Building a house in Trinidad

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby pugboy » March 12th, 2019, 8:13 am

Folding gates/doors are nice when done properly.

they need to be very very rigid, any flex in the first one(wall hung) will be amplified on the second one.
this is why for closets they normally use tracks above and below to keep them in line.

for those measurements you looking at 5ft segments,
prob at least 2" rhs or better yet 2x4 rhs with good quality hinges, not piece of pipe and round steel

daron wrote:Any info on bi-folding gates
Size - 20 feet accross & 5 feet hight e56161c4d444e73e9b712e47c96f0f68.jpeg

daron

Postby daron » March 12th, 2019, 8:19 am

pugboy wrote:Folding gates/doors are nice when done properly.

they need to be very very rigid, any flex in the first one(wall hung) will be amplified on the second one.
this is why for closets they normally use tracks above and below to keep them in line.

for those measurements you looking at 5ft segments,
prob at least 2" rhs or better yet 2x4 rhs with good quality hinges, not piece of pipe and round steel

Size - 20 feet accross & 5 feet hight e56161c4d444e73e9b712e47c96f0f68.jpeg
Thanks any ideas on getting it automatic remote control?
323-8418

Postby pugboy » March 12th, 2019, 8:23 am

no, never saw that locally but I would guess it needs the arm type gate actuator pulling on the segment not attached to wall.
prob need to be attached to outer edge of that segment also to bias it inwards

Crossings in tumpuna road has that type of gate motor but not on a folding gate

daron

Postby daron » March 13th, 2019, 8:32 pm

pugboy wrote:no, never saw that locally but I would guess it needs the arm type gate actuator pulling on the segment not attached to wall.
prob need to be attached to outer edge of that segment also to bias it inwards

Crossings in tumpuna road has that type of gate motor but not on a folding gate

Postby pugboy » March 13th, 2019, 9:30 pm

That sweet, not hard to do just need to weld the gear track with good alignment

daron

Postby daron » March 14th, 2019, 6:00 am

pugboy wrote:That sweet, not hard to do just need to weld the gear track with good alignment
Thinking of doing something like that but guessing the casters (wheels) have a good part to play
I am limited on space so this the reason
The nice bi folding gate i am only seeing it available from Malaysia its comeing to close to $60k

Postby adnj » March 14th, 2019, 7:13 am

Size - 20 feet accross & 5 feet hight

Unless there is a very sharp turn involved, gates for a two or three car garage are seldom wider than 16 feet across.

If you plan on using a track, you can also use a dual gate center column system.

https://youtu.be/yp5aT6UlIB0

Postby pugboy » March 14th, 2019, 7:32 am

that expensive, the materials should only cost a few grand at most.

A good fabricator can build that
check casfab

Most straight rolling gates tend to use angle steel for the track.
This track would have to be round steel bent with a roller bending machine, sheet metal places can do that.
This would then have to be welded down to plates/metal anchor of some sort.
The wheels need to have groove of big enough diameter to handle the curve.
Looks like the wheels in the vid can swivel, I guess they would have to have limits on how much it can swivel.

daron wrote:
pugboy wrote:That sweet, not hard to do just need to weld the gear track with good alignment
Thinking of doing something like that but guessing the casters (wheels) have a good part to play
I am limited on space so this the reason
The nice bi folding gate i am only seeing it available from Malaysia its comeing to close to $60k

daron

Postby daron » March 14th, 2019, 7:38 am

adnj wrote:

Unless there is a very sharp turn involved, gates for a two or three car garage are seldom wider than 16 feet across.

If you plan on using a track, you can also use a dual gate center column system.

Its for a town house spans accross 19 feet my unit is 1 in the middle.
2 car parking
IMG_20190314_073705.jpeg

Postby pugboy » March 14th, 2019, 7:41 am

they allowing ppl to segment off their section ?
You will need good posts anchored to hang the gates off

Postby adnj » March 14th, 2019, 12:08 pm

There may be a homeowners' association that has rules regarding exterior features like fencing, awnings and exterior paint colors.

Typically, you will need approval of the association before making exterior changes.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » March 14th, 2019, 12:41 pm

adnj wrote:There may be a homeowners' association that has rules regarding exterior features like fencing, awnings and exterior paint colors.

Typically, you will need approval of the association before making exterior changes.
The restrictions are by HDC, they make the rules in a way that bandits can have easy access to your home

Postby pugboy » March 14th, 2019, 4:28 pm

boy is pressure by hdc
I know a chap living by chuck e cheese chaguanas on a lower level
upper levels always dropping cigarette butts and neighbour chirren playing in his driveway spot and setting up inflatable pool too close

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » March 14th, 2019, 7:11 pm

Read your deed/rental agreement with HDC bredda, there are usually 3-4+ pages of covenants which detail what you can and can't do. Some can be easily broken without a care, but this wont be one of them.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » March 14th, 2019, 7:20 pm

From a very quick search of some documents i have laying about.

First is a rental agreement for a HDC townhouse, second is a clause from an HDC sub-lease for vacant lands sold to a separate owner.

Now, this being a townhouse makes it different from a single family detached house, I wouldnt chance it.
HDC sub-lease covenant.PNG
HDC sub-lease covenant.PNG (37.54 KiB) Viewed 4259 times
HDC TTMF rental agreement.PNG

telfer

Postby telfer » March 14th, 2019, 8:51 pm

Everyone in Edinburgh 500 is building up HDC has passed a million times.......the law of the land states that you can do what it take to secure your property,family and valuables.... for HDC saying u can’t build a wall in a contract is bull*

telfer

Postby telfer » March 14th, 2019, 8:53 pm

This is in HDC

daron

Postby daron » March 14th, 2019, 9:08 pm

daron wrote:
adnj wrote:

2 car parking
IMG_20190314_073705.jpeg
This is not my townhouse just reference didn't say it was hdc nice information being shared

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » March 14th, 2019, 10:40 pm

daron wrote:
adnj wrote:

2 car parking IMG_20190314_073705.jpeg
This is not my townhouse just reference didn't say it was hdc nice information being shared

Well if is not HDC, its even worse. Especially if its in a development that requires you to pay a service charge, association or maintenance fee monthly.

If is a gulf view villa then you safe, everybody in there have a shed/garage now.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » March 14th, 2019, 10:47 pm

telfer wrote:Everyone in Edinburgh 500 is building up HDC has passed a million times.......the law of the land states that you can do what it take to secure your property,family and valuables.... for HDC saying u can’t build a wall in a contract is bull*

Probably the most juvenile comment in this thread, doing "what it take" could mean any damn thing. Anyone that owns or develops land and sublets to someone else has the right, subject to public policy, to put anything in the contract.

And who agrees to it? Well anyone that signs the contract. Any NHA/HDC land is leased from the state for 999 and sub-leased to homeowners for 199years. HDC could put whatever lawful covenant in there and enforce it at will, they reserve the right to do so, but dont because they are inefficient.

And is not just a HDC thing. Gulf view, Palmiste among many, many other developments, low and high incomes, have pages, dozens of covenants that have to be followed. You just have to hope they dont selectively enforce it on you, because you would be entirely in the wrong.

telfer

Building a house in Trinidad

Postby telfer » March 15th, 2019, 6:33 am

ProtonPowder wrote:
telfer wrote:Everyone in Edinburgh 500 is building up HDC has passed a million times.......the law of the land states that you can do what it take to secure your property,family and valuables.... for HDC saying u can’t build a wall in a contract is bull*

Probably the most juvenile comment in this thread, doing "what it take" could mean any damn thing. Anyone that owns or develops land and sublets to someone else has the right, subject to public policy, to put anything in the contract.

And who agrees to it? Well anyone that signs the contract. Any NHA/HDC land is leased from the state for 999 and sub-leased to homeowners for 199years. HDC could put whatever lawful covenant in there and enforce it at will, they reserve the right to do so, but dont because they are inefficient.

And is not just a HDC thing. Gulf view, Palmiste among many, many other developments, low and high incomes, have pages, dozens of covenants that have to be followed. You just have to hope they dont selectively enforce it on you, because you would be entirely in the wrong.

!! Juvenile!!! Like I can’t have a opinion like u is a blasted god ....this is why tuner going to the dogs because is idiots like you people having a normal insight to wat the guy asked but u have to be the insulting fool

telfer

Postby telfer » March 15th, 2019, 6:34 am

Proton powder must be in yuh bumsee

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » March 15th, 2019, 7:36 am

telfer wrote:Proton powder must be in yuh bumsee

Seems like i hit a nerve lmao

Postby adnj » March 15th, 2019, 12:51 pm

I believe that the salient points are:
- When you purchase, lease or rent, you agree to certain covenants, restrictions and requirements.
- You may choose to ignore those conditions at your own risk.

daron

Postby daron » March 15th, 2019, 1:01 pm

Back to the gate anyone have ideas information
Rather than fight down who do what & what allowed & not allowed.

daron

Postby daron » March 15th, 2019, 1:02 pm

telfer wrote:Image
This is in HDC
I don't want this option as its completely blocked off going with bit of open air

Postby nervewrecker » March 20th, 2019, 11:00 pm

looking for 7 inch wide roof guttering. Heard of only one place, north side. Anywhere else sells such?

Postby nervewrecker » March 20th, 2019, 11:06 pm

Oh, and grass pavers

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » March 21st, 2019, 5:09 am

Would a 7" make much difference as opposed to a 6" ?
nervewrecker wrote:looking for 7 inch wide roof guttering. Heard of only one place, north side. Anywhere else sells such?

Postby gastly369 » March 21st, 2019, 5:59 am

Any garage door installers need to get quotation