TriniTuner.com  |  Latest Event:  

Forums

Flow Internet Thread

this is how we do it.......

Moderator: 3ne2nr Mods

User avatar
GIGAkun
Riding on 13's
Posts: 7
Joined: July 29th, 2014, 9:27 am

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby GIGAkun » July 3rd, 2019, 10:19 pm

Hey everyone. Has anyone experienced any throttling with Flow recently. In particular with "android boxes etc". I use a !ptv service and as of recently it has become unwatchable during prime time. So i decided to tryout a free vpn to see what's up. And surprise surprise it streams again. I disabled the vpn, next to nada. Reenabled, it streams. Can anyone else confirm?

Advertisement
User avatar
brickman
Shifting into 6th
Posts: 2095
Joined: February 2nd, 2010, 10:08 am
Location: In a happy place

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby brickman » July 3rd, 2019, 10:43 pm

No vpn & mine works fine.

User avatar
GIGAkun
Riding on 13's
Posts: 7
Joined: July 29th, 2014, 9:27 am

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby GIGAkun » July 4th, 2019, 6:19 am

brickman wrote:No vpn & mine works fine.

To clarify I'm using an actual paid !ptv service (m3u list, username, password, port number etc). So i suppose i'm bypassing whatever regular restreaming method a normal android app etc uses and fl0w sees my traffic as !ptv.

User avatar
brickman
Shifting into 6th
Posts: 2095
Joined: February 2nd, 2010, 10:08 am
Location: In a happy place

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby brickman » July 4th, 2019, 2:32 pm

So am i,had the service since november & have had no issues with flow.Could be the servers that the service you use are having problems.Maybe find people who use the same iptv you are using & ask them or talk to the service seller.

User avatar
dean_spleen09
Riding on 17's
Posts: 1441
Joined: September 24th, 2004, 7:31 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby dean_spleen09 » July 10th, 2019, 8:40 am

https://discoverflow.co/trinidad/flow-wifi
Get 200MB of data every 24 hours
Flow Wi-Fi offers speeds of up to 10Mbps download and up to 3Mbps upload

you can do better than this flow

originalbling
Trinituner Peong
Posts: 465
Joined: September 27th, 2004, 10:26 am
Contact:

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby originalbling » July 10th, 2019, 9:23 am

Do I have the option of opting out of this?

Yes, you can opt out at any time. Simple call our contact centre at 1 (868) 223- 3569 or send us an email at FlowWiFisupport@cwc.com and one of our helpful agents will assist. Please note that it may take up to 2 weeks for the Flow Wi-Fi to be disabled on your modem

Call centre process flow:

Step : 1 FLOW BB Customer unwilling to grant access to Flow Wi-Fi.

Step : 2 Customer contacts FLOW call center and speaks to an agent.

Step : 3 Detail explanation of the benefits of Flow Wi-Fi and confirmation.

Step : 4 Agent advises service blocked and reconnect anytime.

Once I opt out, can I still use Flow Wi-Fi?

No. Once you opt out of Flow Wi-Fi you cannot use this service at any location where it is available.

Why should I allow Flow Wi-Fi when I’m paying the electrical bill?

This service is free of charge for your friends and family therefore it eliminates the need for you to share your password or your Broadband speeds.



Anyone knows how this is being provisioned on modems and can it compromise your network in any way?
What does paying the electrical bill have to do with it?

User avatar
teems1
12 pounds of Boost
Posts: 2278
Joined: March 15th, 2007, 4:44 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby teems1 » July 10th, 2019, 10:56 am

originalbling wrote:
Do I have the option of opting out of this?

Yes, you can opt out at any time. Simple call our contact centre at 1 (868) 223- 3569 or send us an email at FlowWiFisupport@cwc.com and one of our helpful agents will assist. Please note that it may take up to 2 weeks for the Flow Wi-Fi to be disabled on your modem

Call centre process flow:

Step : 1 FLOW BB Customer unwilling to grant access to Flow Wi-Fi.

Step : 2 Customer contacts FLOW call center and speaks to an agent.

Step : 3 Detail explanation of the benefits of Flow Wi-Fi and confirmation.

Step : 4 Agent advises service blocked and reconnect anytime.

Once I opt out, can I still use Flow Wi-Fi?

No. Once you opt out of Flow Wi-Fi you cannot use this service at any location where it is available.

Why should I allow Flow Wi-Fi when I’m paying the electrical bill?

This service is free of charge for your friends and family therefore it eliminates the need for you to share your password or your Broadband speeds.



Anyone knows how this is being provisioned on modems and can it compromise your network in any way?
What does paying the electrical bill have to do with it?


It's the same thing Comcast did with their Xfinity WiFi years ago.

This isn't something new which FLOW is doing. They're simply enabling an out of the box module which supposedly has been tested in other countries.

adnj
Riding on 17's
Posts: 1529
Joined: February 24th, 2014, 2:55 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby adnj » July 10th, 2019, 1:08 pm

teems1 wrote:
originalbling wrote:Anyone knows how this is being provisioned on modems and can it compromise your network in any way?
What does paying the electrical bill have to do with it?


It's the same thing Comcast did with their Xfinity WiFi years ago.

This isn't something new which FLOW is doing. They're simply enabling an out of the box module which supposedly has been tested in other countries.


There is a separate logical device (separate controls and antennas in the same box with different internet protocol adresses) that is controlled by the service provider.

Your modem has your speed cap. The public modem has its own speed cap. Both modems will be affected by data congestion issues.

There haven't been any vulnerabilities with this setup published but it could pose a problem in the future depending on the implementation.

Routers burn about the same electricity as a single LED light bulb; about 2kWh per year or less than TT$0.60 each year.

User avatar
maj. tom
3ne2nr Toppa Toppa
Posts: 5094
Joined: March 16th, 2012, 10:47 am
Location: watching for Pigs on the Wing.

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby maj. tom » July 10th, 2019, 6:26 pm

I didn't have a problem with it until it kept dropping my 5GHz signal all the time. Why? Because it broadcasts on the exact same frequency as the router sets for your own home signal. For the 5GHz that interference is not good. The legacy 2.4GHz devices not going to notice this, but my devices use the 5Ghz ac features.

Nah.

User avatar
dean_spleen09
Riding on 17's
Posts: 1441
Joined: September 24th, 2004, 7:31 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby dean_spleen09 » July 10th, 2019, 7:38 pm

flow block the link i post above lol.

User avatar
maj. tom
3ne2nr Toppa Toppa
Posts: 5094
Joined: March 16th, 2012, 10:47 am
Location: watching for Pigs on the Wing.

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby maj. tom » July 10th, 2019, 8:16 pm


lchan485
3NE 2NR for life
Posts: 200
Joined: June 12th, 2016, 7:05 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby lchan485 » July 10th, 2019, 9:03 pm

maj. tom wrote:don't worry, the internet is archived
http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/s ... /flow-wifi
http://archive.is/ipwwJ
Lol.. Good looking out G..
200mb a day can't do nothing haha

lchan485
3NE 2NR for life
Posts: 200
Joined: June 12th, 2016, 7:05 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby lchan485 » July 10th, 2019, 9:08 pm

dean_spleen09 wrote:https://discoverflow.co/trinidad/flow-wifi
Get 200MB of data every 24 hours
Flow Wi-Fi offers speeds of up to 10Mbps download and up to 3Mbps upload

you can do better than this flow
Yeah speeds Good, but data cap too low.
Should be checked Monthly maybe 1Gb.

Kenjo
Shifting into 6th
Posts: 2142
Joined: March 19th, 2009, 10:31 pm
Location: Home

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby Kenjo » July 10th, 2019, 9:18 pm

Well if you are in a bind for Internet it should work . Can’t be running that much off of free internet that might be accessible from your home

chupacabra
Ricer
Posts: 15
Joined: July 15th, 2019, 6:29 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby chupacabra » July 15th, 2019, 7:26 pm

Hi,

This is bugging me quite some time, how come that flow always routes me to London to get back to the US to Arizona ( go daddy)
It doesn't matter if I go over boca-raton or this north-miami they both send me first to Europe ?
64 hops max, 72 byte packets
1 192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1) 18.581 ms 14.068 ms 24.026 ms
2 * * *
3 te-8-1.tt.cm01.columbustrinidad.com (200.1.111.149) 55.306 ms 67.224 ms 140.653 ms
4 200.1.107.86 (200.1.107.86) 129.547 ms 308.958 ms 130.772 ms
5 200.1.111.29 (200.1.111.29) 20.641 ms 125.185 ms 17.013 ms
6 200.1.111.24 (200.1.111.24) 17.371 ms 126.612 ms 12.700 ms
7 63.245.70.9 (63.245.70.9) 157.377 ms 148.103 ms 126.914 ms
8 ae5.nmi-mx2020-1.north-miami.fl.usa.cwc.com (69.79.104.20) 169.192 ms 151.940 ms 125.849 ms
9 mai-b3-link.telia.net (62.115.12.16) 219.771 ms 217.931 ms 87.556 ms
10 atl-b24-link.telia.net (62.115.114.218) 199.807 ms * 100.528 ms
11 atl-b22-link.telia.net (62.115.113.24) 87.998 ms 115.912 ms 101.826 ms
12 dls-b22-link.telia.net (62.115.120.113) 160.583 ms 137.221 ms 166.721 ms
13 las-b24-link.telia.net (62.115.118.247) 377.810 ms 162.267 ms 132.562 ms
14 hosteurope-ic-338676-las-b24.c.telia.net (62.115.171.243) 133.767 ms 216.519 ms 204.744 ms
15 148.72.32.16 (148.72.32.16) 128.723 ms 205.793 ms 206.551 ms
16 be38.trmc0215-01.ars.mgmt.phx3.gdg (184.168.0.69) 202.980 ms 221.172 ms 306.181 ms
17 * * *
18 * * *
19 * * *
20 * * *
21 ip-132-148-51-129.ip.secureserver.net (132.148.51.129) 149.596 ms 222.424 ms 221.181 ms

chupacabra
Ricer
Posts: 15
Joined: July 15th, 2019, 6:29 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby chupacabra » July 15th, 2019, 7:36 pm

I even get to silly Zwitserland ?
62.115.120.113 I mean I can't be the only one ?

chupacabra
Ricer
Posts: 15
Joined: July 15th, 2019, 6:29 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby chupacabra » July 15th, 2019, 7:38 pm

With digicel I get there a lot faster without these routing errors
17 ip-132-148-51-129.ip.secureserver.net (132.148.51.129) 122.119 ms 116.758 ms 119.679 ms

User avatar
maj. tom
3ne2nr Toppa Toppa
Posts: 5094
Joined: March 16th, 2012, 10:47 am
Location: watching for Pigs on the Wing.

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby maj. tom » July 15th, 2019, 7:47 pm

There is nothing strange about this. What you feel it's Fedex?

Internet Protocol addresses packets of data which are sent over the internet by very complex data transmission and scheduling through the most efficient route called IP routing. It's not as simple as sending the data to the router next door. Your data packets could pass through servers in Hong Kong and around the world before they end up as compiled data to your phone sitting right next to you. The universal protocol that your computer handshakes with the internet through the ISP determines how to break up, transmit and reassemble the data packets as efficiently as possible by considering many parameters such as connection speeds, latency, server processing speed, web caching and a million other terms that I don't even know about.


Here's some further reading if you want to learn something:
https://www.cloudflare.com/learning/ddo ... -protocol/
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Internet_Protocol

chupacabra
Ricer
Posts: 15
Joined: July 15th, 2019, 6:29 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby chupacabra » July 16th, 2019, 4:46 am

HI,
Thanks for your reply but:
There is nothing complex about the ip layer stack in the 7 layered tcpip protocol?
Thats why it is so well designed ( cut up in 7 layers), IP stack is dead simple.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Internet_Protocol
IP has the task of delivering packets from the source host to the destination host solely based on the IP addresses in the packet headers. For this purpose, IP defines packet structures that encapsulate the data to be delivered. It also defines addressing methods that are used to label the datagram with source and destination information

Thats all it does, and most of the western world uses Cisco routers to deliver this.

A routing table is a data file in RAM that is used to store route information about directly connected and remote networks. The routing table contains network/next hop associations. These associations tell a router that a particular destination can be optimally reached by sending the packet to a specific router that represents the "next hop" on the way to the final destination. The next hop association can also be the outgoing or exit interface to the final destination.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Routing_table

So if I do a tracert from Trinidad to a big player like godaddy it is terrible that I go over London and Suisse and some more servers in Europe and then back to Arizona.
So all the hopping around from mai-b3-link.telia.net ( London ) till Scottsdale 132.148.51.129 is a terrible waste of time.
Flow should fix this a.s.a.p even if the problem is in Miami, tell them in Florida to fix their routing table.

bossmann
Trinituner Peong
Posts: 432
Joined: October 23rd, 2007, 1:44 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby bossmann » July 16th, 2019, 8:37 am

What are the 7 layers TCP/IP?

blitz83
Street 2NR
Posts: 58
Joined: June 1st, 2011, 11:02 am

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby blitz83 » July 16th, 2019, 9:21 am

All these trace routes this man posting.........i get the feeling is ED part 2?

User avatar
maj. tom
3ne2nr Toppa Toppa
Posts: 5094
Joined: March 16th, 2012, 10:47 am
Location: watching for Pigs on the Wing.

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby maj. tom » July 16th, 2019, 10:56 am

Well I hope you emailed your concerns and suggested corrections to Flow and Cable&Wireless then "chupacabra."
Maybe they will hire you and forget about the CCIE engineers that they're paying on their global scale networking company. I know you can teach them quite a few things about IP routing efficiency.

N.B. the internet backbone and the Tiers networking levels, and why that particular IP route is chosen by FLOW was covered a few pages back when ED asked more or less the same question. The exact question. Or maybe it was his Digicel ping thread I think?

chupacabra
Ricer
Posts: 15
Joined: July 15th, 2019, 6:29 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby chupacabra » July 16th, 2019, 11:46 am

maj. tom wrote:Well I hope you emailed your concerns and suggested corrections to Flow and Cable&Wireless then "chupacabra."
I think it is more effective to post here, bet they read here more often.
Maybe they will hire you and forget about the CCIE engineers that they're paying on their global scale networking company. I know you can teach them quite a few things about IP routing efficiency.
There is no global ip routing specialists guru group that needs years of training, you shouldn't talk rubbish, perhaps aspiring young people on this forum want to go into CCNA. The routing tables isn't all that complex and I wrote you already that it does work on the 'next hob' association principle.

N.B. the internet backbone and the Tiers networking levels, and why that particular IP route is chosen by FLOW was covered a few pages back when ED asked more or less the same question. The exact question. Or maybe it was his Digicel ping thread I think?

I searched and see no reference to tracert in ED's posts, if you really get it you would realise that FLOW doesn't decide a route, routes are not defined form the sender, routes are defined by the routers on the way. So it is just quite common that some routers have bad tables, its called 'human error' therefor it is best that this gets fixed a.s.a.p since all FLOW traffic going to a US 'GODADDY' server is now first going to London and Switserland, I know that for you that means nothing and you personally don't care if it goes to HongKong, but any normal thinking person doesn't want its traffic to go that way.

User avatar
Kronik
Shifting into 6th
Posts: 2155
Joined: July 23rd, 2004, 9:37 pm
Location: Central
Contact:

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby Kronik » July 16th, 2019, 11:55 am

chupacabra wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Well I hope you emailed your concerns and suggested corrections to Flow and Cable&Wireless then "chupacabra."
I think it is more effective to post here, bet they read here more often.
Maybe they will hire you and forget about the CCIE engineers that they're paying on their global scale networking company. I know you can teach them quite a few things about IP routing efficiency.
There is no global ip routing specialists guru group that needs years of training, you shouldn't talk rubbish, perhaps aspiring young people on this forum want to go into CCNA. The routing tables isn't all that complex and I wrote you already that it does work on the 'next hob' association principle.

N.B. the internet backbone and the Tiers networking levels, and why that particular IP route is chosen by FLOW was covered a few pages back when ED asked more or less the same question. The exact question. Or maybe it was his Digicel ping thread I think?

I searched and see no reference to tracert in ED's posts, if you really get it you would realise that FLOW doesn't decide a route, routes are not defined form the sender, routes are defined by the routers on the way. So it is just quite common that some routers have bad tables, its called 'human error' therefor it is best that this gets fixed a.s.a.p since all FLOW traffic going to a US 'GODADDY' server is now first going to London and Switserland, I know that for you that means nothing and you personally don't care if it goes to HongKong, but any normal thinking person doesn't want its traffic to go that way.
The fastest route is not always the direct route, your data could take a world trip on a high bandwidth fibre cable and still reach before taking the shortest physical route due to whatever reason, that is what MPLS is used for, instead of normal layer 2 routing

User avatar
maj. tom
3ne2nr Toppa Toppa
Posts: 5094
Joined: March 16th, 2012, 10:47 am
Location: watching for Pigs on the Wing.

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby maj. tom » July 16th, 2019, 11:56 am

Yuh does know the school vacation bois when dey idle. :lol: :lol: :lol:

bossmann
Trinituner Peong
Posts: 432
Joined: October 23rd, 2007, 1:44 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby bossmann » July 16th, 2019, 12:30 pm

You do know that flow is owned by C&W? Which is a London based company. They are most likely routing traffic through their servers Also what are the 7 TCP layers?

User avatar
dean_spleen09
Riding on 17's
Posts: 1441
Joined: September 24th, 2004, 7:31 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby dean_spleen09 » July 16th, 2019, 12:51 pm

chupacabra want to go on the bus route , but pay main road price lul.
:|

User avatar
teems1
12 pounds of Boost
Posts: 2278
Joined: March 15th, 2007, 4:44 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby teems1 » July 16th, 2019, 1:36 pm

bossmann wrote:You do know that flow is owned by C&W? Which is a London based company. They are most likely routing traffic through their servers Also what are the 7 TCP layers?


C&W was bought over by Liberty Media.

bossmann
Trinituner Peong
Posts: 432
Joined: October 23rd, 2007, 1:44 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby bossmann » July 16th, 2019, 4:11 pm

Yes but the routing is through CW which has an agreement with Telia to use their underwater cables.

chupacabra
Ricer
Posts: 15
Joined: July 15th, 2019, 6:29 pm

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby chupacabra » July 17th, 2019, 3:43 am

Okay I know little about MPLS but that suppose to make it faster, I don't mind hopping around to Europe if it would increase speed but I this case it doesn't.
https://www.monitis.com/traceroute/
The thing is it doesn't because at the end it makes no sense.
anyone running a business with a webstore?
I don't mind leaving godaddy and go elsewhere that’s faster/better, but who has faster access from Trinidad?
Who has a good deal with cpanel, php7, Wordpress and cheap ssl?
Anyone using https://www.hostinger.com/?
They seem to be quite fast from Trinidad
https://hostingfacts.com/ but the number one on this list seems slow for us in Trinidad.
I’m asking this since I have to renew my godaddy account or move but classic ( what I have is stuck @ php 5.6 )
So I might as well move on.

Advertisement

Return to “Ole talk and more Ole talk”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], litos, maj. tom, rspann and 81 guests