||| The Eyewear Thread ; Glasses, Contacts, Shades |||

New_SPECIES

Re: ||| The Eyewear Thread ; Glasses, Contacts, Shades |||

Postby New_SPECIES » January 9th, 2014, 1:07 pm

Putting aside all the designers and brands etc..

Anybody seen this one around anywhere?

Was just lookin for somethin cheap for running/cricket etc..
Had one before and fit was perfect. Light-weight and served the purpose at the time.

reeshie1985

Postby reeshie1985 » January 10th, 2014, 9:38 am

ne suggestions on places in the port of spain area with cool frames?

Postby eliteauto » January 10th, 2014, 10:34 am

North shore optical St Anns

reeshie1985

Postby reeshie1985 » January 10th, 2014, 2:00 pm

already pass through there...

Postby gastly369 » January 10th, 2014, 2:11 pm

any quality z87+ safety glasses u pplz recommend
for industrial use scratch resistant anti fog and must be clear

Postby M_2NR » January 10th, 2014, 11:10 pm

New_SPECIES wrote:Putting aside all the designers and brands etc..

Anybody seen this one around anywhere?

Was just lookin for somethin cheap for running/cricket etc..
Had one before and fit was perfect. Light-weight and served the purpose at the time.
the Oakley ones to these were on sale a lot during black Friday.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 31st, 2014, 1:16 pm

FOz contacts gone up to 338 a box

Postby M_2NR » March 31st, 2014, 6:38 pm

^d hell. OT for it oui. Thanks for the heads up.

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » April 11th, 2014, 12:46 pm

where in Trinidad sells the widest range and sizes of rayban glasses frames...most ah these places have like one or two pieces and not even ne small sizes...

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » April 13th, 2014, 11:08 am

slickrick777 wrote:where in Trinidad sells the widest range and sizes of rayban glasses frames...most ah these places have like one or two pieces and not even ne small sizes...

saw a selection of frames (including about 20 ray ban and some serengeti) at an optical shop inside the courts megastore in barataria

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » April 13th, 2014, 11:53 am

snatman wrote:Been getting my glasses online for the past year or so. I have 5 pairs now, plus 4 pairs prescription sunglasses. Upload my prescription, order, wait a couple weeks.

total cost?
~$800 TT shipped
armmm $800 total for nine pairs

being doing this using zenni optical

http://www.zennioptical.com/

had my eyes checked and got a prescription locally. cost for exam and prescription $150 at visual eyes in curepe.

zenni doesn't require confirmation or approval from an optometrist. you just need to enter the correct prescription information

Screenshot 2014-04-13 11.22.52.jpg

once you've chosen your frames, you get a choice of lens (high index etc)

Screenshot 2014-04-13 11.28.29.jpg

or a choice of transition lens or sunglasses (prescription) lens

Screenshot 2014-04-13 11.34.00.jpg

and you can also get anti reflective coatings. It is possible to get basic glasses (1.50 index, no transition, no anti-reflective) for u$10 to $20.

Screenshot 2014-04-13 11.40.43.jpg

zenni accepted paypal from my local (trinidad) credit card. shipping from california to miami was u$4.95 via usps first class. total shipping from miami to trinidad via jsl speedpak was TT$40 (no customs duty).

so total cost of a pair of basic glasses is less than TT$200.

i added transitions, high index and antireflective; my pair turned out to be TT$600. they fit and look good enough and i see better with them than my previous ferreira optical glasses (probably due to the accurate prescription exam at visual eyes). however they're not as light as my old ferreira optical glasses as those were flexon. for zenni prices, you can always buy a couple spare frames for each pair of glasses..

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » April 15th, 2014, 8:02 am

Corn Bird wrote:
slickrick777 wrote:where in Trinidad sells the widest range and sizes of rayban glasses frames...most ah these places have like one or two pieces and not even ne small sizes...

saw a selection of frames (including about 20 ray ban and some serengeti) at an optical shop inside the courts megastore in barataria

ok kool man will check it out..thanks!

`psycho

Postby `psycho » April 15th, 2014, 10:25 am

Does anyone in TT sell Tag Heuer Frames ???? Amazon has them for about US200, but I want to try them on first before purchasing online.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » April 15th, 2014, 11:02 am

JoKeR1980 wrote:thanks for the suggestions

been looking at this one

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00307 ... 00_s00_i00

I got one of these recently.
Works really nice for driving.
The polarized lenses help out greatly with the glare.

Also have a pair of Dirty Dog sunglasses that aren't polarized. There really is a big difference when you compare polarized vs non-polarized.

These are what I use for glasses:
143954820023[1].JPG
Current glasses

Got them about 18 months ago. Took Transitions and the Super Nova coating.

I was reading about the Crizal. Does anyone know how it compares to the (Super) Nova from VO?

Postby S_2NR » April 15th, 2014, 9:38 pm

super nova? wtf is that? :lol:

godson692

Postby godson692 » April 15th, 2014, 10:04 pm

hey guys. i have an orginal versace shades i was given as a gift but its not my style. someone wanna take it off my hands ? Image

kevinknr

Postby kevinknr » January 12th, 2015, 7:51 pm

Anyone ever buy from glasses2go.com or bestnewglasses.com? In fact are any of these sites trustworthy at all?

OT has a nice Perry Ellis frame for 1650. The same frame is being sold on those two websites for -$100 usd

Postby Gem_in_i » January 12th, 2015, 10:28 pm

`psycho wrote:Does anyone in TT sell Tag Heuer Frames ???? Amazon has them for about US200, but I want to try them on first before purchasing online.

Place near food court, opposite KISS in Gulf City.

kevinknr

Postby kevinknr » February 24th, 2015, 9:44 pm

Any opinions on Courts Optical? And anyone know what AR they use?

cheese

Postby cheese » June 4th, 2015, 10:30 pm

Has anyone ever bought contact lenses from http://www.daysoftcontactlenses.com?
Prices are very tempting.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 5th, 2015, 3:29 am

Nice prices....i cant switch brands though

Postby Trini Hookah » June 5th, 2015, 5:49 pm

Getting my trials from Ferreira tomorrow, excited yet nervous to be poking around my eyes.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 6th, 2015, 1:26 am

Have fun........you won't regret the decision

Postby mitsu_chick941 » June 10th, 2015, 7:45 am

Trini Hookah wrote:Getting my trials from Ferreira tomorrow, excited yet nervous to be poking around my eyes.

got mine last 2 mths, catch meh a$$ to put them in at first. Its really great for social occasions, very glad i got them.

Postby S_2NR » May 18th, 2016, 1:11 pm

So.. Ferriera is not carrying Silhouette frames anymore. Any other optician carry these frames or do I need to buy glasses abroad from now?
Would prefer buy glasses locally due to warranty but would buy abroad if I have no choice. Optometrist today does not have either.

Postby X_Factor » September 19th, 2016, 4:44 pm

https://www.facebook.com/CollegeHumor/v ... nref=story

good thing i never really cared for stush brand glasses

JF.K

Postby JF.K » May 23rd, 2018, 5:20 pm

Ferriera said they not selling Oakley Glasses Frames anymore..
They are pushing this Brian Lara line and their own line...
Most of the designer options are really horrible thick framed designs.
They said, "That's what people wearing now so that's what we selling..."

I'm having trouble finding a variety of designer frames locally.
Can anyone give recommendations?

Postby X_Factor » May 25th, 2018, 1:36 pm

if u currently wear glasses just search the size online and get one...I got a prada on amazon for 130usd

Emmar01

Postby Emmar01 » July 25th, 2020, 7:22 pm

Anyone tried getting laser eye surgery in Trinidad? If so, who would you recommend and what's a rough cost for both eyes?

Postby maj. tom » July 25th, 2020, 7:54 pm

A consultation with an optometrist is probably the best place to get the correct and detailed info on this. Will probably even refer you to a LASIK ophthalmologist if you so desire.

Because there are pros and cons. And the cons should be noted because when they laser ablate your cornea layer it never coming back. And it's not guaranteed to give you 20/20 vision at the end, nor does it compensate for needing to wear reading glasses when you are older.

Precision in St. Augustine is one place.
Advanced Vision in Maraval.
Caribbean Eye Institute in Valsayn.