need info on changing tiles

nightcrawler

need info on changing tiles

Postby nightcrawler » July 2nd, 2012, 4:04 pm

i would like to change to tiles in my kitchen. what i need to know is would the tile man tile over existing tile (which i hope he doesn't) or dig out old tiles. problem is thinset is hard like concrete how he gonna remove that. if tileman digs out tiles and place new thinset on existing thinset the tiles in the kitchen will be higher than the rest of the house. ent?

Re: need info on changing tiles

Postby shogun » July 2nd, 2012, 4:09 pm

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » July 2nd, 2012, 4:13 pm

the proper way to do it is dig out all the existing tiles, we used a hammer drill when we did the work. the lazy tile men usually jus take a hammer and chisel and burst a few holes in each tile for fresh thinset to hold n then tile over it. then u end up with the new tiles being a inch or so higher than the others

Postby stev » July 2nd, 2012, 4:22 pm

it has to be dug up properly and evenly...u dont want a bumpy floor and cracked tiles.

dont let him dig holes in the tiles to let the new thinset hold. eventually some tiles would become loose.

webb

Postby webb » July 2nd, 2012, 7:32 pm

Jus make sure an be at home when this project start or else.............

Postby nervewrecker » July 2nd, 2012, 7:48 pm

stev wrote:it has to be dug up properly and evenly...u dont want a bumpy floor and cracked tiles.

dont let him dig holes in the tiles to let the new thinset hold. eventually some tiles would become loose.

there have been cases where owners have requested tiles be laid upon tiles.

anyhow, even if the ground a bit uneven the thinset is used to level it.

who your tileman btw?

Amit

Postby Amit » July 2nd, 2012, 8:06 pm

Dewalt Diamond cup

Postby pugboy » July 2nd, 2012, 8:21 pm

one thing, chipping out tiles with a hilti is hard to do evenly sometimes depending on how hard they are stuck on
sometimes it is faster to chip them out deep and then put a thin levelling layer of good quality mortar before tiling

nightcrawler

Postby nightcrawler » July 3rd, 2012, 4:53 pm

golly. so much pressure. ok anybody in the east know a good tileman

Postby gastly369 » July 3rd, 2012, 6:18 pm

stev wrote:it has to be dug up properly and evenly...u dont want a bumpy floor and cracked tiles.

who your tileman btw?

parmy or pramey( pram-eee) or however you does spell he name was a bawse from st john trace... he did our yard.. died a while now tho

kual

Postby kual » July 5th, 2012, 8:56 am

jackhammer the old ones out and replace with new tiles. simple. little dusty though and kitchen is a place with moisture so it would have to be put down properly.

Postby stev » July 5th, 2012, 9:11 am

wonder how much to rent a jackhammer....

kual

Postby kual » July 5th, 2012, 9:11 am

start a new post there stev

Postby nervewrecker » July 5th, 2012, 10:04 am

gastly369 wrote:

who your tileman btw?

parmy or pramey( pram-eee) or however you does spell he name was a bawse from st john trace... he did our yard.. died a while now tho

My uncle dem did the new house on the corner by crab-bee's bar there and tiled the new building before by spark's (hillview electrical) there this weekend. He also did our house as well as Dr. Bodoe in case anyone wants pics (of our house eh, doc wont let me in to his house :lol: ).

His son used to work with a guy who does big jobs for some wealthy clients if you interested in his number too. But be prepared to pay some good $$$. He does work for digicel, Basdeo Panday, a few houses up maraval area and recently iirc a store in Gulf City, Tobago (not sure if is digicel self).

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » July 5th, 2012, 12:17 pm

No need to dig up old tiles. You can tile over existing tiles.
Use a small grinder and and tile cutting disc and make "slashes" on the tiles.
Did this home and worked perfectly.
Original old tiles were put down about 30 yrs ago and used a Hilti to try to break them up but it caused more problems than anything.

Postby nervewrecker » July 5th, 2012, 12:28 pm

if is the wall - dust galore. :lol: dust mask is a must.

if is the floor maybe some water on the surface will keep the dust down.

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » July 5th, 2012, 12:33 pm

nervewrecker wrote:^^

if is the wall - dust galore. :lol: dust mask is a must.

if is the floor maybe some water on the surface will keep the dust down.

lol... forgot to mention about the dust.
Level dust.. polythene and duct tape to isolate the area.

Postby MG Man » July 5th, 2012, 12:52 pm

you can use a dremel and a grout removal attachment to remove all the grout between the tiles. Then yo can chisel out the old tiles. If you really want to get rid of all the old thinset on the wall, a grinder and grinding disc will do the trick, but it will be VERY dusty...........unless you have someone trickle water on the wall while you grinding.....in theory you should not be electrocuted (done it myself)

bgh

Postby bgh » July 5th, 2012, 4:49 pm

Re-doing my master bathroom. Removed all floor and wall tiles with a hilti and 3" chisel blade from amazon (no local vendors had that size bit).
Talk about pressure when you have 8' high wall tiles to remove.
Floor is now as smooth as if it just got plastered; left the grout on the wall.

Hilti rental, about 300 a day plus deposit. Borrowed a partner own and took a few weekends to complete.