Building a house in Trinidad

eitech

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby eitech » December 12th, 2017, 11:03 am

SNIPER 3000 wrote:You would become accountable if you accept it, all this will show up in the search. The sale agreement usually have that it should be paid by the seller. The land tax also should be upto date and paid by the seller.

Correct the agreement does say free from all encumbrances. Tnx.

Postby timelapse » December 13th, 2017, 8:25 am

carluva wrote:I am aware of that. So any suggestions?

Temporily: White lightning sealant its a kind of silicone that comes out almost putty-like.Takes 24 hours to dry, but it lasts a while.You would need to wipe the area with lacquer thinners first to clean it.I have to use this on my enclosure base from time to time

Long term: mix some poly v in your grout and use grout sealant .takes the same amount of time to cure properly

IMO just grout over the thing.

demented

Postby demented » December 15th, 2017, 10:37 am

What is the average cost to construct 200 feet access road? Just gravel/boulder surface, no asphalt.
Last edited by demented on December 15th, 2017, 12:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » December 15th, 2017, 11:26 am

What the average cost of a 40 x40 foundation on a gentle sloping lot

Sent from my SM-G900H using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby timelapse » December 15th, 2017, 3:35 pm

urbandilema wrote:What the average cost of a 40 x40 foundation on a gentle sloping lot

How many storeys you planning?

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » December 15th, 2017, 4:00 pm

timelapse wrote:
urbandilema wrote:What the average cost of a 40 x40 foundation on a gentle sloping lot

How many storeys you planning?

Hmm was thinking a flats or one story

Postby pugboy » December 15th, 2017, 4:19 pm

wasa also is the only utility which can lay claim to the property for debts owed
so you dont want to buy a property with wasa bills owing and suddenly wasa come seize the property

dont think they have ever done it but it is law
and ferris rawi mentioned it the other day I think as part of wasa money collection exercises

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 15th, 2017, 7:06 pm

Can anyone tell.me how much a builder would charge to put up.a flush door and install locks?.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 15th, 2017, 7:06 pm

Also wjats tbs cost to install a pvc window?

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 15th, 2017, 7:26 pm

I think 200 for each windows and doors, you can do it your self.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 15th, 2017, 11:31 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:I think 200 for each windows and doors, you can do it your self.

Thanks man...yeah it cant be that hard....builder quoting me 1800 to install 2 windows and 5 doors and 5 locks.....i think this is too friggin much

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 16th, 2017, 11:21 am

Well another builder quoting me 350 per door..man the installation cost is more than the price of the door lol...wtf...

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 16th, 2017, 11:23 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Well another builder quoting me 350 per door..man the installation cost is more than the price of the door lol...wtf...

That's better than the $400 quote that I got.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 16th, 2017, 11:26 am

Theze builders clearly out of touch witj reality

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 16th, 2017, 7:23 pm

I had 5 doors and 12 windows to install this year. Bought myself the tools and did all by myself. I took a while but I am sure it was done stronger and tidy. Had my tools in the end as my reward.

eitech

Postby eitech » December 17th, 2017, 8:14 pm

pugboy wrote:wasa also is the only utility which can lay claim to the property for debts owed
so you dont want to buy a property with wasa bills owing and suddenly wasa come seize the property

and ferris rawi mentioned it the other day I think as part of wasa money collection exercises

Ceen. So how it works with tstt and ttec now? If i moving into the place what takes happens? Do the owners disconnect their services and then i reconnect under my name? Or is it a simple transfer of ownership in those utilities?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 18th, 2017, 7:01 am

Guys may have some grade 1 abel blocks for sale...left over from a project....it seems most likely....
About 150 blocks...

Postby *KRONIK* » December 18th, 2017, 7:08 am

pugboy wrote:wasa also is the only utility which can lay claim to the property for debts owed

Yes.
They do sieze properties.

eitech wrote:Ceen. So how it works with tstt and ttec now? If i moving into the place what takes happens? Do the owners disconnect their services and then i reconnect under my name? Or is it a simple transfer of ownership in those utilities?

For T&Tec its a simple transfer of the account unto your name. The previous owner just needs to write you a letter indicating they wish to put the account in your name. You can also carry a certificate of assessment from the DRO if your deed is in your name already.

TSTT usually means is a land line, and people usually take their number when they move. So its just a new application for you.

Building a house in Trinidad

Postby pugboy » December 18th, 2017, 7:40 am

You also do a meter reading just before date of sale so a calculation can be made of how much previous owner will be owing on the current bill and make arrangement if necessary to pay etc

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » December 29th, 2017, 5:35 am

Hey guys any one have scaffolding to sell ,
I was considering renting but the price them men calling is best you buy .
Except Annand where else sells ?

Kronik

Postby Kronik » December 29th, 2017, 8:12 am

You check scaffolding manufacturers in pt Lisas? They close to the fire station side

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » January 2nd, 2018, 5:38 pm

anyone knows any good people that does wrought iron to installation?
looking to do full installation throughout a house but checked sion metal works and they real exp

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 2nd, 2018, 7:05 pm

3817060 tell him the man from Santa Cruz give you the number

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 3rd, 2018, 6:17 am

hong kong phooey wrote:Hey guys any one have scaffolding to sell ,
I was considering renting but the price them men calling is best you buy .
Except Annand where else sells ?

If the scaffolding is for doing stuff around the house, I rented scaffolding from Zam Industries in D'Abadie. Price to rent the scaffolding was quite cheap. The biggest expense was the transport to and from my home. I saw that they were selling scaffolding over the Christmas.

http://www.zamindustriesltd.com/zam/

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 3rd, 2018, 6:21 am

jhonnieblue wrote:anyone knows any good people that does wrought iron to installation?
looking to do full installation throughout a house but checked sion metal works and they real exp

Dave Madoo - 329-8405 / 785-0309
Avinash Nair - 769-1035

Postby *KRONIK* » January 5th, 2018, 7:53 am

Yes allyuh
Lets discuss windows

I want to change the windows at my current place. Currently have those old fashioned alumimium framed windows which tilt outward with a crank handle.
Most dont work anymore.

But the windows are big: bedrooms are 4x6ft
Living area are 4x8ft

What i need to know:

1) what is a good replacement?
2) where has the cheapest?
3) any options with built in burglar proofing?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » January 5th, 2018, 2:18 pm

I would recommend the abel upvc windows. They seem to be holding up ok.
The sizes might differ a bit but you can put a small window on the top to make the height or 2 side by side.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 5th, 2018, 2:37 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:I would recommend the abel upvc windows. They seem to be holding up ok.
The sizes might differ a bit but you can put a small window on the top to make the height or 2 side by side.
Will check them out
Planning to do some "window shopping" before month end

Postby pugboy » January 5th, 2018, 3:18 pm

You still need burglar proofing with these
And well they tend to not be perfectly square
So if you fabricating burglar proofing they need to be each checked or the squared proofing won’t match.
Ask me how I know lol

hong kong phooey wrote:I would recommend the abel upvc windows. They seem to be holding up ok.

carluva

Postby carluva » January 5th, 2018, 11:15 pm

I was going to recommend the upvc windows as you have them but if you needed burglar proofing then they may not be suitable. Unless you do the upvc windows and then do custom iron work to bolt up from the inside. That's a hat I have and it looks great.