Re: Arima Gran Prix - officially cancelled

Postby SR » April 25th, 2011, 8:53 pm

this thread has just recieved a
1 PLOI award

followed by 2 BODOW

love the responses by people who have never raced a car at wallerfield or been part of the real politics of motorsports over the years

brainbull

Postby brainbull » April 25th, 2011, 9:18 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:brainbull you ever compete at solodex?

fed up.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » April 25th, 2011, 9:42 pm

Look how people gone all over the place and just missing the major issues. In the first instance, I made references, with factual supporting images, of the so-called “safety” that was so prevalent at the SFGP.

And regretfully, if I should publish ALL of the facts here, as they played out in the days leading up to the AGP, I will make the papers as another statistic. But rest assured the right people will get all of the facts.

Most interesting to read some of the nonsense being posted here by certain “knowledgable“ persons.

And even more interesting to read a very young individual like Mr. Mindz, sending some in a tizzy, because of his measured responses, and still not being suckered into coming down to the levels of those who are dragging on the bottom.

But another note worthy comment which again is going unnoticed…..

4everstock wrote:
Apply this process to our present situation and see what you come up with...........what actually is happening is some people are just harping on, and making (ridiculous) comments on just the first "why"

Eg:
No proper racing events/facility for racing enthusiasts in Trinidad

Why? : the AGP was cancelled -(not because of bad planning by organiser)

Why? : the Police (the "lovely" people that they are) withdrew the approval -(this is the same Police that yell "stop racing on the streets illegally"......yet they are they ones preventing it from being it done legally

Why? : we have to race on street (in this legal form because we don't have a track)

Why? : we lost our temporary track and promised land given to build new track (because of mis-management and greed)

Why? : we lost our Original Track in Wallerfield (who was responsible for that and was it really because of greed, stupidity and a bad deal)

..............Try your own "5 Why's" , and see if you can pinpiont the real cause of the downfall of racing in Trinidad

I ask one question.... WHO? WHO was involved in all of the above Why's.
And believe me, there is ONE consistent WHO!

Here again, everyone just not focusing on the history and why we are at this point in time. Some struggling to do proper events, and others trying to put every hurdle in the way to prevent the execution of said events, and the attendance by competitors who are just totally turned off by their "own club".

Notwithstanding, I am convinced that very shortly, we will overcome all of this evil, all of this hate, and the Good Lord will ensure justice will prevail.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 25th, 2011, 9:47 pm

So mr. mindz... what you saying is nobody want to see cars like my NA civic hatch cause it can't crack 13secs??

Of the 12 or so solodex/time-attack cars that were supposed to be competing on Sunday I'd be surprised if more than 3 were sub-13sec cars... so what you saying is people woulda be vex as hell watching us men compete in our "slow cars" ent?

So it doesn't matter if men spent hours/days/months/years preparing their cars to race in a particular bracket... A person can spend $20k-100k upgrading brakes, bushings,shocks, springs, tyers, wheels etc etc. and not have a faster 1/4 mile...

Conversely - Ramdeo Samdeo could bring a 11sec 600hp S14 to dex and be soundly beaten by Devi in a 17sec 100hp Suzuki Swift on street tyers... but Ramdeo is a "real racer" with he 11sec car and Devi is not ent?

mr. mindz

Postby mr. mindz » April 25th, 2011, 10:20 pm

point well taken....... i apologise as this was no personal attack on 'drag racers' with 13 sec & above cars... i also apologise if my exaggeration using figures may have come across as disrespectful to this bracket, but i was just blatantly drawing reference to how 'drag racing' itself has evolved in terms of the kind of times vehicles are making now as compared to the long gone days of wallerfield.

And most importantly, the safety requirements & inspection approvals involved. 'Everybody' wants a track to drag race, but when/if we do get a proper certified track... the game will be much, much different now & alot of cars simply just won't make the cut, unless they step up in their game to international racing standards... and not like half of these cars that come out at night to street race.
Alot of these same fellas make the constant cry for a track, and they might just end up on the bleachers as spectators on race day.

However, from your comparison to Devi's & Ramdeo's cars... both cars are setup quite differently, and there are pros and cons on both sides to this coin. imo fwd cars have an advantage @ solodex because of their ability to nose plow into corners, rwd cars on the contrary may have to use alot of drift techniques @ solodex, which may take somtime to getting used to the course.

A Drag car setup for a straight line run, is much much different in it's overall setup. it's hard comparing both, since the solodex environment is quite similar to that on the road... whilst a 1/4 mile drag has alot to do with horse power, traction & weight reduction.

again ingalook.... my aplogies, do disrespect intended.

4everstock

Postby 4everstock » April 25th, 2011, 10:47 pm

I'm afraid to ask of all those posting here, who knows where exactly drag racing took place before "the Autodrome"....................even more so of the ones who even ask "what is the Autodrome?"

(just to get an idea of the level of ignorance we dealing with)

Teaser......from 1984:
Bid Daddy and Satan
Shaun Ready white rx7
Tam's Galant
PT 240 ......still around!!!!
Grudge's escort and Krishna Singh
No Problem Escort and Sheriff Lobo
Last edited by 4everstock on April 26th, 2011, 12:49 am, edited 3 times in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 25th, 2011, 11:31 pm

ingalook wrote:So mr. mindz... what you saying is nobody want to see cars like my NA civic hatch cause it can't crack 13secs??

Of the 12 or so solodex/time-attack cars that were supposed to be competing on Sunday I'd be surprised if more than 3 were sub-13sec cars... so what you saying is people woulda be vex as hell watching us men compete in our "slow cars" ent?

So it doesn't matter if men spent hours/days/months/years preparing their cars to race in a particular bracket... A person can spend $20k-100k upgrading brakes, bushings,shocks, springs, tyers, wheels etc etc. and not have a faster 1/4 mile...

Conversely - Ramdeo Samdeo could bring a 11sec 600hp S14 to dex and be soundly beaten by Devi in a 17sec 100hp Suzuki Swift on street tyers... but Ramdeo is a "real racer" with he 11sec car and Devi is not ent?
what dotishness yuh talking?

Devi Swift is a 18sec 86hp car :scatter:

Postby tr1ad » April 25th, 2011, 11:34 pm

aye aye
leff meh famalee oxymoron eh

or yuh wuh tess meh with yuh 1wd evo

fiveforward

Postby fiveforward » April 26th, 2011, 1:35 am

Autosport wrote:Look how people gone all over the place and just missing the major issues. In the first instance, I made references, with factual supporting images, of the so-called “safety” that was so prevalent at the SFGP.

Uncle Rawle, please don't go there; the dynamics of the SFGP and AGP are totally different, even the players are different. There was safety, could it have been better probably but to imply that it was sub standard is kinda unfair. The did their do to minimize risk for an event of that magnitude within a given budget and so on. It's all a learning experience in an unpredictable sport on a street circuit. Be fair nah man.

Autosport wrote:Here again, everyone just not focusing on the history and why we are at this point in time

Rawle with all due respect, since the inception of this behemoth called TTASA was there ever a time when you; as a very influential person in mospo, had the opportunity to assist in making change from the inside out on an administration level. I young so I dunno. TTASA may be the spawn of a la diabless seed, but that didn't happen overnight; that took place over some years well starting in your generation. My generation is the one that unfortunately has to deal with the fall out, back lash and BS albeit with a smile and understanding - same thing with government.

Autosport wrote:Some struggling to do proper events, and others trying to put every hurdle in the way to prevent the execution of said events, and the attendance by competitors who are just totally turned off by their "own club".

I know I have an answer for this but I haven't thought of it as yet!

Autosport wrote:Notwithstanding, I am convinced that very shortly, we will overcome all of this evil, all of this hate, and the Good Lord will ensure justice will prevail.

You wouldn't believe how hard I am hoping for this. It's been too long and too much splitting of the camps. It's not the organization that's the problem, it the people in any entity that make or break it. The actual racing population in Trinidad not that big and to hear men blame this one and dah one is utterly unproductive, especially when you don't have squat. Justice would have been a place for kids to race while details are hammered out behind the scene to the benefit of ALL - clearly this is a case of justice delayed, justice denied.

I have much respect for you eh rawle; as well as current and past members of TTASA but honestly, I am really just tired of the age old blame game and secret this and that. Personally I just want it all to stop so we can move forward together in a sport that chose us.

4everstock wrote:I'm afraid to ask of all those posting here, who knows where exactly drag racing took place before "the Autodrome"....................even more so of the ones who even ask "what is the Autodrome?"

(just to get an idea of the level of ignorance we dealing with)

Oooooooh oooooooooh I know; I know. But I hadda make sure I winning something before ah answer.

mr. mindz

Postby mr. mindz » April 26th, 2011, 1:42 am

fiveforward wrote:
I am really just tired of the age old blame game and secret this and that. Personally I just want it all to stop so we can move forward together in a sport that chose us.

x2 :wink:

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 26th, 2011, 2:04 am

No scene mr. mindz

Racing is as much about your attitude/comradery/attention to detail etc. as it is the car you drive.

We just trying to get across that there is a whole lot more to racing than having a fast car, as I am sure you are aware... but it didn't come across that way.

You could put ah pothong in a R35 GTR and send him down the track and he will run a 11sec quarter no problem... the car is that foolproof... but when you hear men fighting up with their lil sub-100hp lancer talking about tyre-compounds, corner entry speed, racing line etc. you are definitely among racers

As Linzi say, not everybody with an evo can drive it anywhere near its potential etc.

Racing is not just about money/resources its so much more... hard to explain really... "who feels it, knows it"

mr. mindz

Postby mr. mindz » April 26th, 2011, 2:10 am

i hear ya bro... all variations of motor racing deserve equal respect. that's for sure...

even though some may oppose the other, in some way or the other...

all involve a car :wink:

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » April 26th, 2011, 6:10 am

Why allyuh still bickering here man?
Why can't someone organize a interview with the media?

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » April 26th, 2011, 6:23 am

mr. mindz wrote: I hear ya bro... all variations of motor racing deserve equal respect, that's for sure...
all involve a car :wink:

this is what most "racers" don't understand...
Yes it's okay to love one variation more than the other, e.g. drags more than DEX,
but when you hear "big" racers say "Dex is Sh*t", "it eats up your tires and beats out your bushings" or "any A** can drive a car in a straight line for 13 secs", you need to ask yourself, really...

As with all things in Trinidad we lack unity and it is at events where drivers can learn to appreciate each other's skills, builds and valves. Only then motorsports will start making real headway.

Do you really believe that if all the sporting bodies REALLY come together and put aside their differences and aim for these events that things will not work out 100% better? As opposed to 1 or 2 men running around in the background fighting to make it happen.

I love racing on a whole, yes I love DEX and Circuit more than i do drags, drifting and rally. but more important, I understand what it takes to build a car for each, and when someone does it right i will always go out to see it...

So for those of us from 14 yrs to 30, we don't have and will never have a HOME to race our cars. This is sad and distasteful, which then brings to my mind the point - will my son (now 10 years) ever see Trinidad with a real motorsport home?

link

Postby link » April 26th, 2011, 8:49 am

So for those of us from 14 yrs to 30, we don't have and will never have a HOME to race our cars. This is sad and distasteful, which then brings to my mind the point - will my son (now 10 years) ever see Trinidad with a real motorsport home?

my son & daughter (now 20 & 24) have lost that opportunity, but this next generation WILL NOT BE LOST TO T&T MOTOR SPORTS.
I give you all the assurance that the TTASA Management is doing everything possible to resolve the issue of 'no home for motor sports' .

There is real hope round the corner.....just a bit more patience....please

rgds

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » April 26th, 2011, 9:11 am

Postby zoom rader » April 26th, 2011, 10:26 am

link wrote:

my son & daughter (now 20 & 24) have lost that opportunity, but this next generation WILL NOT BE LOST TO T&T MOTOR SPORTS.
I give you all the assurance that the TTASA Management is doing everything possible to resolve the issue of 'no home for motor sports' .

rgds

Yes motor sports is lost becuase of TTASA lazy attitude towards drag racing. You all dont have clue with reguards drag racing and dont consider it a sport. You all have petty attitudes with drag racers.

Postby cinco » April 26th, 2011, 10:28 am

link wrote:

rgds

TTASA teach the PP or the PP teach allyuh?
yuh cud smell that statement from barbados

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 26th, 2011, 10:33 am

fiveforward wrote:
I am really just tired of the age old blame game and secret this and that. Personally I just want it all to stop so we can move forward together in a sport that chose us.

wanting and doing is two different things eh, you should know!

fiveforward

Postby fiveforward » April 26th, 2011, 11:20 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:wanting and doing is two different things eh, you should know!

Me Duane?!? Nah man. Of all people you should know that I izza nobody in all this :twisted: :cry: :twisted: :cry:

Besides all I could do is want; cuz the things I might recommend to get to doing may not be considered logistically correct in certain circles. But wait look who talking :mrgreen:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 26th, 2011, 4:36 pm

^ that's why I said YOU should know 8)

you mean logistically or legally?

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » April 27th, 2011, 12:14 am

Those who do not learn from the past are doomed to repeat the same mistakes over and over.

And for those who continue to suggest that the issues surrounding the coming together of all the major bodies with proven track records is simply A not talking to B, they are living in lala land.

Good governance cannot include a few,
with chains tied to their goal post,
which they pull wherever they wish,
depending on the issue or persons involved.

link

Postby link » April 27th, 2011, 5:30 am

AutoSport wrote:Those who do not learn from the past are doomed to repeat the same mistakes over and over.

And for those who continue to suggest that the issues surrounding the coming together of all the major bodies with proven track records is simply A not talking to B, they are living in lala land.

Good governance cannot include a few,
with chains tied to their goal post,
which they pull wherever they wish,
depending on the issue or persons involved.

:fadein:

Postby pugboy » April 27th, 2011, 6:14 am

so what was the contents of the letter that was sent to stop the event ?

brainbull

Postby brainbull » April 27th, 2011, 7:30 am

http://guardian.co.tt/sport/2011/02/05/ ... rag-racing

lets hope that plan up there comes to past.
0X

professor

Postby professor » April 27th, 2011, 8:36 am

brainbull wrote:http://guardian.co.tt/sport/2011/02/05/100m-facility-drag-racing

0X

brainbull, I hope you are real young, because you could be going off if you not young and still believe in fairy tales and Genies.

brainbull

Postby brainbull » April 28th, 2011, 7:21 am

professor wrote:
brainbull wrote:http://guardian.co.tt/sport/2011/02/05/100m-facility-drag-racing

0X

brainbull, I hope you are real young, because you could be going off if you not young and still believe in fairy tales and Genies.

sooooooooo in other words that article not real??? you tellin me that not being constructed as we speak??? when last you went down chickland???

for all that lack knowledge like "professor". There is a multi million dollar track being built but it was halted by EMA.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/letters/0,135380.html

fairy tales and Genies hmph smh.

GPS
Location: GARVIN'S PERFORMANCE SHOP Long Circular Rd. St.James POS 628-1278 682-5375

Postby GPS » April 28th, 2011, 9:45 pm

PRAYERS is what motorsport NEEDS in TNT.
lets organise it, biggest EVER event, every creed an RACE will find a equal place.(to RACE).
i am willing to give it a try, how much more can we all take.
families that PRAY together STAY together.

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » April 28th, 2011, 10:37 pm

link wrote:

rgds

senor link, do care to elaborate on the hope part please

Postby cinco » April 28th, 2011, 10:39 pm

Garrett Inside wrote:
link wrote:

rgds

senor link, do care to elaborate on the hope part please

har har har har har
Obama mania in here yes
the only hope we have is some one get government backing and ttasa get kick out