Nope $10500 install!

New_SPECIES

Re: CNG kits -increase by 90%

Postby New_SPECIES » June 6th, 2013, 3:20 pm

Quicksilver wrote:
TRAE wrote:
AllTrac wrote:
TRAE wrote:CNG is a waste a flapping time jed... imagine going maracas and hadda tell everyone to come out to climb the hill

dan so couldnt switch across to gas? :?

that messing with meh manhood g... i would like to cruise the highway at a speed i could feel breeze at

nah man.... I think people who talk about drastic power loss on CNG either had shiddy tuning or were driving cars that didn't have any power to begin with.

Had an A32 on CNG which would easily run up to 160km/h with AC on while being far more economical than my diesel C33.

Plus apparently ppl don't realize that you could flick a switch to go back to gasoline anytime, even while driving.

I was under the impression that the driver has to switch off the engine then flip the switch to return to gas then restart the car.

(note: just trying to verify.... don't know for sure)

Postby wagonrunner » June 6th, 2013, 3:34 pm

New_SPECIES wrote:I was under the impression that the driver has to switch off the engine then flip the switch to return to gas then restart the car.

from memory. once engine rpm high enough. cng to gas is a quick flick of the switch.
Gas to cng required flicking switch to neutral. burning out all gasoline in chamber. (i did it my coasting, and revving in neutral until engine stutters.) then flicking on cng.

Postby redmanjp » June 6th, 2013, 3:46 pm

is there a separate gas gauge for the cng so u know when u run out?

Postby Team Loco » June 6th, 2013, 3:46 pm

tttl selling the prius now. $408,000. go buy one

Postby nemisis » June 6th, 2013, 3:49 pm

Team Loco wrote:tttl selling the prius now. $408,000. go buy one
damn

Postby redmanjp » June 6th, 2013, 3:50 pm

what u save in gas u payin in vehicle cost :roll:

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » June 6th, 2013, 3:58 pm

redmanjp wrote:is there a separate gas gauge for the cng so u know when u run out?

Yeah, the switch for the CNG usually has a line of little green lights above it to show the level of CNG in the tank.

It acts like those digital gas gauges..

Postby pete » June 6th, 2013, 6:55 pm

HAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHA

Did they actually bring them in or they're taking orders?

Quicksilver

Postby Quicksilver » June 6th, 2013, 6:55 pm

New_SPECIES wrote:I was under the impression that the driver has to switch off the engine then flip the switch to return to gas then restart the car.

from memory. once engine rpm high enough. cng to gas is a quick flick of the switch.
Gas to cng required flicking switch to neutral. burning out all gasoline in chamber. (i did it my coasting, and revving in neutral until engine stutters.) then flicking on cng.

With the Cefiro I could have switched either way gas>CNG and CNG>gas at any time. No need to switch off the vehicle. Never had to neutral or burn off gasoline either.
Maybe different systems operate differently...

Postby wagonrunner » June 6th, 2013, 7:26 pm

Quicksilver wrote:With the Cefiro I could have switched either way gas>CNG and CNG>gas at any time. No need to switch off the vehicle. Never had to neutral or burn off gasoline either.
Maybe different systems operate differently...

maybe. but to my knowledge back then, gas and CNG couldn't mix. the engine would never ignite to produce power if both in chamber (difference in octane and quantity required to create torque) hence the switch methods.
possibly got better at switching over as time passed. I think my last cng vehicle would have been around 2004 or so.

Postby pete » June 6th, 2013, 8:50 pm

Probably the vehicles you used were carb'd and his was EFI. Once you switch it'll turn off the injectors and no more gasoline would go into the engine.

devsingh

Postby devsingh » June 6th, 2013, 9:22 pm

carburated engines have to burn off the gas before switching to CNG but if you are skilled enough it can be done on the go.
the new systems are more costly because they integrate a CNG control onto your existing brain. with the new kits you're expected to experience a max of 3% power loss

Postby wagonrunner » June 7th, 2013, 12:38 am

pete wrote:Probably the vehicles you used were carb'd and his was EFI. Once you switch it'll turn off the injectors and no more gasoline would go into the engine.

Neighbours QG15DE is EFI, and same as described. switching immediately then = stutter, unless rev'd out, then cut off.

cvgjr

Postby cvgjr » June 18th, 2013, 8:34 am

bess prices here!

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » June 18th, 2013, 10:33 am

cvgjr wrote:bess prices here!

info or yuh lie

Yodins

Postby Yodins » June 18th, 2013, 6:42 pm

and all the time i thought CNG was way more economical than normal gas engines. second thinking that now.

BTW diesel is $1.50 per liter and CNG is $1.07 per litre in tacarigua.

cvgjr

Postby cvgjr » August 5th, 2013, 5:01 am

prices not that high for kits and cng can climb hills in a car