BBQ question to coal or not to coal

Postby pugboy » May 18th, 2007, 11:38 pm

pricemart usda meat actually is pretty good, its imported chilled and cut into individual pieces here
you just have to pick and choose the right cuts depending on the marbling etc
their minced meat is a lot of better than hilo

hilo minced beef is 100% beef, including pieces of bone and all kinds of crap

Postby X_Factor » May 18th, 2007, 11:44 pm

u know how ppl say when u buy frozen goat u could be gettin kangaroo
turkey-ostrich
i bought lamb last week and first time i saw lamb without fat..and it didnt taste like lamb..but on the label...it had "canadian imported lamb"

what meat they does try to pass off as beef?

Postby RASC » May 19th, 2007, 12:49 pm

Ostrich tastes really good actually :!:
I have not BBQ'd it myself, so I can't tell you how to cook it however...

Postby SR » May 20th, 2007, 7:07 am

i thought the meat was suppose to be a bit stiff?

Postby SR » June 3rd, 2007, 7:44 am

update

chimney stack is da bomb

used only 2 pieces of newspaper to light the stack in approx 5 min

well worth it

not worht the effort to make your own

Postby pugboy » June 3rd, 2007, 10:21 am

yes, welcome to the modern age, no more fiddling trying to light coals
btw this week was grillign week on foodnetwork, lotsa great shows

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » June 3rd, 2007, 2:54 pm

best week eva... found out u slice a banana and grill it and serve with vanilla ice cream it tastes good..

hadda try grillin some deserts yes

anyone saw emril cookin caribbean dishes.. calaloo and jerk pork and curry chicken and rowtee

Postby SR » June 3rd, 2007, 4:43 pm

try grilling pineapple slices

Postby pugboy » June 3rd, 2007, 5:02 pm

yeah, coated with a little brown sugar, with some vanilla ice cream and a splash of bitters

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » June 3rd, 2007, 5:21 pm

believe it or not i had the grilled pineapple slices with spanish rice pudding... that was splendiferous ....

i've seen peach slices and also mango ...any other suggestions ?

Postby eliteauto » June 12th, 2008, 10:28 am

bump for meh new baby
http://www.amazon.com/CHARBROIL-0630841 ... B000QY7Y0E
now to get a chimney and some cedar planks

Postby SR » June 12th, 2008, 10:30 am

awaits inivitation

goes to put some pinapple to soak in appleton

larafan

Postby larafan » June 12th, 2008, 10:57 am

man..is where allyuh going with dem fancy bbq pits???....

and cover with two fig leaf when yuh ready....

Postby crazybalhead » June 12th, 2008, 11:01 am

CL101, I doh eat beef or pork eh, please be guided accordingly please and thanks very much.

larafan

Postby larafan » June 12th, 2008, 11:06 am

I doh eat beef or pork eh

bess u jess eat bread then...

Postby crazybalhead » June 12th, 2008, 11:08 am

larafan wrote:

It ha plenty other ting to eat padna! :lol:

Postby wagonrunner » June 12th, 2008, 11:11 am

larafan,
memories there boy.

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » June 12th, 2008, 11:25 am

corollalover101, So when is the lime?

Once you not bbq-ing snake I fullin meh belly. :lol:

larafan

Postby larafan » June 12th, 2008, 11:35 am

cbh...yuh does eat cnut?

Postby crazybalhead » June 12th, 2008, 11:36 am

Coconut? Yeah.

Postby crazybalhead » June 12th, 2008, 11:38 am

Larafan, what I feel you really asked is whether or not I am a cunning linguist, I would have to answer in the affirmative.

larafan

Postby larafan » June 12th, 2008, 11:39 am

or hor...yuh better has be...

cause if u doh eat dat....someone else gorne eat it for u...

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » June 12th, 2008, 12:43 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
larafan wrote:

It ha plenty other ting to eat padna! :lol:

Salted fish?

Postby eliteauto » June 12th, 2008, 2:13 pm

AbstractPoetic, yuh does BBQ dat? :lol: :lol:

cornfused

Postby cornfused » June 12th, 2008, 2:23 pm

Cjruckus wrote:I much prefer to use Gas over coals. Before i was a charcoal til death kind of guy until i got a chance to use a well built soild gas grill.

True you do get some authentic flavor with coals, but taste can become inconsitant.

Cooking meat is all about which temp works best for application, and if you are serious about Qing like using your grill at least twice weekly for meat, then gas is the way to go.

On the question of flairups, they can still occur on a gas grill, it just depends on how hot of a grill you are using. If all burners are going and the grill is operating at max temp then flair ups can occur like they do on a coal grill. Just you need to check the temp rating of your grill.

To some, the higher the BTU, the better.

I still enjoy coals from time to time, but for hardcore grilling, Gas just takes win.

i was wondering if a really not good cause i get flare ups on a a commercial gas application

i like my gas

Postby SR » June 12th, 2008, 2:34 pm

gas works well for steak and lamb

coals i prefer for chicken as there is a more noticable difference in flavour between gas and coals when doing chicken over lamb or beef

however there are ways to ensure the flavour gets there when doing chicken as well as different methods of preparing the chicken so that it does not dry out

cornfused

Postby cornfused » June 12th, 2008, 2:51 pm

any advice from the resident bbq/grill master is well noted

larafan

Postby larafan » June 12th, 2008, 2:55 pm

and it aint matter how yuh cook pork...pork tasting good all how...

u really can't make pork and have it taste bad..as in cyah eat it bad...

Postby SR » June 12th, 2008, 3:00 pm

will try it out this weekend and report my findings

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » June 12th, 2008, 5:09 pm

corollalover101 wrote:AbstractPoetic, yuh does BBQ dat? :lol: :lol:

For some you do, for some you don't. Depends on your preference.

Nice grill. I would have kindly requested an invite but alas you might spike my meal.

Great addition to the family. Enjoy!