Hydroponics/Aquaponics

netsket

Hydroponics/Aquaponics

Postby netsket » April 15th, 2011, 12:58 am

Where can I get bedding material, bedding containers (long, flattish), seedling baskets and other equipment for setting up a hydroponics system?

Re: Hydroponics/Aquaponics

Postby cinco » April 15th, 2011, 7:00 am

if you want the squatting land you might have to plant LEGITIMATE crops eh

ase_tt

Postby ase_tt » April 15th, 2011, 12:25 pm

Like a man setting up a Ganja House!!....they go legalize it just now!

Postby Chimera » April 15th, 2011, 12:40 pm

hydrophonics actually yields far healthier LEGITIMATE crops than normal soil planting.

while the start up cost is large, the benefits are great.
no pests, limited or no diseases, reuse of nutrients etc etc

Postby rfari » April 15th, 2011, 2:02 pm

netsket,
you need to be more specific. not too sure what type of hydro system you want to set up but it seems like its the growbox thing you want to setup. correct me if i'm wrong.

TK!

Postby TK! » April 15th, 2011, 2:04 pm

netsket wrote:Where can I get bedding material, bedding containers (long, flattish), seedling baskets and other equipment for setting up a hydroponics system?

i wah two pound. non-compress :-D

link

Postby link » April 15th, 2011, 5:19 pm

make yr 5-tier stand & use pvc tubes with holes cut for the plants...forget the bedding material...nutrient water only.....
rgds

sentinel007

Postby sentinel007 » April 15th, 2011, 5:37 pm

u have to kno what u doin if u gonna use water only cause algae might form in the water depending on how much sunlight and air it is exposed to, and it will use up all the oxygen and nutrients in the water..the water system is more difficult to maintain and needs to be in a very controlled environment..sharp sand is a good material to use cause it doesnt retain too much water to kill the plant, and is not too porous...crops grow really fast in it...pak choi does grow reealll good and fast

netsket

Postby netsket » April 15th, 2011, 11:03 pm

thx guys

i new to it trying meh hand.....i was thinking about the bed type but i more leaning towards the water only type

btw what are the pros and cons of each type?

I hearing that with the bedding type I will have to wash out the medium after a while cause it becomes "dirty"...does that have any significant truth to it?

what other media can i use other than sharp sand?..i was thinking terrazo chips.

more importantly....where can I get these baskets to buy?

or

Postby Chimera » April 15th, 2011, 11:08 pm

Use heavy duty plastic cups and cut holes in the bottom of it

use a hot icepick or screwdriver .

netsket

Postby netsket » April 15th, 2011, 11:25 pm

that is meh plan if i cah get it

thx.

sentinel007

Postby sentinel007 » April 16th, 2011, 1:19 am

terrazo chips will hold almost no water ie no nutrients..only if u plan to use it in water..then it might act as support for the roots dats all..last week i picked all the lettuce from my setup but ill take a pic to show you how i did it wen i get the chance.. it have a plant shop in enterprise u might be able to get the cup ting

netsket

Postby netsket » April 16th, 2011, 6:46 am

where in enterprise?

contact number?

landmark?

link

Postby link » April 16th, 2011, 9:57 am

the water-only system affords TOTAL control of your environment...ie..u proportion yr chemical mix exactly to the growth curve of the particular plant yr with at the time. Of course there is a general 'mix' u can apply & everybody does fine...but if u want exceptional perf.......do one at a time....imagine ochro 8 inches long & soft like young ting..........
just like in pic above, the roots are in a nutrient bath all the time...
rgds

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » April 16th, 2011, 3:00 pm

netsket wrote:Where can I get bedding material, bedding containers (long, flattish), seedling baskets and other equipment for setting up a hydroponics system?

So in regard to his question, nobody sells commercial hydroponic supplies locally?

Postby Chimera » April 16th, 2011, 4:07 pm

^^^ nowhere that i was aware of, although someone did make mention of a place in enterprise

I had to import all the stuff I wanted to use.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » April 16th, 2011, 4:34 pm

^ ^ ^ What kind of system did you build?... Drip?... Raft?... NFT?... pix please?

...and what are your main crops?

Postby sMASH » April 16th, 2011, 5:23 pm

i surfed the web and came across a site where the guy had vids of his automated system where the banks are drained according to computerized timing system. he even had the roof vents of the green house motorized tied into the computer with humidity, temperature sensors to change up stuff.
it looked like he worked for honey well.

well, what got me thinking was why he drained the tubs and refilled them. the timing was about 15 mins or so.

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » April 16th, 2011, 8:15 pm

hydroponics easier than aquaponics.
For hydroponics, there are many systems u can use but you must consider total cost of each system,
energy consumption (some require pumps running 24-7)
Suitable system for our climate
Size of your space or crop specific etc

aquaponics is the combination of hydroponics and aquaculture (e.g fish rearing, other animals you can use as well)
Need more supervision and skilled training than hydroponics..since fish can die rapidily due to many factors, no fish...plants die as well.
A lot of things can go wrong in aquaponics if you not careful.

Both aquaponics and hydroponics you need to know your stuff inside out...its a lil more technical to maintain these systems cause you trying to simulate processes that occur naturally in somewhat controlled environment.

Also the two legged bandit likes both of them...so u need lots of security measures

BTW what ever you building each system has its advantages and disadvantages.
And if you not planting legetimate crops, don't drop the soap when you get hold.

netsket

Postby netsket » April 17th, 2011, 11:01 pm

sentinel007 wrote:u have to kno what u doin if u gonna use water only cause algae might form in the water depending on how much sunlight and air it is exposed to, and it will use up all the oxygen and nutrients in the water..the water system is more difficult to maintain and needs to be in a very controlled environment..sharp sand is a good material to use cause it doesnt retain too much water to kill the plant, and is not too porous...crops grow really fast in it...pak choi does grow reealll good and fast

with the water only system....do I run the system 24/7 or do i shut it off at night and run it only when there is sunlight?

what crops have u successfully planted thus far?

brainchild

Postby brainchild » April 18th, 2011, 9:34 am

if you talking beginners level stuff you can get the large storage containers at bhagwansinghs, pump and bubbling stone thing at a pet shop, netty pots at an agri place. Bedding depends on what your growning, if it isn't gonna get to tall then it isn't necessary....but you can jus ask someone at the agri place where to get what you need.

And yeah, it runs 24/7....real soil never turns off, so neither should your system.

netsket

Postby netsket » April 18th, 2011, 10:08 am

thx i doing a water only system....so i guessing the same applies by running it 24/7

brainchild

Postby brainchild » April 18th, 2011, 11:25 am

netsket wrote:thx i doing a water only system....so i guessing the same applies by running it 24/7

Yup, 24/7...those pumps don't pull much current anyway. And according to what you growing it may need a light(flourescent) on over it 24/7 also...unless it legal enough for you to keep it outside...but make sure you have d pump and all wiring properly raised from the ground and covered in case of rain.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » April 18th, 2011, 4:43 pm

Any AquaTT members here?

4kin4kar

Postby 4kin4kar » April 19th, 2011, 8:24 am

My system at home

netsket

Postby netsket » April 22nd, 2011, 9:33 am

nice i like its creativity and simplicity

any one else?

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » April 22nd, 2011, 9:40 pm

good info here

Postby Sky » April 22nd, 2011, 10:50 pm

4kin4kar wrote:My system at home

Great!!!

You have a sister that recently came back from Canada?

Cid

Postby Cid » April 23rd, 2011, 12:37 am

excellent work hoss i had a pretty decent aquaponic setup off my pond but those little white bugs man, i hate those things, then theres the tomato hornworm that eats all the leaves ..>>> i hope you have a good system to deal with that........best of luck tho

4kin4kar

Postby 4kin4kar » April 28th, 2011, 8:38 am

Sky wrote:

Great!!! Thanks
You have a sister that recently came back from Canada?
Nope