$5000.00 Fine for non-inspected cars !

Rutless Tiida

Re: $5000.00 Fine for non-inspected cars !

Postby Rutless Tiida » March 1st, 2012, 3:21 pm

For the third time...

http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=311307&start=0
http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=41&t=270274

Chapter 48:50
Part V

INSPECTION OF MOTOR VEHICLES
27. (1) A registered owner of a public service motor vehicle,
rental car, goods vehicle, omnibus, tractor or trailer shall produce
it for inspection by a Transport Officer, annually as the Licensing
Authority may direct and shall, at the same time, furnish him with
such information as may be required including the following:
(a) the name of the manufacturer of the chassis;
(b) model;
(c) engine number and number of cylinders;
(d) year manufactured;
(e) factory number of chassis, body number or VIN number;
(f) maximum gross weight in kilogrammes;
(g) type of body.

so, however, that a registered owner of a private motor vehicle or
motorcycle where such motor vehicle or motorcycle is five years
old or more, shall produce it for inspection by an examiner
biennially, at such premises designated for that purpose as the
Licensing Authority may direct.

(11) A registered owner of a private motor vehicle or
motorcycle, public service motor vehicle, rental car, goods vehicle,
omnibus or trailer who fails to produce the vehicle for inspection or
drives the vehicle without obtaining an inspection sticker and
certificate in accordance with these Regulations commits an offence
and is liable, on summary conviction, to a fine of five thousand dollars

OK guys read the law carefully please...
Basically if you have a P vehicle it is 5 yrs then every other year.
If you have a T, H, R it is every year.

POS licencing does have stickers and they are printing the licence plate number and the date of inspection on it. I went just last week.

Postby De Dragon » March 1st, 2012, 5:47 pm

Got mine done last week, no sticker though!

Postby A172 » March 1st, 2012, 5:56 pm

Did mine on the 8th February, only got the sticker today.

Now one setta phaggots rushing and have the place ram. :roll:

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 1st, 2012, 8:15 pm

Terran wrote:Had my wife's car inspected a while ago.

They checked lights, tyres, brakes, wipers, horn, engine and chassis numbers. No test drive.

Funny, I did mine last Saturday and they did not even know if i came with a car or not :|

Postby cinco » March 1st, 2012, 11:18 pm

level police on the road dis evening

sentraman

Postby sentraman » March 1st, 2012, 11:53 pm

Can you do a change of engine at Arima lic office?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » March 2nd, 2012, 7:51 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:

They checked lights, tyres, brakes, wipers, horn, engine and chassis numbers. No test drive.

Funny, I did mine last Saturday and they did not even know if i came with a car or not :|

wher eyou did yours?

Postby crazybalhead » March 2nd, 2012, 8:39 am

Not done yet. No Certified copy. :( Will have to go by licensing yes.

Postby SR » March 2nd, 2012, 8:49 am

hada do all mines looking for a easy location tomorow

Postby crazybalhead » March 2nd, 2012, 8:58 am

But yunno, most cars on the road do NOT have stickers. And the police (I passed close to at least five in the last two days) don't seem too concerned. It needs to be done, but since the act was proclaimed, how do they expect people to get this done in a short time? The infrastructure just not there!

Postby cinco » March 2nd, 2012, 9:05 am

crazybalhead wrote:But yunno, most cars on the road do NOT have stickers. And the police (I passed close to at least five in the last two days) don't seem too concerned. It needs to be done, but since the act was proclaimed, how do they expect people to get this done in a short time? The infrastructure just not there!

it hadda motobike police harass about 4 ppl yesterday he was parked on the shoulder by the nagar by time i got to him and he was stopping people on narsaloo ramaya marg
all were orderly and flowing with traffic the only reason i could see him stopping people was for stickers

he stopped a car @elsocorro walk over
one @ munroe road
one opposite the mosque
then the lady by nagar

Postby A172 » March 2nd, 2012, 9:45 am

nagar please

Postby crazybalhead » March 2nd, 2012, 9:46 am

cinco wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:But yunno, most cars on the road do NOT have stickers. And the police (I passed close to at least five in the last two days) don't seem too concerned. It needs to be done, but since the act was proclaimed, how do they expect people to get this done in a short time? The infrastructure just not there!

it hadda motobike police harass about 4 ppl yesterday he was parked on the shoulder by the nagar by time i got to him and he was stopping people on narsaloo ramaya marg
all were orderly and flowing with traffic the only reason i could see him stopping people was for stickers

he stopped a car @elsocorro walk over
one @ munroe road
one opposite the mosque
then the lady by nagar

Scene.

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » March 2nd, 2012, 10:24 am

wait a minute. i thought they checking to make sure cars not stolen.
i thought the owner (name on cc) must be present to verify car isnt stolen.
learn me please.

how the lines looking at the approved stations?
saw police and license officers all over couva/preysal flyover yesterday around lunch. they look busy with all the ole cars and trucks for now. didnt even look at me in my pcd.

Freakaz0id

Postby Freakaz0id » March 2nd, 2012, 11:01 am

This has been in the making years ago. Whoever did not prepare shall prepare to pay the fine.

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 2nd, 2012, 11:43 am

MadCrix wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:

wher eyou did yours?

By a popular auto battery retailer in Balmain. They do a lot of active trading.

xeon

Postby xeon » March 2nd, 2012, 12:13 pm

Anyone knows if licensing still have problems in acquiring certified copies? Its been almost a year now and i havnt got mine since i transferred. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Postby nervewrecker » March 2nd, 2012, 1:38 pm

I see they down de road busy checking, pwnage in allyuh mc!

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » March 2nd, 2012, 1:41 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:

Did mine Tuesday.

They checked chassis # on cc then on car, lights, brakes, steering and that was it.

Did not get any sticker though.

nissanboi

Postby nissanboi » March 2nd, 2012, 1:57 pm

went this morning at pos license office to do a change of engine, went tru in like 30mins, got the receipt etc which i can use to go for inspection. have to return in 7working days with $100 to req updated cc with new engine #. the lines for inspection was real long though, about 20-25 vehicles i checked in the line, most were hilux and vans tho

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 2nd, 2012, 2:09 pm

Directives also went out to some govt ministries to get vehicles inspected so they seem serious about it.

Terran

Postby Terran » March 2nd, 2012, 4:21 pm

Black Start wrote:^wow they did alot of work....where you got that done?

Have you seen the checklist? What they did was nothing in comparison to what is supposed to be done.

Anyway, I went to Licensing Office this morning to request an updated certified copy since I never went back for one after I bought my car from another tuner 6 years ago.

I requested a computerized copy, which cost $100 and was made available 2 hours later. However, their records were not updated when the previous owner performed an engine change - which is clear on the old copy I have, but not on theirs.

So, I have to go back to effect an engine change on Monday before I can complete inspection.

Can anyone briefly outline the steps to do this at the LO in POS?

Postby De Dragon » March 2nd, 2012, 4:26 pm

ado15mk3 wrote:

wait a minute. i thought they checking to make sure cars not stolen.
i thought the owner (name on cc) must be present to verify car isnt stolen.
learn me please.

how the lines looking at the approved stations?
saw police and license officers all over couva/preysal flyover yesterday around lunch. they look busy with all the ole cars and trucks for now. didnt even look at me in my pcd.

I had the cert. copy from when I bought the car, so it had the previous owner's name on it. All the documents are in HIS name, but once I get the windshield sticker is ok.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » March 2nd, 2012, 4:29 pm

Terran wrote:
Black Start wrote:^wow they did alot of work....where you got that done?

Have you seen the checklist? What they did was nothing in comparison to what is supposed to be done.

Anyway, I went to Licensing Office this morning to request an updated certified copy since I never went back for one after I bought my car from another tuner 6 years ago.

I requested a computerized copy, which cost $100 and was made available 2 hours later. However, their records were not updated when the previous owner performed an engine change - which is clear on the old copy I have, but not on theirs.

So, I have to go back to effect an engine change on Monday before I can complete inspection.

Can anyone briefly outline the steps to do this at the LO in POS?

Once you have the original receipt from LO for the engine change they have to fix it on their system. You do not have to pay to do it again!

Terran

Postby Terran » March 2nd, 2012, 4:46 pm

When I first took my car to do inspection years ago, there was a team of 3 men conducting it. They raised the car on the ramp and had a look at EVERYTHING that was practical to examine from underneath, opened the bonnet, sat in the car, checked lights, doors, windows, drove the car themselves and there was one man checking off everything on the list as they went along.

At inspection yesterday, I did what the inspector asked ME to do - which was just lights, horn, brakes, and wipers. He did not check to see if the headlights are focussed, how they respond when the engine is running or under load, but told me (in broad daylight) that he found it hard to see the difference in my high beam from my low beam. He looked at the tyres for wear, but did not drive the car, did not put it on a ramp to inspect the undercarriage or anything like that. His determination of my brakes was that the hand lever had a little too much "travel" when I pulled it sharply (according to his instruction) and that my foot brake pedal did not go lower when I was asked to pump it. The only thing he actively did for himself was read the engine and chassis numbers.

Terran

Postby Terran » March 2nd, 2012, 4:49 pm

Computerman wrote:Once you have the original receipt from LO for the engine change they have to fix it on their system. You do not have to pay to do it again!

The engine change was handled by the previous owner. As I said, it is noted on the certified copy he gave me BEFORE we effected the transfer. On the copy provided by LO, there is no such engine change.

Six years later, I don't think I can convince them that my copy is genuine and that theirs is wrong - which it is.

Humes

Postby Humes » March 2nd, 2012, 6:46 pm

Just want to get something clear: My car (PCM) was bought new from a dealership less than five years ago.

Do I have to get inspected, or can I wait till the car is five years old?

Postby pioneer » March 2nd, 2012, 6:48 pm

better be safe than sorry...some highly illiterate police n licensing out there....

Humes

Postby Humes » March 2nd, 2012, 6:55 pm

Is a car less than five years old supposed to be inspected?

edit: Apparently not.

Humes

Postby Humes » March 2nd, 2012, 7:11 pm

That sticker looks familiar, though.