kurpal_v2 wrote:
foss wrote:i ate that in tobago once. wasn't a nice experience. :|

wait what you talking bout? :|

Re: What is this? Can I eat it?

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 17th, 2012, 12:24 pm

My position remains the same on the topic then.

neoise

Postby neoise » July 17th, 2012, 1:48 pm

Looks like you could make a plum chow outa dat and kill somebody easy.

Postby Bizzare » July 17th, 2012, 1:54 pm

xtech wrote:When i was small kid I took a nibble of that fruit down Los Iros. did not bite of a piece to chew...just bit into it to get a taste cause it smelled so good.

Taste was not bad at all. But I still spat it out to be safe

About 5 mins later my throat felt like I ate slight pepper. My mouth was ok but my throat burned. No amount of fluids would ease it.

About 15-30mins later I was ok

cool story, glad you're here with us today

[mycoolstory]wen i was in primary school, me and three other friends ate a cone shaped fruit. The inside is sorta like five finger. it's greenish/yellowish in color on the outside and the texture is like five finger too. We all got sick for approx 1 week.[/mycoolstory]

Postby shogun » July 17th, 2012, 2:34 pm

Habit7 wrote:never eat weird fruits!

Postby Ted_v2 » July 17th, 2012, 2:42 pm

shogun wrote:
Habit7 wrote:never eat weird fruits!

moving

Postby moving » July 17th, 2012, 3:51 pm

dat same plant does be on grafton beach in tobago... they say the fruit burns the skin really bad ...

big warning signs everywhere... eat dat and ya dead..

dont eat randomn things..goes for gyual too

Postby shogun » July 17th, 2012, 4:10 pm

"Burning the tree may cause blindness if the smoke reaches the eyes"

n.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manchineel

That's one fcuked up tree.

Postby nervewrecker » July 17th, 2012, 4:15 pm

I want a tree jed....

Postby UML » July 17th, 2012, 9:15 pm

cinco wrote:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manchineel
it will kill you

dont eat!!!

read about this in the newspapers this week..letter to the editor

Steer clear of this forbidden fruit

Story Created: Jul 13, 2012 at 11:01 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jul 13, 2012 at 11:01 PM ECT

THE July-August vacation period is upon us and many will opt to vacation on the beautiful sister isle of Tobago. However, while enjoying the paradise of Tobago please beware of the "forbidden fruit found in Tobago".

When visiting Tobago beaches there is a tree known as the manchineel tree which bears a small green "fruit" that is commonly mistaken by most for another fruit commonly known as "dongs".

This manchineel tree and its fruit are very dangerous. They carry toxins and if touched or ingested will cause severe harm. The manchineel tree and the fruit produces a milky white sap which contains phorbol and other skin irritants which can cause strong allergic reactions such as blistering of the skin and blindness if the fruit is touched and subsequent contact is made with the eyes or face.

The fruit is said to be possibly fatal if eaten, ingestion may produce severe gastroenteritis with bleeding and the potential for airway compromise due to edema.

On some beaches in Tobago such as "Swallows" located just before Pigeon Point, signs are placed on the manchineel trees stating "Do not touch".

However, there are other beaches in Tobago such as Black Rock where there are no signs of warning on the tree and the fruit is exposed on the sand and also seen floating in the water. The manchineel tree can be found on most beaches in Tobago. It provides excellent natural windbreaks and its roots stabilise the sand, thus helping to prevent beach erosion.

My family recently visited Tobago and my parents ingested this fruit, mistaking it for "dongs". Special thanks to Rose Anthony and her son Marvin from Mt Irvine who informed us of the fruit's danger and told to go to the hospital immediately. I would also like to sincerely thank the nurses and Dr Chitehike Ejeagwu of Scarborough Hospital, who was on duty on June 30 for such wonderful and professional service. Treatment was given immediately to my parents and the nurses and Dr Ejeagwu was most friendly and accommodating.

I urge proper signage for manchineel trees located on public areas and beaches, marking them as dangerous and clearly stating "Do not touch" and/or restriction barriers placed around the trees if possible.

Additionally, it is recommended that an infomercial on the tree and the fruit be broadcast through the media and on the advertising video featuring Tobago which is shown on the ferry.

Maria Boodoo

Cumuto
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/letters/ ... 38846.html

mannh01

Postby mannh01 » July 17th, 2012, 9:24 pm

if animals refuse it then it not safe, may be poisonous to humans............ just saying, if it was me i woulda left it alone.......

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 17th, 2012, 9:49 pm

nervewrecker wrote:I want a tree jed....

ditto

dan80

Postby dan80 » July 17th, 2012, 10:36 pm

OP yuh shuda plant it. A lil sumn for trespassers na, yuh kno?!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 17th, 2012, 10:42 pm

it will kill you

there are alot of this in tobago.....signs on the tress clearly states do not touch.....far less eat it,,,,

it suppose to kill ya but what the heck op......give it a try......

Postby Hook » July 17th, 2012, 10:46 pm

If u plant a tree, fully well knowing that ppl will mistake it for "dongs", and somebody dies...do you get charged for murder?

Postby rollingstock » July 17th, 2012, 10:48 pm

If it's on your property, and especially if it is fenced, and in a commission of an offence (larceny fruits) they die, just hope you find them before they bloat and smell, phoq the police!

Postby Bizzare » July 17th, 2012, 10:49 pm

manslaughter i guess

Postby rollingstock » July 17th, 2012, 10:52 pm

^ No offence, Accidental Death.
How are they gonna prove 'intent'
Is either yuh stupid to tell the police that or go running your mouth all over teh place making potential witnesses.

Postby Bizzare » July 17th, 2012, 10:58 pm

ohhgoarrr yuh know i jus BSing..... If ah man come in my yard and drink gramoxone yuh feel i go be charged :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » July 17th, 2012, 11:03 pm

I fraid for my dogs, cant have it in the yard.

I would throw seed where those guys keep their drugs in hope to rid the area of some of them when the trees grow. I cant do it cuz my neighbor is a tuner and any mention of me and the introduction of this plant in the area will result in a lot of new holes in my house and maybe me too :angel:
Last edited by nervewrecker on July 17th, 2012, 11:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Pre

Postby Pre » July 17th, 2012, 11:04 pm

well anybody having problems with ppl stealing their dongs know what to do. Plant one ah dis in between

Postby Hook » July 18th, 2012, 7:04 am

Stock, even if u KNOW it's not a dongs tree b4 u plant it?
Methinx I remember an incident where two rotts on a property killed a thief, was the owner culpable?

What if there ARE real dongs trees on the property and this impostor? The leaves are different, so by comparison u can't NOT know it's not dongs.

Postby rollingstock » July 18th, 2012, 7:14 am

To show culpability it must be proved that it was done intentionally (pre-meditated) which is difficult, and/or recklessness, but once you have taken precautions to prevent same, eg. a fence/wall/signs you have no problem, it means that anyone becoming a victim is by their own volition.

Postby cinco » July 18th, 2012, 7:14 am

fellas
this tree grows on the waterline by the ocean do you think it would be that easy to grow inland?

Postby Morpheus » July 18th, 2012, 7:19 am

CBR wrote:After reading the WIKI, go back down the islands and cut down dah f in tree dred. you were tempted, next person might want to make chow with it :shock:

You missed the part where it endangered? Why dont we just mark off the trees like everywhere else so stupid people will not go near it? But then again....survival of the fittest.

^^Tell that to Eve :roll: .................................................... :drinking:

Postby shogun » July 18th, 2012, 9:01 am

They should really try to "chupid proof" it a bit, by marking/painting it with red paint.

Rx

Postby Rx » July 18th, 2012, 9:05 am

frick dat .. eat it and lets know how it turned out.

Seriously.. it looking like dunks

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 18th, 2012, 12:52 pm

it will kill you

This refers to the fact that manchineel is one of the most poisonous trees in the world.

D: