Happy Friday guys: Faisal's AMS GTR Alpha 9 Drag Video

Postby Sinister_Audio » February 3rd, 2012, 9:00 am

The first GTR to run on a track in Trinidad
Congrats to Faisal, first pull on low boost and sheit tires, clocking 10.9. Lookin forward to doin more of these...

Enjoy Your weekend guys.... be safe....

Chris
SinisterAudio

Re: Happy Friday guys: Faisal's AMS GTR Alpha 9 Drag Video

Postby cinco » February 3rd, 2012, 9:02 am

please clarify sheit tyres
im sure they cost more than my whole car :(

Postby SR » February 3rd, 2012, 9:06 am

note how straight the car sits all the way down the track

compare that to many others in that same timing bracket

fassup engine and poor chassis/suspension setup

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » February 3rd, 2012, 9:07 am

what is d fascination with this "pump fuel/gas"

Postby Trini Hookah » February 3rd, 2012, 9:11 am

How you gonna tell men be safe dan? Everybody gonna try to run like 666 after seeing this veejo. :|

Good stuff.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 3rd, 2012, 9:14 am

Ah love eet!

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 3rd, 2012, 9:18 am

hook and go.......rel sweet

Chipz

Postby Chipz » February 3rd, 2012, 9:18 am

SR wrote:note how straight the car sits all the way down the track

Yepp that's the 1st thing I looked at, how the car sits straight along the track

Postby teems1 » February 3rd, 2012, 9:19 am

I wonder if those Go Pro cameras affect the aero enough to shave a tenth or two off the times.

Postby Sinister_Audio » February 3rd, 2012, 9:22 am

^ each camera weighs 12 pounds, without the waterproof case,
and i put 3 on his car, sooo lets see, its either next time faisal do sit ups....
or put less fuel....
or....take a chop saw and cut out part of the chassis to compensate for the camera....wha u think :?:

zorced

Postby zorced » February 3rd, 2012, 9:41 am

i think he meant the drag it may cause at high speeds. i've always wandered that too. idk maybe less than .1 of a second if so much lol

Postby sharkman121 » February 3rd, 2012, 9:46 am

theres a formula to calculate turbulence and drag caused by aerodynamic disruption if i remember correctly. Wont be surprised if a tenth or two could actually be shaved without the cam.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » February 3rd, 2012, 9:53 am

nice vid Chris.

I forgot to do so many things that day that could have improved my times.
I also hit a boost cut at the top of 5th gear just before the 1/4 mile on the 10.9 run.

So for the laurel run I had to short shift 5th @6k rpms and go into 6th to try to avoid a repeat of the boost cut. In theory I should be able to finish the 1/4 at the top of 5th. Should never have to shift to 6th gear.

Next time the car will be on drag radials and hopefully I can cut a better 60ft than 1.8's. My trap on the laurel run was 135mph...which on a good track should put me anywhere from 10.1-10.4.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 3rd, 2012, 10:02 am

nice vid

LOL @ the guys worrying about the cameras.
one side mirror is like 4 of those cameras in size

they use go-pro's on international competition top fuel dragsters that run 4 and 5 second runs where every millionth of a second counts - it will hardly affect a 10second run

Oh and Sinister, I sent you the trinituner logo with an alpha transparency, the one you used not lookin too wholesome :oops:

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » February 3rd, 2012, 10:11 am

Nice Vid as usual Sinister ... Congrats again Faizal !!!

Postby Sinister_Audio » February 3rd, 2012, 10:11 am

depends on :
1. where u put it
2. how fast the car is/what speed its travelling at
3. the angle of the cam

this really is quite insignificant @ these speeds... when u get down to 8s and i believe anything over 150mph

Chipz

Postby Chipz » February 3rd, 2012, 10:11 am

Go Pro Cameras Win!!

Postby Sinister_Audio » February 3rd, 2012, 10:13 am

sry bout the logo dey de bawse :oops:

doh ban de rasta

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » February 3rd, 2012, 10:18 am

Did the laurel blow something trying to catch the GTR in the last shot? Lots of Blue smoke.

Postby wagonrunner » February 3rd, 2012, 10:22 am

Wham to the 2JZ (smoke) on that last run?

Postby turbosingh » February 3rd, 2012, 10:35 am

Nissan Powerrrr!

Postby Sinister_Audio » February 3rd, 2012, 10:40 am

next event the gtr gonna do a worse time :|

2 more gopros...with all that added weight thas like 13 seconda FLAT....
faisal yuh hadda enter 13s fo' sho' !!

Postby AllTrac » February 3rd, 2012, 10:48 am

ray786 wrote:what is d fascination with this "pump fuel/gas"

cause it makes all the difference in the world. The car is a totally different animal with race gas. If you could achieve the power figures that you normally get with race gas with low octane pump gas while the engine stays in one piece, its a huge accomplishment, you should have sex with your engine tuner, hence the reason dry always have a smile on his face.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 3rd, 2012, 10:49 am

SR wrote:note how straight the car sits all the way down the track

Both cars seemed straight.

The Laurel that "competed " with this when I saw these races live , did not seem to have many sideways issues. You are comparing what and what here ?Cars that need to put down their power with two wheels , no computer controlled suspension or traction on an unprepared track .

In our team we have many drag racing components with the suspension , and you should be familiar with the work done on back halved cars . I would not qualify this with such a statement.

Do you see our most "FASSUP" salon cars competing here ?, The Tweetys the Magna, Andre's Charger , there war what looked like a falcon there on Sunday( no expert on US models) , this car has some serious power just from a simple rev and roll you could see this and seems to be a properly prepared Super comp or Super Gas car .

Please tell us which cars you speaking of here a "FASSUP" with little suspension work , or have you examined the suspensions in such termed cars ?

Postby Sinister_Audio » February 3rd, 2012, 10:53 am

:pop&coke:

^duane yuh emoticons fuggin up :?

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » February 3rd, 2012, 10:54 am

dragaholic wrote:Did the laurel blow something trying to catch the GTR in the last shot? Lots of Blue smoke.

I believe it was an oil leak that started to heat up..

Postby turbosingh » February 3rd, 2012, 10:55 am

AllTrac wrote:
ray786 wrote:what is d fascination with this "pump fuel/gas"

cause it makes all the difference in the world. The car is a totally different animal with race gas. If you could achieve the power figures that you normally get with race gas with low octane pump gas while the engine stays in one piece, its a huge accomplishment, you should have sex with your engine tuner, hence the reason dry always have a smile on his face.

LOL ray786 yuh living under a rock :lol: :lol:

Postby AllTrac » February 3rd, 2012, 10:56 am

btw, SA, awesome video as always, no disrespect to the stance guys, but i look forward to your videos cause i rather see cars do that they were built to do, which is move, rather than park up. To each his own.

Postby Sinister_Audio » February 3rd, 2012, 11:10 am

*thanks, but its much easier to record a stance (parked up video)...in comparison to a racing video,
however its MUCH harder to EDIT a stance video than a racing video.

man oh man if i got my hands on a SLR and a good computer i'd be so happy.......:sigh:

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 3rd, 2012, 11:15 am

Which ever format it is Sinister , you do a great job , the videos are clean and well presented . Thank you ,but I must also say if you intend to post videos of street racing at least edit out the number plates.

Thanks again