San Fernando to Point Fortin Highway

Re: San Fernando to Point Fortin Highway

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 8th, 2012, 6:44 pm

Did you review the Environmental Impact Assessment Report prepared for the project and submit your comments to the Environmental Management Authority? Were your comments ignored?

Postby RBphoto » January 9th, 2012, 7:09 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Did you review the Environmental Impact Assessment Report prepared for the project and submit your comments to the Environmental Management Authority? Were your comments ignored?

What does doing the right thing at the right time, a piece of paper....... or reading for that matter have to do with them getting JOSTICE? They doh even want MORNEY!! I consider this post a troll post, as the troll is not even responding to your posts. Highway re-route should apply for power seller status and hawk his lobby for the re-route in the classifides.

safe29

Postby safe29 » January 9th, 2012, 11:44 am

"You do know that NIDCO is currently in the process of designing a new housing development for the displaced households? They are also catering for agricultural parcels for the bonafide farmers who are being displaced.

I really can't understand why all this noise now when there were many PUBLIC CONSULTATIONS on this highway development. These public consultations were well advertised in the media. Why didn't you all come and voice your concerns then? If you had actually come to the public consultations you would have seen that concerns raised at these meetings were taken into account and the alignment of the highway revised through the Oropouche Swamp."

You speak very confidently of Public Consultation , but your statements lacks much justification. You also speak of an EIA process whereby concerns were supposed to be addresses.
Did you read the EIA????
It seem not!!!!!

The Term of Reference for this project clearly states that ALL residents affected were supposed to be consulted prior to the start of the project and offered their respective compensation package.
This was not done…!!!!

The Certificate of Environmental Clearance (CEC) was obtained mere days before the last general election by the previous PNM administration and strangely enough please see Mr. Imberts new take on the matter..

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2011/01/ ... y-build-it

This whole projects stinks of bogus consultation and widespread corruption..

safe29

Postby safe29 » January 11th, 2012, 8:48 am

No comment Mr Rory Phoulorie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » January 11th, 2012, 11:47 pm

Highway Reroute... ah see yuh make rubber stamp and thing dan? things gettin serious

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 12th, 2012, 12:39 am

safe29 wrote:You speak very confidently of Public Consultation , but your statements lacks much justification. You also speak of an EIA process whereby concerns were supposed to be addresses.
Did you read the EIA????
It seem not!!!!!

:| I have the EIA for the Debe to Mon Desir Segment of the highway with me right now.

I'll just summarise the relevant section. Public consultations comprised the following:

1) Focus group meetings with Village Council Representatives;
2) Meetings with the Penal/Debe Regional Corporation and the Siparia Regional Corporation;
3) Interviews with the affected house and land owners;
4) Interviews with business owners
5) Interviews with affected institutions; and
6) Public consultation meetings to present the findings of the EIA.

With respect to the public consultation meetings, four meetings were held on February 08, 2007, February 10, 2007, February 13, 2007 and February 15, 2007.

With reference to the acquisition of houses, the EIA classifies this impact as High if no mitigative measures are implemented and moderate if mitigative measures are put in place.

The proposed mitigative measures for this impact are as follows:

1) Pay FAIR compensation (replacement cost as opposed to discounted value) for houses to be acquired;
2) Allow sufficient time for relocation, or pay for temporary housing while permanent housing is sought or built; and
3) Assist in the relocation effort, including the allowance of a realistic time frame for moving.

I repeat:

Rory Phoulorie wrote:You do know that NIDCO is currently in the process of designing a new housing development for the displaced households? They are also catering for agricultural parcels for the bonafide farmers who are being displaced.

I really can't understand why all this noise now when there were many PUBLIC CONSULTATIONS on this highway development. These public consultations were well advertised in the media. Why didn't you all come and voice your concerns then? If you had actually come to the public consultations you would have seen that concerns raised at these meetings were taken into account and the alignment of the highway revised through the Oropouche Swamp.

From my review of the Executive Summary of the EIA, I see no reason why, from an environmental standpoint, the highway should not be built. The relevant authorities just have to ensure that the mitigative measures identified in the EIA to address the potential impacts are strictly adhered to.

Poison Ivy

Postby Poison Ivy » January 13th, 2012, 7:22 pm

Does anyone know if the highway will be passing through Khanhailal Trace in Pluck Road?

Postby brams112 » January 13th, 2012, 9:29 pm

most of the people opposing maybe just squatters who are afraid they might get nothing,,,any case it will be the best thing for all those south residents who suffer from the creek and mostly from the long tiring journey to point fortin ,,,,,

Postby S_2NR » January 13th, 2012, 9:56 pm

this thread attracting rel baytees oui

Postby nervewrecker » March 18th, 2012, 7:12 pm

didnt read, too long.

I wonder if the highway passing here (parallel to the cross country pipeline). There is infrastructure already (light poles & some sort of road foundation) & so less $$$ has to be spent.
1803201211791.jpg
back to the main road....if you want to call it that (grant trace).
1803201211801.jpg
I drive till I fed up in this gravel road

Postby Team Loco » March 18th, 2012, 8:12 pm

Highway Re-Route wrote:Most trini’s believe that creating an asphalt and concrete jungle is true development with little or no consideration to the environment. How an I change your mindset? A small minority including myself adore nature..the rest believe that the tall buildings in New York city is absolutely marvelous and what we should aim for here.
After reading all your posts, perhaps I should define what is sustainable development - it is a pattern of growth in which resource use aims to meet (Sociopolitical) human needs while preserving the environment so that these needs can be met not only in the present, but also for generations to come (Wikipedia)
THIS HIGHWAY DOES NOT PROMOTE SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT.

Environmental - Over 400 acres of prime agricultural lands will be destroyed. This affects 200 farmers who depend on their lands to support their families and provide much needed income in these hard times. Imagine destroying soil with a geo-fertilty of 15 feet deep which could support a fifteen hundred year food basket. Agriculture, Food Production and nutrition security is ranked 2nd in the government's five priority items in it's medium term policy framework...
There is very little noise and dust pollution in the areas carded for destruction plus the abundant vegetation works to counter balance any CO2 emissions.
These areas have a rich and diverse historical and cultural background. The site where Trinidad's oldest resident - The Banwari Man - is in close proximity to the proposed highway. Lastly this project will use up 7.6 BILLION Dollars - maybe more than that - financing which has not so far been forthcoming. The 1.5 Billion Dollars which they are using currently was taken from Central Bank's trasury deposits - tax payers income.

you sound just like me, but i am a realist and your agenda is myopic. rethink your position. get the emo attitude off your chest and do some deep thinking. yes i am an environmentalist, yes i do voluteer work, yes i supported Mr. Kublalsingh in the past, but you must know what is the greater good to the general population.

oliver84

Postby oliver84 » April 22nd, 2012, 8:19 pm

check alyuh boy

from an environemtnalist group

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Nature-Fr ... 0527299305

kubby.jpg

gundelero

Postby gundelero » April 23rd, 2012, 10:26 am

i wa ah highway from san fernando to mayaro!!!!!!!!

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 23rd, 2012, 10:39 am

I want a highway from north to south without any diesel powered gasoline cars, trucks, maxi's, taxi's, slow drivers, dotish arse drivers, cars made before the invention of the combustible engine, pedestrians, corn vendors, nuts men, drinks men, vegetable vendors, and dollar store vendors.

..................goes to bed to sleep off the effects of cannibus...........

Postby crazybalhead » April 23rd, 2012, 10:45 am

Poison Ivy wrote:Does anyone know if the highway will be passing through Khanhailal Trace in Pluck Road?

WHERE???? :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby nervewrecker » April 23rd, 2012, 10:50 am

she just give we she address dey...I hope she is a bess baytee, I gonna stalk she rasclat.

anyways, did I mentions this highway = no more pepper village govnt school? that means all dem gunta chiren gonna be in avocyat vedic and fyzabad presbyterian school nao. Dem flood gate khulies gonna be pissed when them gaza yutes mix up and beld up with their high color wanna be stoosh chiren.
we doh wah no hiway, we doh wah no dougla chiren...we doh wah no....wait, what I ranting about?

Postby Habit7 » April 23rd, 2012, 10:58 am

There needs to be another credible environmentalist to challenge some of Kublalsingh's claim because it seems once he is against something, instantaneously a group of poor people rally around to support him

Postby nervewrecker » April 23rd, 2012, 11:04 am

Kublalsingh against anything involving technology or moving forward. Is not he who kick brass bout the carisal plant too? I see plenty benefits from that plant.
Kublalsingh have a car btw? he should be walking IMHO

Postby Habit7 » April 23rd, 2012, 11:15 am

nervewrecker wrote:Kublalsingh against anything involving technology or moving forward. Is not he who kick brass bout the carisal plant too? I see plenty benefits from that plant.

Same ting I was saying.

Everybody jump in their steel/aluminium cars and come and protest smelter :roll:

You remember when a foreign gov't occupied Trinidad, had their largest overseas airbase in Wallerfield. They had the audacity to connect there main naval base in Chaguaramas with their airbase in Wallerfield by a highway. They displaced many and separated villages such as Barataria, Tunapuna and St. Augustine in north and south. I wish we had a Kublalsingh back then to stop that travesty from happening. :roll:

Postby Team Loco » April 23rd, 2012, 11:50 am

nervewrecker wrote:Kublalsingh against anything involving technology or moving forward. Is not he who kick brass bout the carisal plant too? I see plenty benefits from that plant.

he has a green PBB skoda felicia.

apparantly somebody tell him to go green..........and he did :D

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 23rd, 2012, 12:39 pm

Dr. Kublalsingh and his friend Dr. Peter Vine are a couple of mad men. When the initial site investigation work commenced for the Alcoa Smelter Plant in Chatham, Dr. Peter Vine rammed his car into a piece of drilling equipment around which men were working. Dr. Kublalsingh and his blind followers cheered when they heard what Peter Vine did.

A next "environmentalist" grabbed a baby and lay down in front of a tractor going into the proposed Smelter site. Next thing on those "environmental awareness" websites you see these people saying the equipment tried to run over a man and his child. What a bunch of liars.

Fine, you have an issue with the proposed development, there are ways in which you can lodge your protest. But to go and put people's lives in danger for your cause, and for others to support your irresponsible methods, that is plain and simply wrong.

Let the highway build I say. I am fed up of driving along the Southern Main Road to get to Point Fortin.

Postby Habit7 » April 23rd, 2012, 1:03 pm

We seem to always lose our first world thinking technocrats to other first world or developing countries, while the local movers and shakers tend to emulate the worst of first world quacks by becoming tree huggers, socialists and other left wing nutters.

Postby nervewrecker » April 23rd, 2012, 1:07 pm

lol, you remind me of one that used to get emo over people wasting paper. I got a set of scrap paper and sat close to her, pretended to keep making mistakes and tearing up sheet after sheet and throwing it on the floor. Woman like she trip yes, ultra emo mode kicked in on the verge of voilence, tears and thing start to flow. (I am not for wasting of paper btw, I does get on slightly emo by the photocopier regular for that, I have made quite a few enemies at work over wasting paper).

I say let it build too Rory but at the same time let it be maintained too. You know how when there is a change of power projects that involved the other party is usually neglected.

Postby Habit7 » April 23rd, 2012, 1:15 pm

nervewrecker wrote:I say let it build too Rory but at the same time let it be maintained too. You know how when there is a change of power projects that involved the other party is usually neglected.

I doubt this would happen, both parties agree on the need the highway. The PNM had proposed 5 highways, the UNC says we only need one. But try now to drive from Arima to Valencia and meet 2km of traffic caused by two bars and a gas station.

Postby Team Loco » April 23rd, 2012, 1:21 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Dr. Kublalsingh and his friend Dr. Peter Vine are a couple of mad men. When the initial site investigation work commenced for the Alcoa Smelter Plant in Chatham, Dr. Peter Vine rammed his car into a piece of drilling equipment around which men were working. Dr. Kublalsingh and his blind followers cheered when they heard what Peter Vine did.

A next "environmentalist" grabbed a baby and lay down in front of a tractor going into the proposed Smelter site. Next thing on those "environmental awareness" websites you see these people saying the equipment tried to run over a man and his child. What a bunch of liars.

Fine, you have an issue with the proposed development, there are ways in which you can lodge your protest. But to go and put people's lives in danger for your cause, and for others to support your irresponsible methods, that is plain and simply wrong.

Let the highway build I say. I am fed up of driving along the Southern Main Road to get to Point Fortin.

madmen is an understatement

Postby Habit7 » April 23rd, 2012, 1:33 pm

Workers on the barge look on as physicist Dr Peter Vine continues his protest on Thursday after being thrown into the Gulf of Paria after boarding the barge to try to stop a soil survey in preparation for the construction of a port on the extension of the Point Lisas industrial estate.

A Police officer watches as Dr Peter Vine gets into the water in a bid to stop soil tests off Claxton Bay.

http://legacy.guardian.co.tt/archives/2 ... ness1.html
http://legacy.guardian.co.tt/archives/2 ... ness7.html

Postby crazybalhead » April 23rd, 2012, 1:36 pm

he's a ass or what?? :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » April 23rd, 2012, 1:40 pm

Didnt it have another one who nearly suffocate to death when a truckload of gravel was offloaded unto her awhile back?
They want to be environmentally friendly, let them go sort garbage and remove glass for recycling, educate people about better farming practices, encourage agriculture and most important.... full pothole on the highway at 1:00am - 4:00am on a long weekend during a power outage.

gundelero

Postby gundelero » April 23rd, 2012, 2:04 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
Poison Ivy wrote:Does anyone know if the highway will be passing through Khanhailal Trace in Pluck Road?

WHERE???? :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

where de frig is dis????? :? :? :shock: :shock:
pluck road, wha de rass!?!?!?!? rofl

Postby sMASH » April 23rd, 2012, 2:18 pm

a raised highway system, like a highway completely of bridges, is my idea if there was enough money to do so. just like the over pass at grand bazaar, but the whole thing would be like that.
one stretching from west to east, along the east west corridor, another from point to rio, then one connecting the south lateral to the north lateral along the present north/south highway, and probably another connecting the north and south laterals on the eastern side of the island.

there would be off and on ramps to get on and off at various spots.
just a small upset to the environment and housing.
u would not have to bounce down people and animals cause they are at the land level, which would have town/city speeds.

yes, it expensive, but is just an idea...