Sound Systems Discussion, please read first post

Would you support a local P.A. System / DJ Forum???

Yes
88%
No
12%

Total votes: 167

Kasey

Sound Systems Discussion, please read first post

Postby Kasey » April 27th, 2011, 8:16 am

Well after some years, I realized that we not going to get our own forum here, so I moved to create the facebook group 'Trinidad Sound Systems, and DJ equipment'. We have over 8000+ members with lots of information, equipment sales/bargains, and attractive pictures. Feel free to join!!
Last edited by Kasey on July 31st, 2017, 7:33 am, edited 4 times in total.

Kasey

Re: P.A. Systems, DJ Systems, Pro audio men.....

Postby Kasey » April 27th, 2011, 9:40 am

Well I started off with basic P.A. and then branched off to DJ, due to the demand out there. Now I have a pretty elaborate system. Some of my Equipment:

Sound Sources:
1) Allen & Heath GL2400 Mixing board / 24 channel Whirlwind snake
2) Effects rack (Dual effects unit, 4 Compressor/Limiters, etc.)
3) Pair of Dennon HS5500's in coffin
4) Mackie FxPro12 small 6 channel mixer
5) Behringer 3242FX mixing board
6) Numark DMC2 Media controller

Power:
1) Pair Crown XTI4000's
2) Pair Crown K2's
3) Behringer EP4000
4) Toppro TRX6000

All in a road ready rack case.

Boxes:
1) 4 x 4 EAW set complete
2) 4 X 4 Staner self powered set (for the indoor use, very high quality), small and efficient
3) Pair of 15" scoops
4) 4 Pitbull horn loaded subs
5) 4 EAW LA115 Stage monitors
6) Pair JBL JRX125 boxes (for the drum kits)

Got a few more stuff but thats all for now. Will try to post up some pics asap.

arnold_k69

Postby arnold_k69 » April 27th, 2011, 11:32 am

nice system there boy, how the snake wukin?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 27th, 2011, 11:57 am

even though i will never really have d cause to be a dj or own a dj set im still interested in learning about it so i support ur call for a proaudio section & even if they tell u no my advice is to make a proaudio thread so everybody can still post in it like how they do with d HT & v\games threads .... :)

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 27th, 2011, 12:17 pm

i wanna bring down one of these
http://www.virtualdj.com/products/hardware.html

any good reviews?

was the cons?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » April 27th, 2011, 2:39 pm

Which one in particular? That page u posted has many controllers.

The main problem with controllers these days are the following:
1) Speed (response of knobs for when u scratching). If the response is slow, it can throw off ur mix badly.
2) Firmware problems. This leads to 'freezing' of machine. U dont want this to happen on a gig!!
Physical integrity. You want something that can take real jammin.

Anyway my advice is to read as mush reviews as possible before u invest in a unit. Buy something good and done. Top ranking player brands are Denon, Numark, and Pioneer. The rest come after in my experience.

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » April 28th, 2011, 8:44 am

Kasey wrote:Well I started off with basic P.A. and then branched off to DJ, due to the demand out there. Now I have a pretty elaborate system. Some of my Equipment:

Sound Sources:
1) Allen & Heath GL2400 Mixing board / 24 channel Whirlwind snake
2) Effects rack (Dual effects unit, 4 Compressor/Limiters, etc.)
3) Pair of Dennon HS5500's in coffin
4) Mackie FxPro12 small 6 channel mixer
5) Behringer 3242FX mixing board
6) Numark DMC2 Media controller

Power:
1) Pair Crown XTI4000's
2) Pair Crown K2's
3) Behringer EP4000
4) Toppro TRX6000

All in a road ready rack case.

Boxes:
1) 4 x 4 EAW set complete
2) 4 X 4 Staner self powered set (for the indoor use, very high quality), small and efficient
3) Pair of 15" scoops
4) 4 Pitbull horn loaded subs
5) 4 EAW LA115 Stage monitors
6) Pair JBL JRX125 boxes (for the drum kits)

Got a few more stuff but thats all for now. Will try to post up some pics asap.

you selling the pitbull subs (pics)

Kasey

Postby Kasey » April 28th, 2011, 9:01 am

Actually yea they are for sale. Single 15" Scoops for sale too. Going full EAW. Will try to organise some pics.

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » April 28th, 2011, 11:10 am

are the pitbull 18" or 15" subs?

southside connections

Postby southside connections » April 28th, 2011, 12:24 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:i wanna bring down one of these
http://www.virtualdj.com/products/hardware.html

any good reviews?

was the cons?

used it , i had some sticking problems on windows 7(software, not hardware), but not on any other version

no problem with rane serato scratch live with any operating systems tho , matched with a pair of cdj-2000's

sr20 sleeper

Postby sr20 sleeper » April 28th, 2011, 1:07 pm

Have a mint Toppro 6000 ... if you interested pm me

Kasey

Postby Kasey » April 28th, 2011, 9:01 pm

I can be interested depending on the price.

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » April 28th, 2011, 10:35 pm

Kasey wrote:Actually yea they are for sale. Single 15" Scoops for sale too. Going full EAW. Will try to organise some pics.

price on scoops loaded and if selling unloaded

Kasey

Postby Kasey » May 1st, 2011, 9:39 am

$1500 for the pair unloaded, not fibreglassed. Got wheels on 'em tho.

zico85

Postby zico85 » May 1st, 2011, 12:59 pm

Got some denon stuff for sale check it out

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=355510

Kasey

Postby Kasey » May 4th, 2011, 3:03 pm

^^nice

Postby pugboy » May 4th, 2011, 3:53 pm

i still want to pass and compare the cubo boxes

ZR

Postby ZR » May 4th, 2011, 4:30 pm

well i recently started off into the DJ business...got a Numark Mix Deck and a Numark Mixtrack. a behringer xenyx 2222FX board, 2 Yamaha 8" and 2 behringer 12" and a crown XLS 2000. looking to invest into the JBL VRX series or DAS Compact 2...

ZR

Postby ZR » May 4th, 2011, 4:33 pm

i think we should start submitting mixes so we can critique each other..it will help everyone build their skill levels as well as know what they need to work on so we can still mash up a party..

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 4th, 2011, 8:51 pm

ZR wrote:i think we should start submitting mixes so we can critique each other..it will help everyone build their skill levels as well as know what they need to work on so we can still mash up a party..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4DV2vGhY ... r_embedded

made it low quality so ppl wudnt teef it, although it easy to mix

did it on VDJ

Kasey

Postby Kasey » May 7th, 2011, 10:31 pm

pugboy wrote:i still want to pass and compare the cubo boxes

lemme no when u ready

ZR

Postby ZR » May 8th, 2011, 11:03 pm

well i did a mix recently...it was done in Virtual Dj using a Midi Controller...tell me what u tink...

http://zr-103.podomatic.com/entry/2011- ... 4_21-08_00

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 9th, 2011, 11:08 am

pugboy wrote:i still want to pass and compare the cubo boxes

as in Cubo 15?
what drivers you using in them and how do they sound?

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » May 9th, 2011, 12:38 pm

Fellas, you can check me out on bacchanaltv.com every Friday from 5pm to 7pm. We do a live showing, mixing audio and video.

let me know what you think!

arnold_k69

Postby arnold_k69 » May 9th, 2011, 1:33 pm

DJ Chris from Jedi Sound System?

killerhyundai-DET wrote:Fellas, you can check me out on bacchanaltv.com every Friday from 5pm to 7pm. We do a live showing, mixing audio and video.

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » May 9th, 2011, 3:22 pm

arnold_k69 wrote:DJ Chris from Jedi Sound System?

killerhyundai-DET wrote:Fellas, you can check me out on bacchanaltv.com every Friday from 5pm to 7pm. We do a live showing, mixing audio and video.

Yep, that's me, but i go by Jedi Chris now.... 8-)

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » May 20th, 2011, 12:27 am

bump to the top

arnold_k69

Postby arnold_k69 » May 20th, 2011, 8:18 am

kool dude, i listen to you on bacchanal radio, now studiocmixes. nuff respect to excellent dj man.

killerhyundai-DET wrote:
arnold_k69 wrote:DJ Chris from Jedi Sound System?

Yep, that's me, but i go by Jedi Chris now.... 8-)

Kasey

Postby Kasey » May 20th, 2011, 8:18 pm

Fellas anyone got pics of their system? Or setup? NOT someone elses plz.

ZR

Postby ZR » June 10th, 2011, 11:23 am

this is my setup from a wedding i did recently.