Flow Internet Thread

masterkyle

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby masterkyle » October 12th, 2018, 6:18 pm

bluefete wrote:The modem was last unplugged about 2 weeks ago.

I am testing from a laptop that is almost 8 years old. We use wifi.
Well try stopping all internet activity in your house whether from a mobile device, streaming, anything just disconnect everything that uses internet then connect an ethernet cord first direct from the laptop to the modem and test your speed and you can also test with Wi-Fi again once there's no other activity going on. And see what result u get.

Also different devices sometimes give you different speed results over Wi-Fi. you can try installing the speed test app on your mobile device (phone) and test the Wi-Fi connection with that as well and see what you get.
Last edited by masterkyle on October 12th, 2018, 6:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby bluefete » October 12th, 2018, 6:21 pm

Thanks. I will get my son to help me out with that later.

Appreciate the help.

masterkyle

Postby masterkyle » October 12th, 2018, 6:32 pm

bluefete wrote:Thanks. I will get my son to help me out with that later.

Appreciate the help.
No problem at all.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » October 12th, 2018, 7:27 pm

bluefete wrote:I am not tech savvy like so many of you but I just did a speed test for the very first time and i do not like what I see:

I am paying for the bundle with UP TO 100mbps download and UP TO 20 mbps upload.

The readings are 34.4 mbps download and 22.5 mbps upload.

Is something wrong here?

Is Flow shafting me out of my money?

I just did it again and the reading are 30.7mbps download and 22.2mbps upload with a ping of 11 for upload and a jitter of 6 for upload.

HELP?

you put it in caps dey pal

Postby maj. tom » October 12th, 2018, 8:01 pm

You have the white modem? Call Flow and keep harassing them about it. Once you don't think that's a reasonable speed, and it's not within peak times, make it an issue. You're paying money for a service. Let them send a tech and test it and fix your lines or whatever. Keep calling them and get it resolved. Make them aware that u have other options for an ISP.

Postby paid_influencer » October 12th, 2018, 8:12 pm

okay my friend i will help you.

first we need to make sure that you are measuring correctly. In speedtest, make sure you use the local Port-of-Spain flow server. Other servers might not give consistent results.

next, if there is indeed still 30mbps, then we need to assess the problem. We start from you and work back to flow.

We need to check if speed is limited by:

1. The device (laptop in this case)
2. The router
3. The modem.

Device:
if you laptop is 8 years old, it may be 802.11g wireless. which very bad. If it is early 802.11n or draft-n, then it probably single-band, which will make it hard to get 100mbps speed.

If you use wired (ethernet), you laptop or router may be 10/100 ethernet connection, which will give you less than 100mbps in real-world performance. if both laptop and router ethernet are gigabit then you fine.

router:
All devices connected to your router share speed. most popular router in trinidad is single-band wireless-n with speed 150mbps to 450mbps. this router has to share with all devices in you home, such as phones, tablets, tvs, etc. this will bring down speed. very hard to get 100mbps real-world performance with single-band router.

if you have very good router with dual-band (ability to create a 5ghz wifi network), and a device with ability to connect to that 5ghz wifi network, then it should be easy to get >100mbps.

modem:
old cable modem use docsis 2.0, which limit speed to 30mbps. even with 100mbps package, speed will only be 30mps. any installations in last few years use docsis3.0 modem, which will give 100mbps no problem.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 14th, 2018, 6:14 am

To find out how much your speed really is download STEAM and then download any free game

Observe the speed in MB not mbps. 8 mbps make 1 MB

I can do a speedtest right now to Miami and I will only get 24mbps

But if I download a game on Steam I will get a full 100mbps

bossmann

Postby bossmann » October 14th, 2018, 8:26 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:To find out how much your speed really is download STEAM and then download any free game

Observe the speed in MB not mbps. 8 mbps make 1 MB

I can do a speedtest right now to Miami and I will only get 24mbps

But if I download a game on Steam I will get a full 100mbps
A speed test result is determined by the server you are testing to. Just as is downloading. If STEAM connects you to a different server which they most like use geo location to determine, you not guaranteed to get full bandwidth. STEAM is not a bandwidth test.

masterkyle

Postby masterkyle » October 14th, 2018, 8:32 am

I use Comcast Miami as the server for testing for all my speed test.

Postby bluefete » October 14th, 2018, 8:48 am

Paid_Influencer: The test came from the Flow Chaguanas area.

Masterkyle and you were on the same wavelength.

I have learnt much from all who replied.

Thanks again.

samuel6827

Postby samuel6827 » October 16th, 2018, 5:18 pm

Anyone else getting poor upload speeds ? Especially from the arima area

Billy3

Postby Billy3 » October 18th, 2018, 12:55 pm

Up to the month of September I had access to the internet via the TG1672 modem which offered no Wifi so I had a Linksys Broadband Router hooked up to access Firewall and Wifi facilities. During that month there was a lot of repeated down time, after reporting to flow to seek reimbursement for the down time, they did the dance around and told me my modem needed upgrading. They replaced my modem with the TG2492LG and now apart from no improvement in the service I am unable to reinstall a 360eyes camera which I used on the old system.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » December 20th, 2018, 8:36 pm

Anybody having problems with internet¿
Mine only fluctuating from 10-30mb

hassanvoyeau

Postby hassanvoyeau » December 20th, 2018, 9:24 pm

This might interest some - My Experience Setting Up FLOW's TG2492LG-FLO WIFI Modem - https://www.thetechremix.com/2017/08/my ... 492lg.html

Zetski

Postby Zetski » December 20th, 2018, 10:14 pm

hassanvoyeau wrote:This might interest some - My Experience Setting Up FLOW's TG2492LG-FLO WIFI Modem - https://www.thetechremix.com/2017/08/my ... 492lg.html

Your youtube channel is rubbish just delete all your videos and consider something else in life hassan

hassanvoyeau

Postby hassanvoyeau » December 21st, 2018, 7:22 am

Zetski wrote:Your youtube channel is rubbish just delete all your videos and consider something else in life hassan

You trying real hard to be funny. Keep it up. One day you will reach Rachel Price level.

hassanvoyeau

Postby hassanvoyeau » December 21st, 2018, 7:23 am

Flow has added Chat support with automated queuing to their website https://discoverflow.co/trinidad/chat

Postby hydroep » December 21st, 2018, 7:28 am

They have introduced self-service kiosks for paying your bills - at least at the San Fernando office. Even though they were educating the public on its use the line was moving extremely fast.

This along with their online payment service means that cashiers probably gonna lose their wuk pretty soon...:|

masterkyle

Postby masterkyle » December 21st, 2018, 8:22 am

hassanvoyeau wrote:Flow has added Chat support with automated queuing to their website https://discoverflow.co/trinidad/chat
About time.... Speeding $30 on a call to solve any issue is ridiculous in this day and age.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 21st, 2018, 9:46 am

hydroep wrote:They have introduced self-service kiosks for paying your bills - at least at the San Fernando office. Even though they were educating the public on its use the line was moving extremely fast.

This along with their online payment service means that cashiers probably gonna lose their wuk pretty soon...:|

Nicholas Tower and Arima (Shoppes of Arima) have those a while now. Been using them since around June.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » December 21st, 2018, 12:21 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Nicholas Tower and Arima (Shoppes of Arima) have those a while now. Been using them since around June.

he probably now get cable

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 8th, 2019, 10:04 am

dean_spleen09 wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Nicholas Tower and Arima (Shoppes of Arima) have those a while now. Been using them since around June.

he probably now get cable

TRANScable too eh.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » January 10th, 2019, 6:21 pm

anybody know why flow in arima close down ?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 10th, 2019, 9:10 pm

dean_spleen09 wrote:anybody know why flow in arima close down ?

They got a spot in Trincity Mall....more customer traffic.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » January 11th, 2019, 7:09 am

ohhh ok , they could have given a notice in the papers or even fb.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 11th, 2019, 10:45 am

Saw the move notice in the express since December and well if you use Arima its been posted on thier doors a while as well. Only thing is the original move date was Jan 17th and they move it forward by a few weeks.

Blossom

Postby Blossom » February 12th, 2019, 6:03 pm

Anyone know what’s the status with flow in grande? Is it down?

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » February 17th, 2019, 3:58 pm

Is it down for anyone else?

Postby The_Honourable » February 17th, 2019, 4:44 pm

ed360123 wrote:Is it down for anyone else?

Normal in Sando.

supernedd

Postby supernedd » February 21st, 2019, 10:54 am

Flow down by me almost 2 days now... for a min ...i thought i get cut... chaguanas side... i call it in .. waiting to see how long they take