Building a house in Trinidad

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby maj. tom » April 8th, 2020, 7:06 pm

If some dead leaves go down your guttering it will surely stick up in that. And no pressure to move it.
It wouldn't take too long to dig under the pipe enough to cut it and add a coupling.

But you know what lazy man thing would work though carluva? Flex Seal tape or spray. Put the 6 inch cap on like that idea you had, zip tie them tight and and just spray that Flex Seal in layers until its hard. Thing damn expensive though. Best to just dig and cut and do it right. 1 hour work at most.

carluva

Postby carluva » April 8th, 2020, 8:05 pm

The leaves and sludge is not usually from the guttering. The downspouts from the guttering empty into a lil box drain and from that box drain the water is channels out to another box drain out of the property. So from the first lil box drain, alot of leaves accumulate from three nearby fruitless black olives. For me to clean that pipe good(ish), after I wash down, I use my leaf blower and let that blow through this section of pipe (the one that's cracked) as that pipe is about 15 feet long. The air flow is sufficient to effectively blow out the pipe.

I won't use the elbows as I know it will back up. I really am avoiding having to dig anymore, but if I have to, I will. I like the idea of the cap and seal it off. The idea that adjn gave with filing off the landing on the coupling is also a damn good idea too. That will work like a charm. I may just have to lubricate the pipe a bit to get the couplings to slide easily and then clean off the residue with PVC pipe preparation fluid before applying solvent cement.

But I'll explore a bit and then decide. I am not going anywhere so I could take my time and repair easy easy. After all, it's not like I have anywhere to go until April 30th (for now).

Postby adnj » April 8th, 2020, 8:28 pm

pugboy wrote:how you sliding them fittings ?
with grease ?
i find bigger fittings does give real trouble to slide on
they bind a lot.

adnj wrote:In general, a 4×90° circuit adds a good amount of flow friction.

What we do if you are patching a short section of PVC pipe:
- file the center lands from two couplings until they will slide over the pipe.
- place one coupling on either side of the patch.
- cut the pipe patch to the exact length between the pipe ends
- mark the pipe to show where the couplings should be when installed.
- add cement to all pipe ends and slide the couplings into place from either side.

Sometimes you can get away with only filing one coupling and install the other as you normally would.
If the connection is a supply line, the tolerance has to be tight. But if you need to do it on a large diameter drain pipe, just take more material from the inside of the coupling. The PVC cement will close gaps on drain pipes well enough.

I usually deburr the mating edges of larger diameter pipe and conduit simply to make the dry-fitting easier.

Postby pugboy » April 8th, 2020, 8:31 pm

there is a rubber compression coupling which works well, needs to be tightened with vise grips though
it may work with hand tight but can leak eventually and threads should be clean, no mud or will give trouble to tighten.

Gladiator wrote:Spann... That's actually a very bad technique. Use a union please. All them elbow will just restrict flow...
rspann wrote:jason-79 ,good technique .

Postby Gladiator » April 9th, 2020, 1:45 am

Yeah puggy...I use them couplings on pipe from 1inch to 8 inch. They work well but you need some room to work it...
pugboy wrote:there is a rubber compression coupling which works well, needs to be tightened with vise grips though
it may work with hand tight but can leak eventually and threads should be clean, no mud or will give trouble to tighten.

Gladiator wrote:Spann... That's actually a very bad technique. Use a union please. All them elbow will just restrict flow...
rspann wrote:jason-79 ,good technique .

carluva

Postby carluva » April 9th, 2020, 9:40 pm

Any pics of this rubber coupling? What do I ask for at the hardware? It's not the pvc compression couplings you referring to?

Postby adnj » April 10th, 2020, 4:47 am

I believe that you will still need two couplings and about an 8 inches patch section or PVC pipe.

Flexible coupling (usually used on waste lines with minor fit errors)

[IMG]https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/71iQtuSM46L._AC_SX679_.jpg
[/IMG]

Compression coupling (usually used on supply lines where the pipe is wet and PVC cement cannot cure)

[IMG]https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/51g-ul2yMLL._SY355_.jpg
[/IMG]

Postby *KRONIK* » April 10th, 2020, 8:13 am

adnj wrote:
Compression coupling (usually used on supply lines where the pipe is wet and PVC cement cannot cure)

[/IMG]

I used this already on a supply line for my tank.
The line blow up sometime in the night and we had to do this fix as we couldnt find the main lockoff

Postby Dave » April 10th, 2020, 9:14 am

Compression couplings work excellent and are very durable especially when you don't have the luxury of flexing a pvc line to do a fix with a collar to join.

carluva

Postby carluva » April 10th, 2020, 11:32 am

This is what I thought it was. I know those are used on waste lines but was wondering if reference was being made to another type of fitting.
adnj wrote:I believe that you will still need two couplings and about an 8 inches patch section or PVC pipe.

Flexible coupling (usually used on waste lines with minor fit errors)

[IMG]https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/71iQtuSM46L._AC_SX679_.jpg
[/IMG]

[/IMG]

Postby adnj » April 10th, 2020, 11:41 am

Frankly, in your situation you could cover the hole and pour concrete over it. Drains get capped like that all of the time.

Postby supercharged turbo » April 12th, 2020, 12:15 pm

How long on average does it take for a check valve to be eaten away by chlorinated water?I had to end up changing one yesterday but in doing so I had to break up the ground.I'm thinking to move it to a location where it could be easily accessed as a servicable component.

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » April 16th, 2020, 9:32 am

Although we are in quarantine, can my mason and labourer come to work? I Have a roof to finish and if he and his workers come, then total number on the compound would be 5.

Asking because hardwares selling cement and blocks and other material apart from electrical and plumbing as usual.

Postby pugboy » April 16th, 2020, 9:49 am

depends on water usage and location,
some places have softer more acidic water

it is always best to have it above ground and with unions and lockoff valve for easy removal and swap.
supercharged turbo wrote:How long on average does it take for a check valve to be eaten away by chlorinated water?I had to end up changing one yesterday but in doing so I had to break up the ground.I'm thinking to move it to a location where it could be easily accessed as a servicable component.

Postby rspann » April 16th, 2020, 11:12 am

bassotronics wrote:Although we are in quarantine, can my mason and labourer come to work? I Have a roof to finish and if he and his workers come, then total number on the compound would be 5.

Asking because hardwares selling cement and blocks and other material apart from electrical and plumbing as usual.

I saw at least five roofs being built while moving around .

zagie

Postby zagie » April 29th, 2020, 10:01 pm

hi guys i need some info on a product called trowel on, want to know who is selling it locally and if theres any other product on the market that has the same finish, preferable south thanks
trowel on finish.jpg
trowel on finish.jpg (47.1 KiB) Viewed 4892 times
trowel on 1.jpg
trowel on 1.jpg (10.15 KiB) Viewed 4892 times

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 30th, 2020, 5:43 pm

Anyone knows where I can get a couple bags of cement tomorrow? Need 2

Youngstar1989

Postby Youngstar1989 » May 2nd, 2020, 6:23 am

Hello, i would like some advice on the best place to buy framing for my roof.

I beam and z purlin.

Also, can any1 advise me on a hip and valley material listing please?
I am trying to do an estimate for myself any help will be much appreciated.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » May 2nd, 2020, 8:33 am

Got my framing at island roofing and sheeting at lifetime

Postby Dave » May 2nd, 2020, 8:46 am

Cement seems lil to non existent. Hardwares on Friday said hopefully Monday as they are expecting from the warehouse over the weekend.

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 2nd, 2020, 10:41 am

Dave wrote:Cement seems lil to non existent. Hardwares on Friday said hopefully Monday as they are expecting from the warehouse over the weekend.

What prices they quoting?

Postby Dave » May 2nd, 2020, 12:39 pm

They didn't say but $80 a bag has been going around. Thin set seems to be moving as a weaker alternative it seems.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 2nd, 2020, 12:59 pm

Cement selling from $90-$120 on the east side

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 2nd, 2020, 2:26 pm

Jeez. I saw $75 in Penal a couple weeks ago and thought that was madness.

Is TCL shutdown?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 2nd, 2020, 4:27 pm

Tcl and rockhard closed until further notice

Kronik

Postby Kronik » May 2nd, 2020, 5:02 pm

I believe TCL only open one day for the week to send out some supplies, can't comment on rockhard

Postby rspann » May 2nd, 2020, 5:03 pm

Police close down rockhard and TCL was still producing . Rockhard reported it to the Breaking Dawn host who then recorded trucks coming out from TCL loaded and made real bacchanal on the show even calling on Paula Gopee to intervene , so everybody closed now . Real videos and investigation about two weeks ago .

Postby *KRONIK* » May 2nd, 2020, 5:32 pm

Wah kinda maccomihman ting rock hard on dey?

TCL coulda still be running at a limited capacity and supply the hardwares, cuz hardwares get some opening hours so ppl go want dey lil cement and ting to dey lil house project
rspann wrote:Police close down rockhard and TCL was still producing . Rockhard reported it to the Breaking Dawn host who then recorded trucks coming out from TCL loaded and made real bacchanal on the show even calling on Paula Gopee to intervene , so everybody closed now . Real videos and investigation about two weeks ago .

Postby pugboy » May 2nd, 2020, 5:53 pm

this ain’t make the papers

rock hard buss a sauce doubles spite scenes dey

rspann wrote:Police close down rockhard and TCL was still producing . Rockhard reported it to the Breaking Dawn host who then recorded trucks coming out from TCL loaded and made real bacchanal on the show even calling on Paula Gopee to intervene , so everybody closed now . Real videos and investigation about two weeks ago .

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 2nd, 2020, 6:49 pm

Kronik wrote:I believe TCL only open one day for the week to send out some supplies, can't comment on rockhard

As far as I know TCL are closed and not supplying until May 10th