"State of Emergency" Thread

Postby ismithx » August 21st, 2011, 8:20 pm

UPDATE: CURFEW HAS BEEN LIFTED ON NOVEMBER 7TH

Please note the change in curfew times from 9pm to 5am now changed to 11pm to 4am effective immediately and in effect until December 5th 2011
LOCATIONS FOR 11PM to 4AM CURFEW

Designated Hot Spots that will see curfew from 9pm to 5am

The City of Port of Spain -

St. James East
St. James West
Woodbrook
Northern Port of Spain
Belmont East
Belmont North & West
Southern Port of Spain
East Dry River
St. Ann’s River South
St. Ann’s River Central
St. Ann’s River North
Belmont South

The City of San Fernando –

Cocoyea/Tarouba
Les Efforts East/Cipero
Les Efforts West/La Romain
Marabella East
Marabella South/Vistabella
Marabella West
Mon Repos/Navet
Pleasantville
Spring Vale/Paradise

The Borough of Arima –

Calvary
Arima North East
Arima West
Arima Central
Malabar
Tumpuna
O’Meara

The Borough of Chaguanas –

Charlieville
Edinburgh/Longdonville
Enterprise North
Enterprise South
Cunupia
Montrose
Felicity/Endevour
Munroe Road/Caroni Savannah

The San Juan/Laventille Regional Corporation –

Maracus Bay/Santa Cruz/La Fillette
Febeau/Bourg Mulatresse
Morvant/Upper Malick
San Juan West/Caledonia
St. Ann’s/Cascade/Mon Repos West
St. Barb’s Chinapoo
Beetham/Picton
Success/Trou Macaque
Aranguez/Warner Village
Barataria
Petit Bourg/Champ Fleurs/Mt. Lambert
San Juan East

The Diego Martin Regional Corporation -

Chaguaramas/Glencoe
Goodwood/La Puerta
Covinge/Richplain
Diamond Vale
Morne Coco/Alyce Glen
Petit Valley/Cocorite
St. Lucien/cameron Hill
Belle Vue/Bossiere #1
Moka/Bossiere #2

What you need to know…

· Soldiers will exercise powers enjoyed by police during the period of the Limited State of Emergency:
- Search and seizure powers enhanced because you don’t need a search warrant
- Powers of arrest and detention are included; they will be able to arrest but will hand over detainees to police.

· Police can arrest and detain for up to 24 hours after which a magistrate, or assistant superintendent (or higher), will be able to add an extra 7 days
- No bail for those arrested during the State of Emergency; courts no longer will have the power to grant bail.

· You must comply with all requests by police to stop for search and seizure protocols
- A special 3-person tribunal will be set up by Chief Justice to oversee and adjudicate all possible cases of abuse of power
- Religious services, educational services, entertainments, etc. are exempt from requesting advanced permission from the Police Commissioner

PRESS RELEASE FROM PM
Subject: press statement: Limited state of emergency

Good evening members of the media.

The entire nation has been rocked with the recent tragic news of the spate of murders
over the past few days. The situation has reached proportions which the government
must respond to in the most definitive manner possible.

I am advised that one of the causations for the spike in murders is ironically linked
to the success by the police in the discovery of large drug hauls with values in excess of
twenty million dollars in just one raid. These large sums of money simply do not disappear from the drug trade without consequences and in some of the cases now occurring, this is the result .

The question though isn't just what is causing it but how do we deal with it?
As you know, we have deployed more financial and human resources than any government in recent time in dealing with the scourge of crime and until this recent upsurge the nation had been encouraged by the decline shown by year to years statistics. But a problem of this nature that has been the result of years of neglect will not disappear overnight and we reassess day by day each strategy deployed and how effective it is in achieving short term and long term objectives in reducing crime.
But the current crime spree dictates that more must be done and stronger action has to be employed now.

The situation cannot continue like this without a response commensurate with the wanton acts of violence and lawlessness; it must be a response as well that will halt the current spike in gang activity and crime in general in the shortest possible time.
After much deliberation with the National Security Council and members of the Cabinet
it has been agreed that the government consider the imposition of a limited state of emergency in hot spots across the country. Such a consideration must of course have the agreement of the President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, His Excellency, George Maxwell Richards and I will be meeting with him to discuss this matter.
The limited state of emergency will allow us to achieve a number of things in relation to
crime reduction which would not be prudent for me to disclose in advance of the action
taken. We are aware that such a decision will have an impact on the daily lives of innocent, law abiding citizens in these areas but I feel confident that they will recognise and appreciate the need to protect them and bring the current crime surge affecting them under control.

We have the will to tackle the crime problem in Trinidad and Tobago and the commitment
to place every resource at our disposal towards waging and winning this war on crime.
We will succeed. The nation will not be held to ransom by marauding groups of thugs bent
on creating havoc on our society. The limited state of emergency in hot spots across Trinidad and Tobago is merely part of a larger aggressive reaction response by the government.

As these measures are being deployed using both out police and military we ask all citizens to bear with the inconveniences that may arise from time to time. This is in everyone's interest.

In fact, I intend to hold discussions with the Leader of the Opposition to seek his party's support with certain legislative matters in Parliament. Trinidad and Tobago comes first. Nothing is more important than the right of each citizen to be protected and to enjoy a life of peace and tranquility.

from the AG:

city of POS
city of San Fernando
borough of Arima
borough of Chaguanas
Diego Martin RC
San Juan/Laventille RC

curfew from 9 p.m. to 5 a.m. until September 4th 2011 and 11 p.m. to 4 a.m. until December 5th 2011

The Gov't will reserve the right to change the curfew hours between September 5th and December 5th 2011 as deemed necessary. Any official changes will be posted here

Re: Limited State of emergency

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 21st, 2011, 8:22 pm

PM: "Such limited State of Emergency, pursuant to Section 8.1 of our Constitution and Section 8.2, will take effect as of midnight tonight (Sunday). The limited State of Emergency will allow us to achieve a number of things in relation to crime reduction which would not be prudent for me to disclose in advance of the action taken. We are aware that such a decision will have an impact on the daily lives of innocent, law-abiding citizens in these areas but I feel confident that they will recognise and appreciate the need to protect them and bring the current crime surge affecting them under control."

its mainly hotspot areas...please stay informed via the media...information is extremely sensitive to the operation and execution of the plans and would be released in due course.....

Daily activities and functions are to be carried out as usual.......

Postby Stephon. » August 21st, 2011, 8:23 pm

Lets guess the places this will affect

Laventille/Beetham
Barataria
Morvant
San Juan
Champ Flus
Mt Hope
Macoya
Tunapuna
Arima
Central (some parts like 500)
South (some parts like south)
Caranage
Digeo Martin?
Last edited by Stephon. on August 21st, 2011, 8:25 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 21st, 2011, 8:23 pm

hmm interesting if true........so they locking down district 9 ...

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 21st, 2011, 8:23 pm

The whole country minus the gated communities is a damn hotspot

Postby ismithx » August 21st, 2011, 8:25 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:The whole country minus the gated communities is a damn hotspot

true eh...

BTW thanks Aaron for the transcript...

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 21st, 2011, 8:26 pm

curfew party?

Rx

Postby Rx » August 21st, 2011, 8:26 pm

hmm.... tough call

Postby rollingstock » August 21st, 2011, 8:29 pm

Hope they know what they're doing :?

snowman

Postby snowman » August 21st, 2011, 8:33 pm

I really hope they know what they doing.

Cause as of now... Police Stations found out just when we did.

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 21st, 2011, 8:34 pm

rollingstock wrote:Hope they know what they're doing :?

part of the crime plan... consultations between the government, armed forces and stake holders have been ongoing a while now about the proper implementation of this.....

Postby DFC » August 21st, 2011, 8:35 pm

oh please lock down point lisas...i wanna stay home tmw.

Postby Stephon. » August 21st, 2011, 8:36 pm

snowman wrote:I really hope they know what they doing.

Cause as of now... Police Stations found out just when we did.

Thats good, surprise attack FTW.

Remember the days of Pokemon? When you were going in a gym you knew how to prepare and how to place your Pokemon to get the best result

When in tall grass you don't know what to expect and it's most effective on you.

so yeah, don't give them the chance to tell their drug friends i guess is what I'm getting at I think.

BAZZINGA

Postby BAZZINGA » August 21st, 2011, 8:36 pm

https://www.facebook.com/notes/trinidad ... 9209634823

press statement: Limited state of emergency

Good evening members of the media.

The entire nation has been rocked with the recent tragic news of the spate of murders
over the past few days. The situation has reached proportions which the government
must respond to in the most definitive manner possible.

I am advised that one of the causations for the spike in murders is ironically linked
to the success by the police in the discovery of large drug hauls with values in excess of
twenty million dollars in just one raid. These large sums of money simply do not disappear from the drug trade without consequences and in some of the cases now occurring, this is the result .

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 21st, 2011, 8:36 pm

what ah gwan boi.....beetham go get ah lock down.....how u go manage....

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » August 21st, 2011, 8:39 pm

PANIC PANIC PANIC!!!!!!!!!!!! Buy all the gas, diesel, food!! buy buy buy!!!!! OMG its the end of trinidad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Run for the hills!

This is utter bullsh!t, they are going to cause problems and cause us to look like a true banana republic.

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » August 21st, 2011, 8:39 pm

Is POS a hotspot?

BAZZINGA

Postby BAZZINGA » August 21st, 2011, 8:39 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:The whole country minus the gated communities is a damn hotspot

LOL! Yuh eh lie nah...

Postby redmanjp » August 21st, 2011, 8:40 pm

dis mean police cud break in yuh house jus so without warrant?!!
:shock: :shock:

*flushes weed down toilet*

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 21st, 2011, 8:40 pm

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:PANIC PANIC PANIC!!!!!!!!!!!! Buy all the gas, diesel, food!! buy buy buy!!!!! OMG its the end of trinidad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Run for the hills!

This is utter bullsh!t, they are going to cause problems and cause us to look like a true banana republic.

That ship has sailed

Postby rollingstock » August 21st, 2011, 8:44 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:

:lol: tru eh

Aaron 2NR wrote:

part of the crime plan... consultations between the government, armed forces and stake holders have been ongoing a while now about the proper implementation of this.....

Funny i just spent 24hrs+ in the Beetham, left this morning, as yet still waiting to be informed of this, even more funny being informed via 2nr, this country really good yes, so who implementing this, Amalgamated?

Really hope the government is prepared for the backlash. I foresee level trampling on persons human rights, push people that are already heavily armed and don't care a sheit :?

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » August 21st, 2011, 8:45 pm

The problem is not laws in Trinidad its law ENFORCEMENT. Declaring a state of emergency cant help that.

snowman

Postby snowman » August 21st, 2011, 8:45 pm

I have no groceries in meh house. MC and dem.

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » August 21st, 2011, 8:46 pm

No Plans, so just press pause.

No way to dish Gopaul Issue, so just press pause and do it over.

No 100 day plan, so just press pause and state of emergency.

If Patos did this, all them Chambers and businessmen would say the economy would mash up. :evil:

If it doesn't work and October breaks the record for Monthly murders what next.

I hope you guys living in Cold Spots know that some criminals are gonna be your neighbors soon.

Who wants to vacation in a country that is under a state of emergency?( Hence Patos decision)

I am awaiting the outcome of this move. 0X

Postby streetbeastINC. » August 21st, 2011, 8:47 pm

in effect from tnyt...but areas will be given tomorrow....what assnes

Postby tr1ad » August 21st, 2011, 8:47 pm

Part of crime plan.. Hope yuh eh mean the one that was promised over a year ago

Postby Stephon. » August 21st, 2011, 8:47 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:

:lol: tru eh

Aaron 2NR wrote:

Funny i just spent 24hrs+ in the Beetham, left this morning, as yet still waiting to be informed of this, even more funny being informed via 2nr, this country really good yes, so who implementing this, Amalgamated?

Really hope the government is prepared for the backlash. I foresee level trampling on persons human rights, push people that are already heavily armed and don't care a sheit :?

I hope to Gaga u eh jus diss Amalgamated there inno?

Postby AllTrac » August 21st, 2011, 8:48 pm

rollingstock wrote:I foresee level trampling on persons human rights, push people that are already heavily armed and don't care a sheit :?

Fcuk that sheit, lock that muthafcuker down and clean house! we are way pass the pussyfooting.

Postby Kenjo » August 21st, 2011, 8:51 pm

st joseph police station gates closed :)

BAZZINGA

Postby BAZZINGA » August 21st, 2011, 8:54 pm

push people that are already heavily armed and don't care a sheit :?

I say push them & let them come out from their 'hole' and act up for them army men... Army men go handle that scene... Kamla and them throwing bait for the criminals...