****the official CRICKET thread*****

Re: ****the official CRICKET thread*****

Postby bluefete » June 16th, 2019, 1:43 pm

Someone please educate me. What is that on the umpire's left hand?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 16th, 2019, 2:02 pm

bluefete wrote:Someone please educate me. What is that on the umpire's left hand?

Used to defend himself in the event that the batsman hit a shot directly at him
..so he could brakes

Postby hydroep » June 16th, 2019, 4:00 pm

Postby bluefete » June 16th, 2019, 4:01 pm

^^ LOL. Seriously Shakes?

I remember when I used to umpire back in the day, a straight drive coming at you tested your reflexes. It was either get out of the way or get hit. Needless to say, there was a lot of getting out of the way.

It seems that cricket is so defensive these days - even wicketkeepers are wearing helmets. What is that about? Back in the day, all you needed were gloves and pads. Deryck Murray and Jeffery Dujon, Alan Knott and other wicketkeepers never wore helmets.

Playing cork ball cricket on concrete pitches ( in the days before helmets and with one pad, a box and a pair of gloves as your only protection) ensured that you either were a decent batsman or one in the hospital.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » June 16th, 2019, 6:11 pm

The speed the ball flies off the bat nowadays....reflex may not always be swift.....plus we have seen in recent times , spinners on the ball, keeper right up behind the wicket, ball grips and spins and smacks them in the face.....think the keeper for a broken nose that rime ???

I think in a county game an umpire got struck on the arm then head and died ....sometime in 2014-2015 if I remember correctly ???

Imagine Gayle / Russell smacking one straight back ....even Usain Bolt might not run away fast enuff

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 16th, 2019, 6:24 pm

bluefete wrote:^^ LOL. Seriously Shakes?

I remember when I used to umpire back in the day, a straight drive coming at you tested your reflexes. It was either get out of the way or get hit. Needless to say, there was a lot of getting out of the way.

It seems that cricket is so defensive these days - even wicketkeepers are wearing helmets. What is that about? Back in the day, all you needed were gloves and pads. Deryck Murray and Jeffery Dujon, Alan Knott and other wicketkeepers never wore helmets.

Playing cork ball cricket on concrete pitches ( in the days before helmets and with one pad, a box and a pair of gloves as your only protection) ensured that you either were a decent batsman or one in the hospital.

:lol: :lol: serious thing bai....

Game has changed a lot

In other news...great win by India today

Postby Dizzy28 » June 16th, 2019, 7:22 pm

Mark Boucher was blinded with a helmet on, Phillips Hughes was killed with a helmet on.risks are there and the more protection you can get the better.

Postby bluefete » June 16th, 2019, 7:35 pm

And that right there is the problem. The more protection that batsmen have today, the more dependent they become on all the extra equipment except their bats.

This means that batsmen lose the raw skill necessary to bat against the rising ball. I am from the era of no helmets. I remember fellas used to make bets about who would be willing to face Michael Holding or Ian Bishop in the nets or on a concrete pitch, for one over.

Sir Viv Richards never batted with a helmet. He did get hit once or twice but that is par for the course.

Sir Gary Sobers ... well take a look at the video below. BTW - Sobers made 254 in the 2nd innings of that match after Lillee had him out for a duck in the 1st innings..

Here is Richards in a 1976 Aussie state match with Lillee.

Dizzy28 wrote:Mark Boucher was blinded with a helmet on, Phillips Hughes was killed with a helmet on.risks are there and the more protection you can get the better.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 17th, 2019, 8:24 am

Windies in a pretty decent position in the 40th over...243-4....good knock from Lewis...let's see how they end

Postby Dizzy28 » June 17th, 2019, 9:44 am

321-7 A good if not spectacular effort on a ground this small (longest boundary here is smaller than the shortest boundary in Southampton where WI last match was).

No for the bowlers to show what they have.

Postby hydroep » June 17th, 2019, 12:17 pm

Bangladesh need another 122 with 126 balls and 7 wickets remaining. W.I. on track to get a good cut arse...:|

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » June 17th, 2019, 12:35 pm

WI score was 20-30 runs less. they shut down after 44 overs.
Bangladesh is playing good cricket

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 17th, 2019, 12:52 pm

Windies facing defeat...their bowling is ineffective as predicted

Postby toyolink » June 17th, 2019, 1:12 pm

West Indies are truly being put to the sword.
Looks like when Bangladesh see West Indies, they just see food.
The mental condition of the teams was set well before this match.
Bangladesh is a real reoccurring nightmare as far as West Indies is concerned.

Postby bluefete » June 17th, 2019, 1:14 pm

Waste of flicking time.

Their only strategy was to bowl short.

No common sense. No bowling sense. No ability to adjust. No brains whatsoever in their bowling. Shannon Gabriel should not be playing ANY short form of the game. Poor fielding and catching.

New Zealand will batter them. Andre Russel is injured yet they insist on playing him.

Look, lemme go before i bust a vessel in meh head.

Postby toyolink » June 17th, 2019, 1:19 pm

bluefete wrote:Waste of flicking time.

No common sense. No bowling sense. No ability to adjust. No brains whatsoever in their bowling. Shannon Gabriel should not be playing ANY short form of the game. Poor fielding and catching.

New Zealand will batter them. Andre Russel is injured yet they insist on playing him.

I know exactly how you feel and must now focus on my own emotional well being.
Our expectations continue to be brutalized by 'our' team.

Postby pugboy » June 17th, 2019, 1:20 pm

I always found cotterall and his awkward action very similar to another wayward bowler tino best

Good batsmen will murder short balls

Postby hydroep » June 17th, 2019, 1:37 pm

Bangladesh really come a long way yes. Wouldn't be surprised if they shock some of the big boys and make it into the semis nuh. Congrats to them...8-)

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 17th, 2019, 1:40 pm

I remember reading that Russel would have to do a fitness test before today's game to see if he will be picked...I wonder what type of fitness test is that, cuz he couldnt bowl 4 good overs...

Windies bowling lack conviction...no slower ball, back of the hand, wide yorkers, slower ball yorkers...nothing...just bowl fast, short, half volley....good wood...

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » June 17th, 2019, 1:41 pm

Not to take away anything from Bangla, but Windies players have no mental strength whatsoever.

Put pressure on Bangla, adjust your line, keep fighting. Especially after the 3rd wicket.

This Aus team isn't great, but they fight all the way to the end.

Postby pugboy » June 17th, 2019, 1:45 pm

It’s called hammer and nail syndrome
Short balls being the solution to everything

Just keep banging them short and hope somebody will get out
Sounds very similar to that saying about insanity

Postby Dizzy28 » June 17th, 2019, 2:04 pm

That is licks. 320 target chased down with 9 overs to spare.
But what form Sakib is in!!!
4 matches in this WC and his scores are 75, 64,121, 124*

He doesn't even need to bowl to justify his place in that squad.

wing

Postby wing » June 17th, 2019, 2:27 pm

pugboy wrote:It’s called hammer and nail syndrome

True. Poor captaincy and man management. Bangladesh only have one world class player yet still get a cutarse.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 17th, 2019, 3:49 pm

wing wrote:
pugboy wrote:It’s called hammer and nail syndrome

True. Poor captaincy and man management. Bangladesh only have one world class player yet still get a cutarse.

Bangladesh has more than 1 world class player

Postby pugboy » June 17th, 2019, 4:59 pm

maybe wi needed a spinner or somebody to mix things up

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 17th, 2019, 6:04 pm

pugboy wrote:maybe wi needed a spinner or somebody to mix things up

They have Nurse who is no great spinner...I woda play Chase as he bats better than Nurse and possibly bowls better...Pierre would have been a good pick as well.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 18th, 2019, 9:13 am

That England run making machine boiii!!!!
397-6 vs Afghanistan this morning.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 18th, 2019, 9:15 am

Morgan 17 6s yes

Postby Dizzy28 » June 18th, 2019, 9:19 am

Based on the cricket thus far even with the rain England, India, NZ and Australia have been a class apart from everyone else.

An England India final could be quite a possibility if they place 1 and 2 in the group table.

Postby toyolink » June 18th, 2019, 9:23 am

The well tuned teams with serious experienced members continue to stamp their authority.
Lapses in judgement by India, England, New Zealand and Australia seem to have been managed out of their game.
The approach of the top guns seem to truly magnify the weaknesses of others.