:13 pm

I do believe i have the same model samsung as u do an had the same problem a couple years ago. I carried it by the agents for samsung, a factory in chagaunas. I forget the name of the place now but they are the local agents. Bought my tv at circuit zone as well.

Took less than a week before i got it back, working great since.

reynold1

Postby reynold1 » September 16th, 2010, 7:43 pm

the local agents are Luxsam Industries Ltd, opposite Kiss bakery Chaguanas.

Postby sharkman121 » September 16th, 2010, 7:44 pm

Luxamm!!!.... righttt

Postby wagonrunner » September 16th, 2010, 9:52 pm

sharkman121 wrote:Luxamm!!!.... righttt

they serviced a few Samsung products for me, and they're still going strong.

roadwarrior. check yuh PM

RoadWarrior

Postby RoadWarrior » September 16th, 2010, 10:38 pm

Thanks guys. Any more options?

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » September 16th, 2010, 10:41 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Try JD's Electronic Repairs, 10 Union Road, Marabella - Nick Khan (466-7840)

x 2.

Alot of companies like Pricesmart and stuff outsource their repairs..he's really good.

toyoman

Postby toyoman » September 17th, 2010, 7:58 am

charran 794-5307

fixed two sony tv's for me....50" & 51"

DreadPir8

Postby DreadPir8 » September 17th, 2010, 1:58 pm

What is the model of your TV?
Is it HLT5687SX/XAA?
I can get the chip and fix the problem.

Postby cinco » September 17th, 2010, 2:31 pm

sorry but samsung sux

RoadWarrior

Postby RoadWarrior » September 17th, 2010, 5:16 pm

DreadPir8,
It's a HLT5676SX/XAA, I believethey are similar...
check pm.
thanks

KURMAman, thanks for the recommendation....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 17th, 2010, 7:49 pm

cinco wrote:sorry but samsung sux
LOL really? Pray tell what is better?

Postby sharkman121 » September 17th, 2010, 7:58 pm

Samsumg is THE top tv brand in the world :|

followed closely by Sony and LG.

Sharp aint even come 4th..dey come 5th.

Postby cinco » September 17th, 2010, 11:27 pm

all my samsung tvs and monitors broke
crappy capacitors being the downfall it was a 3usd fix and about 10 mins but dam man it turned me off them completely
i like sharp tho :oops:

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » September 18th, 2010, 7:10 pm

it simple ppl.. SamSung tv's have authorized dealers in trinidad for warranty, service and repairs, so any problems, these dealers are able to provide good customer service

....while Sony and other brands dont...they have "factory warranty" which many local dealers use to their advantage, saying "well we cyah fix it..u hadda call de company."