Sound Systems Discussion, please read first post

Would you support a local P.A. System / DJ Forum???

Yes
88%
No
12%

Total votes: 167

Kasey

Re: P.A. Systems, DJ Systems, Pro audio men.....

Postby Kasey » March 8th, 2016, 11:34 am

Got a xls1000 for $1600. Call 761-7699 if you are interested.

Reddis

Postby Reddis » May 18th, 2016, 6:27 pm

Last edited by Reddis on May 18th, 2016, 6:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Reddis

Postby Reddis » May 18th, 2016, 7:30 pm

SOLD
20160518_175152.jpg
20160518_175241.jpg
20160518_175307.jpg
20160518_175404.jpg
Last edited by Reddis on May 18th, 2016, 7:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » May 19th, 2016, 5:26 am

Where can i find a PA system used by a fish man on his van? I looking for one to start selling fish. Amazon has it for like $40 USD

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » May 19th, 2016, 9:06 am

Steve's Electronics and Gopauls.

RAJIE

Postby RAJIE » May 19th, 2016, 12:31 pm

anyone have box designs for the eaw kf850 /sb850 and willing to share?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » May 20th, 2016, 5:20 am

steve only have big ones like what they use for death announcements. Where is gopauls? sando?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » May 20th, 2016, 9:55 am

You will def get it in Gopaul's.

nutty4u2c

Postby nutty4u2c » June 4th, 2016, 11:18 am

Can I get a number or location for the Duratex guy?

Postby nervewrecker » June 15th, 2016, 9:27 am

Who are the dealers for JBL and QSC right now?

Im looking for a passive set up for my bedroom. Have 75 watts per channel.

Heard a pair of QSC K10's this weekend and was very impressed with the sound. Im very fond of the JBL eons as well but both that QSC and JBL are powered boxes. Looking for something with similar quality. Saw QSC and JBL have passive speakers, want to get a demo and see if any meet the requirement.

Anything you guys care to recommend as i'm looking?

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » June 15th, 2016, 10:53 am

I think JBL dealers are rent-a -amp and cet technologies in maritime plaza by the round about.

rafman

Postby rafman » June 16th, 2016, 8:13 am

Morning guys,
Is it possible to share the power directly from a powered speaker to a passive speaker (sub)?
I recently sent in a powered box to repair and it came back overpowered. So I was thinking, rather than waste this awesome power or blow the drivers, maybe I could add the additional speaker.
Suggestions?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 16th, 2016, 8:56 am

I don't see why this can't be achieved.
The only problem I see is that internal amps usually match the resistance of the speaker.
By wiring another speaker chances are the impedance will either be too low for the amp to function or may be too high to take advantage of the extra power.

Samo

Postby Samo » June 16th, 2016, 12:26 pm

Recommend a good brand OTHER THAN 1200 technics
to use serato.
BTW ah looking to buy a pair of turn tables.

Re: RE: Re: P.A. Systems, DJ Systems, Pro audio men.....

Postby X_Factor » June 16th, 2016, 1:31 pm

rafman wrote:Morning guys,
Is it possible to share the power directly from a powered speaker to a passive speaker (sub)?
I recently sent in a powered box to repair and it came back overpowered. So I was thinking, rather than waste this awesome power or blow the drivers, maybe I could add the additional speaker.
Suggestions?

just set ur gains properly amp would stay cooler annd not clip...as someone said adding another speaker will change d ohm load

clone101

Postby clone101 » June 17th, 2016, 5:08 am

Samo wrote:Recommend a good brand OTHER THAN 1200 technics
to use serato.
BTW ah looking to buy a pair of turn tables.

have a pair $6000 7674466

clone101

Postby clone101 » June 17th, 2016, 10:13 am

pair 1200's $6000 link me @7674466
2014-06-06-0597(0).jpg

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » June 17th, 2016, 10:22 am

Any reviews on spyn amps?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » June 17th, 2016, 10:17 pm

rafman wrote:Morning guys,
Suggestions?

What do you mean by "it came back overpowered"?
As long as it's the same amplifier inside the box, this is not likely. What happened was probably that the technician interfered with the gain structure inside the box, so now your volume setting may be lower making you think that the box is now more powerful when in fact it's just that the box will actually max out at a low setting.

Another thig that could've happeped is that the input was mistakenly set at the 'microphone' setting instead of 'line input' effectively making the gain much more sensitive and you will think that box is more powerful but in fact it's just expecting a lower input signal.

Anyway to directly answer your question, that would be a no. You may very well damage the amplifier by adding load that it was no designed for.

Postby nervewrecker » June 17th, 2016, 11:33 pm

If he adds another speaker in series he will be getting even less power out because now the impedance is doubled.

Postby nervewrecker » June 17th, 2016, 11:33 pm

Doable, but if power is a concern, nha.
Not sure about output as he now has double the cone area.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » June 18th, 2016, 7:24 am

Items sold.
Last edited by silent_riot on August 11th, 2016, 2:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rafman

Postby rafman » June 18th, 2016, 8:17 pm

What do you mean by "it came back overpowered"?
As long as it's the same amplifier inside the box, this is not likely. What happened was probably that the technician interfered with the gain structure inside the box, so now your volume setting may be lower making you think that the box is now more powerful when in fact it's just that the box will actually max out at a low setting.

I only sent the plate amp for repair, the tech told me he couldn't find the exact component that had to be replaced, so he substitued it. So yes, while it's still the same amp, the output is higher.

Postby nervewrecker » June 24th, 2016, 9:53 pm

http://www.klipsch.com/products/referen ... f-speakers

made up my mind on some rp-160m speakers yes.

Postby 3stagevtec » August 3rd, 2016, 1:32 pm

https://www.facebook.com/rene.roberts.754/videos/10154186595106084/

Driverack PA+ problem. Everytime the unit warms up, it starts giving the weird output. The noise only comes from the Driverack, I had the source unit switched off while recording. The mixer is not at fault because the noise goes away once I power down the Driverack.. if i let the unit cool for a while, it will resume normal operation.
Anyone ever come across such a problem?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » August 3rd, 2016, 9:45 pm

3stagevtec wrote:

https://www.facebook.com/rene.roberts.754/videos/10154186595106084/

Driverack PA+ problem. Everytime the unit warms up, it starts giving the weird output. The noise only comes from the Driverack, I had the source unit switched off while recording. The mixer is not at fault because the noise goes away once I power down the Driverack.. if i let the unit cool for a while, it will resume normal operation.

Rene ent you from GASPARILO now? I am in allen street. I would like to see this problem first hand. But anyway, I am seeing as you raise the mixer volume, the noise increases am I right? Also I am seeing the input LEDs on the driveerack illuminating in sequence with the noise. These factors tell me that the noise may be before the driveerack, but I may be misinterpreting the video. What if you bypass the rack totally, I mean, go from the mixer straight to ur amps. Do you still get noise?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » August 3rd, 2016, 9:47 pm

Check me if you are getting trouble, I may be able to sort this out for you, even if it means upgrading the firmware in the driveerack.

Postby 3stagevtec » August 3rd, 2016, 10:51 pm

Kasey wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:Driverack PA+ problem. Everytime the unit warms up, it starts giving the weird output. The noise only comes from the Driverack, I had the source unit switched off while recording. The mixer is not at fault because the noise goes away once I power down the Driverack.. if i let the unit cool for a while, it will resume normal operation.

Rene ent you from GASPARILO now? I am in allen street. I would like to see this problem first hand. But anyway, I am seeing as you raise the mixer volume, the noise increases am I right? Also I am seeing the input LEDs on the driveerack illuminating in sequence with the noise. These factors tell me that the noise may be before the driveerack, but I may be misinterpreting the video. What if you bypass the rack totally, I mean, go from the mixer straight to ur amps. Do you still get noise?

I'm from Harmony Hall, not far from you.

Wait, I was mistaken in the sequence in which the equipment is connected, nice spot!
Kenwood source unit - Mackie Mixer - Drive Rack - Amplifiers

When I switch off the source unit, the noise remains. BUT I never tried switching off the mixer to see if that stops the noise. I believe you have it correct there. Tomorrow I will give the system another run and try to isolate the mixer and see if that solves it. Will update accordingly.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » August 4th, 2016, 11:40 pm

keep us updated.

Postby 3stagevtec » August 7th, 2016, 11:53 am

My Mackie Mixer ProFX4-V2 is responsible for the noise. When I switched it off, leaving the Driverack PA+ on, the noise went away. Unplugging the source unit from the mixer made no difference also. Think it would be possible for a local electrician to repair such an issue or would be it best to just replace it? Didn't think a brand like Mackie would act up so quickly..