Private track soon..............

Postby SR » October 20th, 2011, 8:33 am

i hope TTASA doesnt get involved

http://www.guardian.co.tt/business-guar ... rt-project

Chaguanas businessman Rishi Kanick plans to rake in $1 million a month from the motor sport industry. Kanick said he intends to get a motor sport park in central Trinidad up and running within the next two years, with the main activity being drag-racing. Kanick was speaking with the Business Guardian on Sunday following a meeting with Brazilian businessman and international drag racer, Sidney Frigo at Frigo’s $24 million private raceway at Sao Paulo, Brazil, last weekend.

Kanick, who said his plans include a $20 million private-public sector investment, added that he plans to model his project based on Frigo’s private raceway at Sao Paulo. “We are in the technical phase of this project. Once it comes off the ground, the project would generate over 100 permanent jobs and earn $1 million monthly from various events, such as drag-racing, go-kart racing, four-wheel drive racing. “We want to to capitilise on sports tourism and make Trinidad the mecca of drag racing in the region, and, at the same time, fulfil the craving for local auto sports enthusiasts, who do not have a venue and sometimes turn to have illegal races on the public roadways. The Government stands to benefit, especially from the taxes they would rake in from the revenue.

“Frigo is interested in the project and may be a potential investor. He has agreed to give us all the technical support for this project to make it economically feasible. Chaguanas is poised to become a city and we want it to be the home of the first organised and professional drag-racing strip in the country.” Kanick, a director on the board of the state-owned Seafood Industry Development Company and a local champion dragracer, said he funded the trip to Brazil in an effort to see the realisation of a “very profitable venture” that is being under-utilised. The investment can be recovered within two years, he said. Kanick presented Frigo with a hand-crafted chrome steelpan.

“The potential for sports tourism is phenomenal. People travel all over the world to witness drag-racing events and we in the region can give them more. They are getting the races, the sand, the sun and an allround experience.” Kanick said the last time drag-racing was held in T&T was in 2008 when the Camden airstrip in Couva was used. The Government has since disallowed use of the airstrip for autosports. It was announced earlier this year that the Government plans to use Camden to develop an airport in central. Kanick said racers spend quite a bit of money to ship their sport vehicles to the United States to compete, when that foreign exchange could remain in T&T.

Glitch

Re: Private track soon..............

Postby Glitch » October 20th, 2011, 8:43 am

Interesting....1 million a month is alot though

Postby Dizzy28 » October 20th, 2011, 8:52 am

Seems very optimistic. But local business ppl usually think PPP (Private public Partnerships) mean the Govnt put the initial money and the private ppl run the show and make the money.

Postby SR » October 20th, 2011, 8:52 am

well it aint gonna be "gangster drag"

spectators will need to pay as well as there will be fees attached to use the track fro either race events or test and tune

something that most trini dont like to do no matter how much money they have spent on thier cars

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » October 20th, 2011, 8:53 am

i like how he is thinking about it as a business opp and not " a place to race"

Glitch

Postby Glitch » October 20th, 2011, 9:05 am

I will support.....so i have 2 yrs for that turbo upgrade...lol

Postby Dizzy28 » October 20th, 2011, 9:08 am

Would like to see private equity injected somehow in this.

Postby SR » October 20th, 2011, 9:09 am

me too 2 years and maybe a certain civic si may be in the country

Postby honda hoe » October 20th, 2011, 9:37 am

ppl does still read d guardian?

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » October 20th, 2011, 9:48 am

SR wrote:well it aint gonna be "gangster drag"

spectators will need to pay as well as there will be fees attached to use the track fro either race events or test and tune

something that most trini dont like to do no matter how much money they have spent on thier cars

then id love to see all the people on this forum who trying to justify street racing as their only means as theres no track, i want to see when a good facility is provided for them what they will do, will they patronise it or will they then CRY that its too expensive so they have to continue street racing.

Postby foss » October 20th, 2011, 9:50 am

wanna know how he intends to make a million dollars a month.

At least he could dream right?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 20th, 2011, 9:54 am

one mil a month!? but 2 yrs to build a monster,not bad.....

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » October 20th, 2011, 9:55 am

Interesting .. Lets see how long it takes before anybody stops this too (if it do get started) !!!

Samo

Postby Samo » October 20th, 2011, 10:06 am

nice...really hope this pulls off.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 20th, 2011, 10:07 am

Pie in the sky?
I take all these track stories with a grain of salt

Once proper parking/facilities are provided for spectators, I wont mind paying - hell, I'd hit the track once/twice month.
But yuh see that sheit of the past. Ketch ass for parking, rain fall yuh wet, squeezeup by fence like ah neverseecomesee. I DONE WITH DAT.

Postby foss » October 20th, 2011, 10:08 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Pie in the sky?

Once proper parking/facilities are provided for spectators, I wont mind paying - hell, I'd hit the track once/twice month.
But yuh see that sheit of the past. Ketch ass for parking, rain fall yuh wet, squeezeup by fence like ah neverseecomesee. I DONE WITH DAT.

you done, bro?

Postby tr1ad » October 20th, 2011, 10:11 am

dat place getting FIA certification?

Samo

Postby Samo » October 20th, 2011, 10:17 am

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » October 20th, 2011, 10:24 am

SR wrote:well it aint gonna be "gangster drag"

^^This!!!

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » October 20th, 2011, 10:26 am

if the facility is open 24/7 close to a milli is feasible a month... think how much a club makes for one night... one weekend alone i'm sure zen used to gain more than 300,000...

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 20th, 2011, 10:28 am

foss wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:Pie in the sky?

you done, bro?

not quite, old chap. Medium-Rare is what I'd say

Postby rfari » October 20th, 2011, 10:28 am

Sounds promising. Hope 3ne2nr can get involved with this to make it a reality.

smell

Postby smell » October 20th, 2011, 11:39 am

I waz hear.....

Postby foss » October 20th, 2011, 11:45 am

rfari wrote:Sounds promising. Hope 3ne2nr can get involved with this to make it a reality.

what? :?

Postby K74T » October 20th, 2011, 11:47 am

:popcorn:

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » October 20th, 2011, 11:57 am

K74T wrote::popcorn:
K74T - you sharing? :drinking:

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » October 20th, 2011, 11:59 am

let say minimum he gets 8,000 spectators for a monthly event..

and charges $100 admission fee..

thats $800,000 revenue alone from spectators..don't forget to mention revenue from advertisers, sponsers & vendors.

and this is just for a monthly drag event...don't mention if there is a different event every weekend..drag, circuit, karting etc.

i'm sure it can be over a million a month revenue.

finally a businessman step up to the plate..

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » October 20th, 2011, 12:08 pm

Remember how much people was up in wallerfield for the monster truck jam lol...it have potential but after 6 months to a year the rush and novelty will wear off he will have to be creative for the second year... but i believe if it has a event area for concerts and such it will be a mainstay for public activities year round besides racing... hope he see this and kno it was MY IDEA!! I WANT FREE PASSES FOR 5 YEARS!! :lol:

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » October 20th, 2011, 12:26 pm

But how much of that 1 million is profit? Not much I am sure.

Postby Monk BANzai » October 20th, 2011, 12:56 pm

yawn.......