which is better Legacy or Audi A4 ?

diplomate

which is better Legacy or Audi A4 ?

Postby diplomate » December 28th, 2010, 9:13 pm

Ok tuners , i need a bit of advice here which is a better vehicle to buy a subaru legacy or Audi A4 ? let me know your opinions !

24447630006_large.jpg

25911990007_large.jpg

dragsta34

Re: which is better Legacy or Audi A4 ?

Postby dragsta34 » December 28th, 2010, 9:22 pm

i with the Legacy....

diplomate

Postby diplomate » December 28th, 2010, 9:31 pm

cool any other opinions ?

lyndondz

Postby lyndondz » December 28th, 2010, 9:38 pm

Aside from being biased towards the Subaru.....

You gotta consider the maintenance costs and parts availability for the Audi.... with the Subaru you have access locally to a host of vendors with OEM and after market parts.

With the Audi you have Southern Sales....... and not sure who else to be honest.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 28th, 2010, 11:17 pm

Both has poor resale value IMHO but the Legacy will be more trouble free.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » December 28th, 2010, 11:34 pm

If ur comparing a Spec B with a base 1.8T A4 then the Legacy is much better. The A4 wins on ride quality and interior and of course cache value but the LGT is a formidable machine....you'll really enjoy driving this as long as you can afford the gas bill. Subaru actually used the A4 as the target vehicle when developing the BL5 LGT

My preference is the LGT.

carfreak

Postby carfreak » December 29th, 2010, 2:59 am

Personally i like both cars. Hell if given the chance to own and drive them both I eh no which 1 i go take as both offer luxury, comfort, and performance @ a premium. But mostly I agree with lyndondz is d legacy i go take b/c not d host of vendors selling oem parts but also it easier to also get bolt on performance parts. Especially both aftermarket and factory performance. Doh get me wrong i see some dread A4's. but again i go take d Legacy.
Daz my 2cents.

diplomate

Postby diplomate » December 29th, 2010, 5:20 am

thanks guys , i also welcome more opinions !

Immortal24

Postby Immortal24 » December 29th, 2010, 10:29 am

I would go with the Audi, the parts may be expensive only if purchased from Southern Sales. I purchase all / most Audi A6 parts genuine online and get them in one week.
The Audi is a beautiful car more eye appealing. The girls love it.

citroen regret

Postby citroen regret » December 29th, 2010, 10:44 am

the Audi attracts the sophisticated hot mature women....
With the Legacy, u'll get a hot young Bollywood grade to roll in the front seat....
Personally I'd go with the Audi, if that's the case....However, in terms of looks, performance and availability of parts and prices....u better off with the Legacy...lol

Immortal24

Postby Immortal24 » December 29th, 2010, 10:57 am

I like your response Citroen esp. the part with the "Bollywood Grade"

Postby tr1ad » December 29th, 2010, 10:59 am

audi....
comfort and class

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 29th, 2010, 11:01 am

The legacy wins with aftermarket support and parts availability locally.
The Audi will be higher maintenance and parts will be harder to get.
Own a lgt, and drove a a4, ride quality is amazing on both, sound deadening is top notch on both. The LGT actually surprised me in this regard. Cant give a fair review on handling, because I never got to push the a4. The symmetrical awd on the LGT is awesome, although a tad heavy. it tends to understeer, but I've found it to oversteer/powerslide when I power it out through the bends (I'm not stock). Stock for stock, power levels are similar, although I find the boost response a little more agressive on the legacy. I find the turbo on the a4 feels like it isnt really there....

GoS

Postby GoS » December 29th, 2010, 11:02 am

i rather the subaru for sporty look, parts wise reasonable and easy to get , but hand down i prefer audi i drives my neighbour a4 and the boss a4 and a6 and they perform i say for audi and resale value to

DRAGULA

Postby DRAGULA » December 29th, 2010, 12:01 pm

legacy more likely to get teef

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » December 29th, 2010, 1:23 pm

Legacy seems more practical,but on the other hand,if you could afford an Audi i suppose maintenance shouldn't be a problem. May I suggest this:

S4 trumps all IMO
Last edited by Toyopet on December 29th, 2010, 1:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

hondaman

Postby hondaman » December 29th, 2010, 1:24 pm

DRAGULA wrote:legacy more likely to get teef

important consideration dese days in trini..

xaira

Postby xaira » December 29th, 2010, 1:42 pm

a4 is my dream first car but it makes more sense to get the legacy, in resale it will go faster, parts easier etc

Postby MG Man » December 29th, 2010, 1:48 pm

tr1ad wrote:audi....
comfort and class

base A4 is front wheel drive
that used to annoy the fack outta me

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » December 29th, 2010, 6:19 pm

I had an A4 2.0 T and feel confident in saying that in terms of power delivery it simply amazed me, mind you it probably needed MORE power but the quattro system puts the maximum amount of power that can get to the ground under anyy given traction condition, to the ground. I've tried snow (extensively) ,rain/very wet, mud/grass etc, and its just mash, spool and go; it can even moderate/increase power to one wheel and apply opposite wheel braking during cornering to get you around that corner. All in all though not sure if all that makes any difference to the average driver I guess....

Postby S_2NR » December 29th, 2010, 7:25 pm

audi a4 hands down..
ride quality n comfort is second to none..and it looks way better imo...

parts n service may be more expensive but its worth it, in d end..

n they dont normally steal euros so u cud park anywhere u want.. :mrgreen:

DTAC

Postby DTAC » December 29th, 2010, 8:31 pm

The Audi is a lot more 'Trinicity Mall proof'.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » December 29th, 2010, 8:49 pm

meh bai...as a bandit I would quicker try to steal a Legacy than an Audi A4....

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » December 29th, 2010, 10:46 pm

citroen regret wrote:the Audi attracts the sophisticated hot mature women....
With the Legacy, u'll get a hot young Bollywood grade to roll in the front seat....
Personally I'd go with the Audi, if that's the case....However, in terms of looks, performance and availability of parts and prices....u better off with the Legacy...lol

oh lord....Buy a suburu to get hot young bollywood grade?
like dis?

Postby S_2NR » December 29th, 2010, 10:57 pm

^^nah...dem jus fail.. :|

Postby tr1ad » December 29th, 2010, 11:38 pm

oh gheed

Postby AllTrac » December 30th, 2010, 12:00 am

buy a car that you want, and what you will like, what you would feel comfortable in and what you can maintain. If you an enthusiast then buy one that you would love to tune and would be fun to drive, buying a car to attract women means you are seriously lacking....

Postby 3stagevtec » December 30th, 2010, 12:53 am

the legacy is the better tuner car..

the A4 is much more executive..

Postby Monk BANzai » December 30th, 2010, 1:55 am

WHAT?...HAHAHAHAHAAHAHAAAAAAAA

look leh meh make meh own review spearate yes...

*wheez...

Postby Monk BANzai » December 30th, 2010, 2:07 am

everyone talking bout teh A4 being more executive....ive had A4 owners telling me they wished they went with the Legas instead of the A4. I've had Female Bank Managers stopping me in car parks with compliments ( yes i know my good looks also add to the flame...sigh)....

coming from the Ox (VR4), and driving an A4 for an extended period, i can definitely say the Legacy is the better "Bang for the buck".

Fuel consumption? i get 430km per tank ($200 to full). Its a turbo so stop wincing bout oh that not good blah blah blah....I have a local 2005 with leather and sunroof options....and the level of comfort is bar none...for me. Both front seats are powred and it comes with Cruise Control which is heaven to use on the highway (also conserves fuel).

performance wise..lts a 2.0 Turbo. Not an "off the line" mover (stock...though i can put you against a few local tiptronics that will beat you light to light) but once up to speed...it moves. i've gotten the car to 240Kph (on a 260kph dash)....no worries. Handling? a DREAM! Boxing day i took full car load (4 persons) two coolers in the trunk (massive trunk space as well) and went up Toco to a cook, and was giving turbo civis and an evo 6 pressure......its a joy to drive..effortless and its dependable.

Downsides? Yes.. You MUST maintain your oil/fluids changes. Doh stick with that...at the 5000 km mark..change oil. Also the accelerator is drive by wire...so theres this annoying "lag" before your response kicks in....but then again, the A4's have them. Also the brake rotors will warp and you'll have to replace with slotted ones. (check W2J for best price)...

that and price....i'm seeing the average price of a second hand varying from 120K for a 2005 to nearly 200K for a 2008 models.

I cant give as detailed a review for Audi...so a man like equip2ripp wud be the better one to ask...