Joshie23

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby Joshie23 » March 28th, 2018, 1:42 pm

urbandilema wrote:
Kronik wrote:
supercharged turbo wrote:Whats the average cost to construct a 2 bedroom house?I talking about the structure of the house with plumbing,electrical,windows and doors essentially.

Flat house? 2 story? Roof type?

If it's a flat with a gable roof, you could do all that for about 200-250k
And how much to 3br 2 baths...the land slightly sloping and located in south side

Good information to have, more so for those looking to build without a mortgage.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » March 28th, 2018, 10:49 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
urbandilema wrote:
Kronik wrote:
supercharged turbo wrote:Whats the average cost to construct a 2 bedroom house?I talking about the structure of the house with plumbing,electrical,windows and doors essentially.

And how much to 3br 2 baths...the land slightly sloping and located in south side

Good information to have, more so for those looking to build without a mortgage.
Why without a mortgage...

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » March 29th, 2018, 5:15 am

urbandilema wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:
urbandilema wrote:
Kronik wrote:

For argument's sake, why not? Building out of pocket isn't too bad, especially if you're just establishing yourself, fed up paying rent/living with in-laws and are contented with a simpler house in the early stages to beautify as the years go by.

Autobots

Postby Autobots » March 30th, 2018, 7:27 pm

I was wondering if I can do a house plan before purchasing land ?? Any advice.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 31st, 2018, 2:27 pm

Its not a good idea.
As you need to take into account the shape of the land and terrain as well as setbacks etc.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 31st, 2018, 4:45 pm

Anyone have any good contacts for a top soil load? Looking to start landscaping but need top soil to spread

Kronik

Postby Kronik » March 31st, 2018, 8:14 pm

Autobots wrote:I was wondering if I can do a house plan before purchasing land ?? Any advice.

You can if you know the size of the land you are looking for. Like if you are looking for standard 50x100 land you can do that, but if you get something that is not exactly that, you would have to do it over. But I believe complete plans usually have Street names and stuff on it, unless you just doing the structural part of the plan

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » April 2nd, 2018, 5:52 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
urbandilema wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:
urbandilema wrote:
Kronik wrote:

For argument's sake, why not? Building out of pocket isn't too bad, especially if you're just establishing yourself, fed up paying rent/living with in-laws and are contented with a simpler house in the early stages to beautify as the years go by.
Great advice

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 9th, 2018, 9:36 am

Any one did concrete polishing on their normal concrete floor, looking for alternative option to tiles. Looking at concrete staining, polishing, epoxy. What's the cost involve, is it a diy or need contractor involvement.
Spann what's your views.
Thanks.

Postby rspann » April 9th, 2018, 1:53 pm

I'm going to do the floor in my garage next two weeks . Looking at power floating and epoxy. I'm doing some research right now and will keep you posted to show the results.

burkmenistan

Postby burkmenistan » April 9th, 2018, 4:25 pm

Any good driveway tilers about? what's the best way to concrete a back garden?

blacklight

Postby blacklight » April 9th, 2018, 4:53 pm

Hey, I acquired some land with an old house. The property came with some approved plans for a new structure. Who inside here can give me an estimation to build the new structure. I want to know if it's within my budget or if I should start drawing new plans for the property.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 9th, 2018, 9:33 pm

rspann wrote:I'm going to do the floor in my garage next two weeks . Looking at power floating and epoxy. I'm doing some research right now and will keep you posted to show the results.

Had a site visit today,a contractor. Lots of option with the epoxy in terms of colours, avg. 35 dollars a square feet. When you say power float, is it a new floor or an old floor you going to power float?
Mines was smooth but the masons dropped so much crap on the floor it's has to be removed and thats where the cost is coming from. Also looking to do a plaster Tarazo on a walkway ramp. Open to suggestions for the ramp as well.

venom21

Postby venom21 » April 10th, 2018, 5:16 pm

Anyone knows the difference in quality between abel red blocks and TAP red blocks (grade 1), did a search but not finding any info in it, thanks

toscati

Postby toscati » April 12th, 2018, 8:21 am

I have some excess dirt that can be used as fill - see the picture below

Can WhatsApp 324 7623

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 12th, 2018, 11:26 am

rspann wrote:I'm going to do the floor in my garage next two weeks . Looking at power floating and epoxy. I'm doing some research right now and will keep you posted to show the results.

http://www.protectionplustt.com/

they did the floor in my garage and office years ago. They did a self levelling ISONEM screed and then polyaspartic coating on top of that. No need to powerfloat and they can apply it to an existing, unlevelled concrete floor or decking.

354-5509 Ask for David

Postby rspann » April 12th, 2018, 11:47 am

they did the floor in my garage and office years ago. They did a self levelling ISONEM screed and then polyaspartic coating on top of that. No need to powerfloat and they can apply it to an existing, unlevelled concrete floor or decking.

354-5509 Ask for David

I'm casting over the floor so i can powerfloat. It was terazzo before , but i cut it to do the foundation for the new building. Also it's a very large area ,something like 4500 sq ft . I feel I'll have to ask Duane for a loan.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 12th, 2018, 11:59 am

^ bank have better rates than me.

They do a lot of commercial and govt buildings. Check them for a quote.

Postby *KRONIK* » April 12th, 2018, 11:59 am

rspann wrote:

354-5509 Ask for David

I'm casting over the floor so i can powerfloat. It was terazzo before , but i cut it to do the foundation for the new building. Also it's a very large area ,something like 4500 sq ft . I feel I'll have to ask Duane for a loan.
Arks fuh a lil extra nah...and run a lil thing on the side fuh yuh boi

xtrail3

Postby xtrail3 » April 12th, 2018, 3:27 pm

Any recommendations for a builder in San Fernando area?

eitech

Postby eitech » April 13th, 2018, 10:04 am

I have a water pump at home. Over a few days the pressure was 60 psi ( which i believe is wasa pressure) so the pump is not required to operate. If i isolate wasa line and the pressure falls to 30 psi, the pump cuts in. The pressure raises to 60 psi and the pump cuts out. Normal operation. Yesterday i saw the pressure, with the pump offline, raise to 80psi. Is this normal? What is wasa’s max line pressure to a house?

Postby sMASH » April 17th, 2018, 12:33 pm

http://www.tcl.co.tt/concrete-calculator

saw this on fb. i find this useful to get estimate of quantity of material required....

could sticky it to the front page.

Postby pugboy » April 17th, 2018, 9:27 pm

Anybody knows who else besides abc has complete metal doors with frame ?
Looking for a 36" front metal door swinging in

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 17th, 2018, 10:14 pm

pugboy wrote:Anybody knows who else besides abc has complete metal doors with frame ?

Roopnarine Hardware, Caroni Savannah Road, Chaguanas has quite a number of them to choose from.
There's also Rod's n' Stuff opposite Medford Gas Station in Chaguanas on Endeavour flyover that has those doors as well.

Postby pugboy » April 17th, 2018, 10:26 pm

Thanks

Kronik

Postby Kronik » April 18th, 2018, 5:29 am

I not sure if those places Duane mentioned have the door with the frame, but I know they have the doors itself. R maye in Chasevillage also has the doors, not sure about the frame

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 18th, 2018, 5:43 am

Guys what’s the average cost psf to build a flat house?

Also, how many feet above road level would you suggest backfilling? And the cost to backfill a lot or so?

Postby *KRONIK* » April 18th, 2018, 6:27 am

pugboy wrote:Anybody knows who else besides abc has complete metal doors with frame ?
Second crossing hardware in arima has some as well

eitech

Postby eitech » April 18th, 2018, 5:43 pm

Is there a special type of grout to be used when installing ceramic tiles on terrazzo?

Postby rspann » April 18th, 2018, 6:51 pm

Grout ? Or thinset. Any grout could work since grout seals the gaps. What you have to worry about is using the right thinset to bond it on to the terrazzo. Use premium. Score the terazzo properly.