BBQ question to coal or not to coal

francis1979

Re: BBQ question to coal or not to coal

Postby francis1979 » January 8th, 2021, 2:19 am

daring dragoon wrote:i switched to prokleen with no change to the stove and the blackening of pots etc stopped. the flame lights blue not orangeish now.

The problem you are experiencing is due to orifice installed in the stove.
It was probably designed for propane and not lpg. Therefore causing incomplete combustion of the lpg resulting in black pots.

Was your stove a special order?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 8th, 2021, 3:51 am

nope, normal courts panama whirlpool floor model.

Postby Dave » January 8th, 2021, 6:12 am

Folks has the same issue with a stove from standards. Standards had to come and change/adjust a jetting.

Postby pugboy » January 8th, 2021, 6:19 am

I thought propane and lpg used the same jetting which are different to natural gas which uses a larger jet as it is supplied at lower pressure.
Natural gas is used in places like malls which have main line connection to the natural gas network.

Postby adnj » January 8th, 2021, 10:08 pm

pugboy wrote:I thought propane and lpg used the same jetting which are different to natural gas which uses a larger jet as it is supplied at lower pressure.
Natural gas is used in places like malls which have main line connection to the natural gas network.
You are right. Natural gas is lower pressure - larger orifice. LPG is a butane and propane mix. If the temperature drops below freezing, butane will not vaporize so you refill outdoor LPG tanks in the fall with propane only before it gets too cold.

If your gas appliance started to soot, it was burning too rich. It either had the wrong orifice to begin with or it simply suffered from a process called heat corrosion.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » February 24th, 2021, 5:36 pm

Where can I get large bags of coals to buy that's as close to Curepe / UWI area?

Postby SR » February 24th, 2021, 7:19 pm

Hard to find these days the usual spots in cunupia dont sell them anymore

Postby *KRONIK* » February 24th, 2021, 9:05 pm

As we on that topic
Is there any use for the dregs from the coals bag?

I have about 5 handle bags with the small pieces and dust that shakes off at the bottom.
I aint sure if it have any use, before i dump them

Postby Gladiator » February 24th, 2021, 9:33 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:As we on that topic

I have about 5 handle bags with the small pieces and dust that shakes off at the bottom.

Make a charcoal filter for your aquarium or even for some drinking water.

Postby pugboy » February 24th, 2021, 10:09 pm

Yuh could make your own briquettes
Boil a pot of hot water and put cornstarch in it
Mix the coal powder in to a firm consistency and press it out in cakes like a sardine can and dry it in the hot sun well.

It’s a good business to get into with all the waste coconut husk we have
They do this on a big scale in Indonesia and them places, have machines made to do this

Postby *KRONIK* » February 25th, 2021, 7:21 am

Right, i was thinking sometuing along these lines.
Gladiator wrote:

Make a charcoal filter for your aquarium or even for some drinking water.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 25th, 2021, 7:22 am

Hmmmmm

Sounds like a lotta work, lol
pugboy wrote:Yuh could make your own briquettes
Mix the coal powder in to a firm consistency and press it out in cakes like a sardine can and dry it in the hot sun well.

They do this on a big scale in Indonesia and them places, have machines made to do this

Postby pugboy » February 25th, 2021, 7:30 am

nah just dump it on ground outside on a hot day and plaster it flat to dry 1.5" thick
and break them up after

*KRONIK* wrote:Hmmmmm

Postby *KRONIK* » February 25th, 2021, 7:35 am

Weekend i will take it outside and put all in a bucket and see how much it is exactly
pugboy wrote:nah just dump it on ground outside on a hot day and plaster it flat to dry 1.5" thick
and break them up after

*KRONIK* wrote:Hmmmmm

Postby pugboy » February 25th, 2021, 7:44 am

I seriously think it is a good business to get into
there is a huge amount of wastage by those local coal mfgs
probably equivalent to at least 1/4 of their production ends up in small pieces they dont package
partly due to them using sawmill ends which are small pieces of wood.

and even the ones who import hardwood coals from guyana get a lot of dust also and have to sort over before packaging to retail.
I got fedup buying the whole guyana crocus bags for the same reason

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » February 25th, 2021, 9:01 am

Daaayum, that's no bueno :/ Thanks though. Anyone else knows a spot to get coals?
SR wrote:Hard to find these days the usual spots in cunupia dont sell them anymore

Postby Chimera » February 25th, 2021, 11:40 am

i was looking at the options for making coconut coal briquettes locally

there is an endless supply of free raw material

but dont know how profitable it is

Postby pugboy » February 25th, 2021, 4:24 pm

its obviously not something you will mfg 24x7 but the raw materials are fairly cheap
the packaging and dist costs would probably be the bulk of the costs

guyana coals are very inconsistent in size and quality

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » March 1st, 2021, 5:59 am

I usually purchase Cowboy Lump charcoal from bhagwansingh due to quality for smoking of meats. In my last visit to Bhagwansingh Chaguanas I did not see any for sale.

When I have tried other charcoal in the grocery ( mostly from Guyana ) I have had a lot of problems with them staying lit during long smokes.

Can anyone recommend a good brand of local or Guyana charcoal which they have used with good results

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 1st, 2021, 6:36 am

where can i get a small gas bbq grill? i realize the coal bbq does give me headaches with because of the smoke.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 1st, 2021, 7:05 am

The only good "branded" local coals i does get good results with is MOOSA. But half the bag does be dust and small chips.

francis1979 wrote:I usually purchase Cowboy Lump charcoal from bhagwansingh due to quality for smoking of meats. In my last visit to Bhagwansingh Chaguanas I did not see any for sale.

When I have tried other charcoal in the grocery ( mostly from Guyana ) I have had a lot of problems with them staying lit during long smokes.

Can anyone recommend a good brand of local or Guyana charcoal which they have used with good results

Postby pugboy » March 1st, 2021, 9:48 am

it’s all hit and miss

guyana coals are a byproduct of the lumber industry
they will chop down a forest the side of woodbrook and the ends are gathered up and burnt into coals and sold over.
you think them lumber workers care about proper sorting

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » March 1st, 2021, 9:16 pm

daring dragoon wrote:where can i get a small gas bbq grill? i realize the coal bbq does give me headaches with because of the smoke.

Peakes for Weber Grills

https://peaketrading.com/catalogsearch/result/?q=Weber

Pricesmart

https://www.pricesmart.com/site/tt/en/s ... r1:_sps=12

Charbroil is very popular in furniture stores and hardwares (e.g. Bhagwansingh, Standards

https://standardtt.com/brand/char-broil/

Postby Habit7 » March 2nd, 2021, 10:09 am

I used to buy Fire Dragon hardwood coals, it had smaller pieces and plenty of dust. Even with my chimney, it took several tries to get ashen. In JTA I tried Sookdeo's Hardwood and it is great. It comes in plastic bags inside to keep out moisture. It has bigger pieces with less dust, plus it is cheaper. It started really quick, it probably has an accelerant but I certainly didn't taste it.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 2nd, 2021, 1:02 pm

Doesnt necessarily mean they used an accelerant
Good hardwood coals that was carbonized properly lights easily and remains lit
Habit7 wrote:I used to buy Fire Dragon hardwood coals, it had smaller pieces and plenty of dust. Even with my chimney, it took several tries to get ashen. In JTA I tried Sookdeo's Hardwood and it is great. It comes in plastic bags inside to keep out moisture. It has bigger pieces with less dust, plus it is cheaper. It started really quick, it probably has an accelerant but I certainly didn't taste it.

Postby X_Factor » March 2nd, 2021, 2:26 pm

good charcoal has a nice sheen on it and when you drop it on the floor it sounds like glass
it leaves little ash unlike the more matte black type that has a dull sound when dropped

when you make your own charcoal with the dust and small chips like what pugboy mentioned earlier, that burns amazing...but i used corn starch ( powder) together with corn flour( grainy)

Postby X_Factor » March 2nd, 2021, 2:34 pm

This is what it looks like...compared to the duller pieces to the right
It could be the type of wood or how efficient the charcoal making process went
IMG_20210302_143028.jpeg

Postby pugboy » March 2nd, 2021, 3:21 pm

they make charcoal by digging a huge hole and piling the wood inside
it is then lit and when all the wood start to burn and reach a high temp they cover it with soil to stifle it, the heat and lack of oxygen turns the wood to charcoal

sections that didn’t get proper heat will not be proper

BUG

Postby BUG » April 22nd, 2021, 8:09 am

Any local Masterbuil dealers? Looking to buy either the:

Gravity Series Grills
https://www.masterbuilt.com/collections ... ill-smoker

or Electric smoker?
https://www.masterbuilt.com/collections ... th-broiler
Last edited by BUG on April 22nd, 2021, 12:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BUG

Postby BUG » April 22nd, 2021, 12:00 pm

But if I can't buy a Masterbuilt I'll probably get the Weber Smoky Mountain. Best wood/charcoal/accessories? Looking to buy everything and get setup this weekend.