National Strike updates/ watch/ News

Re: National Strike updates/ watch/ News

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 12th, 2012, 7:23 pm

De Dragon wrote:I never condemned, nor argued with anyone's right to protest for fair wages, conditions etc, but you can't have been that upset that you let 6 weeks pass and didn't protest or demonstrate once. The timing is what my beef is with. I make specific arrangements to have my kids attend school, and here it is you're telling me as a shift worker, that I have to quash all that in the very beginning of the term? As someone said earlier, not everyone has the family support network in place to just pick up and care for kids when they cannot.

yes it is very difficult to make these arrangements....in such a short time-frame it truly is a challenge when access to the support system is limited....

anyway, why should they protest during the holiday? who would listen to them then? spinning top in mud would be the result of such a protest....no effect to the action.

anyway maybe your inconvenience would be mirrored by many and thus cause the bargaining process to be settled quickly....and definitely get our kids back in school....it really is a pain.

Postby pete » September 12th, 2012, 7:31 pm

You're really going to compare a scheduled vacation period which people can make allowances for by arranging with family/friends etc to look after children with a sudden strike by teachers with a day or less notice?

Come nah man.. be real.

Postby brams112 » September 12th, 2012, 7:33 pm

Teachers should be paid according to their performance,qualification and so on.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 12th, 2012, 7:38 pm

pete wrote:You're really going to compare a scheduled vacation period which people can make allowances for by arranging with family/friends etc to look after children with a sudden strike by teachers with a day or less notice?

Come nah man.. be real.

agreed...it made no sense....edited accordingly.... :D
much thanks for setting me straight 8-)

but incidentally this was public knowledge since July....

DEVIANT

Postby DEVIANT » September 12th, 2012, 8:29 pm

guys the notice has been in the news since tuesday and i agree it's going to be a hassle for parents who work, but hear this, when there is Carnival Monday and tuesday and the fetes that lead upto it....don't you have to find people to see your kids???? It's not a problem then????

Postby sMASH » September 12th, 2012, 8:37 pm

the whole point of a strike action is to upset the situation. as an operator, u try to prevent upsets, attend to them to right them or reduce the negative backlash if it cannot be reversed.

so, the teachers seeking attention, and they would get attention by upsetting the systems. one of the systems is the school going youth and their working parents.

when allyuh start to make noise, then the wheel squeaking loud, so you know is time for some grease

Postby sMASH » September 12th, 2012, 8:40 pm

be thank full that they choose to advertise it way in advance as opposed to juss bussin' the mark today for tomorrow. so, u know tings goin an be tough, u have fair warning, prepare your self as best as u can.

Postby X_Factor » September 12th, 2012, 8:44 pm

brams112 wrote:Teachers should be paid according to their performance,qualification and so on.

what defines performance?

Postby sMASH » September 12th, 2012, 8:49 pm

evvvverybody should be rewarded based on performance, and supported if disabled. i disagree with the general notion of paying someone based on their length of service.

veedubtt

Postby veedubtt » September 12th, 2012, 8:50 pm

^^^ correct, also, who goin to pay teachers for qualification? there are teachers with 2 degrees, MBAs MEds etc etc and still getting a normal T3 salary.

Postby brams112 » September 12th, 2012, 8:59 pm

DEVIANT wrote:guys the notice has been in the news since tuesday and i agree it's going to be a hassle for parents who work, but hear this, when there is Carnival Monday and tuesday and the fetes that lead upto it....don't you have to find people to see your kids???? It's not a problem then????

Boi that is small thing,that is what sleeping pills is for,fete comes first,fcuk the kids,let them fend for themselves.Most parents grow kids up like they are animals,that is why they are revolting against society now.

Postby sMASH » September 12th, 2012, 9:01 pm

buuut, if a double man have mba and what not, should u have to pay $20 per doubles? no.
what each persons should be evaluated on is their merit, their worth to the organisations. because there are some professions where persons are not very qualified, but are very capable at their jobs.

Postby brams112 » September 12th, 2012, 9:10 pm

sMASH wrote:buuut, if a double man have mba and what not, should u have to pay $20 per doubles? no.
what each persons should be evaluated on is their merit, their worth to the organisations. because there are some professions where persons are not very qualified, but are very capable at their jobs.

Most teachers are the ones who have degrees,but not in teaching,they took the job because their field does not have place for them.Teachers training college is the place to go to be a teacher.

DEVIANT

Postby DEVIANT » September 12th, 2012, 9:23 pm

i agree that teachers need to go to training (utt, training college, etc) but this has to be along side a degree in the subject eg...teaching physics with just training and not a B. Sc. in Physics...hmmmm??? I doh think so. So should they be paid for a degree in the physics and/or the Dip Ed or B. Ed.? I think both.

Postby brams112 » September 12th, 2012, 9:36 pm

DEVIANT wrote:i agree that teachers need to go to training (utt, training college, etc) but this has to be along side a degree in the subject eg...teaching physics with just training and not a B. Sc. in Physics...hmmmm??? I doh think so. So should they be paid for a degree in the physics and/or the Dip Ed or B. Ed.? I think both.

I agree with what you are saying.

blindxpot

Postby blindxpot » September 12th, 2012, 10:16 pm

so does this mean...less traffic tomorrow? or am i in the wrong thread!

Postby De Dragon » September 12th, 2012, 10:31 pm

DEVIANT wrote:guys the notice has been in the news since tuesday and i agree it's going to be a hassle for parents who work, but hear this, when there is Carnival Monday and tuesday and the fetes that lead upto it....don't you have to find people to see your kids???? It's not a problem then????

I know when Carnival is next year, I have a shift roster for next year, therefore I can plan in advance IF I am working.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 12th, 2012, 10:36 pm

DEVIANT wrote:i agree that teachers need to go to training (utt, training college, etc) but this has to be along side a degree in the subject eg...teaching physics with just training and not a B. Sc. in Physics...hmmmm??? I doh think so. So should they be paid for a degree in the physics and/or the Dip Ed or B. Ed.? I think both.

afaik, anyone who has a normal degree wishing to enter the teaching service now has to do the pre-service dip ed

Postby De Dragon » September 12th, 2012, 10:57 pm

pete wrote:You're really going to compare a scheduled vacation period which people can make allowances for by arranging with family/friends etc to look after children with a sudden strike by teachers with a day or less notice?

Come nah man.. be real.

Prime example. This week the choice of protest days is Thursday and Friday, why not Tuesday and Wednesday? If they hope to sway public opinion, they need to start making it appear that they are serious, and not just looking for extra time off etc.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 12th, 2012, 11:18 pm

I honestly don't think they give a flying fck 'bout what ppl think yes....

Postby eliteauto » September 12th, 2012, 11:19 pm

if Trinidad allowed home schooled children to write SEA I would not bother with the Primary School system

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 12th, 2012, 11:25 pm

^^^but what about skills in social development and functioning within small and large groups? you home-school for primary but what about secondary? would the child be able to fit in in that setting?

Postby eliteauto » September 12th, 2012, 11:41 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:^^^but what about skills in social development and functioning within small and large groups? you home-school for primary but what about secondary? would the child be able to fit in in that setting?

social interaction is quite well, actually above some of the product I see coming out of the Primary school system, a teacher in a Gov't Primary school chided her students who attended school on Friday last, derisively asking them on Monday if "allyuh doh watch de news?" Whilst praising those who stayed home. The same teacher and her Principal made an announcement today that children should not attend school over the next two days because "we staying home till we get we money". Factor in that Tuesday and Wednesday were workshops that left the children without a teacher, then the next 2 days are rest and reflection, the last term saw much absenteeism owing to Ministry workshops and this is a SEA class (Std5) now so with this lack of teacher -student interaction what happens in that class? I fully support the teachers need for a pay increase but don't sacrifice your students to achieve it. Teachers like Doctors have a Hippocratic Oath, just theirs is informal. I'll say this much, my son attends a Gov't Primary school owing to it's proximity to my former home, but my daughter will be attending either a denominational primary or a private one where the level of commitment is greater

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 12th, 2012, 11:58 pm

^^^and that final statement you make there is a good decision....one really finds it difficult to be compassionate about the teachers' "dilema" when you learn of instances as you have outlined there.....it disgusts me at the attitude of some of them so brazenly outspoken...they cannot tell the children to stay home!!!!! they can advise that many of the teachers would not be present and as such there may be an unsafe situation where the principal alone cannot oversee them all.....the parents make the decision accordingly.....

Your thoughts about homeschooling vs gov't school in terms of social development may be valid... you may find higher levels of social, moral, value education in the denominational/private school system....Attitudes and coping skills simply cannot be taught in isolation at home. Socialising is an integral aspect of the child's psychological development...but PROPER socialising and not the kinda thing as you may have seen going on in the gov't school in your description ....also not all gov't schools may be like the one you described eh....

Postby RBphoto » September 13th, 2012, 12:59 pm

eliteauto wrote:...this is a SEA class (Std5) now so with this lack of teacher -student interaction what happens in that class?

Camera phones and bluetooth affi tunup.

Anton

Postby Anton » September 13th, 2012, 1:17 pm

eliteauto wrote:if Trinidad allowed home schooled children to write SEA I would not bother with the Primary School system

That's why I chose to educate my child via private schools. Private Institutions have a standard to maintain and if I'm dissatisfied with something I can take it to he school board.

W2J

Postby W2J » September 13th, 2012, 1:25 pm

Anton wrote:That's why I chose to educate my child via private schools. Private Institutions have a standard to maintain and if I'm dissatisfied with something I can take it to he school board.

That!!

d spike

Postby d spike » September 13th, 2012, 10:20 pm

eliteauto wrote:if Trinidad allowed home schooled children to write SEA I would not bother with the Primary School system

You have to know the loophole...
Once the child is REGISTERED in a school, he sits the exam. Register your kiddie, and ensure he goes to school at the beginning of each term and at the end - in my time, attendance at the beginning of each term was sufficient, and it is probably still the same.

Postby pete » September 13th, 2012, 10:27 pm

I doubt you could get away with that now with all the continuous assessments I think is needed.

d spike

Postby d spike » September 13th, 2012, 10:36 pm

Likely, but not impossible. Remain in contact with the school to know when the assessments will be taking place, and follow the new syllabus - both which you would have to do anyway if you are being serious about it.