***THE FARMERS CHED***

Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby adnj » November 24th, 2018, 11:22 am

snsauto wrote:Thanks. Yeah I looked it up on doing it myself but only part I was wondering was what to put at the plant end. Seems like they put some type of proprietary mister fitting.

You only need a series pinholes in plastic tubing that is plugged at one end. Lay the tubing along your row of plants.

snsauto

Postby snsauto » November 24th, 2018, 2:29 pm

adnj wrote:
snsauto wrote:Thanks. Yeah I looked it up on doing it myself but only part I was wondering was what to put at the plant end. Seems like they put some type of proprietary mister fitting.

You only need a series pinholes in plastic tubing that is plugged at one end. Lay the tubing along your row of plants.

Thanks alot man. And sorry I'm a complete newbie.... I'm def going to try this on a section and see how it works out.

Postby adnj » November 24th, 2018, 4:13 pm

It's really simple to do. Try to add some inexpensive valves to your tubing so that you can control what you water. You can fill a small tank or barrel and use gravity to irrigate.
snsauto wrote:
adnj wrote:

Thanks alot man. And sorry I'm a complete newbie.... I'm def going to try this on a section and see how it works out.

tardissubie

Postby tardissubie » November 25th, 2018, 4:58 pm

If you going to be turning the soil often and have a pump already consider the benefit of the sprinkler not having to be moved when you want to till in the beds unlike drip lines.

Also consider the benefit of sprinkler for evaporative cooling for your leafy crops during dry season.

Both drip and sprinkler good just depend on application.

snsauto

Postby snsauto » November 26th, 2018, 8:11 am

Anyone know where locally you can get micro greens seeds?

Postby Chimera » November 26th, 2018, 9:11 am

this weekend in wholesale market

celery $80 a bundle
chive $75 a bundle
pimento $250 a bag of 100

Postby X_Factor » November 26th, 2018, 9:36 am

yep dat always happen wen I plant chive...it sells 20 and 25...when I dont have 60 and up

Postby Chimera » November 26th, 2018, 10:47 am

boy...when i plant the other day...we lucky to get $18
we eh even making profit if we pay people to pick and tie.......

ftitan

Postby ftitan » November 26th, 2018, 11:21 am

Just to confirm, a bundle is generally 20 individual plants, right?

snsauto

Postby snsauto » November 26th, 2018, 12:58 pm

[quote="Phone Surgeon"]this weekend in wholesale market

celery $80 a bundle
chive $75 a bundle
pimento $250 a bag of 100[/quoted]

We retailed at the farmers market Saturday and sold pimento 8 in a bag for $5.

So 100 would have worked out to about $60-$65 and this was retail. Other people were selling at same price.

Per 100 wholesale prices were $30(S), $45(M), $60(L). Which market was $250 bro?

Postby Chimera » November 26th, 2018, 12:59 pm

Saturday night sealots market. Had one man alone with pimento

snsauto

Postby snsauto » November 26th, 2018, 1:00 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:this weekend in wholesale market

celery $80 a bundle
chive $75 a bundle
pimento $250 a bag of 100

We retailed at the farmers market Saturday and sold pimento 8 in a bag for $5.

So 100 would have worked out to about $60-$65 and this was retail. Other people were selling at same price.

Per 100 wholesale prices were $30(S), $45(M), $60(L). Which market was $250 bro?

snsauto

Postby snsauto » November 26th, 2018, 1:01 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Saturday night sealots market. Had one man alone with pimento

Wow. Thanks alot for the info bro. Can you give some details on getting into this market?

Postby mero » November 30th, 2018, 1:39 pm

What's the market price on passion fruit?

Postby X_Factor » November 30th, 2018, 4:12 pm

snsauto wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:Saturday night sealots market. Had one man alone with pimento

Wow. Thanks alot for the info bro. Can you give some details on getting into this market?

that is port of spain market you see on the highway, call either namdevco for information or pos regional corp

but i think you just go with the produce, find a spot and make ur hustle...pay the daily rent fee

Postby Chimera » November 30th, 2018, 6:07 pm

You only pay if you taking a stall or reserving a spot. Otherwise you selling from your vehicle in the parking lot before the market opens or in the market when it opens.ppl there from 7pm selling

Postby Chimera » November 30th, 2018, 6:07 pm

Remember there is wholesale eh

Postby Chimera » December 4th, 2018, 7:30 am

Fyi
Screenshot_20181204-072950_Facebook.jpeg

sircrocodile123

Postby sircrocodile123 » December 13th, 2018, 8:34 pm

I swear i could remember pimento being like real cheap how it so expensive? like flood cause that

tardissubie

Postby tardissubie » December 20th, 2018, 1:35 pm

sircrocodile123 wrote:I swear i could remember pimento being like real cheap how it so expensive? like flood cause that
It's pastel season...

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » January 1st, 2019, 2:06 pm

Anyone know where I can get a couple cashew trees to purchase???

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 1st, 2019, 6:12 pm

sircrocodile123 wrote:I swear i could remember pimento being like real cheap how it so expensive? like flood cause that

Pimento
Pepper
Tomatoes

Because is christmas....is price in yuh mc...look for tomatoes price gonna drop by next week

Postby adnj » January 2nd, 2019, 9:45 am

nick639v2 wrote:Anyone know where I can get a couple cashew trees to purchase???
If you don't find any, let me know and I can give you as many seeds as you want when the fruits ripen after Easter.

Cashews are native to the region and the seeds germinate very easily. You should have sprouts around the start of the rainy season

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » January 2nd, 2019, 12:02 pm

Thanks. Will do.. I catching my arse to find trees boy, how much trees u have? I'm willing to buy ripened fruit to eat as well .
adnj wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:Anyone know where I can get a couple cashew trees to purchase???
If you don't find any, let me know and I can give you as many seeds as you want when the fruits ripen after Easter.

Cashews are native to the region and the seeds germinate very easily. You should have sprouts around the start of the rainy season

Postby adnj » January 2nd, 2019, 1:48 pm

nick639v2 wrote:Thanks. Will do.. I catching my arse to find trees boy, how much trees u have? I'm willing to buy ripened fruit to eat as well .
adnj wrote:

If I can, I will pick some cashew apples and you can have those, too.

We have an embarrassingly large number of cashew trees. All of them came from one tree that we had. The birds like the fruit and my wife likes the way that the trees look.

Clear a few spots for the trees and just cover the seeds with moist soil. I plant 5 or more seeds for every tree then prune after a year. You should get flowers after three years.

Postby adnj » January 2nd, 2019, 2:37 pm

I just remembered tjat I have a spot with some seedlings that need to be moved.

If you're interested, let me know and I'll dig them out in a week or two with some soil so they will last longer.

They'll be about this size:Image

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » January 2nd, 2019, 9:59 pm

Plantain plants for sale!

$5.00 each. minimum 20 plants

Quality Sword suckers and Maiden Suckers only

Contact Jason - 349-3049
20181231_151721_800x600.jpg
Quality plants
20181218_175622_800x600.jpg
Sword suckers
20181231_172839_800x600.jpg
400 plant order waiting for pick up
20181231_172711_800x600.jpg
Healthy Sword suckers and Maiden suckers

ftitan

Postby ftitan » February 4th, 2019, 9:18 pm

jramsarran wrote:Plantain plants for sale!

Still for sale? What type do you have? Looking for dwarf plantain.

Also, does anyone know where to get blood orange trees and red banana suckers in Trinidad? Do we even have those locally?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 20th, 2019, 4:32 pm

Fellas I dunno who could guide me...

I now backfill a lot of land, what's the quickest or recommended way for me to get some soft lawn/Savannah type grass to grow ( easy Ting for lawnmower to push)

Advise meh before mud and bamboo grass take over.

daron

Postby daron » February 20th, 2019, 7:07 pm

jramsarran wrote:Plantain plants for sale!

Quality Sword suckers and Maiden Suckers only

Contact Jason - 349-3049
Is this still available & pick up location?