BBQ question to coal or not to coal

Postby RASC » May 13th, 2007, 5:34 pm

Funny...

So why is it that 100% of all international competitions , COALS are the choice of the puriest?

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » May 13th, 2007, 7:08 pm

SR wrote:yes but coals take some time to light

especialy the kingsford and even when u use lighter fluid u need for all the coals to light and burn off the fluid before cooking

1 bag of instant light coals, 40 - 50$
8 - 15 of the coals to get things started
1 bag of el classic hard to light coals 20$
once the instant light are lit and hot put el classic coals ontop and fan till they get hot.

Wunderbar!

SR wrote:same goes for charcoal when using good ole pitchoil etc

otherwise your first batch of meat has the lighter fluid/kerosene flavor in it

by that time its already an hour gone by

refer to my comment above. 30 - 40 mins = ready to go! if the grill size is larger use more instant light coals to get things started. Simple, effective, works everytime.... unless its raining. :lol:

Postby SR » May 13th, 2007, 8:57 pm

pugboy wrote:Where you get that Kingsford to buy ? And what price for 20lb bag ?
Natural does taste better but kingsford good for long cooks over 10 hours.

SR you can have my homemade chimney if you want, I aint use it in years.

might take u up on that offer

gonna check laughlin tomoro for the weber chimney also will check peakes

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » May 13th, 2007, 9:04 pm

^and i will check you when de BBQ done make. :fadein:

Postby pugboy » May 13th, 2007, 9:04 pm

peakes have it for sure, I don't think ldg have

Postby SR » May 13th, 2007, 9:05 pm

will pass bythem and check then i hada test it out on some good local coals

Postby X_Factor » May 13th, 2007, 10:41 pm

the best and fastest way to light up a put for me is..usin some wood chippings about 8"long..stack them up..use ah styrotex cup..light the cup and let it fall onto the chippings...in a matter of 3-5mins the stack of wood lights...then put the big pieces of coals to light....and in 10mins pit is done...
i actually win ah case of beers friday betting someone i couldnt light the pit wit one grain of match...the styrotex cup and the wood chippings

some one told me they made their own coals wit "lampost wood"...that t$TEC leave in front the road
they bore some holes in on the first rim(bottom) of a barrel...put like something to hold the chunks of wood...light it up and cover it

aR&D

Postby aR&D » May 13th, 2007, 11:02 pm

hot tomatoes choka
Hot eddoes choka
hot sada roti
roast garlic, onion, baigan and roast congo pepper for muhrtani

.... all made and prepared on a good ole fashion Chula!

Postby X_Factor » May 13th, 2007, 11:09 pm

for the flavours...
drop in a couple pieces cinnamon bark, nutmeg or good ole bayleaf branches/leaves( i does experiment alot)

if eva allyuh want bayleaf..vibes me..yuh could get by the feed bag

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » May 14th, 2007, 6:10 am

Coals if you wah BBQ
if your not using Coals, is Grill Meat....
BBQ can never be Grill.... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

and know it have some ppl who does add bbq source to grill and bake oven meat and call it bbq...
NO

how i light my Coals...
get some wood chippings, heap it on top some newspapers, add some drops of kerosene, light it and add the coal, fan, and spread.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » May 14th, 2007, 9:55 am

coals and newspaper thats it ,meat and sauce drippings only help

Postby RASC » May 14th, 2007, 10:00 am

X_Factor wrote:the best and fastest way to light up a put for me is..usin some wood chippings about 8"long..stack them up..use ah styrotex cup..light the cup and let it fall onto the chippings...in a matter of 3-5mins the stack of wood lights...then put the big pieces of coals to light....and in 10mins pit is done...
i actually win ah case of beers friday betting someone i couldnt light the pit wit one grain of match...the styrotex cup and the wood chippings

Your USING WHAT to cook with :shock:

TOXIC TOXIC TOXIC :!:

You serious??? :?

Postby X_Factor » May 14th, 2007, 10:21 am

the cup will burn off really quick boy...in a matter off 5 mins the cup does burn off

Postby RASC » May 14th, 2007, 10:23 am

X_Factor wrote:the cup will burn off really quick boy...in a matter off 5 mins the cup does burn off

realise what it is your doing...

Postby X_Factor » May 14th, 2007, 10:28 am

or if u want put some cooking oil in a few napkins

Postby SR » May 14th, 2007, 12:57 pm

pugboy wrote:peakes have it for sure, I don't think ldg have

got one a peakes

price was not bad $102. vat inclusive

didnt make sense making my own at that price

will be trying it out soon

Rebelb14

Postby Rebelb14 » May 14th, 2007, 1:14 pm

Charcoal for sure
I now getting into this bbq thing. I make my BBQ pit last month put of a barrel. I realise men serious bout this boy. That chimney starter looks really interesting - that is my project this weekend for sure, that and some pork. :twisted:

Flavour i does use guava leaves. they does burn way so i make a separate level for them above the fire.

Postby pugboy » May 14th, 2007, 4:11 pm

^^just remember good bbq/grilled food does not require a decarbonzing kit

Rebelb14

Postby Rebelb14 » May 14th, 2007, 5:12 pm

what yuh mean decarbonizing kit?

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » May 14th, 2007, 5:37 pm

HUTRINI wrote:
X_Factor wrote:the cup will burn off really quick boy...in a matter off 5 mins the cup does burn off

realise what it is your doing...

sugar does work good too

Postby pugboy » May 14th, 2007, 5:45 pm

carbon = burnt food
Rebelb14 wrote:what yuh mean decarbonizing kit?

Postby SR » May 14th, 2007, 8:09 pm

thats called bun b q

Rebelb14

Postby Rebelb14 » May 14th, 2007, 9:59 pm

haha nah pugboy i safe. Now starting and i ent get no complaints yet actually i lie the other day barbqueing for the whole family 4 5 hours straight i get fedup and the last set a chicken get lil overdown.

What do u think is the best meat and the best part of the animal to BBQ cause to me nothing beats some pork ribs.

Postby pugboy » May 14th, 2007, 10:44 pm

the top category in bbq competitions is beef brisket, i put a pic of one earlier in the thread

Postby SR » May 15th, 2007, 7:50 am

where can i get that
i dont eat pork

dont mind trying the beef brisket

Postby X_Factor » May 15th, 2007, 7:58 am

dont mind trying the beef brisket

locally?
might hadda check pricemart or those well known supermarkets
if not..head into puna market on ah saturday morning and pick ur piece

Postby SR » May 15th, 2007, 8:05 am

yeah but it hada be halaal

Postby X_Factor » May 18th, 2007, 9:53 pm

was in pricemart earlier and i saw they hav some nice steaks for bbq
price range from 50-70$
they had a nice slab of meat..about 9-10inches x 6 by about 2 inches thick..it looked nice

pitty i doh eat beef

Postby pugboy » May 18th, 2007, 11:15 pm

beef brisket is a somewhat technical piece of meat,
it is normally smoked for 10+ hours because it is the toughest cut of beef
it is the chest/pec muscle, but the toughest cuts normally have the best taste
only after it reaches a certain temp it breaks down and becomes very tender but can also become quite dry if overcooked

unfortunately you won't get a local cut of beef brisket because the local cut would be too tough and its normally cut to minced meat anyway

I get them in malabar farms in bournes road, its actually the cheapest cut of usda beef, but this would not be halaal

Postby X_Factor » May 18th, 2007, 11:22 pm

the pieces i saw in pricemart looked like jus raw flesh they cut up and packaged