Min of Education stops extra-curricular activities

trini mk5

Re: Min of Education stops extra-curricular activities

Postby trini mk5 » April 7th, 2011, 9:28 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:
trini mk5 wrote:^^So u agreeing with the TIM and his strategy??

i have no clue based on what I said in this thread that I agree, please read from pg 1

Hardluck there mamoo, but i doh understand what u now typed there :?

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » April 7th, 2011, 9:34 pm

lol........4get it

Postby K74T » April 7th, 2011, 11:06 pm

07baracuda wrote:k74 & duane ,
you both just proved my point exactly.

BIG GOATS.

Talk nah?

Postby eliteauto » April 7th, 2011, 11:43 pm

I suspect Tim will get/ has gotten an overseas call which will go like this:

Tim: hello
Kams: Aye you fcuking up eh, yuh is ah kinda cnut orr *click*
Tim: hello....hello

tomorrow:

Tim: In light of the statement made by me on the issue of extra-curricular activities during school hours, there seemed to be some differing views and much discussion, as a result I intend to hold my hand on a final decision and meet with all stakeholders and corporate bodies in an attempt to seek a mutually beneficial resolution that will redound to benefit of our beloved students

wait for the back pedal

Postby streetbeastINC. » April 8th, 2011, 12:19 am

we use to calll colm imbert annoying but gopeesingh feel brain dead ideas are great...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 8th, 2011, 2:25 am

Yeah but hear this nah. These chirren does really study in class?

Most of them does be talking and when the teacher correct them they want to beat and rape the teacher etc.

I think TIM needs to do something more useful like put Army Soldiers in some of these schools. And from my understanding right now things is out of control real bad.

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » April 8th, 2011, 2:37 am

kamla has surrounded herself with mad men. she will never control them at all

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » April 8th, 2011, 9:12 am

You guys are missing the real points so here I go:

If everybody just stays in Class you will get misfits. Just view one episode of Big Bang theory to prove my point as to why children need to be well rounded :shock:

Next society cannot handle a slew of exceptional students as who will fill certain lower level jobs according to Economics and demand and supply.

Imagine if Obama were to one day wake up and say no more extra-curricular activities without consulting state and district officials.
Which would probably mean no Cheer-leading, College basketball, College Football, etc.etc.
It would be the apocalypse in America. Fox news would hold rallies with the ku-klux klan :!:

Trinis are too complacent, we conveniently find ways to justify other ppls nonsense when it suits us accordingly. We need to step back and take a look at this from a holistic point of view instead of easily accepting anything the politician we like says.

Extra-curricular activities is why Trinidad is where it is Today. Some of our greatest nationals have excelled in both school and academics. We are not Grenada, St. Vincent or some other small Island. We are on par with Jamaica in terms of athletics because of historical achievement in sporting programmes.

Imagine how the Min.of Sport has to deal with this now that he announced a big sport budget. Do you guys think the elderly are to use these facilities?

Who will supervise teens and children after schools and ensure they reach home safe in the dark? Are teachers to receive overtime? I thought the treasury was empty?

It looks like we got a set of posers as Ministers and humble pie will be out of stock soon 0X

Postby K74T » April 8th, 2011, 9:15 am

well this was voted for yunno

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 8th, 2011, 9:37 am

Nigson wrote:I am hearing that he said Extra curricular activities would be stopped...

but he did not say Co curricular...
I think this is causing a big misunderstanding....

The simplest and broadest explanation is that extracurricular activities take place outside of the school day, whereas co-curricular activities take place during the school day.

Something like band or choir might be considered cocurricular; something like football or student government might be considered extracurricular.

Band or choir requires teaching. Although football does, it's not really considered education, per se -- that is, it's not directly related to the general purpose of school education, although it does teach important things...
Source(s):
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Extracurricular_activities

ek4ever wrote:While this approach may appear draconian....I remember when I was in secondary school...one of the prestige 7 year schools....the teachers used to become frustrated at the absence of students from classes due to all types of activities. Now as a student we were all glad for the 'distractions' but things used to get out of hand....sports day and days leading up to it....classes disrupted for all types of activities. Sports day itself.....no classes. The next day all students have to help clean up compound. Royal Bank Star Class....teacher comes to class....students out doing Star Class activities...Intercol ... footballers out of class....cricket ... students missing class for almost whole day....and so on and so on.

Now granted extra-curricular activities are important and contribute to students being successful....but it's the disruption it causes and the fact that schools have been letting it get out of hand that I believe has led to the Minister taking this position. I know teachers used to complain about the disruption to their work programs so even they had issues with it.

Maybe through further discussions the Ministry and the schools will be able to arrive at a middle ground.

:!: :!:

great points and i believe this is what the minister what speaking about...

I was involved in a lot of extra curricular activities when i was in high school, ranging from H.A.M radio society to I.S.C.F but these clubs could only have meetings during lunch time and after school hours....

You don't see a football team training during class room time or choir practicing during class room time.....these activities usually take place after school hours. Therefore the Minister said nothing out of the norm....a lot of teachers are frustrated when student have to miss class to attend "functions".

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 8th, 2011, 11:07 am

^^ Exactly. I know students who used to join certain activities because it meant time away from class. In other cases some students have been failed because they miss classes and assignments and then try to use their involvement with 'school activities' as an excuse....what good is this? How is this benefiting the student?

Postby Team Loco » April 8th, 2011, 11:31 am

well guys, everyone quick to go against the minister. but i understand what he is saying.
there needs to be some form of control on these activities. a certain school principal once asked permission for his form 5 studnts to visit my workplace. no probs. the 20 odd students were accompanied by their form teacher. the form teacher told me the trip was unnecessary but he had to do it because the rpincipal said so.
that form teacher walked with one of the students "spelling" copy book. here are some of the words form 5 students had to spell:

egg- spelt by student- eg
walk- spelt by student- wolk
flag- spelt by student- flac

many more errors.
i think we have lost focus on the core nature of education. probably a good paradigm shift back to reality may help. the education system needs a proper structure and the extra activities should be secondary. until pupils can perform at their proper academic level, i support the minister fully

Postby A172 » April 8th, 2011, 11:35 am

K74t wrote:
07baracuda wrote:k74 & duane ,
you both just proved my point exactly.

BIG GOATS.

Talk nah?

YUH CYAH TALK!!

varung

Postby varung » April 8th, 2011, 12:37 pm

simply put D minister want to paint a policy with a big paintbrush. Without consultation with the various stakeholders.
Again this PP govn't acting without thinking. and furthermore, teachers will have to participate all these extra activites on weekend. WTF, so they don't have families and their OWN children to see about, with school and personal activities and their spouses as well was R&R.
COMPLETE CRAP, PP allyuh really better straighten dey $hit out otherwise my vote go swing along with tens of thousands of others.

suzieboy

Postby suzieboy » April 8th, 2011, 1:02 pm

varung wrote:simply put D minister want to paint a policy with a big paintbrush. Without consultation with the various stakeholders.

Policies were always in place eh within MoE...Just never really enforced, which is what the minister back pedaling an doin now.

Postby Team Loco » April 8th, 2011, 1:38 pm

i think we missing the point here. lets start from the basics. what do you send your child to school for?

education?
or promotion of a company?

dont get me wrong, extra cirricular activities are a must, but not at the expense of a proper education. if the majority of schools were performing well, then i would give the minister wrong. but for now, he has a valid point

Postby toyolink » April 8th, 2011, 3:06 pm

I happened to view channel 3 this morning which had a tele interview with Minister on subject matter as well as a little on the Religion initiative in the schools.
Really,based on what i heard it all appeared reasonable and in the case of extra-curricular activities it is about rationalisation and legitimisation of same (it appears their are things taking place on school time which the Ministry isn't aware of).
I have learn't that in T&T and everywhere else it's advisable to get all the fact before going off with all kinda of conclusions.
Unfortunately,the achievement of anything close to first world status is some ways away.
Personally, anybody who believes that what we have now in the school system as extra-curricular activities and the framework for same is OK need to have their heads examined.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 9th, 2011, 2:53 am

many voted for change...were they ready for change?

I concur with Team Loco's comments and must add that the minister in one consultation with primary school principals quite recently, acknowledged the need for specialist teachers to be introduced into primary school system to teach the kinesthetics, aesthetic areas, which in itself implies that there will be an increased demand for teaching/learning contact time.

I would much prefer that he focus on having high levels of discipline in all schools- get rid of bullying, gangs, address truancy, underaged sex, violence, teacher absenteeism etc. More accountability and parental involvement is needed- some drastic measures to ensure that parents are held responsible for their children's misbehaviour!!!!

Postby pete » April 9th, 2011, 7:38 am

Team Loco.. that was Form 5 students or Standard 5 students?

Postby ronsin1 » April 9th, 2011, 7:52 am

^^^ form 5 the school he is talking about is opposite his workplace

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 9th, 2011, 1:00 pm

Teachers are underpaid......I dont think any teacher who does have a life would give up his/her weekend to spend with deliquents....

On the other hand some parents would appreciate his cause is freee babysitting from mon - fri and now saturday..!!!!!

u cant get better than this!!!!

godforbid

Postby godforbid » April 9th, 2011, 1:35 pm

this is madness has anyone ever hear about a person who die because they could not do a math problem ????? they die cause they are not healthy and i thought as a DOCTOR he would know the importance of physical activity in creating a well balanced child

shame on you MR MINISTER

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 9th, 2011, 2:25 pm

its official...spoke to a principal ----no field trips during the term----only during last week of school after exams...........

Postby De Dragon » April 9th, 2011, 3:03 pm

So once again, the Ministry must provide the "balance" needed? Why not purchase a musical instrument for your child, and learn to play it with them? Why not join them(and yourself for that matter) in your local sport club, and participate in their training/wellness program?. It is a fact that very few will be gifted enough at sports to be able to have a comfortable standard of living. Nowhere did I see him ban lunchtime and recess physical activity. You want your child to do extra? Well that is your responsibility. Sadly, noone will complain "Oh Gorm,de boy fail at rounders!" :roll: , but let him not do well academically.......then is "de teacher dis!,de Ministry dat! de curriculum eh done!"

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 9th, 2011, 7:47 pm

Dr Tim: No ban on extra-curricular activities...Get written permission first