***THE FARMERS CHED***

NR8

Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby NR8 » April 30th, 2020, 12:28 pm

What's the prices for bio20, bountiful harvest and liquid litter?

Postby pugboy » May 8th, 2020, 6:27 am

lime tree getting plenty whiteflies and fuzz
apart from regular surface insecticide what else recommended ?

it had leafminers and i used abamectin which seemed to work.

3E10DF57-BB0C-44F0-8D61-8FBC0060625A.jpeg
6F62B3BE-FD92-444D-8B82-8FF8750378E7.jpeg

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 8th, 2020, 7:27 am

A spraying with neem and dish soap wouldn't hurt. You might need to spray a couple times a week to arrest the whitefly situation. I use a homemade mix with the addition baking soda, garlic, oil and cayenne powder. Smells horrible but seems to be working as a preventative measure. Trying to find a natural way to eradicate ants an bachac from munching my seedling leaves. Any suggestions?

How much for the abamectin?

Postby adnj » May 8th, 2020, 7:34 am

You can use pyriproxyfen for whiteflies.

Postby pugboy » May 8th, 2020, 7:54 am

cant remember but it Ithink around $60 for a lil bottle, not cheap

NR8 wrote:A spraying with neem and dish soap wouldn't hurt. You might need to spray a couple times a week to arrest the whitefly situation. I use a homemade mix with the addition baking soda, garlic, oil and cayenne powder. Smells horrible but seems to be working as a preventative measure. Trying to find a natural way to eradicate ants an bachac from munching my seedling leaves. Any suggestions?

How much for the abamectin?

Postby Dave » May 8th, 2020, 7:55 am

Double on the soap water for the black and white stuff on citrus trees.

Postby pugboy » May 8th, 2020, 8:00 am

how soapy should the water be and what level of spraying ?
ie all leaves need to be fully drenched top and bottom ?

Dave wrote:Double on the soap water for the black and white stuff on citrus trees.

Postby Dave » May 8th, 2020, 8:27 am

So I always observed dad using a water sprayer attached to a garden hose with some powdered soap not like as this gets very frothy and another chemical. Will ask him and get back to you but ever since that soap water helps with little bugs and blithes.
I catch my machine rinse water and use that for watering and washing leaves of plants kept indoors. Ppl have always commented they look fake.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 9th, 2020, 7:39 am

if you still getting blue to buy, it works very well also

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 10th, 2020, 2:44 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:if you still getting blue to buy, it works very well also

You talking about the blue used to whiten clothes?

BTW, looking to try diatomaceous earth for ants and bachac that licking up my squash and cukes. What price should I expect to pay for a pound or so? Dunno how it's sold.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 10th, 2020, 7:50 pm

NR8 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:if you still getting blue to buy, it works very well also

The thing self...whatever this have in it, it has worked miracles for my plants over the years

BTW, looking to try diatomaceous earth for ants and bachac that licking up my squash and cukes. What price should I expect to pay for a pound or so? Dunno how it's sold.

Postby X_Factor » May 10th, 2020, 9:42 pm

Whiteflies was my biggest problem when growing almost any crop
I bought sivanto prime...costly
But little or no issue with whiteflies now

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2020, 7:45 am

i got pyriproxyfen(advance/carib chemicals) to try.
woodbrook seems to have a lot of whiteflies
we always get them esp with peppers

padna grows peppers in westmoorings and has zero issues.

picked first lime today, milestone lol
CE4B7C3B-3162-42F2-A215-C80543C2A4F3.jpeg

Postby De Dragon » May 11th, 2020, 8:33 am

^^ Nice, they juicy?

Quicksilver

Postby Quicksilver » May 16th, 2020, 12:55 pm

Good day fellas, I have a lime tree that's bearing but the limes remain small, about the size of a regular lime seed. They would remain that size, ripen and rot on the tree... what could be the problem?

WhatsApp Image 2020-05-16 at 12.25.12 PM.jpeg

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » May 16th, 2020, 10:24 pm

Anyone here has experience in cultivating barbadine ? Is it a crop that is prone to diseases and where sells seedlings?

Postby De Dragon » May 16th, 2020, 11:23 pm

randolphinshan wrote:Anyone here has experience in cultivating barbadine ? Is it a crop that is prone to diseases and where sells seedlings?

My wife's aunt grows them. I'll see if I can find out for you.

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 17th, 2020, 8:39 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
NR8 wrote:

The thing self...whatever this have in it, it has worked miracles for my plants over the years

Aye shakes, how much blue do you use and how do you apply it? Foliar spray?

jason_79

***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby jason_79 » May 18th, 2020, 12:32 pm

Good day. Need help identifying this problem as well as a solution. Citrus tree (orange)

Hwells

Postby Hwells » May 21st, 2020, 11:07 pm

Hi good night folks. My question is do farmers sell most of their produce or is there wastage.

Basically I see a good number of farmers with 2 acres and over and that is a lot of produce so do you sell it yourself or wholesale it out.

Due to quarantine I got into planting in the 2 lots behind my house with some corn and tomatoes. It's kinda enjoyblable and relaxing. Doing some average even my 2 lots can produce a lot of crops more than I can manage and sell on my own. Kinda looking at getting a supplimental income.

Postby X_Factor » May 24th, 2020, 3:47 pm

Decided to invest in proper chems to do some tomatoes

Have about 25 plants like this planted 3wks
20 about half those in size planted 2wks

IMG_20200524_134701_1.jpeg

Postby Rovin » May 29th, 2020, 12:48 pm

jes asking a random question here : what is d retail price of pine , around $8\lb ? ...

Postby pugboy » May 29th, 2020, 1:49 pm

how to treat black soot on lime ?
0F5A3A05-822A-43B6-9E1E-84EC0F4745F2.jpeg

cornfused

Postby cornfused » May 29th, 2020, 9:37 pm

Dave what's up Sir.

I am very much interested in such a device to dispense soapy water with a garden hose. I am dealing with some mole crickets but don't want a full chemical solution that would kill the birds that fee on the mole crickets. Thanks

Postby adnj » May 29th, 2020, 9:45 pm

cornfused wrote:Dave what's up Sir.

I am very much interested in such a device to dispense soapy water with a garden hose. I am dealing with some mole crickets but don't want a full chemical solution that would kill the birds that fee on the mole crickets. Thanks
You are asking about a hose end sprayer. Peake Home Store and some hardware stores have them.

Postby pugboy » May 29th, 2020, 9:51 pm

Does the soap kill the mole crickets or just raise them ?
I once tested for worms on a turf and couldn’t believe how many worms appeared with just a bucket of soapy water.

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 29th, 2020, 10:46 pm

I think it suffocates them. I always thought it just raised them until I very recently found a small infested patch in my yard but didn't have any cypermethrin on hand. A strong soap water mix caused a few of them to crawl out and die. I don't think it works as effectively as the cypermethrin though as I've done it about three times so far and i still see some crawling out afterwards.

Postby X_Factor » May 29th, 2020, 10:50 pm

Rovin wrote:jes asking a random question here : what is d retail price of pine , around $8\lb ? ...

the wholesale price currently is 3.25-4$ in macoya

home mart in elsocorr has that sprayer in the pic above for 77$

Postby Rovin » May 29th, 2020, 11:24 pm

well i wasnt really asking like to buy a bunch of it w\sale lol,

i buy a pine today by a roadside stall & they say $8\lb , i not sure if i over paid or not , i was jes feeling to eat it so i buy it .... dise a nice markup they making

cornfused

Postby cornfused » May 30th, 2020, 12:51 pm

adnj wrote:
cornfused wrote:Dave what's up Sir.

You are asking about a hose end sprayer. Peake Home Store and some hardware stores have them.

Thanks that is what I need. Re soap and mole crickets, a table spoon to a 5 gallon bucket of any soap powder spread over area or where the dug up areas and it will bring them to the surface and kill them.

Home farmers steel or plastic drum for garden crops ? Where is the best price? Barrel man in South ?