Sound Systems Discussion, please read first post

Would you support a local P.A. System / DJ Forum???

Yes
88%
No
12%

Total votes: 167

matthewmazda

Re: Sound Systems Discussion, please read first post

Postby matthewmazda » July 29th, 2017, 8:22 am

anybody have experience with the Martin Audio 115
got some 15"s around and want to try some,
martin-audio-115-bass-bin-xl.jpg

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 31st, 2017, 7:36 am

They're supposed to be more applied for kick / low mid frequency reproduction. Not bass per say. If you want a good efficient and simple kick bin, you better off just building the HD15 on the speakerplans website. Smaller and easy to build.

If want bass, the best small box is the cubo15.

Postby sMASH » July 31st, 2017, 8:01 am

If not for bass, but mainly for the kick, what woofer will work well to achieve that?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 31st, 2017, 8:19 am

sMASH wrote:If not for bass, but mainly for the kick, what woofer will work well to achieve that?

There are a WIDE range of woofers that are available that can achieve that. Its all about your budget, and amplifier power availability.

Postby sMASH » July 31st, 2017, 8:23 am

Can u give an example of a reasonable 15" and a reasonable 12" or possibly 10"

Something readily available here....

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 31st, 2017, 10:06 am

'Reasonable' for me and 'reasonable' for you can be two different things. I find the RCF and B&C brands are reasonable for the quality of sound and efficiency.
RCF:
15" - RCF L15 P400
12" - RCF L12 P300
10" - RCF L10 750YK

B&C:
15" - B&C 15TBX100
12" - B&C 12TBX100
10" - B&C 10MD26

There are some other brands that sound just as good, but may not be as durable. I can vouch for RCF and B&C because I have some experience with these particular models, and a few more of their products.

Postby sMASH » July 31st, 2017, 4:14 pm

That's a great starting point. Durability.. forgot that as a factor... lol. Thanks for reminding me.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 31st, 2017, 10:15 pm

sMASH wrote:That's a great starting point. Durability.. forgot that as a factor... lol. Thanks for reminding me.

A lot of men forget that.

Thing about a speaker is that it is a electro-mechanical device. Which makes it subject to wear and tear. Plenty men don't understand this, or rather choose not to think about it and just hope for the best. But that's the difference between an expensive brand, and a cheap brand. The quality of parts used to make the transducer may be not of a high standard, and eventually break down. It can show up a few ways after time: 1) dry rot cones/suspensions 2) detached coils due to brittle glue 3) slack or loose suspensions 4) torn cones 5) burnt pigtails 6) coil scorch and deformities due to sub standard resin 7) rusting baskets, and a few more defects, but these are what I have seen in my few years of sound engineering.

If your system is for home use, you can get away with cheap stuff and sound great.

hindian

Postby hindian » August 1st, 2017, 11:06 am

guys where to get XLR cable only tuh buy but in weird colors like orange or pink or purple? i have to make some patch cables for work but i dont want it to get mix up with all the others that work has. Aside from blue green red and black any other weird colors on the market? and where? Jus about 10 yards are needed thanks.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » August 1st, 2017, 12:44 pm

I saw some gopauls sando, and r&n Cipero street sando. Don't know if they still have tho.

Postby sMASH » August 1st, 2017, 1:00 pm

If u csn, u can try labeling them with a label maker. At work we used it a lot to make tags for stationary, helmets, machines etc so that other departments didn't steal our stuff. I didn't have one at home and wrote out my tags on paper, then used clear tape to 'laminate ' them, then stuck them on my wires at reasonable intervals.

I chose to do that because I would have run out of colors.

hindian

Postby hindian » August 1st, 2017, 1:32 pm

Thanks fellas. i tried Shams and Steve electronics but they have the regular colors. Off to south i go then...

Postby gt4tified » August 4th, 2017, 2:59 pm

hindian wrote:Thanks fellas. i tried Shams and Steve electronics but they have the regular colors. Off to south i go then...

Did you check CET in Maritime plaza Barataria?

Postby gt4tified » August 4th, 2017, 3:15 pm

sMASH wrote:Can u give an example of a reasonable 15" and a reasonable 12" or possibly 10"

Something readily available here....

I'm just adding to the list that Kasey put up, based on my experience as well.

15" JBL 2225 (low mid) and 2226 (bass)

12" JBL2202h (low mid) and 2206h (bass)
12" McCaulay 6232 (not readily available though...who have it, not selling)
12" Gauss 4280 (this is what I use...again, not readily available)

10" D.A.S. 10B

Postby sMASH » August 4th, 2017, 4:25 pm

Why I say readily available, is just in the case that a driver blows and u need a replacement, u can just go down by go gopauls or by Steve's and get back one.
As a matter of convenience.

FD3S

Postby FD3S » August 4th, 2017, 11:29 pm

sMASH wrote:Why I say readily available, is just in the case that a driver blows and u need a replacement, u can just go down by go gopauls or by Steve's and get back one.
As a matter of convenience.

Eminence Kappa 15 and 12 inch. These speakers are workhorses and sound great. Plenty bang for the buck

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » August 9th, 2017, 8:01 am

Kasey wrote:They're supposed to be more applied for kick / low mid frequency reproduction. Not bass per say. If you want a good efficient and simple kick bin, you better off just building the HD15 on the speakerplans website. Smaller and easy to build.

this what u talking bout Kasey ?
download.jpg
download.jpg (4.74 KiB) Viewed 5269 times

Kasey

Postby Kasey » August 9th, 2017, 9:19 am

matthewmazda wrote:
Kasey wrote:They're supposed to be more applied for kick / low mid frequency reproduction. Not bass per say. If you want a good efficient and simple kick bin, you better off just building the HD15 on the speakerplans website. Smaller and easy to build.

this what u talking bout Kasey ?

You are correct.

clone101

Postby clone101 » August 14th, 2017, 9:38 am

I have 1 pair mk2 1000's $7000 and a pair 1200's turn tables with needles heads mats and serato vinyl to sell $6000 7674466......

Re: P.A. Systems, DJ Systems, Pro audio men.....

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 30th, 2017, 12:35 pm

clone101 wrote:
livinloud wrote:So tuners still confused about enclosure type to finish my system got a contact for a guy building enclosure he his single scoop,mini scoop and yorkville ls801pb design any reviews on which is better also studying if to go 2way tops or 3way tops this system mainly home and party no big pa thing .?

make life easy i have 2 Stainer passive 18's to sell loaded just to buy and plug and play like me for pictures @7674466.

Price?

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » November 29th, 2017, 1:02 pm

Good afternoon looking to build your he best box for 15TBX100 what cable of playing the lows

Postby gt4tified » February 4th, 2018, 10:59 pm

Small resurrection for Carnival 2018....what allyuh sound system men doing? Ground, Truck or keeping yuh rasclat home?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » February 5th, 2018, 8:10 am

Tuning two systems for carnival this Saturday. Relaxing Toco Sunday and Monday. Going temple Tuesday.

Don Dada

Postby Don Dada » February 8th, 2018, 12:12 pm

Noticed that Johnny Q did the sound system @ Machel Monday this year ,instead of RAA ?
What equipments were used ?

Kes Tuesday on the rocks used RAA...system sounded really proffesional .
What equipments were used ?

Which other sound system sounded GOOD for the Carnival 2018 season thus far ?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » February 11th, 2018, 8:00 am

Jonny Q did Tribe ignite. Sounded Bess. KSS/MSI sound system did Prime in Hilton. Sounded Bess too!!

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 11th, 2018, 9:28 am

I hadda commend allyuh music truck men doh

Normally this weekend would be level noise in my arse. Thanks for tuning elsewhere and not near my house

Much appreciated fellas :bday:

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 13th, 2018, 9:34 pm

I change my mind

allyuh making too much noise.
Tomorrow ain't a holiday, so why yall passing back down the road RIGHT NOW? Men hadda work tomorrow inno

#bananarepublic #3rdworld

steverandolph

Postby steverandolph » February 13th, 2018, 11:15 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:I change my mind

allyuh making too much noise.
Tomorrow ain't a holiday, so why yall passing back down the road RIGHT NOW? Men hadda work tomorrow inno

#bananarepublic #3rdworld

# Sufferershavetoworktomorrow

Fix it for u Mr.Ruff

dominick1669

Postby dominick1669 » April 26th, 2018, 8:43 am

need some advice here ... now building a lil system for home i have a mixtrack pro 2 , 3 gemini powered boxes, a gemini xga 5000 with 2 cubo with 15 earthquake (rated 500rms)...what will be the best processor to use whether a preamp,crossover or a equalizer and can u recommend something....

Kasey

Postby Kasey » April 26th, 2018, 3:16 pm

Preamp makes absolutely NO sense.
A good digital processor will do everything you want an more.
Looking at your equipment, a DBX Driverack PA will be perfect. Or even a Behringer DCX2496.