Don't ever have kids.

Postby Stephon. » October 4th, 2011, 3:50 pm

Because they will find a pool, and go in, and drown/die.

No Matter How Much You Protect Your Kids, Sooner Or Later One Of Them's Going To Drown In A Swimming Pool

As parents, the responsibility to keep our children safe is an obligation we all take very seriously. Our homes are fortified with baby gates and monitors, outlet covers and drawer locks, every safety gizmo under the sun—and yet, when our child gets a tiny boo-boo on her knee, we still feel that twinge of guilt for letting it happen. But the truth is, there's only so much even the best mommies and daddies can do for their kids. Like it or not, it's only a matter of time before one of your children drowns in a swimming pool.

That's because of one simple truth: You will—I repeat, will—make mistakes.

You are not perfect. No parent is. You're a human being, and you don't have eyes growing out of the back of your head. If you think you can raise a family without one of your kids drowning in a pool, guess again.

It won't happen every day, of course. In fact, it'll hardly happen at all. But it will happen, because sooner or later your back will be turned while you're talking to your neighbor about the new restaurant that just opened where that Tex-Mex place used to be, and your 3-year-old will slip out onto the patio, pop open the screen door, and toddle into the water.

Sure, you could beat yourself up about it. You could frantically drag your son out of the pool he's been floating in for half an hour, all the while thinking, "I'm such a terrible parent. I bet I'm the worst parent in the whole world." But you know what? You're not wearing a big red cape right now, which means you're not Superman (or Superwoman). By all means, attempt to resuscitate your child, but if it doesn't work, there's no point in dwelling on it till the end of time.

Face it, certain things in childhood are inevitable: night terrors and tummy aches, scrapes and bumps, and drowning in a backyard pool because you've got the TV up so loud you can't hear the splash or even the dog barking like crazy. That's not bad parenting, that's just how the world works. Honestly, if you think there's a parent out there who won't someday need to have a 911 dispatcher talk them through CPR, you're living in a dream world.

Oh, and don't look at me for a role model. I may be an expert, but I goof up, too!

I read all the books—heck, I've written half of them—but that didn't stop me from accidentally leaving the pool gate unlatched one day and allowing my middle one, Zach, to plop right into the water while I was on the phone with American Express. I thought to myself, "Susie, you've got some nerve giving other folks advice on raising their children when here you are fishing your own kid out of the deep end." But my husband, who was watching baseball in the living room when Zach fell in, said something I'll never forget. He said, "Well, there may be an award for Parents of Year, but no one's ever won it."

That's so true! It's always been this way, and it always will. Think about your brother or sister who drowned in a pool when you were a kid. Did that make your parents terrible? Of course not. And guess what? No matter what you do, no matter how much you shelter them, your surviving children are going to grow up one day and have kids of their own who drown in a pool.

Why? It's just a little thing called life.

And how do you want to live it? You could spend all day worrying about whether you should've gotten your kids swimming lessons sooner or whether you should've bought a more expensive childproof latch for the door. Or you can just embrace parenting in all its messiness and accept that sometimes your child's just going to drown 20 feet away from you while you're vacuuming the living room.

Remember, raising kids is tough. But when it's all said and done, most of them live.

http://www.theonion.com/articles/no-mat ... -or,26255/

Wizard

Re: Don't ever have kids.

Postby Wizard » October 4th, 2011, 3:57 pm

Oh, and don't look at me for a role model. I may be an expert, but I goof up, too!

I read all the books—heck, I've written half of them—but that didn't stop me from accidentally leaving the pool gate unlatched one day and allowing my middle one, Zach, to plop right into the water while I was on the phone with American Express.

if she was an expert... and knowing she had a pool... shouldve teach she child to swim.

Postby rfari » October 4th, 2011, 4:01 pm

Wizard wrote:

I read all the books—heck, I've written half of them—but that didn't stop me from accidentally leaving the pool gate unlatched one day and allowing my middle one, Zach, to plop right into the water while I was on the phone with American Express.

if she was an expert... and knowing she had a pool... shouldve teach she child to swim.

/thread

Postby RBphoto » October 4th, 2011, 4:02 pm

D children canna swim?

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 4th, 2011, 4:10 pm

some children are like buses.

Postby BrotherHood » October 4th, 2011, 4:14 pm

The author kinda contrast him/her self there though.

Postby TRAE » October 4th, 2011, 4:17 pm

so now yuh go tell meh?

Postby Habit7 » October 4th, 2011, 4:18 pm

you all know that The Onion is satire, right?

Postby BrotherHood » October 4th, 2011, 4:21 pm

^^^lolwut?

Postby rollingstock » October 4th, 2011, 4:23 pm

Habit7 wrote:you all know that The Onion is satire, right?

You hadda sell it out so early :|

Wizard

Postby Wizard » October 4th, 2011, 4:28 pm

Habit7 wrote:you all know that The Onion is satire, right?

article hardly qualifies as satire

either way its stupid and someone you know will be mauled by a pit bull while you are waiting on the phone for flow customer service

Postby RBphoto » October 4th, 2011, 4:35 pm

Did any children drown in St. Thomas pond?

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » October 4th, 2011, 4:44 pm

TRAE wrote:so now yuh go tell meh?

so its urs den :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby ismithx » October 4th, 2011, 7:53 pm

somebody needs to tell Stephanie that the onion is not a real news source

Postby Stephon. » October 4th, 2011, 7:55 pm

When your kids drown don't come back to this thread, because I warned you and you're discrediting my source.

Postby Bizzare » October 4th, 2011, 8:07 pm

tl;dr
I've always wondered, how do kids learn how to float only after they've died? :? ....... think 'bout that.

Postby DFC » October 4th, 2011, 8:27 pm

i got no pool...hahahah..
my kids gonna live !

Postby MaxPower » October 4th, 2011, 8:54 pm

this post is contradicting..
first they say dont have kids...then they emphasize people WILL make mistakes..

but when mistakes happen kids are born lol

Postby black start » October 4th, 2011, 11:05 pm

Bizzare wrote:tl;dr
I've always wondered, how do kids learn how to float only after they've died? :? ....... think 'bout that.

well buy ah ticket to go tobago on d ferry and wen d ferry reach half way, jump off....u guh definately learn the kid's methods of bouyancy after they die :?

two things good will come out of this...u will learn d kids secrets...and the other is dat tuner will be a much niceer place.....

see?its a win win situation for all :lol:

Postby Bizzare » October 4th, 2011, 11:11 pm

Black Start wrote:and the other is dat tuner will be a much niceer place.....

search deep within...... did you feel honest with yourself while typing this?

Postby black start » October 4th, 2011, 11:15 pm

Bizzare wrote:

no, no i didnt.......i spelt nicer wrong

Postby Stephon. » October 5th, 2011, 6:40 am

:rofl: LMAO!

Postby shogun » October 5th, 2011, 6:52 am

Black Start wrote:
Bizzare wrote:

no, no i didnt.......i spelt nicer wrong

Ba-dum-CHING!!!

Postby Bizzare » October 5th, 2011, 7:05 am

:( **shrugs**

Postby cinco » October 5th, 2011, 7:06 am

Stephon. wrote:When your kids drown don't come back to this thread, because I warned you and you're discrediting my source.

they already do
i flush them daily sometimes more often than that

Postby TRAE » October 5th, 2011, 12:34 pm

jeevdude199 wrote:
TRAE wrote:so now yuh go tell meh?

so its urs den :lol: :lol: :lol:

well yeah jed

Postby Bizzare » October 5th, 2011, 12:40 pm

It good.

Postby stev » October 5th, 2011, 1:04 pm

DFC wrote:i got no pool...hahahah..
my kids gonna live !

the average trini house has a drain or 2 nearby.

Postby sliderz1 » October 5th, 2011, 1:24 pm

still does not support your thread title

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » October 5th, 2011, 1:28 pm

Really, its hard having a kid/kids these days seeing all the pain/pressure/unemployment/etc around. Dont want them growing up in this evil world, but you do all you can to protect them, still sometimes, some sh!t happens. I Pray everyday that nothing happens to them.