Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby Youngstar1989 » September 24th, 2018, 6:49 am

Opinions on Paraquat and swiper mix?

Postby adnj » September 24th, 2018, 8:13 am

Swiper is glyphosate (plus an adjuvant) with a reaction time of about 4 to 10 days. Paraquat has a reaction time of about 1 to 48 hours.

A paraquat/glyphosate tank mix will likely not be much more effective than Paraquat alone and may actually be less effective.

If you are trying to kill off all vegetation, use Swiper, wait two weeks and then spray Paraquat.

That method is called a "double bump". It is meant to kill off the glyphosate-resistant vegetation and preventing it from spreading.

If you have plants that are glyphosate-resistant, try tank mixing with 2,4-D for better results (except on grasses). I have also had good results with dicamba/glyphosate and triclopyr/glyphosate tank mixes but neither of those is locally available to my knowledge.

Youngstar1989 wrote:Opinions on Paraquat and swiper mix?

Youngstar1989

Postby Youngstar1989 » September 24th, 2018, 10:45 am

adnj wrote:Swiper is glyphosate (plus an adjuvant) with a reaction time of about 4 to 10 days. Paraquat has a reaction time of about 1 to 48 hours.

A paraquat/glyphosate tank mix will likely not be much more effective than Paraquat alone and may actually be less effective.

If you are trying to kill off all vegetation, use Swiper, wait two weeks and then spray Paraquat.

That method is called a "double bump". It is meant to kill off the glyphosate-resistant vegetation and preventing it from spreading.

If you have plants that are glyphosate-resistant, try tank mixing with 2,4-D for better results (except on grasses). I have also had good results with dicamba/glyphosate and triclopyr/glyphosate tank mixes but neither of those is locally available to my knowledge.

Great, thanks, will try d double bump.

HSA

Postby HSA » September 25th, 2018, 6:53 am

how to get rid of the little shrub with little white flowers???

if i try to manually pull it out, 100s of flowers are dropped and pop up as new plants

i tried spraying with allgrass and gramaxone but to no avail...

Postby adnj » September 25th, 2018, 7:51 am

If you're talking about whitehead/wild carrot, it was covered earlier in this thread.

Use bromoxynil (Broadtril, Buctril). 2,4-D works with repeated applications.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 25th, 2018, 10:03 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
vinke wrote:Anyone know who buys bamboo I have 7 big patches on my land

thing for decking?
Shakes, if you want
I have about 5 massive bamboo patch to cut

doh make them kinda joke eh...hopefully when I ready it still deh :oops:

Postby *KRONIK* » September 25th, 2018, 11:22 am

Yea
I looking to get that cut and move out
Asap

snsauto

Postby snsauto » September 26th, 2018, 12:56 pm

Hey tuners, recently moved back to Trinidad and considering Chadon Beni farming on the side. Any tips? Most importantly where can I get seeds locally? I have called around and checked many shops but no luck. Any help greatly appreciated

Postby pugboy » September 27th, 2018, 5:39 am

I think most ppl just grow cuttings from what they buy and let them flower and seed over
they spread fast once started
needs well drained loose soil

Postby pugboy » September 27th, 2018, 5:41 am

the 24d/glyphos is the better option as adnj indicated

24d is effective esp against them fast running bird vines which seem to be totally resistant to glyphos

lipstick war

Postby lipstick war » September 27th, 2018, 11:17 am

snsauto wrote:Hey tuners, recently moved back to Trinidad and considering Chadon Beni farming on the side. Any tips? Most importantly where can I get seeds locally? I have called around and checked many shops but no luck. Any help greatly appreciated

Head down to pos or macoya market and talk to the shadow beni wholesale vendors they will u with seeds for small money

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 27th, 2018, 11:34 am

pugboy wrote:I think most ppl just grow cuttings from what they buy and let them flower and seed over
they spread fast once started
needs well drained loose soil

and plenty shade

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » September 28th, 2018, 10:45 am

Guys what do you spray your gauva to prevent attacks from flies and getting worms ,
when do you spray it ?

nick639v2

***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby nick639v2 » October 1st, 2018, 9:58 am

ImageImage

White square ppl... 0.08..

If yuh looking for.. $140 a roll by Allied in south.. ask them to bring out from the back cuz I take the shelf set

Postby adnj » October 1st, 2018, 2:04 pm

What size is the roll, 3 pounds? .080 is lighter than I will ever use but thanks.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » October 2nd, 2018, 3:16 am

adnj wrote:What size is the roll, 3 pounds? .080 is lighter than I will ever use but thanks.

they also have .105 ,.110 etc
their prices not bad bought a roll of .105 and it working good

Postby adnj » October 2nd, 2018, 3:59 am

hong kong phooey wrote:
adnj wrote:What size is the roll, 3 pounds? .080 is lighter than I will ever use but thanks.

they also have .105 ,.110 etc
their prices not bad bought a roll of .105 and it working good
I was interested in whether they were selling the 3 lb roll or the 1 kg roll.

Alibaba sells the 1kg rolls for about US$8. 3 lb rolls usually come from the US and Japan.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » October 2nd, 2018, 8:45 pm

Will double check think its 1kg... Its .08 but for those with like a stihl fs55 etc like i do it works.

I posted for those who pm me about it a while back.. cuts pretty neat and lasts even when u run into the occasional bamboo grass in between..

Postby adnj » October 2nd, 2018, 10:16 pm

Thanks for the update. I will stop by Allied to see what they have.

The edged strings do cut cleaner and faster for me, too.
nick639v2 wrote:

Will double check think its 1kg... Its .08 but for those with like a stihl fs55 etc like i do it works.

I posted for those who pm me about it a while back.. cuts pretty neat and lasts even when u run into the occasional bamboo grass in between..

ftitan

Postby ftitan » October 6th, 2018, 11:23 am

Hey guys. I recently got some land in Grande and looking to buy up some plants to set out for the next rainy season. I brand new to the farming scene so I need some advice.

I looking to buy some coconut and found someone who claims sells Bolee and something called a Malaysian giant variety on fb. How will I know what I buying is really not some ole beach nut from manzanilla? Vendor moving kinda sketchy when I ask for info.
Also, anyone got any info on these different varieties of nuts? I don't see any info when I search up these terms.

NR8

Postby NR8 » October 6th, 2018, 1:37 pm

WhatsApp Image 2018-10-05 at 11.48.04 PM.jpeg

Postby adnj » October 6th, 2018, 2:27 pm

ftitan wrote:Hey guys. I recently got some land in Grande and looking to buy up some plants to set out for the next rainy season. I brand new to the farming scene so I need some advice.

I looking to buy some coconut and found someone who claims sells Bolee and something called a Malaysian giant variety on fb. How will I know what I buying is really not some ole beach nut from manzanilla? Vendor moving kinda sketchy when I ask for info.
Also, anyone got any info on these different varieties of nuts? I don't see any info when I search up these terms.
You might need to see the fruit on tree to tell. There are many different varieties.

Try to look at these for more information on how to plant and care for your plants:

http://vikaspedia.in/agriculture/crop-production/package-of-practices/plantation-crops/coconut/coconut-cultivation-practices

http://www.agritech.tnau.ac.in/expert_system/coconut/coconut/coconut_varieties.html

ftitan

Postby ftitan » October 6th, 2018, 4:07 pm

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » October 6th, 2018, 4:36 pm

Are there any Texas A&M quails in Trinidad?

Postby *KRONIK* » October 8th, 2018, 9:19 am

Fellaz

What i could use to spray to KILL EVERYTHING.

i mean everything...weeds, seeds the full works.
I want to spray some of them grass from the roadside...but i want the spray site barren after...

Postby adnj » October 8th, 2018, 10:10 am

What works for me is to spray a Glyphosate plus 2,4-D tank mix. Wait two to four weeks and then spray a mix of diuron and bromoxynil.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 8th, 2018, 1:24 pm

adnj wrote:What works for me is to spray a Glyphosate plus 2,4-D tank mix. Wait two to four weeks and then spray a mix of diuron and bromoxynil.
And this will kill and prevent regrowth?

Postby adnj » October 8th, 2018, 6:40 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
adnj wrote:What works for me is to spray a Glyphosate plus 2,4-D tank mix. Wait two to four weeks and then spray a mix of diuron and bromoxynil.
And this will kill and prevent regrowth?
Diuron (Karmex, etc.) provides pre/post emergent control. Bromoxynil (Buctril, etc.) is a compatible weed killer for things that may be difficult to kill.

There are others like Actril (better) instead of 2,4-D. Atrizine (not better) instead of Diuron.

There are other chemicals that work well but may be difficult to find.

You may start to see growth after three or four months. Then repeat the bromoxynil/Diuron mix application.

Postby Chimera » October 9th, 2018, 9:21 am

whats the replacement for velpar/valpar? i see they dont make it or sell it anymore