Sound Systems Discussion, please read first post

Would you support a local P.A. System / DJ Forum???

Yes
88%
No
12%

Total votes: 167

livinloud

Re: P.A. Systems, DJ Systems, Pro audio men.....

Postby livinloud » February 13th, 2017, 4:09 pm

Good day tuners looking for some local reviews on this amplifier beringher ep4000 was told it can run 8-18" any thoughts and advice would be appreciated thanks.

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » February 13th, 2017, 4:19 pm

technically yes, but why would you run that many low powered woofers?

livinloud

Postby livinloud » February 13th, 2017, 6:32 pm

Ok Thanks the said person say I can run 8-18" rcf .. Do you guys have any recommendations in mind. I'm also on a budget that's why I was kinda leaning towards the behringer ep4000. What's the cost of qsc or crown btw.

Postby gt4tified » February 13th, 2017, 11:35 pm

kavaninho wrote:technically yes, but why would you run that many low powered woofers?

Depending on the bass enclosure and the application, perhaps there is merit in more subs at low power (if using a low power sub like the Zebra or old school Beckers etc) rather than half that number at high power?

Postby gt4tified » February 13th, 2017, 11:36 pm

double post
Last edited by gt4tified on February 14th, 2017, 6:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 14th, 2017, 7:27 am

I have some 8" JBL midrange and 12" JBL woofers for sale if anyone is interested:

viewtopic.php?f=8&t=696798

ADONI

Postby ADONI » February 14th, 2017, 9:05 am

Fellas, ah wah buy a self powered speaker to move around with. I saw Steve's Electronics have Gemini and Sound Stream, but I was more looking at JBL. Who sells JBL self power boxes? At first ah will buy a top, then a sub-woofer. You help would be greatly appreciated.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 14th, 2017, 9:23 am

CET in Barataria.
You can also check DJ Warehouse in Pharmacy Plus in Montrose.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » February 14th, 2017, 9:55 am

^^ Thanks! I saw they have a website.
http://www.caribbeanav.com/product-cate ... caribbean/

livinloud

Postby livinloud » February 14th, 2017, 10:47 am

Ok kool was thinking about eaws or single scoop. This system is mainly for home use and at family events .I had eaws ah while back and gave them away unfortunately now I want back a system after the carnival season. If qsc or crown prices not to bad might consider it as well if not back to budget stuff and low powered suds.

livinloud

Postby livinloud » February 14th, 2017, 10:48 am

What about those american audio amps are they any good for my application?

Postby gt4tified » February 14th, 2017, 7:01 pm

livinloud wrote:What about those american audio amps are they any good for my application?

There are some JBL and QSC amps on our FB group for reasonable dollars. The American Audio are more club type amps than touring amps imho but they could work for you I guess. The 'plus' series in the AA are the beefier ones.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » February 14th, 2017, 8:52 pm

I agree with Gt and silent.

livinloud

Postby livinloud » February 17th, 2017, 1:04 pm

Ok Thanks.saw marathon amps any local reviews

livinloud

Postby livinloud » February 20th, 2017, 7:45 am

Ok so I think I made up my mind about the Amps I'll be going with . Now I'm not sure what sub enclosure to go with doh I'm kinda leaning towards sb850 but what about single scoop ... Anyone has the sb1000 any reviews on these never heard them or the amps I may be going with might be around 10k rms so power might not be an issue bringing these down myself once it can be done .

Kasey

Postby Kasey » February 20th, 2017, 9:57 pm

Scoops are your best bet if using for DJ Purposes. SB1000 = crap if used singly or even in pairs. They designed with the idea to use in clusters of 4 and up. I tried it, didn't like them......well in singles anyhow. I'd take the SB850 over the SB1000 for my type of use heavy (PA). But as I said, for DJ, scoops are the winner.

Postby pugboy » February 20th, 2017, 10:34 pm

You guys ever use those amp meters on your racks to check supply current consumption ?
There are some nice digital ones which simply require passing one leg of the 100v through a toroid.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » February 20th, 2017, 10:37 pm

I bought a couple to install in my racks, but they still collecting dust. Lol. When I cetch Ah vaps I go install dem.

livinloud

Postby livinloud » February 20th, 2017, 10:37 pm

Ok Thanks Man appreciate the information . The system is not for dj thing more ah hobby that I'm hopping into back just want a nice loud system I also have a van that I may stack it for fun and to loan to frens who are good djs but don't have big systems for weddings and small party's.

nutty4u2c

Postby nutty4u2c » March 11th, 2017, 9:06 am

Hi, I just like this thread. I was looking to buy a small system for the Hobby thing , when by accident I started to build my own system using plate amps from Siesmic audio. I got two plate amps on an ebay auction for TT $1722.24 that is with shipping everything and built the boxes from specs downloaded, one of the plate amps has Satellite out puts so I drive the Sub and two Sat from this amp alone http://www.seismicaudiospeakers.com/2-c ... /SA-APTR01 and it sounds reasonable well. All be it not a pro outfit , it keeps everyone in the back yard entertained. The Sub is a 15" and the Sat are 10" eminence with JBL Selenium D220Ti - 1" - 8 ohm - Titanium Horn Screw On Driver . So far the whole thing has cost me just over $4500 TTD

Saw some Trinis showing off their Seismic Audio Gear on You Tube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J04J1fkGcj0
Last edited by nutty4u2c on March 15th, 2017, 8:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

livinloud

Postby livinloud » March 13th, 2017, 11:04 pm

So tuners still confused about enclosure type to finish my system got a contact for a guy building enclosure he his single scoop,mini scoop and yorkville ls801pb design any reviews on which is better also studying if to go 2way tops or 3way tops this system mainly home and party no big pa thing .?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » March 18th, 2017, 12:38 am

Ls801

clone101

Postby clone101 » March 18th, 2017, 8:33 am

livinloud wrote:So tuners still confused about enclosure type to finish my system got a contact for a guy building enclosure he his single scoop,mini scoop and yorkville ls801pb design any reviews on which is better also studying if to go 2way tops or 3way tops this system mainly home and party no big pa thing .?

make life easy i have 2 Stainer passive 18's to sell loaded just to buy and plug and play like me for pictures @7674466.

Postby gt4tified » May 20th, 2017, 1:24 am

Selling my two amps...perfect working condition, have been well cared for. Not begging for a sale so prices are firm. They are however, priced very reasonable though...

American Audio V3001 plus...used this on my monitors only. $2500.00
Specs: http://www.adj.com/v3001-plus

Crest CPX 2600 ....this was my kids amp....plenty power from a 2 rackspace unit...torroidal transformer, and not the light switching type ones. $2500.00
http://peaveycommercialaudio.com/produc ... s/CPX-2600

If taking both, I will then consider a package price.

PM or call 738-5863

Postby gt4tified » May 24th, 2017, 11:29 pm

Where everybody? New discussion topic: 2-way vs. 3-way tops. Which is better or which you prefer, and why?

Postby X_Factor » May 25th, 2017, 7:18 am

personal choice is 3 way....each driver plays a specific bandwidth allowing for higher spl with less distortion...

Kasey

Postby Kasey » May 27th, 2017, 8:49 am

gt4tified wrote:Where everybody? New discussion topic: 2-way vs. 3-way tops. Which is better or which you prefer, and why?

Honestly that depends on MANY factors.
1) Your SPL desire (loudness)
2) Wave propagation (the 'throw')
3) Venue acoustics (for touring systems)
4) Driver parameters
5) Mobility
6) Aesthetics

May have more but I think it just boils down to personal choice. I know many line array designs which are two way, and are very effective for large venues. I personally have both two-way, and three way boxes, and I use what ever I feel like. I just use the EAW for larger events. And use the two way powered boxes for medium to small events.

Postby gt4tified » May 29th, 2017, 3:58 pm

good stuff, X-factor and Kasey. I have never owned a 3-way top but thinking about it- I am building just a pair of tops for now though...transport is my issue when it comes to size, although I am 90% sure that these will be just for personal use. I don't really do live sound, so just DJ/playback audio. For my system, its a ground stacked medium throw I want. I think that with proper loudspeaker and driver (both power handling and tone) a decent sized two-way cabinet should give me what I need. My personal credo is quality over quantity.

Postby Gladiator » May 30th, 2017, 10:55 pm

gt4tified wrote:Where everybody? New discussion topic: 2-way vs. 3-way tops. Which is better or which you prefer, and why?

I prefer 3 way due to the duty of the drivers being shared and prevention of clipping in one freq range affecting the speakers as in a 2 way. If you going active 3 way then surely this would be a advantage over 2 way.

If you planning to use a passive to separate the frequencies you can have a challenge according to the power you running and the drivers you using.

If its quality you going after do an active 3 way... if its PA then 2 way would suffice. I actually doing some research on line arrays..... looks like it may be better than the traditional 2/3 way.

Postby gt4tified » June 5th, 2017, 1:32 am

Line arrays have their advantages, but are comparatively much much more expensive. A lot of guys copy the enclosures down here and then use a hodgepodge of speakers to load them without understanding the parameters of each and how they interact. Its not just simply point and shoot with line arrays. Plus, you have to have at least 3/side to have desired effect.