What's the best way to remove a rounded off wheel nut?

lighthammer

Re: What's the best way to remove a rounded off wheel nut?

Postby lighthammer » May 19th, 2012, 1:46 pm

"WHAT'S THE BEST WAY TO REMOVE A ROUNDED OFF WHEEL NUT?"

This may be the answer for you, my friend...

You can get a set here....
Rounded Nut Remover Set

but these are for smaller nuts (from size 10-17 metric, I believe).
All you need to do is find a size for your lug nuts (usually Size 17/19/21)

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 25th, 2012, 2:46 am

went to the tyre shop today to rotate tyres and imexperienced tyre man put in the airgun while i was talking to the owner......before we even tell him what going on and baam...nut rounded ....steups....

they say go by the muffler shop but i aint got time for that sheit.......will try the gator grip socket from bhagwansingh......

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 25th, 2012, 2:47 am

UML wrote:had this problem recently......got it out by madman Chungs in Couva (north of KFC) opposite Stay Cool

what he did was welded a handle to the nut and turned it until it came out.

i hope its not this type

i changed the whole set the same day......good thing i did....cause i went toco a few days later and got a flat.

i bought this type

but silver to it....no complaints.

i have the first set .....

looking to shange to the second set of nuts...

UML whats the average cost per nut for those?.

Thanks....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 25th, 2012, 3:05 am

wait.....if this is the gator grip below......did a google on it...

then this cannot help our situation with the rounded off wheel nut....

brainchild

Postby brainchild » September 21st, 2021, 5:19 pm

Hey, having this problem x10...allen key nut, overtightened, probably cross tread too. Tried the weld option...not holding, trying to drill out d stud n not having any luck so far. HELP!!!

Postby pugboy » September 21st, 2021, 5:20 pm

use a cordless drill with slowish speed

brainchild wrote:Hey, having this problem x10...allen key nut, overtightened, probably cross tread too. Tried the weld option...not holding, trying to drill out d stud n not having any luck so far. HELP!!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 21st, 2021, 6:04 pm

brainchild wrote:Hey, having this problem x10...allen key nut, overtightened, probably cross tread too. Tried the weld option...not holding, trying to drill out d stud n not having any luck so far. HELP!!!

If you didn't drill out the allen socket you can try a hex socket removal bit
https://www.amazon.com/Powerbuilt-Metri ... 07PH39ZFD/

Postby adnj » September 21st, 2021, 6:47 pm

Use a bolt extractor when the head if about is snapped off. Use a bolt and nut extractor when the head is rounded or rusted.

brainchild

Postby brainchild » October 14th, 2021, 8:47 am

Took some time, but I got thru with drilling out the stud... immediately changed all lug nuts too!