HBO series: House of the Dragon

Re: HBO series: Game of Thrones

Postby stev » April 29th, 2019, 10:41 pm

I can't help but wonder....was the scene with the baby (Craster's son) all for nothing?

way back in whatever season...

Postby rollingstock » April 29th, 2019, 11:44 pm

They were used for stem cells.
That's how he raised the dead.

The wall was figurative of the coldness of some towards stem cell research.

Postby stev » April 29th, 2019, 11:46 pm

the funny thing about that is it actually makes sense...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 30th, 2019, 8:13 am

Seems many people have been complaining about the episode not showing good, here’s why

https://www.digitaltrends.com/home-thea ... ty-issues/

I watched it on Amazon Prime on a plasma tv with the lights off and the picture was mostly fine. There was some banding but it wasn’t too dark to see.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 30th, 2019, 8:25 am

stev wrote:I can't help but wonder....was the scene with the baby (Craster's son) all for nothing?

way back in whatever season...

The scene showed that Craster’s sons were taken by the White Walkers to the Night King where he converted them to more White Walkers.

To me that was an important scene.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 30th, 2019, 9:43 am

Bran had so much potential that he wasted

Capture.JPG

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 30th, 2019, 9:54 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Bran had so much potential that he wasted

Capture.JPG

Lol

Postby tr1ad » April 30th, 2019, 10:33 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I watched it on Amazon Prime on a plasma tv with the lights off and the picture was mostly fine. There was some banding but it wasn’t too dark to see.

always ranking ting with you eh

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 30th, 2019, 10:52 am

tr1ad wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I watched it on Amazon Prime on a plasma tv with the lights off and the picture was mostly fine. There was some banding but it wasn’t too dark to see.

always!

is actually an optimistic version of a sad story: HBO NOW stop taking my credit card, dunno if it's an IP address issue, So had to resort to Amazon Prime. Plasma TV bout 10 years old. Also the bulb blow in the living room. Hadda make it sound good dan.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 30th, 2019, 10:55 am

tr1ad wrote:

yeah pictures of your amazon account and passwords or you lie

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 30th, 2019, 11:08 am

hong kong phooey wrote:
tr1ad wrote:

yeah pictures of your amazon account and passwords or you lie

Amazon Prime Video quality for HBO was actually noticeably better than HBO NOW app - I was surprised

Postby hydroep » April 30th, 2019, 11:12 am

So...apparently you can get away with less detail/substandard CGI quality by darkening an entire scene.

Speculation is they cheapened out on the effects in this episode so they would have a greater budget for the upcoming 'daylight' battle at King's Landing.

The 'darkening for effect' reason was just an excuse...:|

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » April 30th, 2019, 11:56 am

hydroep wrote:So...apparently you can get away with less detail/substandard CGI quality by darkening an entire scene.

Speculation is they cheapened out on the effects in this episode so they would have a greater budget for the upcoming 'daylight' battle at King's Landing.

Have you seen the amount of work went into the episode in the 40 min behind the scene video :roll:

Postby Redman » April 30th, 2019, 12:00 pm

hydroep wrote:So...apparently you can get away with less detail/substandard CGI quality by darkening an entire scene.

Maybe its what the battle would have actually looked like?

In the dark,before TTEC run their poles.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 30th, 2019, 12:19 pm

This doesnt look like they cheapened out

Postby hydroep » April 30th, 2019, 1:02 pm

^You can't tell from that.

Don't confuse the SFX budget with the CGI budget. The latter is a subset of the former.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 30th, 2019, 1:03 pm

hydroep wrote:^You can't tell from that.

Don't confuse the SFX budget with the CGI budget. The latter is a subset of the former.

But you can tell cuz it’s dark for some?

Postby hydroep » April 30th, 2019, 1:09 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

Eh?... :?

Postby A172 » April 30th, 2019, 3:15 pm

imagine talking like this irl
*cringe

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 30th, 2019, 3:17 pm

hydroep wrote:

You saying one can’t tell from the behind the scenes video showing the great lengths they went to but you believe they made it dark to cut corners on cgi because *some* people found it was too dark?

Postby Slartibartfast » April 30th, 2019, 4:41 pm

This doesnt look like they cheapened out
I think people were expecting more from the episode and are looking for reasons to not like it. I think the problem was making it a one episode fight. It is impossible to satisfy 8 years of buildup with one event. I agree it was dark and they had some Christopher Nolan close up shaky fight scenes that are just plain horrible, but for the most part, other than those two ponts, I don't think they could have done much more for the episode. The special effects and action in this episode was already on par with some of the biggest hollywood movies like Pirates of the Caribbean and a lot of the Marvel movies. I don't think cheapening out was the issue. Remember this is still just one episode for one season of one show on one TV station. Kinda crazy that they took it this far! I think the task they were faced with was impossible to begin with.

Also, the end of the fight was too abrupt and a lot of the military strategy made no sense (like the initial dothraki attack). A little Sun Tzu would have gone a long way. Also, what was that whole scene with Bran and the murder of crows about? And what happened to the babies in from Craster's keep. I think a lot of this episode may be forgiven if that part of the story line comes back in a big way. If not... then this episode was doomed to be a disappointment and there was nothing that could have been done to prevent that.

Postby hydroep » April 30th, 2019, 5:19 pm

hydroep wrote:

You saying one can’t tell from the behind the scenes video showing the great lengths they went to but you believe they made it dark to cut corners on cgi because *some* people found it was too dark?

I hear yuh.

Yes, I'm speculating that they cut corners on the CGI because the final result belies what was shown in that video.

And let's be honest here, initially no one claimed the episode wasn't too dark. Even those who liked it indicated they understood why it was shot that way but still had to adjust their sets, turn off the lights etc. to see what was going on. Now, a couple of days later argumentative persons have surfaced claiming that "it wasn't too dark". To those people: peace be upon you.

Now, back to the issue.

Let me use an example: If a body shop owner shows you the great lengths he is going through to straighten and paint your car (materials, techniques and equipment etc.), he's just showing you what he needs to keep you invested.

Then when you receive your car body-filler starts raising and the paint starts flaking-off.

Based on those results you'll probably realize the man thinned the paint too much and filled rotten body panels in order to save money.

It's the final result which points you in a particular direction, not the process the perpetrator(s) feed(s) you.

So it's a simple matter of applying that methodology to this situation. As I mentioned before, a dark scene is usually one method of masking inferior quality CGI — material available on the web, check it out...:|

Postby st7 » April 30th, 2019, 7:47 pm

what a disappointing episode.

Poor army tactics... would have kept most of everyone inside the wall, have the melee men by the trenches while it's on fire and have archers fire flaming arrows at the wights, have the dragons circle about Winterfell and bun up the wights.

keep bran inside the walls, have him warg into the crows and do scouting. let Night King come to them...

What should have happened was that NK retreat cause he eh really winning and losing wights. head south, attack more villages/towns and build up his army as he make his way to King's Landing. Big battle with ensues with Golden Company, and the Northern army decide to attack the undead from behind, basically sandwiching them.

Then Cersei and them use Wildfire which ends up killing the NK (who knows if that would have actually worked considering...)

So now there are both armies, celebrating that victory for a few mins before Cersei break the truce and the war continues... it would have kept up momentum.

Postby st7 » April 30th, 2019, 7:49 pm

Arya could wear any face, enter King's Landing and kill Cersei.... that's the first 5 mins of the next episode, and done that 'b!tches fighting over a chair' hissy fit war

Postby Dizzy28 » May 1st, 2019, 10:38 am

st7 wrote:what a disappointing episode.

Poor army tactics... would have kept most of everyone inside the wall, have the melee men by the trenches while it's on fire and have archers fire flaming arrows at the wights, have the dragons circle about Winterfell and bun up the wights.

keep bran inside the walls, have him warg into the crows and do scouting. let Night King come to them...

What should have happened was that NK retreat cause he eh really winning and losing wights. head south, attack more villages/towns and build up his army as he make his way to King's Landing. Big battle with ensues with Golden Company, and the Northern army decide to attack the undead from behind, basically sandwiching them.

Then Cersei and them use Wildfire which ends up killing the NK (who knows if that would have actually worked considering...)

So now there are both armies, celebrating that victory for a few mins before Cersei break the truce and the war continues... it would have kept up momentum.
Take it easy there Benioff

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 2nd, 2019, 4:57 pm

CNET offers some tips for adjusting your TV properly so movies and shows with dark scenes look better
https://www.pscp.tv/w/1lDxLrbAlymGm?t=2m37s

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 2nd, 2019, 5:40 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:CNET offers some tips for adjusting your TV properly so movies and shows with dark scenes look better
https://www.pscp.tv/w/1lDxLrbAlymGm?t=2m37s

What’s to adjust? Men in here saying it was made dark to hide details :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby matr1x » May 2nd, 2019, 8:34 pm

Honestly, its downhill since season 5.

7 seasons for no payoff. Characters with no payoff.
Final villain Cersei....what a joke

All about wimin power.

Postby A172 » May 3rd, 2019, 3:18 am

the edgelords ITT
Screenshot_20190503-031723.jpeg

Postby hydroep » May 3rd, 2019, 6:58 pm