WTK where to safely dispose of old PC parts

Mr. Wheeler

WTK where to safely dispose of old PC parts

Postby Mr. Wheeler » July 30th, 2012, 5:22 pm

After 20 years in IT I'm looking to move out of my family home....problem is most of my PC stuff collected are either woefully obsolete or just plain unusable....A myriad of cords...rusty PC cases...old burnt out PSU's etc. Was wondering are there any recycling of PC parts done locally...some of which are toxic to the environment....

P.S. I should organize a small Garage sale.....in case people want to buy some things reeeel cheap.

tourniquet

Re: WTK where to safely dispose of old PC parts

Postby tourniquet » July 30th, 2012, 5:31 pm

garage sale sounds good, but might end up being more of a PITA than anything :lol:
As for disposal....
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=electronics+disposal+trinidad

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 30th, 2012, 5:35 pm

I tend to go to those indian entertainment shows at places like Samar Entertainment Centre, look for a a pickup truck and then throw rubbish like that, and old tyres, in the open tray. Those indo-trinidadians when they come out of those places are just too drunk to notice.

But I am responsible to ensure that none of the stuff projects above the top of the tray, and if I have some old rope lying around, I tie the stuff down in the tray with the rope and the tray hooks. No one really questions anyone that they see tying down stuff in a pickup truck tray.

Postby brams112 » July 30th, 2012, 5:38 pm

So you is the man that does cause them indian and them to litter the road when they leaving samar dred?lol,isin't there a place somewhere in a thread that said about a recycling place for pc parts?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 30th, 2012, 7:33 pm

beetham.....

them fellas would really like some desktops up there.....

Postby Bizzare » July 30th, 2012, 8:02 pm

If u got any in these I'll take it... or anyone else who wants to get rid of one

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 31st, 2012, 3:04 am

where u located?

and what you have so?

any GTX 680's to fling away by chance?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 31st, 2012, 3:58 am

Dash it way pon d Beetham

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 31st, 2012, 4:44 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Dash it way pon d Beetham

BH would not be pleased....but then again......is beetham...

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 31st, 2012, 10:45 pm

Bon he :oops:
*hides*

Postby Sky » July 31st, 2012, 10:53 pm

I'm thinking about giving to society in the form of IT.
I was looking at spending a couple hrs on Saturdays with the Cyril Ross home and teaching the kids how to build PC's. Those kids just suck up info. I have a 7 year old here who gonna buy his own heatsink and fan and build a pc from parts I gave him.
Anyway, if you have any mobo/cpu/ram combo that works, fling it my way please. Nothing fast. Once win98/95 could Install. <6GB HDD's also welcome. I won't need much cases as I can setup without one and more of them would see at a time anyway.
So seriously, if you have, please give. I think doing that for those kids will be a step forward for IT (I hope).

Crazymofo

Postby Crazymofo » July 31st, 2012, 11:05 pm

^^I cleaning up right now. Will call you.

Insomniac

Postby Insomniac » August 1st, 2012, 10:40 pm

My advice to you would be to reuse what you can or simply give it away, your junk may be another man's treasure. Then you can start looking into recycling. There are a couple companies around that does this. These items would be classed as hazardous substances though, so you should try to ensure they don't end up in a dump.
You can check Lucky 8 Recycling or Piranha.

Postby S_2NR » August 1st, 2012, 10:42 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:beetham.....

make sure to have a getaway car ready

Postby nervewrecker » August 1st, 2012, 10:46 pm

Where you located? I looking for a couple of 12V fans....got any?

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » August 3rd, 2012, 8:28 am

THE EWASTE COMPANY LTD
640-3217
ewastett@gmail.com

"DISPOSAL OF COMPUTER AND ELECTRONIC WASTE"

(No I don't work for them)

Mr. Wheeler

Postby Mr. Wheeler » August 14th, 2012, 4:23 pm

turbo_beast369 wrote:THE EWASTE COMPANY LTD
640-3217
ewastett@gmail.com

This makes sense...i doh really want to go to landfilling....may call a garage sale.....but not just for IT stuff....

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » July 22nd, 2017, 6:20 pm

Has anyone successfully disposed of electronic waste using any company?

I have a stereo, lcd tv , pc and crt monitor to dispose off.

The monitor is in good working condition....the tv needs repair....only half the screen shows.

android79

Postby android79 » July 23rd, 2017, 1:18 am

turbo_beast369 wrote:THE EWASTE COMPANY LTD
640-3217
ewastett@gmail.com

is there a cost for this?

Postby ronsin1 » July 23rd, 2017, 6:08 am

We have used this company in the past http://www.piranhatt.com they seems to be very competent on the disposals of ewaste. As out IT department always recommends then