Toyota 86 has arrived

Re: Toyota 86 has arrived

Postby pete » July 29th, 2012, 8:14 am

From the Toyota website, 2Litre Boxer 4 cylinder producing 147kW (197bhp)

Postby RBphoto » July 29th, 2012, 8:24 am

http://www.topgear.com/uk/toyota/gt-86/road-test/driven

Yes, google was my friend. Looks nice. For a non-turbo, I think they wrung out what they could from a 4 banger.

geodude

Postby geodude » July 29th, 2012, 9:12 am

pete wrote:From the Toyota website, 2Litre Boxer 4 cylinder producing 147kW (197bhp)

from a non turbo :shock: sweet!!!!!
watches mazda in garage 8-)..... :(... :idea: .... :| ......... :) ..... :D ...... :lol: .......
:twisted:

Postby DFC » July 29th, 2012, 9:47 am

Seebalack in Penal have a new Yellow Toyota Fj Cruiser
looks real nice.

Postby Stephon. » July 29th, 2012, 10:00 am

The seats and the interior doors mostly looks a lot like another brand of vehicles. I won't mention the vehicle brand because peple would think I'm taking a piss so I'd let people judge for themselves.

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » July 29th, 2012, 7:51 pm

Nice. TTTL imported or private?

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » July 29th, 2012, 8:06 pm

FourG63 97GST wrote:I like them, but it need more power, ill watch them till then

Indeed, need moar power. But I love how they look.

2JZ swap anyone? ;p

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » July 29th, 2012, 8:11 pm

bonzo.specb wrote:
FourG63 97GST wrote:I like them, but it need more power, ill watch them till then

Indeed, need moar power. But I love how they look.

2JZ swap anyone? ;p

hmm prefer the 2JZ in this

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » July 29th, 2012, 8:15 pm

Fredrick aasbo put a 2jz in one already. It's on speedhunters

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » July 29th, 2012, 8:22 pm

this was supposed to be the return of the sports car for the every-man right? If the priced noted in this thread ($379k) is true, TTTL could keep it yes, RORO for it :lol: 0X

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » July 29th, 2012, 8:23 pm

this was supposed to be the return of the sports car for the every-man right? If the priced noted in this thread ($379k) is true, TTTL could keep it yes, RORO for it :lol: 0X

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » July 29th, 2012, 8:24 pm

:shock: @ Jeevdude

paparazzi wrote:Fredrick aasbo put a 2jz in one already. It's on speedhunters

Yup, saw it. Definitely a beast.

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » July 29th, 2012, 9:24 pm

I'm really digging this car.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » July 29th, 2012, 9:38 pm

Yep. INteresting fact, the engine uses both port and direct injection....one of Toyota's new technology inputs into the FA20 Subaru boxer.

See the tuner "BRZ/FT-86" thread here....posted some articles and reviews some time aback:

viewtopic.php?f=25&t=403386&hilit=BRZ&start=30

Lovely car, I wonder if it's auto or manual?

I may be mistaken, but I think one of those magazine reviews stated that even the 6 speed auto is quiote good, and does "rev matched" downshifts in tiptronic mode.

Postby Les Bain » July 29th, 2012, 9:46 pm

tourniquet wrote:this was supposed to be the return of the sports car for the every-man right? If the priced noted in this thread ($379k) is true, TTTL could keep it yes, RORO for it :lol: 0X

Was waiting to see how Toyota would spoil it. There you go TTTL.

Does anybody know the difference between the Toyota and Scion versions of this car? Cheaper interior on the Scion? Titanium Badges on the Toyota?

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » July 29th, 2012, 10:04 pm

Is 379 really that bad a price? In sure when you factor in cif, duties and mvt it's not that much more than bringing in one yourself

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 29th, 2012, 10:04 pm

lookin good....must get me more money! just saying....

Postby Monk BANzai » July 29th, 2012, 10:09 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 29th, 2012, 11:00 pm

paparazzi wrote:Is 379 really that bad a price? In sure when you factor in cif, duties and mvt it's not that much more than bringing in one yourself

Lil' local industry insight: other dealerships think its a low price in T&T for the GT-86. They expected Toyota to sell it between 400-440.

In other news N&M probably won't get the BRZ till 2014. I suspect it will get here RORO from Japan before the Subaru dealership here brings it.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 29th, 2012, 11:15 pm

Les Bain wrote:
Does anybody know the difference between the Toyota and Scion versions of this car? Cheaper interior on the Scion? Titanium Badges on the Toyota?
this shows the fifference between the BRZ and the FR-S. Apprently they handle differently due to different shock and spring setups.

http://www.caranddriver.com/features/20 ... edirect=no

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » July 29th, 2012, 11:21 pm

paparazzi wrote:Is 379 really that bad a price? In sure when you factor in cif, duties and mvt it's not that much more than bringing in one yourself

Lil' local industry insight: other dealerships think its a low price in T&T for the GT-86. They expected Toyota to sell it between 400-440.

In other news N&M probably won't get the BRZ till 2014. I suspect it will get here RORO from Japan before the Subaru dealership here brings it.

Estimated price is what?
The us price is just around 25k or so as a comparison.

Postby Stephon. » July 29th, 2012, 11:23 pm

Car is growing on me tbh

Postby Monk BANzai » July 29th, 2012, 11:28 pm

Stephon. wrote:Car is growing on me tbh

Yup. More than this..

may not be the same class vehicle...but for a new model...im liking the 86....

Postby foss » July 29th, 2012, 11:30 pm

no LF-A no care.

kidding.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 29th, 2012, 11:49 pm

Garrett Inside wrote:

Estimated price is what?
The us price is just around 25k or so as a comparison.

estimated price of what?

Someone quoted the TTTL price of 379

FourG63 97GST

Postby FourG63 97GST » July 30th, 2012, 12:26 am

The car is not for everyone, it's not the fastest, is for those who likes the basics of driving.
but i'm hoping the aftermarket runs with it and figure out the power situation.

good video to understand it, shows the development and the mindset designing it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cQ0sDiL87eE

JWT

Postby JWT » July 30th, 2012, 12:51 am

drop in an STI engine diff and gearbox yuh in d game.

Postby MG Man » July 30th, 2012, 8:04 am

S_2NR wrote:subaru brz pwns this tho

arooo?

Postby RBphoto » July 30th, 2012, 8:32 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Image

Dfack that beyotch blocking the view of the engine for :x

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » July 30th, 2012, 8:49 am

JWT wrote:drop in an STI engine diff and gearbox yuh in d game.

ken gushi is driving a greddy built one with an ej20 in it I believe