TriniTuner.com  |  Latest Event:  

Forums

Flow Internet Thread

this is how we do it.......

Moderator: 3ne2nr Mods

User avatar
khandman
3NE 2NR for life
Posts: 201
Joined: November 22nd, 2007, 12:27 am

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby khandman » July 22nd, 2018, 8:30 am

IMG_1268.JPG


Fellas u all sure this rectified? Cuz I still feeling real pain in la romaine

Advertisement
User avatar
EFFECTIC DESIGNS
TriniTuner 24-7
Posts: 8169
Joined: April 1st, 2010, 3:17 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 22nd, 2018, 8:37 am

Yes I am 100% sure it is rectified here is my speed test

Image

Image

K74T
TriniTuner 24-7
Posts: 16786
Joined: June 7th, 2010, 11:01 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby K74T » July 22nd, 2018, 11:24 am

Image

User avatar
EFFECTIC DESIGNS
TriniTuner 24-7
Posts: 8169
Joined: April 1st, 2010, 3:17 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 22nd, 2018, 2:51 pm

Initially I had issues with flow but once my package was upgraded I never again had any issues, this is by far the best most reliable internet service I ever used.

I never understood the disconnect issues I had with flow some years ago, when the webpages would just time out for a few seconds but modem remained connected I remember trying everything they even changed modem, tech came home and checked line and all was fine but the issue always remained.

Upgraded from what at the time was 10mbps to I believe 15Mbps and still same issue then upgraded to 30mbps and same issue.

Then upgraded to 60mbps and viola for 2 years straight never a single issue. Then got the upgrade to 100mbps and still runs perfect.

K74T
TriniTuner 24-7
Posts: 16786
Joined: June 7th, 2010, 11:01 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby K74T » July 22nd, 2018, 3:51 pm

Csb

User avatar
Swisha
Chronic 2NR
Posts: 4361
Joined: May 2nd, 2003, 12:20 am
Location: T&T

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby Swisha » July 22nd, 2018, 4:27 pm

Is how much years now we reading about that cool story though? lol

User avatar
khandman
3NE 2NR for life
Posts: 201
Joined: November 22nd, 2007, 12:27 am

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby khandman » July 23rd, 2018, 10:13 am

IMG_1282.JPG


Back up to normal. Technician visited this morning and said it had some issue because of the fiber break. Not sure how but say what it’s back up.

redmanjp
Trying to catch PATCH AND VEGA
Posts: 6494
Joined: September 22nd, 2009, 11:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby redmanjp » July 23rd, 2018, 10:37 am

khandman wrote:IMG_1268.JPG

Fellas u all sure this rectified? Cuz I still feeling real pain in la romaine



assuming it was a fibre break undersea a speed test to a local server shouldn't be affected, only overseas servers- that might be your connection

Shyonye
Riding on 13's
Posts: 3
Joined: July 29th, 2018, 8:49 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby Shyonye » July 29th, 2018, 8:56 pm

Helooo gdnight iam new to this GROUP can anyone help me with an issue please thank u

Shyonye
Riding on 13's
Posts: 3
Joined: July 29th, 2018, 8:49 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby Shyonye » July 29th, 2018, 8:56 pm

Hii all

Shyonye
Riding on 13's
Posts: 3
Joined: July 29th, 2018, 8:49 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby Shyonye » July 29th, 2018, 8:57 pm

Hii every one

User avatar
gastly369
TriniTuner 24-7
Posts: 7510
Joined: May 15th, 2009, 4:40 pm
Location: trinidad

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby gastly369 » July 29th, 2018, 9:55 pm

Your issue is flow....

lchan485
3NE 2NR for life
Posts: 200
Joined: June 12th, 2016, 7:05 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby lchan485 » July 30th, 2018, 6:54 pm

Anyone internet down in PoS now?

bluefete
3ne2nr Toppa Toppa
Posts: 5991
Joined: November 12th, 2008, 10:56 pm
Location: POS

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby bluefete » July 31st, 2018, 5:22 am

Shyonye wrote:Helooo gdnight iam new to this GROUP can anyone help me with an issue please thank u


gastly369 wrote:Your issue is flow....


Did you just do what I thought I saw you do?

BRUTAL!

User avatar
Rovin
Shifting into 6th
Posts: 2161
Joined: January 23rd, 2014, 1:14 pm
Location: picking up bottle on Chaguanas main road

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby Rovin » August 9th, 2018, 11:59 am

is it me alone here in chaguanas or flow moving slow today ? like hop & drop ......

User avatar
Dizzy28
TriniTuner 24-7
Posts: 9443
Joined: February 8th, 2010, 8:54 am
Location: People's Republic of Bananas

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby Dizzy28 » August 9th, 2018, 2:57 pm

Rovin's Audio wrote:is it me alone here in chaguanas or flow moving slow today ? like hop & drop ......
We have flow in work and it down right now. PoS area.

User avatar
Curtms
12 pounds of Boost
Posts: 2218
Joined: June 16th, 2010, 11:03 am
Location: 10° 10' N, 61° 40' W

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby Curtms » August 19th, 2018, 4:20 pm

Slow
Screenshot_20180819-161858_Samsung%20Internet.jpeg
Screenshot_20180819-094423_Samsung%20Internet.jpeg

User avatar
masterkyle
3NE 2NR for life
Posts: 111
Joined: May 14th, 2008, 7:25 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby masterkyle » August 20th, 2018, 5:27 pm

Ok guys, so I was a flow customer before then I switched to Massy, my friend got Flow and the new white box, but I find that the 5 ghz band gets the full speed on speed tests and 2ghz lower much lower and on LAN its full speed as well, could this be a faulty router or is it just how all dem flow white router works?

User avatar
maj. tom
punchin NOS
Posts: 4644
Joined: March 16th, 2012, 10:47 am
Location: Zoo Station

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby maj. tom » August 20th, 2018, 7:57 pm

The 2.4 GHz bands are most likely saturated in your area, and the router has chosen a channel that's overlapping with someone else's band. And 2.4GHz gets a lot of outside interference from all the other other devices like Bluetooth, microwave oven, cordless phones, etc.

Use the 5GHz with a repeater for ample coverage and penetration through the concrete walls, and leave the 2.4 GHz for the few older devices that are not capable of 5GHz.

User avatar
masterkyle
3NE 2NR for life
Posts: 111
Joined: May 14th, 2008, 7:25 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby masterkyle » August 20th, 2018, 8:01 pm

maj. tom wrote:The 2.4 GHz bands are most likely saturated in your area, and the router has chosen a channel that's overlapping with someone else's band. And 2.4GHz gets a lot of outside interference from all the other other devices like Bluetooth, microwave oven, cordless phones, etc.

Use the 5GHz with a repeater for ample coverage and penetration through the concrete walls, and leave the 2.4 GHz for the few older devices that are not capable of 5GHz.
Ok cool I always choose the channel nobody else is on. But another question, can this white router be mounted on on the wall, I see the two holes on it but I fine it will be hanging strangley.

adnj
Riding on 17's
Posts: 1366
Joined: February 24th, 2014, 2:55 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby adnj » August 20th, 2018, 10:52 pm

maj. tom wrote: Use the 5GHz with a repeater for ample coverage and penetration through the concrete walls, and leave the 2.4 GHz for the few older devices that are not capable of 5GHz.


A wireless repeater is usually easy to set up but can slow down your throughput under conditions of frequent uplink/downlink particularly when you have more than one client being served.

Try to survey the areas that you frequent with a tool like "Wifi Analyzer." You'll be able to know what the signal strengths are of your network and any/some competition from outside. If you require faster speeds, cascade or bridge your connection to a different (and maybe maybe more powerful) router or access point that is closer to where you need it. None of the CPE gateway routers that I am familiar with seem to be very fast or robust.

Also check for devices that are on your network at a distance or using 802.11 b/g to connect. Either situation can slow down your entire network.

Networking is a complicated topic and can be a real PITA to make work properly but it's not impossible.

romant17
Riding on 13's
Posts: 2
Joined: January 2nd, 2010, 10:20 am

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby romant17 » September 3rd, 2018, 12:56 pm

Can anyone advise on this?

My Flow 100/20 works extremely well but my house is a WiFi disaster area with lots of obstacles to signal. I have maxed out on mesh networked access points and it is tolerable most places. However I want to use Moca (Ethernet over coax) to provide wired back haul between the access points. The Arris TG1672 router/modem that Flow provided me is Moca 1.1 (which is about 100mbs) and this would force the Moca 2.0 adapters (capable of ~400mbs) to work at 1.1 speeds.

Question: Has anyone received a router/modem from Flow which is Moca 2.0 compliant or, if I buy my own, will Flow be willing to provision it for use?

adnj
Riding on 17's
Posts: 1366
Joined: February 24th, 2014, 2:55 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby adnj » September 3rd, 2018, 6:52 pm

I can't say whether you would get Flow to accept your equipment but you can adapt the gigabit ethernet output from your modem to MoCA 2.0

lchan485
3NE 2NR for life
Posts: 200
Joined: June 12th, 2016, 7:05 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby lchan485 » September 3rd, 2018, 7:56 pm

romant17 wrote:Can anyone advise on this?

My Flow 100/20 works extremely well but my house is a WiFi disaster area with lots of obstacles to signal. I have maxed out on mesh networked access points and it is tolerable most places. However I want to use Moca (Ethernet over coax) to provide wired back haul between the access points. The Arris TG1672 router/modem that Flow provided me is Moca 1.1 (which is about 100mbs) and this would force the Moca 2.0 adapters (capable of ~400mbs) to work at 1.1 speeds.

Question: Has anyone received a router/modem from Flow which is Moca 2.0 compliant or, if I buy my own, will Flow be willing to provision it for use?
Have you tried Power line adapters ?. I'm using that for that purpose. I think the Moca on that Modem is just for the Tv service. But I'm not sure, i don't see much stuff that uses Moca. I've seen Amplia use that method thou . well keep use updated on the out come.

User avatar
EFFECTIC DESIGNS
TriniTuner 24-7
Posts: 8169
Joined: April 1st, 2010, 3:17 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 21st, 2018, 9:31 pm

Taking 10 minutes for the modem to connect after every reboot. US light blinking for 10 minutes before the modem connects.

Then there is packet loss and some major nasty 800ms ping when playing games.

Anybody else having this issue?

bossmann
Trinituner Peong
Posts: 428
Joined: October 23rd, 2007, 1:44 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby bossmann » September 22nd, 2018, 6:24 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Taking 10 minutes for the modem to connect after every reboot. US light blinking for 10 minutes before the modem connects.

Then there is packet loss and some major nasty 800ms ping when playing games.

Anybody else having this issue?
Pages loading kinda slow on my side.

User avatar
The_Honourable
punchin NOS
Posts: 4063
Joined: June 14th, 2009, 3:45 pm
Location: Land of Stupidity and Corruption

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby The_Honourable » September 22nd, 2018, 12:56 pm

Does anyone get drops for about a minute or so with the new white modem-router combo? Is it the modem itself or the inbuilt router? Never had problems with the old black modem. Thinking about disabling the router and setup a new separate router.

lchan485
3NE 2NR for life
Posts: 200
Joined: June 12th, 2016, 7:05 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby lchan485 » September 22nd, 2018, 1:24 pm

I still have the black one, works Good still

User avatar
Kronik
Shifting into 6th
Posts: 2113
Joined: July 23rd, 2004, 9:37 pm
Location: Central
Contact:

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby Kronik » September 22nd, 2018, 1:47 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Does anyone get drops for about a minute or so with the new white modem-router combo? Is it the modem itself or the inbuilt router? Never had problems with the old black modem. Thinking about disabling the router and setup a new separate router.
Ah boy, the old disconnect issue, I used to have that with flow, most annoying thing

User avatar
stev
TriniTuner 24-7
Posts: 7426
Joined: May 26th, 2010, 11:29 am
Location: Central

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby stev » September 24th, 2018, 2:52 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Taking 10 minutes for the modem to connect after every reboot. US light blinking for 10 minutes before the modem connects.

Then there is packet loss and some major nasty 800ms ping when playing games.

Anybody else having this issue?


do u have fiber to the house or fiber to the pole?

i had a similar issue last year including dropped connections / disconnects (fiber to the pole then coax to the house)

my issue was the coax cable entering the modem was tangled / wrapped in the power cord of my router :oops: :lol:

it was interference. lol

Advertisement

Return to “Ole talk and more Ole talk”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 56 guests