Flow Internet Thread

vaiostation

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby vaiostation » February 1st, 2018, 11:48 am

I wouldn't mind the price increase if the quality was actually consistent and wasn't dropping every thirty minutes or so...
Might give digicel a try this time...

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » February 1st, 2018, 3:13 pm

also hearing ultra raising

lchan485

Postby lchan485 » February 1st, 2018, 5:20 pm

fred1266 wrote:also hearing ultra raising
Hope not. Enjoying this bundle the most Lol. But at lest ultra is not under contract.

brickman

Postby brickman » February 1st, 2018, 5:32 pm

Ultra as well
27336580_10211407919341373_8166571340413121580_n.jpg

lchan485

Postby lchan485 » February 1st, 2018, 5:35 pm

brickman wrote:Ultra as well
Thanks..

Postby teems1 » February 2nd, 2018, 10:44 am

Ultra going up by $25 but the broadband is being upgraded from 60Mb --> 100Mb

I mean it's not bad like 60c TT per megabit, but most people don't even utilize the 60 and have no need for the 100.

To be fair, T&T's internet broadband availability and speeds are on par with the best in the world (South Korea, Finland, Sweden). My relatives in the US and Canada have much worse internet service and pay much more than we do to horrible monopolies like Rogers, Charter, Comcast etc.

lchan485

Postby lchan485 » February 2nd, 2018, 3:57 pm

teems1 wrote:Ultra going up by $25 but the broadband is being upgraded from 60Mb --> 100Mb

I mean it's not bad like 60c TT per megabit, but most people don't even utilize the 60 and have no need for the 100.

To be fair, T&T's internet broadband availability and speeds are on par with the best in the world (South Korea, Finland, Sweden). My relatives in the US and Canada have much worse internet service and pay much more than we do to horrible monopolies like Rogers, Charter, Comcast etc.
Yeah I was looking at broadband average and Xfinity leads the pack. US average is around 67Mps down. My Flow internet has 95% good for the past 3 years , but as of this month it has some video lag or drops in the evening mostly.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 3rd, 2018, 6:26 am

Our internet speed and prices are some of the best and cheapest in the world. For example in India they are still stuck on 256K and 1MB DSL. And they even have to deal with terrible low megabyte caps aswell.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 3rd, 2018, 7:36 am

digicel vs flow.....I know this topic beat out...but which is the better option atm???

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » February 3rd, 2018, 10:02 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:digicel vs flow.....I know this topic beat out...but which is the better option atm???

it all according what you like to watch but for me flow wins since with the ultra package you still get all the HBO stations when i heard they raising really considered going Digi they could have left me with my 60 MBS and not raise it

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 3rd, 2018, 10:11 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:digicel vs flow.....I know this topic beat out...but which is the better option atm???

Digicel is FTTH which means the pings are likely lower which is a good thing.

if you play fighting games like DBFZ which uses delay based netcode you would want Digicel Internet

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » February 3rd, 2018, 11:44 pm

Practically every game I play on Xbox live lagging on flow for the past few months, even with Ethernet connected. Sometimes the connection drops off completely for a minute or two...

Postby gastly369 » February 4th, 2018, 5:08 am

vaiostation wrote:Practically every game I play on Xbox live lagging on flow for the past few months, even with Ethernet connected. Sometimes the connection drops off completely for a minute or two...
Bruhhhhhhh same.. thought was just me...
Use to work much better before the "speed upgrade".... Speed test will say good but usage wise says something else ..I remember doing Glasnost test while back and it said flow was doing bandwidth shaping tho they will deny that...I'm jumping off this flow ship as any fiber service is available in my area even if it's half the speed will.still be faster usage experience

Basically flow tactics raise speeds tell ppl free speed upgrade then few months after raise price of services

Postby Dave » February 4th, 2018, 6:24 am

And they have done this over and over and alternated between cable and internet.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 4th, 2018, 9:21 am

Yeah Fiber will be better than Flow last mile copper for latency.

But by how much? from my understanding it is sometimes almost the same latency as Flow. Remember that going Digicel FTTH isn't like going Bmobile FTTH.

TSTT uses white man first world technology for their FTTH infrastructure, while Digicel uses China man Huawei 3rd world Tech (And yes I have a Huawei Honor 8 phone) so not sheiting on Huawei but generally the first world tech is better. I have seen screen shots of speed test where Digicel can often have same latency as Flow to different parts of the world, offcourse I am sure most of the time it will generally be better pings than Flow.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 4th, 2018, 10:15 am

Tbh...I'm not the gamer type....DL movies yes and don't really get time to watch a lot of TV...so something simple I would like to get...I feel I'd give digi a try when my flow contract ends...

bossmann

Postby bossmann » February 4th, 2018, 10:18 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Yeah Fiber will be better than Flow last mile copper for latency.

But by how much? from my understanding it is sometimes almost the same latency as Flow. Remember that going Digicel FTTH isn't like going Bmobile FTTH.

TSTT uses white man first world technology for their FTTH infrastructure, while Digicel uses China man Huawei 3rd world Tech (And yes I have a Huawei Honor 8 phone) so not sheiting on Huawei but generally the first world tech is better. I have seen screen shots of speed test where Digicel can often have same latency as Flow to different parts of the world, offcourse I am sure most of the time it will generally be better pings than Flow.
Seeing that huawei is the largest telecoms manufacturer in the world, you do know there is a high probability of tstt using their equipment also? They actually even partnered with them some years ago.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 4th, 2018, 10:56 am

^ was told by a few tuners here aswell as a Network Engineer who currently works for Digicel they all said that TSTT and FLOW uses European and American tech for their FTTH.

Not sure about TSTT GSM or whatever have you.

Let us not kid ourselves, Samsung for example is the biggest electronic company in the world and their phones is sh!t compared to iphone. The only semi decent Galaxy phones are the ones that uses American Qualcomm Snapdragon chipsets to begin with. Even the old outdated iphone 6s is faster than the latest galaxy S8 according to Anandtech benchmarks.

So clearly size means nothing, it is about Quality NOT Quantity
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on February 4th, 2018, 3:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 4th, 2018, 3:11 pm

Anybody else getting bad performance on FLOW? like a sort of disconnecting issue, sometimes youtube will just revert to 240p just like that.

I was playing Injustice 2 with a friend from US and he kept saying he had major lag on his end, I thought it was him making excuses for losing but then when I did a line quality test I realized this connection is working like arse.

lchan485

Postby lchan485 » February 6th, 2018, 9:12 pm

Yeah past week on 100 Mb connection I notice a lot of problems with streaming , only works good on SD videos. All HD stick's. But speed & latency off island looks normal. Miami 100 Mb down and 60 - 80 ms . even with VPN on HD videos stick. Must be packet shaping . like is heavy throttling and deep packet inspection now lol

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » February 7th, 2018, 9:53 am

Hmmmmmm.....and to think I was studying to go back to flow with that new $500 promotion they have now just so I could tell digicel to HDMC.

But it seems that the same problems I had years ago with them still persists. See that fackery with the streaming and always dropping connection every 2 seconds as well.....at least digicel has been stable in that regard but with flow that was an everyday thing.

Postby gastly369 » February 7th, 2018, 4:44 pm

Soul Collector wrote:Hmmmmmm.....and to think I was studying to go back to flow with that new $500 promotion they have now just so I could tell digicel to HDMC.

But it seems that the same problems I had years ago with them still persists. See that fackery with the streaming and always dropping connection every 2 seconds as well.....at least digicel has been stable in that regard but with flow that was an everyday thing.
DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME ON FLOW....

lchan485

Postby lchan485 » February 8th, 2018, 8:36 pm

lchan485 wrote:Yeah past week on 100 Mb connection I notice a lot of problems with streaming , only works good on SD videos. All HD stick's. But speed & latency off island looks normal. Miami 100 Mb down and 60 - 80 ms . even with VPN on HD videos stick. Must be packet shaping . like is heavy throttling and deep packet inspection now lol
Update.
HD streaming is work fine again. Happy streaming lol

Postby Morpheus » February 17th, 2018, 5:28 pm

Internet down Arouca side?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 17th, 2018, 5:38 pm

Morpheus wrote:Internet down Arouca side?

Working fine in Piarco here, so might be Arouca or just your connection? always good to ask yuh neighboor

Postby Morpheus » February 17th, 2018, 5:40 pm

Hmmm. Ok will check around. Thanks

Postby Morpheus » February 17th, 2018, 6:04 pm

It's back now. Seems to have been down for about 3hrs. Network was connected but no internet access, etc.

lchan485

Postby lchan485 » February 17th, 2018, 6:49 pm

Working fine for now in PoS

lchan485

Postby lchan485 » February 18th, 2018, 5:45 pm

Anyone using a VPN on an Android tv box, or have tried one on Flow that gives more than 20Mb when connected on Android

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 21st, 2018, 7:32 pm

WTMC my internet was down whole day here in Piarco it now come back.