***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 15th, 2011, 11:02 pm

looking for some info: I'm about to put down a crop of cucumber,brand vlaspick,but lately i heard about a new brand called odyssey,heard they resistant to most of the diseases cucumber carry,so I am asking you all ever planted this variety as yet,I only have experience with vlaspick and rockingham.
Last edited by shake d livin wake d dead on April 16th, 2013, 10:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

jramsarran

Re: Any farmers in here??

Postby jramsarran » July 15th, 2011, 11:49 pm

yea man....bess variety...kinda expensive tho...compared to the rest.
it is not exactly "resistant" but tolerant to downy mildew, angular leaf spot etc.

i planted a field of odyssey and expedition last year...same time...same treatment.

expedition started to bear earlier and more at first.

odyssey took a bit longer and was slower...but laster longer.
the fruits are also shorter in length.

i planted a new field again a couple weeks ago...same 2 varieties.
:S but i kinda neglect it for a lil tobago trip.
now start to bear so i cant evaluate this crop as yet...but damn...cucumber coulda hold a lil more price rite now self jed.

Postby DFC » July 16th, 2011, 12:08 am

I plant pweedy flowers and when they bloom all the cute butterflies come and sit and rest and enjoy on my plants. They are so awesome !

I'm not into vegetables though.

Postby zoom rader » July 16th, 2011, 5:28 am

Herbal farming is the way to go dude. Its the number one cash crop in the US and worth 33 Billion dollars a year. This is what helped the US from skinking futher.

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » July 16th, 2011, 10:39 am

DFC wrote:I plant pweedy flowers and when they bloom all the cute butterflies come and sit and rest and enjoy on my plants. They are so awesome !

I'm not into vegetables though.

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » July 16th, 2011, 10:44 am

zoom rader wrote:Herbal farming is the way to go dude. Its the number one cash crop in the US and worth 33 Billion dollars a year. This is what helped the US from skinking futher.

Herbs yuh say!!....

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » July 16th, 2011, 11:31 am

BTW anyone with a link to who will buy limes in bulk? 1000+ per week.

I have 400-500 tree's just sitting there and would like to sell to one buyer or just a few buyers. Also I have a crop of mixed variety paw paw.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 16th, 2011, 4:42 pm

jramsarran wrote:yea man....bess variety...kinda expensive tho...compared to the rest.
it is not exactly "resistant" but tolerant to downy mildew, angular leaf spot etc.

i planted a field of odyssey and expedition last year...same time...same treatment.

expedition started to bear earlier and more at first.

odyssey took a bit longer and was slower...but laster longer.
the fruits are also shorter in length.

i planted a new field again a couple weeks ago...same 2 varieties.
:S but i kinda neglect it for a lil tobago trip.
now start to bear so i cant evaluate this crop as yet...but damn...cucumber coulda hold a lil more price rite now self jed.

feel i might stick to the vlaspick i find the yield greater although the crop doh last so long,aint want to take the chance cuz i aint liking the price of cucumber these days :| :| :| i'd try it on ah rebound and in stages and see what happens,btw i cyah tell yuh d last time i get $400 for a bag in macoya :( :( :( only 200 250,steupseeee buh say wa it cud wrk for the while.

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » July 16th, 2011, 8:54 pm

^^^ $250 still aight...buh rite now is abt $100
i never planted the vlaspick becuz i jus think it a bit harder to sell since it dark green and not "atlantis-looking" if u kno wat i mean.
but i've heard that it supposed to be a bit tolerant too...from your experience, is this true??

i not really into d short crops too much tho...
i farm part-time soo that takes away d little time i don't have...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 16th, 2011, 9:48 pm

yupz part time is my thing as well,i never got any complaints about the vlaspick,it sold as normal in the market as long as there were no rejects,i planted the atlantis once but that time i had a small contract with namdevco to supply them,experience with them was rather good,they paid a flat $2.00 or $2.50 a lb no matter the price on the outside,and it so happened it was dog cheap on the outside so ah make ah lil thing,wit the vlaspik you get great quantity but for only like 3 1/2 wks or so,after that the field does catch a disease and is no coming back,right now i selling lime though,well citrus coming in soon so i preparing for that.

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » July 16th, 2011, 10:24 pm

oh...lol
u lucky u had a good experience with NAMDEVCO. i kno a lot of farmers personally who had quite a few complaints.
namdevco under real pressure rite now anyways...soo dey doh hav any contracts, they sent home everybody from the packing house by d airport <<except d guard and 1 secretary>> and a bunch of their field officers as well.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 16th, 2011, 11:03 pm

yeah bro,heard that same story,aint looking to have future dealings with them,it was nice while it lasted though.last i heard they looking to buy lime in bulk,drunken master 16 you could check out namdevco in by the packing house in piarco,if i knew who you was i would have given you direct names but idk u sry,lol but go check them out,they wud sort u out,btw i finding chemical pricies getting lil to ridiculous now,seeing that my pepper field was goin so good at close to 800-900 ah bad them straight down to $40 ah hundred,was so facking depressing.farmers have real suffering to face in this country bai.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » July 17th, 2011, 9:20 am

Thank you for just giving me a company to try.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 17th, 2011, 9:27 am

^^^ it's all the info I have bai,sry,i could chek out for you,but where you located by the way,and variety of lime you have?

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » July 17th, 2011, 9:53 am

normal limes, im in south normally but can have the limes picked and delivered.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 17th, 2011, 10:54 am

DM16, try the CGA or any of those companies that manufacture and sell fruit juices

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 17th, 2011, 11:11 am

haven't you check any poultry shops they would always need lime.

Postby X_Factor » July 17th, 2011, 11:24 am

limes are quite expensive in the market.....ifu have nothing to do....full a couple bags and head macoya or POS

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 17th, 2011, 12:20 pm

I am currently enjoy selling limes at the moment,making some good$$$$$$$ dm16 all them limes trees you have and u aint start picking to sell,pretty soon when farmers in toco and the north east coast flood the market with limes,its gonna get reallllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll cheap and ud be kicking urself.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 17th, 2011, 3:20 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I am currently enjoy selling limes at the moment,making some good$$$$$$$ dm16 all them limes trees you have and u aint start picking to sell,pretty soon when farmers in toco and the north east coast flood the market with limes,its gonna get reallllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll cheap and ud be kicking urself.

I patiently waiting for this to happen, hate spending 1 for a couple of tiny arse limes

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 17th, 2011, 4:03 pm

you might have to wait a while cus the last few farmers i spoke to in toco,saying the limes now coming in.

dirtyjames

Postby dirtyjames » April 11th, 2013, 7:35 pm

can a lime tree live in a pig tail bucket or does it need something bigger like half of barrel?

Postby pioneer » April 11th, 2013, 7:38 pm

Good thread OPIE, lotsa farmers on chuna, fattening those pigs.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 12th, 2013, 8:19 pm

tuner only have few farmers,bout 5 for the most.

Postby pioneer » April 12th, 2013, 8:37 pm

Nah e ha more dan dat

marlener

Postby marlener » April 12th, 2013, 8:49 pm

Shakes have a serious question,want to get into farming,I have 5 Acres available but it is an abandom cocoa and coffee estate.It is located in Biche and the water situation is a bit of a proble,the is a ravine passing through but it dry now.What would you recommend as good crop to plant.something that requires little water until the rainy season begins.Suggestions anyone?

Postby Rooki3 » April 12th, 2013, 9:00 pm

pumpkin cucumber squash

john101

Postby john101 » April 12th, 2013, 9:21 pm

wish i can get in to farming...

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 13th, 2013, 6:15 am

marlener wrote:Shakes have a serious question,want to get into farming,I have 5 Acres available but it is an abandom cocoa and coffee estate.It is located in Biche and the water situation is a bit of a proble,the is a ravine passing through but it dry now.What would you recommend as good crop to plant.something that requires little water until the rainy season begins.Suggestions anyone?

topi tambo

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 13th, 2013, 7:43 pm

marlener wrote:Shakes have a serious question,want to get into farming,I have 5 Acres available but it is an abandom cocoa and coffee estate.It is located in Biche and the water situation is a bit of a proble,the is a ravine passing through but it dry now.What would you recommend as good crop to plant.something that requires little water until the rainy season begins.Suggestions anyone?

hmmm,

Biche....from my knowledge the land up there is ideal for pumpkin and watermelon.However,it all depends on you,you looking at long-term investment or quick turn over.If long term,you can't go wrong with citrus(pootigal and orange). I would have done 2 acres in the citrus,another acre in quick turn over crops. Seeing that water is an issue, I would go to Ministry of Food Production and explain your problem as they helping a number of farmers with ponds etc etc.
How are you in terms of financing? ADB is your friend,just saying.

I know someone up Biche currently doing a serious pommecythere project,they had cocoa and coffee as well,but he cleared that and started along that line.