WTK: More effective alternatives to Frontline Plus for dogs

Postby S_2NR » February 10th, 2012, 2:56 pm

Right now i use frontline plus on my dogs for flea and tick control.
It works good but they still scratch sometimes.
Heard K9 Advantix works well, any reviews on this?

Any better alternatives out there?
If there is, where and how much?

Bezman

Re: WTK: More effective alternatives to Frontline Plus for d

Postby Bezman » February 10th, 2012, 3:00 pm

are you sure your dog doesnt have allergies? you should only frontline your dog every couple months and they should be ok.. my pit suffered from skin allergies from all kinda crap, thought it was insect related for a while, then learned it was food types and not insects.. my 2ç

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » February 10th, 2012, 3:05 pm

Regent mixed with rubbing Alcohol works fine...

Postby MG Man » February 10th, 2012, 3:42 pm

bathe yuh dog more often

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 10th, 2012, 3:56 pm

bathe your dog, clean your yard

Postby S_2NR » February 10th, 2012, 4:01 pm

the vet told me bathing my dogs too often could dry out their skin since their skin is so thin.
i bathe them with head and shoulders.
yard is clean, grass always cut short. the concrete parts get power washed occasionally.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » February 10th, 2012, 4:29 pm

ray786 wrote:Regent mixed with rubbing Alcohol works fine...

x2,its what most vets use anyways,in frontline bottles :lol:

Postby UML » February 10th, 2012, 5:20 pm

Ecotraz....dog and yard

Postby SR » February 10th, 2012, 5:38 pm

jones animal clinic has a nice formula packaged with a spray bottle much cheaper than frontline and seems to be working quite well so far

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 10th, 2012, 5:58 pm

i wash my dog with Fresh n' Clean dog shampoo, the one with oatmeal and baking soda in it, its great for their skin.. a bit expensive (think like $50 a bottle) but try it.. actually smells good too.

head and shoulders isnt good for them..

http://www.petco.com/product/102444/Lam ... ampoo.aspx

Postby S_2NR » February 10th, 2012, 6:03 pm

SR wrote:jones animal clinic has a nice formula packaged with a spray bottle much cheaper than frontline and seems to be working quite well so far

location and contact no please?

Bezman, will check that out since head and shoulders isnt cheap either. the vet actually recommended head and shoulders :?

i just noticed my rottweiler pup getting hiccups every time he finish eating ..sigh

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 10th, 2012, 6:22 pm

S_2NR wrote:
SR wrote:jones animal clinic has a nice formula packaged with a spray bottle much cheaper than frontline and seems to be working quite well so far

location and contact no please?

Bezman, will check that out since head and shoulders isnt cheap either. the vet actually recommended head and shoulders :?

i just noticed my rottweiler pup getting hiccups every time he finish eating ..sigh

hiccups are normal, watch out for twitching.. head and shoulders as its a dandruff shampoo can really dry out their skin

there is a formula like i posted above thats a shampoo and conditioner in one, makes their coat really shiney and nice.. my dog is a house dog mainly, so i keep her very clean (brushing her coat daily etc it all helps) i must say my dog LOVES getting a bath unlike ANY of my other dogs.

Postby SR » February 10th, 2012, 6:49 pm

wtf nobody uses a phone book anymore jeez

Postby S_2NR » February 10th, 2012, 6:52 pm

dont know where our phone book is :/
got it on google.. thanks.

Postby rfari » February 10th, 2012, 6:59 pm

OP u'll need to spray u yard as well. if its a common occurrence with ur dogs when it means ur place is infested. there's a spray that i used when this happened to me once. can't remember the name tho but it was to be sprayed on the lawn and in corners

Postby S_2NR » February 10th, 2012, 7:03 pm

wouldnt that be expensive?
my yard is approx two lots

Postby rfari » February 10th, 2012, 7:18 pm

Nah hoss. Home by me is just a lot and with a small bottle to a backpack sprayer I was able to do the lawn, fenceline and outer walls of house. Check an agri-shop for it. That's where I bought it.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 13th, 2012, 1:43 pm

there is a bottle of frontline that cost as much as the packs with the single doses.. i buy the bottle (like $240) and just spray the yard, garage and ger crate etc.. also inside, under cushions on the couch etc.. and anywhere else the dog lies down etc.. only need to do this a few times a year.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 13th, 2012, 1:52 pm

Ecotraz is good for the yard, very cheap and works. It does work on my dogs as well, but I find it a bit too harsh for their skin. I guess it can be diluted much less than directed on the bottle.

Postby Hook » February 13th, 2012, 1:54 pm

I'm having a similar problem right now. I'm taking off at least 20 ticks daily off the backyard dog (front yard is paved, but those two dogs can't mingle as she's in heat).

Was told to treat her with the Ecotraz every few days until it stops and treat the yard with Malathion as it's more effective for the yard than the Ecotraz, but much more toxic to dogs so I'll need to isolate her.

The Malathion smells super high tho. Is there anything else I could use that's not as acrid?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » February 13th, 2012, 2:08 pm

There's something called Triatix or Cypertick. Think is a teaspoon of it to 1 gallon water.

Active ingredient is Cypermethrin (10%)

Kills ticks and fleas in under a minute.

Can be used to spray the surroundings as well.

Used this about 4 years ago and not ticks/fleas ever again.

Postby Hook » February 13th, 2012, 2:17 pm

We recently cleared out backyard save for a few trees so there's mostly just dirt there right now. Could this be the cause of the infestation?

Do I spray as normal or do I really douse the yard so that it soaks into the soil?

Postby rfari » February 13th, 2012, 2:45 pm

There is something like the malathion but apparently more effective and without the strong odour. Can't recall the name again. Any agri-shop dude will knw what u're talking about. Heard that the ticks live in the soil so no matter how many times u treat ur dogs, the ticks just waiting to infest. The application is not to drench the soil. Just a mist over the lawn and on the walls etc.

Postby UML » February 13th, 2012, 2:45 pm

most vets make their own frontline....they just use the chemical and mix it with methylated spirit

cypertick is also good....used to use that before ecotraz......vet recommended........i feel it is the same thing under different name..both clear bot mix in water and both give a milky solution

i use this to apply to yard

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 13th, 2012, 3:23 pm

Hook wrote:We recently cleared out backyard save for a few trees so there's mostly just dirt there right now. Could this be the cause of the infestation?

Do I spray as normal or do I really douse the yard so that it soaks into the soil?

yes, same thing happened when i redid the lawn with new grass and replanted the flower beds etc

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » December 28th, 2012, 2:25 pm

Where do i get cypertick? a pharmacy would have that?

Postby Chimera » December 28th, 2012, 2:38 pm

most agrishops or petshops would have it.

Ramirez

Postby Ramirez » December 28th, 2012, 8:19 pm

I use eucalyptus oil mixed with water . The smell keeps the fleas away

Postby DVSTT » December 28th, 2012, 8:41 pm

OP Spray your yard and walls with Malathion once per week for four weeks, then once every month after that, it will kill fleas, adult ticks and mosquito. Don't think it affects juvenille ticks so that is why you need 2 apply once per week for the first 4 weeks

kaylex

Postby kaylex » December 31st, 2012, 10:36 am

I used Front Line now.. works ..but for only afew months until some stray passes and do some injustice. Dont be fooled you could cut grass and bathe dog how often.. you will always have fleas and ticks from time to time.. just treat it as soon as signs show....

I used to use ... TRIATIX..but haven't been able to get my hands on it.. This works great though.. you mix with a gallon of water and use after bathing dog.. just "sap" their fur and you would have no problem..the effect lasts longer tha Front Line..

As for ticks.. if you cook your dog food with more garlic.. may sound funny.. but more garlic in your dogs diet should lessen the amount of ticks.....