WTK: Best Place to purchase Doors and Windows for home...

MonsterPower

Re: WTK: Best Place to purchase Doors and Windows for home..

Postby MonsterPower » November 27th, 2013, 7:21 pm

New species the brand is 3m(go figure) but read the label because there is 3strengths available

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » November 28th, 2013, 12:13 pm

MonsterPower wrote:New species the brand is 3m(go figure) but read the label because there is 3strengths available

Thanks Bro... will definitely check it out.

Postby eliteauto » February 3rd, 2014, 8:54 am

looking for UPVC windows to replace some steel windows at home, going ABEL today but who else offers good quality windows?

sk1111

Postby sk1111 » February 3rd, 2014, 10:35 am

[quote="eliteauto"]looking for UPVC windows to replace some steel windows at home, going ABEL today but who else offers good quality windows?[/quote]

I had a guy from Penal do my apt building. His prices are cheaper than anywhere. If you go abel you may be getting his same windows marked up.
His name is harry, his number is 315-8515. He makes windows for some of the big window distributors. Tell him Sharif from the apartment building in cunupia sent you.

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » March 11th, 2014, 3:07 pm

An update
in 2012 bought 12 doors from ABC Door and Windows in El Soccorro for my house
Worst decision I made
the door are really strong but the door handles are very very inferior and cannot be replaced or repaired.
Basically for my two main access doors I am prepared to take a Chisel Drill and pull out these door and dump them

I am checking RDK in Debe main road to do 2 new doors for me with door handles i can service and change at any point i need to.

I really regret my decision

Adrian howell

Postby Adrian howell » January 13th, 2015, 8:26 pm

So nowhere in Trinidad sells good quality steel security doors that have parts available of something goes wrong with handles/ locks etc???

Postby Ignorant Ignis » January 14th, 2015, 8:48 am

mitch1980 wrote:An update
in 2012 bought 12 doors from ABC Door and Windows in El Soccorro for my house
Worst decision I made
the door are really strong but the door handles are very very inferior and cannot be replaced or repaired.
Basically for my two main access doors I am prepared to take a Chisel Drill and pull out these door and dump them

I am checking RDK in Debe main road to do 2 new doors for me with door handles i can service and change at any point i need to.

I really regret my decision

same situation here .....two of the 4 doors i have are now not fully functional
looked good in the beginning...but turned out to be true Chinese rubbish

Postby MG Man » January 14th, 2015, 9:41 am

^^^I looked at those doors and thought...hmm....if this thing spoil, that's a helluva complex mechanism to repair / replace....so I just went with regular doors and built jail cell bars around the whole damn house :-/

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » January 14th, 2015, 10:16 am

the steel doors built locally in Trinidad from QPSL , RDK and Kelvin ans Sons are excellent options...
you can have and change the locks when needed and keys etc.

Those ABC DOORS ARE THE WORST

Postby MG Man » January 14th, 2015, 10:20 am

QPSL did some work for me....I suspect they not the cheapest, but the work was excellent

air wick

Postby air wick » January 14th, 2015, 10:30 am

good info in this thread... I have to look for doors and windows in a few months...

Postby MG Man » January 14th, 2015, 10:36 am

I'm trying a place in Chase Village called T BIS for aluminium doors....will post pics when I get them....tried Camry Glass in Marabella and the doors were so awful that I returned them for a full refund.....

Postby black start » January 14th, 2015, 10:39 am

MG Man wrote:QPSL did some work for me....I suspect they not the cheapest, but the work was excellent

They are definitely not the cheapest but the work is good none the less.

Postby pugboy » January 14th, 2015, 3:08 pm

careful buying locally made windows
there are many so called welders who claim to fabricate windows

many of them have poorly installed and welded hinges which appear to be welded but break off down the road due to the fact that window profile material is thin so they weld at very low amperage and with poor technique

The Raven

Re: WTK: Best Place to purchase Doors and Windows for home...

Postby The Raven » November 18th, 2016, 10:27 am

Any updates on aluminum windows?
Any one tried designer doors? for there windows, there said the aluminum used is a thicker grade...

screwbash

Postby screwbash » June 16th, 2020, 8:01 pm

pass two well know steel doors manufacturers in the freeport area an dem sheit expensie boy. from $6000 up yes and wah getting me is the ting is steel and it doh look like it cud take rain beating.

antlind

Postby antlind » June 16th, 2020, 8:33 pm

screwbash wrote:pass two well know steel doors manufacturers in the freeport area an dem sheit expensie boy. from $6000 up yes and wah getting me is the ting is steel and it doh look like it cud take rain beating.

If you’re talking about QPSL their doors are heavy steel. But you have to get these doors painted and clear coated. It adds to the cost for sure, but the doors don’t rust. I’ve had QPSL double front doors since 2013 with no issues. The clear coat cracked in a couple spots but I touched them up with Tremclad and zero rust after 7 years. But yes, these doors were very expensive.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » June 17th, 2020, 1:25 am

antlind wrote:
screwbash wrote:pass two well know steel doors manufacturers in the freeport area an dem sheit expensie boy. from $6000 up yes and wah getting me is the ting is steel and it doh look like it cud take rain beating.

If you’re talking about QPSL their doors are heavy steel. But you have to get these doors painted and clear coated. It adds to the cost for sure, but the doors don’t rust. I’ve had QPSL double front doors since 2013 with no issues. The clear coat cracked in a couple spots but I touched them up with Tremclad and zero rust after 7 years. But yes, these doors were very expensive.

upvc doors saying maintenance free, wont rust, fade etc. but how secure are these doors ? i need to put a door that getting direct weather from sun and rain.

NR8

Postby NR8 » June 17th, 2020, 10:43 am

Where you getting UPVC doors?