help wanted on old tt dollar bills

Re: help wanted on old tt dollar bills

Postby Chimera » February 2nd, 2016, 3:37 pm

Wheyyy zoom u letting that man rough u up so. He feel he know more about old money than you. Better allyuh meet at woodford square at noon and have a old fashion gun battle.

Postby zoom rader » February 2nd, 2016, 4:03 pm

royalians wrote:Zoom we all know who certified the notes, I'm in the game as well! You could go wherever you want to get your notes but I know what I pay for my CERTIFIED notes by those same grading companies. From a previous post also there is a blue $2 note, please do your research !

There was never a production blue two dollar note.
It was red.

If it was a blue $2 then it was prototype note and never put into production.

Private banks use to print their own notes which was legal tender, like the red $5 notes.

Post a pic if you have it.

royalians

Postby royalians » February 2nd, 2016, 5:52 pm

Zoom do your research please!!! I now realize yuh only talking!!!! British Caribbean Territories was used in Trinidad in the 50's and 60's before QE 11 face on TT's currency in the mid 60's. I'm sure you remember the big copper 1 and 2 cent pieces????? Well there was notes as well!!! The $2 dollar note is BLUE!!! Be advised!!

royalians

Postby royalians » February 2nd, 2016, 5:55 pm

By the way I could give lessons at a minimal cost!

royalians

Postby royalians » February 2nd, 2016, 6:03 pm

Zoom the only PPG I know about is paint??? I generally buy certified by PMG or PCGS, is that a company u recently formed? What are you rates to certify?? Please advise us all!!

Postby zoom rader » February 2nd, 2016, 6:36 pm

royalians wrote:Zoom do your research please!!! I now realize yuh only talking!!!! British Caribbean Territories was used in Trinidad in the 50's and 60's before QE 11 face on TT's currency in the mid 60's. I'm sure you remember the big copper 1 and 2 cent pieces????? Well there was notes as well!!! The $2 dollar note is BLUE!!! Be advised!!

Like I said.

There was NEVER a Blue TRINIDAD $2 bank note.

What you are speaking about is British Eastern Caribbean notes that was used in Trin, but is not a Trin bank note .

Trin bank notes are worth more than the British Caribbean notes because less Trin notes was produced . I don't even sell those notes

You can't reach me jack chit about Trini notes. I dealing in TRINIDAD notes for over 30 years

royalians

Postby royalians » February 2nd, 2016, 6:56 pm

Zoom u done get dis already! Tell everybody what notes were used from 50-64 in TT??? Let everyone look at the back of the note I'm talking bout and see if you don't see TT???? Trinidad and Tobago notes solely were produced from 64 with onwards with 3 different bank governors signatures!!! Stop trying to fool ppl!!!!! So we had no currency in the 50's and early 60's then ????? Try your best again!!!

royalians

Postby royalians » February 2nd, 2016, 7:01 pm

If it blue, $2 and used in Trinidad what does that make it??? Syrian currency? Yuh buyers done read this an make you out!!

Postby zoom rader » February 3rd, 2016, 5:09 am

royalians wrote:Zoom u done get dis already! Tell everybody what notes were used from 50-64 in TT??? Let everyone look at the back of the note I'm talking bout and see if you don't see TT???? Trinidad and Tobago notes solely were produced from 64 with onwards with 3 different bank governors signatures!!! Stop trying to fool ppl!!!!! So we had no currency in the 50's and early 60's then ????? Try your best again!!!

On the back of those notes their are 4 other Caribbean countries listed.
The note was used in the time frame but it is not a real original Trinidad note, that is why it is not collected.

Would you really want to collect a Trinidad note with Guyana, leeward Island and windward Island listed on the back of it.

Most of buyers never ask for these notes cause there are lots in existence and it is not a real Trinidad note. It is an Eastern Caribbean note.

I hope you and others can learn something.

Postby zoom rader » February 3rd, 2016, 5:14 am

royalians wrote:If it blue, $2 and used in Trinidad what does that make it??? Syrian currency? Yuh buyers done read this an make you out!!

Why collect a so called Trinidad note that has Guyana, leeward and windward Island listed on the back of it.

It's like collecting a 1950 ferrari with a Honda engine fitted matched to Nissan gearbox and a tail light from Kia.

The note is listed as an Eastern Caribbean note and not a Trinidad note.

royalians

Postby royalians » February 3rd, 2016, 12:08 pm

Zoom take win nah! The note is not part of our history, yuh happy? Trinidad used no currency from 50 - 64! There was never a blue $2.00 note used here( which is the original discussion) and I still believe PPG is a paint!! Take win brother!!! I know who not advising me though......uuuuuuuu!

trinihub

Postby trinihub » February 3rd, 2016, 1:53 pm

1939 one dollar bill
FB_IMG_1454521823853.jpg
FB_IMG_1454521829082.jpg

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 4th, 2016, 1:20 pm

according to the official guide for banknotes

see file
money.JPG

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 4th, 2016, 1:32 pm

so as usual zoom is dead on.
any other note is not considered a Trinidad note.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 4th, 2016, 1:34 pm

British eastern Caribbean notes
money1.JPG

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 5th, 2016, 8:30 am

on a side note I am collecting the eastern Caribbean notes so if anyone has them reasonably priced I will buy them or If you wanna give them away free.. free is always better lol

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » March 12th, 2016, 8:45 pm

jus_jackson wrote:i took a pic of both but not uploading. but its 2 notes like this. Seems to be in this condition,without the tear and dark creases on it. And i made a mistake. Its actually 1976/77

supercharged turbo wrote:You selling any?

How much this going for? I'm not a collector and have one (below)

Postby DVSTT » March 12th, 2016, 9:24 pm

d.d.s. wrote:
jus_jackson wrote:i took a pic of both but not uploading. but its 2 notes like this. Seems to be in this condition,without the tear and dark creases on it. And i made a mistake. Its actually 1976/77

supercharged turbo wrote:You selling any?

How much this going for? I'm not a collector and have one (below)

I want.
PM asking price OP

Postby zoom rader » March 13th, 2016, 7:30 am

^^^ You can get about $1000TT for the note as in that condition.

A near mint will go for $500US.
Uncirculated will fetch $1000US

I got a few but not seliing at the moment . Its the next hottest note after the 1977 $50.

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » March 13th, 2016, 6:15 pm

zoom rader, thanks alot for the info.
I certainly did not know the value of this bill. It's a good thing I decided to put this away safely when I got this in the ATM a couple years ago...yup that's how I got it.

Sorry DVSTT, I'll hold onto it, unless I get an offer too good to refuse :wink:

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » March 13th, 2016, 8:13 pm

What are these worth? (N.B. This is how I got them)

Postby rspann » March 13th, 2016, 8:18 pm

That fifty have history behind it. Zoom, can you tell us why it was discontinued?

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » March 13th, 2016, 8:50 pm

Far as I know, there was an issue with a batch and/or plates being stolen causing them to be discontinued.

Postby rspann » March 13th, 2016, 8:59 pm

[imgwh][/imgwh]
sleepertercel wrote:Far as I know, there was an issue with a batch and/or plates being stolen causing them to be discontinued.

You right, in 1977 ,a batch was stolen . Explainer sang about it in his calypso ,dem wey dread.

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » March 13th, 2016, 10:43 pm

These worth anything besides the stated value? Had them a while now
1457923403211.jpg

Postby zoom rader » March 14th, 2016, 2:54 am

rspann wrote:That fifty have history behind it. Zoom, can you tell us why it was discontinued?

It was stolen off the port and central bank discontinued it. It only lasted a few years.
Somewhere in Rio it is buried. They never found the majority of the notes.

The other issue is that the note has a major error on as the date is stated 1963 when it's supposed to 1977 Republican note. Both notes are valuable especially the stolen notes.

The 1963 note is not from the stolen set .

Two years ago a batch of very mint notes appeared on eBay which had the serial numbers series of the missing notes. So there are notes out there.

swingingonmehnuts

Postby swingingonmehnuts » March 23rd, 2016, 1:24 pm

DVSTT wrote:
equipped2ripp wrote:hope they bring out a nice note for 50th anniversary independence next year... a nice $50 bill would do good.

Hey I got 1964-1977 $50 note for sale.

How much you asking?

Sold.
As soon as I get them they sell. Very difficult and the most wanted TT note .

What do they go for?

Circulated $4000 to 5000 tt
Uncirculated $8000 to 10k tt

Zoom: how much does the Uncirculated 1964 (1977) $50 specimen go for?

Postby zoom rader » March 23rd, 2016, 5:00 pm

swingingonmehnuts wrote:
DVSTT wrote:
equipped2ripp wrote:hope they bring out a nice note for 50th anniversary independence next year... a nice $50 bill would do good.

How much you asking?

Sold.

What do they go for?

Normally $500US, but if get a 1963 note then expect $800US tops.

swingingonmehnuts

Postby swingingonmehnuts » March 24th, 2016, 3:30 pm

swingingonmehnuts wrote:
DVSTT wrote:

How much you asking?

Sold.

What do they go for?

Normally $500US, but if get a 1963 note then expect $800US tops.

Thanks
Last edited by swingingonmehnuts on June 16th, 2016, 3:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » March 31st, 2016, 8:42 am

Two 1905 notes from T&T weee recently sold on EBay.

1905 $2 = $7275 USD
1905 $1 = $2924 USD