Re: Gaming Headsets & Audiophile Headphones Thread

Postby ismithx » May 15th, 2014, 3:34 am

they're pretty great. you'll also love the cables

Postby DVSTT » May 16th, 2014, 7:17 am

Hoping they last and are durable enough to use when I go running. I've seen some negative reviews with respect to their durability so I hope they stepped up quality.

Postby M_2NR » May 27th, 2014, 5:23 pm

I had some sennheiser earbuds (CX 281) that gave way and had to replace them. I saw "Skullcandy Supreme Sound Riff" on sale and my word... the bass is insane. A bit too boomy at times but if you like this sort of bass, get it. I think I got a headache. I'll see how it performs once it breaks in but so far.. mids and highs are crap.

Postby ismithx » May 27th, 2014, 5:38 pm

smh..... clarity > bass. once you make the change you'll never wanna go back

Postby DVSTT » May 30th, 2014, 10:16 am

ismithx wrote:smh..... clarity > bass. once you make the change you'll never wanna go back

X2......

Postby M_2NR » May 31st, 2014, 10:27 am

The info was for anyone wishing to buy those budget headphones and what to expect.

casper

Postby casper » June 3rd, 2014, 4:02 pm

still havent come across the extra cash to get me a pair of the Grado SR325is as yet but its definately next in my to get list.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » June 4th, 2014, 1:25 am

Selling my Ultrasone Pro 550 if anyone interested

Postby DVSTT » June 4th, 2014, 4:29 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:Selling my Ultrasone Pro 550 if anyone interested

Interesting :)

Postby DVSTT » June 9th, 2014, 8:58 am

Impressive Performance
1402318629917.jpg

Postby ismithx » June 9th, 2014, 1:20 pm

ahhhhh.... yuh get it

Postby DVSTT » June 9th, 2014, 6:06 pm

Yes bro. Good audio on the go now

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » June 9th, 2014, 6:50 pm

Anybody ever deal up in this brand?

http://v-moda.com/over-ear/

Postby DVSTT » June 9th, 2014, 7:06 pm

Those supposed to be good, more bass head oriented AFAIK

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » June 9th, 2014, 11:23 pm

fouljuice wrote:Anybody ever deal up in this brand?

Bro those are some fugly headphones

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 14th, 2014, 2:15 pm

This might sound like sacrilege. .. but does anyone have experience with simulated surround sound software and can recommend any.
Also does anyone have a 5.1 or 7.1 headset and can share their experiences as regards gaming and listening to music
Kindest Regards

Postby meccalli » June 14th, 2014, 6:46 pm

You have 2 ears not 7, true stereo is surround sound, refer to binaural concepts.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 14th, 2014, 7:16 pm

I understand that but there is something about separating frequencies and playing them from different locations that makes it sound better to me....

Postby meccalli » June 14th, 2014, 7:21 pm

That's simulated via echoes, if you have a pair of cans with an excellent soundstage, you won't need inaccurate simulation, simulated 7.1 is very bad for gaming, think about it as how you use your ears in the environment and perceive directional sound in real time. When you have to process and split off particular bandwidths to directional sounds, its rather deceptive although it may give you the false perception of hearing something more clearly when its just an effect.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 14th, 2014, 7:55 pm

Any suggestions for cans with a good soundstage... Currently using a Sony mdr-v6. The effect i'm aiming for was after listening to the factory sound system in an audi... It appears to sound better but I'm not sure if it's because of boosted frequencies, sound separation or a bit of both.(probably better quality)
I love my mdr. .. but what would be the next step up. ..

Postby meccalli » June 14th, 2014, 9:01 pm

get something good and done, medium range stuff from brands like sennheiser and audio technica are excellent stuff, i particularly am fond of grado and audio technica.

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 14th, 2014, 9:31 pm

Decent bass. Have a look at Marques Brownie's unboxing of one of their products

iM@st@1 wrote:

Bro those are some fugly headphones

I doubt :oops:

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » June 14th, 2014, 10:54 pm

kamakazi wrote:Any suggestions for cans with a good soundstage... Currently using a Sony mdr-v6. The effect i'm aiming for was after listening to the factory sound system in an audi... It appears to sound better but I'm not sure if it's because of boosted frequencies, sound separation or a bit of both.(probably better quality)
I love my mdr. .. but what would be the next step up. ..

You could also check out the beyerdynamic dt990 pro, my upgrade from my ultrasones.

Can't give my personal review yet as I still waiting for them to arrive. But they're highly praised as one of the best sounding pair of cans.

rephobby

Postby rephobby » July 21st, 2014, 1:10 pm

Does anyone know where in Trinidad has beats studio/executive (wireless) headphones for a reasonable price?

An by reasonable I mean close to actual price of the product

Postby 16 cycles » July 21st, 2014, 1:18 pm

anyone using a DAC for headphone listening?

rephobby

Postby rephobby » July 21st, 2014, 1:31 pm

Does anyone know where in Trinidad has beats studio/executive (wireless) headphones for a reasonable price?

An by reasonable I mean close to actual price of the product

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » July 21st, 2014, 6:12 pm

You come in an audiophile thread to ask about that sheit.....

Postby DVSTT » July 21st, 2014, 6:40 pm

kerwinishere wrote:You come in an audiophile thread to ask about that sheit.....

Don't be stupid, there are millions of other options cheaper than beats and with better sound quality.

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » July 21st, 2014, 7:17 pm

I have a beats pro and I don't even walk with the cord....just wear it

If you want I have selected three wireless headphones I have demoed and for the Sony, owned.

ImageImage

You look like you have money to burn so if you buying expensive sheit at least by good expensive sheit and go with Bose.
Bose>All

Postby DVSTT » July 21st, 2014, 7:39 pm

ATH M50X FTW!!!!!!