Anyone here suffers with acid reflux/ gerd ?

Postby Damien » September 23rd, 2010, 10:06 pm

I've been to doctors and more doctors they give me the same medication over and over and again an the condition keeps worsening, i did alot of research online and read alot of reviews i stumbled across a cure that is tablet and medication free and it doesnt seem too bogus. have anyone of you tried this or what did you try ?

Any help appreciated thanks !!

here is the link www.heartburnnomore.com

playerskrew

Re: Anyone here suffers with acid reflux/ gerd ?

Postby playerskrew » September 23rd, 2010, 10:16 pm

40mg Pepcid, 1 a day after breakfast for 1 week....an yuh good...

Postby Damien » September 23rd, 2010, 10:22 pm

nah meng i tried all that and just immediate help but the problem comes back in a couple days

Postby Damien » September 23rd, 2010, 10:32 pm

if any body willing to dowload the book for me i'll pay them, i tried a couple times but not gettting through

rossi

Postby rossi » September 23rd, 2010, 10:51 pm

All this has to do with your DIET and STRESS.
Give oil,pepper,acidic drinks/foods(tomatoes,patchoi,etc),Coca Cola,curry(basically real spicy stuff) A REST!
Try this for about 2-2 1/2 months.
Take Nexium 20mg ONCE a day for an entire month. You can also try using Pepto Bismol from time to time during the day if you have bad flare ups.
You can try eating provisions (dasheen,yam,cassava,eddoes, the like....) but moreso eat alot of boiled foods during this period.
Try and smoke and drink less (if you can)
As for stress....boy relax yuhself nah! wamm?

I'm no doc, but my wife used to suffer with acid reflux real bad...she did what I stated above and she's ok now.

Postby SR » September 23rd, 2010, 11:07 pm

agreed with rossi's post

but suggest going to a doctor first

nexium needs to be taken an hr before meals as wel as you need to drink more water

Postby shogun » September 23rd, 2010, 11:20 pm

^rossi has great advice.
Sometimes there are underlying causes that if not resolved, will only have symptoms returning.
Try Dr Farfan @ West Shore Medical, he is probably the best in the country.
Oh yeah, try to stay away from chocolate and sweets as well.

Postby Damien » September 23rd, 2010, 11:39 pm

Guy's i tried all this i even had an endoscopy done ( real painfull ), the reflux gotten so bad i was diagnosed with asthma recently something that i never had. Right now i live on nexium and i also tried alot of other tablets and they dont work and i use these tablets daily, so far i've spent a pound and ah crown on meds and doctor visits with no sort of longterm cure as soon as you stop the tablet sypmtoms come back and their even worse than before.

i was doing some research about this and i came across the website above, a natural cure??
with further digging i came across this site www.apple-cider-vinegar-benefits.com have a read
i am going to the grocery first thing in the morning
Last edited by Damien on September 23rd, 2010, 11:49 pm, edited 2 times in total.

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » September 23rd, 2010, 11:42 pm

ah big bottle ah Dahee.....

zcarz

Postby zcarz » September 23rd, 2010, 11:51 pm

i suffer from acute penile agenisis.

Postby Damien » September 23rd, 2010, 11:53 pm

playerskrew wrote:ah big bottle ah Dahee.....

i tried that as well as yogurt too no big set of help

Postby Damien » September 23rd, 2010, 11:54 pm

zcarz wrote:i suffer from acute penile agenisis.

you should get that removed man it hurts to sit nah :|

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 23rd, 2010, 11:59 pm

shogun wrote:^rossi has great advice.
Sometimes there are underlying causes that if not resolved, will only have symptoms returning.
Dr Farfan is a great doctor. He did an endoscopy for me because of reflux. After the results came it turned out that I didnt really have reflux from food, but a post nasal drip that aggravated the reflux. Some nexium and nasal spray and I was good.

stay away from oily food. Spicy food isnt really a bother as much as oil.

Nexium is a proton pump inhibitor so it slows down the production of acid in your stomach giving you relief.

Postby Damien » September 24th, 2010, 12:06 am

shogun wrote:^rossi has great advice.
Dr Farfan is a great doctor. He did an endoscopy for me because of reflux. After the results came it turned out that I didnt really have reflux from food, but a post nasal drip that aggravated the reflux. Some nexium and nasal spray and I was good.

stay away from oily food. Spicy food isnt really a bother as much as oil.

Nexium is a proton pump inhibitor so it slows down the production of acid in your stomach giving you relief.

but i am reading alot that people taking these tablets constantly with only immediate relief, i am taking these tablets way to long with no dramatic results and the symptoms are getting worse and worse, i have also been to about twelve different doctors that all give you the same medications in just minor variations . take a read on the website i posted above and see if its worth a try

Postby foss » September 24th, 2010, 12:14 am

suck some box :|

zcarz

Postby zcarz » September 24th, 2010, 12:20 am

don't know bout that link.. anyway i have acid reflux and got an ulcer that healed quickly (thankfully).food needs to be eaten on time, i use maalox liquid for instant relief and a course of pantecta for 2 weeks if it flares up badly. diovol is also a good option for instant relief.

Postby Damien » September 24th, 2010, 12:22 am

zcarz wrote:don't know bout that link.. anyway i have acid reflux and got an ulcer that healed quickly (thankfully).food needs to be eaten on time, i use maalox liquid for instant relief and a course of pantecta for 2 weeks if it flares up badly. diovol is also a good option for instant relief.

what were your symptoms?

zcarz

Postby zcarz » September 24th, 2010, 12:31 am

Damien wrote:
zcarz wrote:don't know bout that link.. anyway i have acid reflux and got an ulcer that healed quickly (thankfully).food needs to be eaten on time, i use maalox liquid for instant relief and a course of pantecta for 2 weeks if it flares up badly. diovol is also a good option for instant relief.

what were your symptoms?

heartburn, very bad abdominal pain that would limit my productivity for hours. i also developed asthma. now my symptoms have gone, due to the right medication and eating properly.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 24th, 2010, 12:32 am

^ have you done an endoscopy?
perhaps you should, that's the best way to see what is really going on inside your esophagus and stomach

otherwise you are just guessing. You could have an ulcer or a damaged sphincter that is allowing acid to come back up your esophagus - you wont know without an endoscopy

it costs about TT$2500
call Dr. Farfan at his office on De Verteuil street in Woodbrook
622-2223

make sure you go for an ENDOSCOPY eh, and not a colonoscopy!!! LOL

the biopsy and visual from that will tell the doctors exactly what is going on with you and how to treat it.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » September 24th, 2010, 12:37 am

i have done a gastroscopy at st clair and got a biopsy that confirmed the presence of the developing ulcer (this was a couple years back).

Postby Damien » September 24th, 2010, 12:42 am

did and endoscopy and a colonoscopy still nothing found just excessive bile

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 24th, 2010, 12:57 am

What symptoms you have?

zcarz

Postby zcarz » September 24th, 2010, 1:01 am

colonoscopies are fun

Postby DFC » September 24th, 2010, 1:04 am

A few natural remedies for heartburn and acid reflux are given below:

Herbal Tea – Mix together equal proportions of Aniseed, Lavender and Peppermint. Boil about two and a half cups of distilled water and pour it over the herbal mixture. Allow the tea to sit for three to five minutes, strain the tea and add a little bit of honey, if required. Place it in a thermos and drink about 8 0z in the morning and evening for relief from Acid Reflux.

Aniseed is an effective herb which helps in digestion, and has lot of other positive effects on the body. Only ash-colored anise, or European anise or sweet anise should be used. Star anise and Caraway are not recommended. Peppermint is another powerful herb for heartburn or stomach conditions. It helps in stomach cramps, digestion, ulcers and stomach distension and Lavender, known for its scent and healing activity reduces acids in the stomach and is an excellent stomach aid.

With age, the ability of the stomach in producing hydrochloric acid for digesting proteins also decreases. The undigested protein leads to heartburn and acid reflux. Digestive enzymes that contain pepsin, betain or HCL are required for digesting the protein.

Pappaya, which contains Pappain, is excellent for protein digestion and about 500mg of this can be used per meal. Even Pineapples reduces inflammation, aids digestion and heals wounds. A fresh pineapple juice has high level of enzymes that prevent acid reflux.

Chicory is obtained from bitter herbs that contain escarole and endive. About one and a half cups of chicory root can be boiled for about five to ten minutes. When this cools to room temperature, the tea can be consumed for relief from heartburn or acid reflux. These herbs can also be added to the regular salad.

Eating alkaline foods is suggested for prevention of heartburn or acid reflux. Also making salads a part of regular diet will lessen acid reflux formations.

Alternatively, drinking a glass of skimmed milk helps in relief from an occasional bout of heartburn. The milk proteins absorb excess acids. However, whole milk should be completely avoided, as fat triggers heartburn.

got this online Damien. hope it helps.
my advice is to seek Ayurvedic ways to help your acid reflux.

Postby bluesteel29 » September 24th, 2010, 3:06 am

stop drink aloco

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 24th, 2010, 5:35 am

this might be a long shot but try to stop eating in the night and do not drink cold fluids.

Premera

Postby Premera » September 24th, 2010, 7:39 am

Damien wrote:did and endoscopy and a colonoscopy still nothing found just excessive bile

^^^^^^^^^^^^^ pal, lemme ask you TWO questions ok......

1. What is Bile ?
2. What cause the release of bile / excessive bile ?

I believe that once you do a thorough investigation regarding your lifestyle, eating habits and patterns etc etc......you problem could be solved......and yogurt will not work in 1-2 days or 1 week because your condition seems to have gotten pretty bad.......maybe you should try it for a longer period....?

Yeo

Postby Yeo » September 24th, 2010, 7:49 am

Have had acid reflux/gerd over 8 yrs now. Done multiple endoscopy's over the years. I used to have a bleeding ulcer. Now I take 1 Prilosec/Omezaprole pill a day and I good. If I miss a pill, trust me, I know immediately. If I eat anything spicy at night, I WILL wake up gagging... and Heidi sends me to the couch...

Postby Damien » September 24th, 2010, 8:05 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:What symptoms you have?

burping bile, sinus infection, asthma, pain in chest next to heart area, left hand numb kinda like stroke,headaches

Postby Damien » September 24th, 2010, 8:09 am

bluesteel dont drink

naresh dont eat to late in the night

premera eating habits causes the excessive bile