Re: 2012 Corolla vs 2012 Elantra

Postby rocknrolla » May 15th, 2013, 12:47 pm

thread derailed... hummer ftw! bmw anything is boss too lmao

Postby pete » May 15th, 2013, 3:38 pm

How come the corolla only had 1/2 quart of oil in it though?

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » May 15th, 2013, 6:11 pm

Cus it was burning oil or had a bad oil leak. Only logical explanation.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 15th, 2013, 9:43 pm

Pablo660 wrote:I bought my nze and sold for same price after 5 years appox, try that with any hyundai

People who buy Toyota are not very smart. First you selling the Hyundai to buy the Toyota, and then the person who obviously overpaid you for a used Toyota.

Follow the manufacturer's service schedule and the car should last a lifetime.

Real Toyota men feelings getting hurt in this thread.

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » May 16th, 2013, 2:01 pm

The only non smart people are those who still believe Hyundai can ever meet up to a Toyota
Jus saying

Postby MG Man » May 16th, 2013, 2:03 pm

Pablo660 wrote:The only non smart people are those who still believe Hyundai can ever meet up to a Toyota
Jus saying

meet up a toyota in terms of what, exactly?

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » May 16th, 2013, 2:04 pm

And I did meet all the manufacturing times for all my Hyundai but the old saying still applies
" cheap thing no good and good thing not cheap"
You never had horror stories with Hyundai cause u get lucky and I agree some people get lucky and those are the Hyundai keeps Hyundai alive

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 16th, 2013, 2:05 pm

Pablo660 wrote:The only non smart people are those who still believe Hyundai can ever meet up to a Toyota
Jus saying

Nuh really, Hyundai surpassed Toyota in the interior department IMO

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 16th, 2013, 2:05 pm

I just doh get the fanboyisum and ppl still believe a Toyota is the bess car out there dred...

in this day and age? you go still believe no other car is just as reliable? I agree back in the eighties and early 90's but in 2013?

nah hoss
you still believe ppl keep their virginity till marriage, don't you?

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » May 16th, 2013, 2:06 pm

Wish I got one of those Hyundais

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 16th, 2013, 2:12 pm

Toyota Corolla MSRP $16,230 - $19,060
Hyundai Elantra MSRP $16,965 - $21,115

www.auto.yahoo.com

so I doh understand the cheap thing no good comment?

u can't look at local prices as we can all agree unanimously Toyota jacks up prices ridiculously.

http://www.thecarconnection.com/news/10 ... mpare-cars
simple review

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » May 16th, 2013, 2:13 pm

The idea is consistency between both models don't forgot this topic is to help some one buy an elantra or Toyota 2013
So people keep it constructive, I express my disappointment in Hyundai and satisfaction in Toyota because I have had experience in both models
Reliability , dependability, cost, serviceability, replacement parts etc
And for resale when the time comes
My 2 cents

Postby MG Man » May 16th, 2013, 2:14 pm

I had a PBH accent which I used to abuse, and never had a single issue with it...........for a $110k car, the quality was decent, and 100% reliable...and that was in 2001..............imagine where they are now!

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » May 16th, 2013, 2:16 pm

Have u ever realy checked out the built, buy parts for both, what breaks of both
I'm not talking of the money u going to put out
But good info on recent prices though
Didn't realize both so expensive

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » May 16th, 2013, 2:20 pm

Wow that's good to hear
I had prob the first few y2ks in trinidad, also 2001 elantra wagon was the BEST, the funny grill sonata all local, tried every thing with that transmission 7 k every time horror stories with sonata and accent
Elantra actually no major problems

Postby gastly369 » May 16th, 2013, 2:51 pm

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 16th, 2013, 4:18 pm

MG Man wrote:I had a PBH accent which I used to abuse, and never had a single issue with it...........for a $110k car, the quality was decent, and 100% reliable...and that was in 2001..............imagine where they are now!

Older doesn't exactly mean wiser eh

Eg: cinco

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » May 16th, 2013, 4:22 pm

MG Man wrote:I had a PBH accent which I used to abuse, and never had a single issue with it...........for a $110k car, the quality was decent, and 100% reliable...and that was in 2001..............imagine where they are now!

Seriously where are those accents now ??? .... i'm thinking not much are road worthy ... as opposed to 2001 corollas most are still on the road 8-)

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 16th, 2013, 4:50 pm

The 1996 Hyundai Accent that I drove for 10 years and 343,000km is still going strong on the road today. The new owner does the same thing that I did with it, that is, follow the manufacturer's maintenance schedule.

The 2006 Hyundai Coupe that I bought new from N&M is still going strong right now. It just needs a buff and polish.

Too much Toyota fanboyism in this thread.

Postby cinco » May 16th, 2013, 5:37 pm

I for one enjoy fan boys amd stupid ppl. They keep the price low on used kias and hyundais so i can buy them for small money amd drive them till they die

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » May 16th, 2013, 5:43 pm

Another thing people have to realize is that the early years of hyundai they were not so "good". They had a stigma of having cheap, unreliable, boring cars,(something like what toyota is now) and because of that, they didnt sell as well as toyota, honda, nissan etc. and the fact that it was a Korean manufacturer didnt help their sales.
Somehow they managed to stay afloat despite the negativity they received over the years and transformed themselves drastically into what we see now.
How i see it, any car company that is willing to step out of their comfort zone and reinvent themselves thoroughly from the ground up is worth a serious look at.
Toyota never really made exciting cars except for the few in last 2 decades and all they really and truly bring to the table is reliability, dependability,and resale value. Nothing else, and the truth is a lot of manufactures have all 3 now.
How well the new offerings from the Koreans will hold up is yet to be seen, but according the numbers Hyundai/Kia aren't doing too shabby.

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » May 16th, 2013, 10:05 pm

a Honda civic drives by this ched and spashes water on it..... 8-)

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 17th, 2013, 11:23 am

fanboys have a limited outlook on things in general. Once they believe something is the truth automatically everything else is a lie or aint worth it. It's a mental disorder. That is why the local trinituner mazda fanboy is soo stupid and they demonstrate the same behavior as the Toyota fanboys in this thread. Same can be said for the Nissan and Honda crew although I've seen more maturity lately from them.

I guess it boils down to pride. Some believe if they own a Suzuki for example, that brand is automatically the best thing since kiss slice bread.

Despite owning a VW and an Audi it may appear that I am a satisfied VW-Group customer and yes I am however I will always say those older PBE and PBM audi a4's were real nonsense like the older pbh passats and boras.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 17th, 2013, 11:56 am

^^^Put a review of yuh new audi in a thread or d new car thread nah. I want to know what I missing out on in an A4.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 17th, 2013, 11:59 am

9 pages & counting

ppl still beatin up eh , is ur $ so buy what u like & forget what other ppl think .... :|

Postby MG Man » May 17th, 2013, 12:16 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:

Seriously where are those accents now ??? .... i'm thinking not much are road worthy ... as opposed to 2001 corollas most are still on the road 8-)

resale values, lack of foreign-used parts support etc contributed to their demise
The one I used to beat is still on the road tho :-p
Compared to the same year corolla, the Accent I drove came with fogs, rear windscreen wiper, lumbar adjustment on the driver seat, much more useful interior layout (including cup and bottle holders, very useful when u work on the road) and alloy rims
Nobody is disputing toyota makes reliable cars, but in today's world so does everyone else, particularly Hyundai / Kia

Postby sliderz1 » May 17th, 2013, 1:01 pm

the only thing more headstrong than a Toyota fanboy is an Euro fanboy

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 17th, 2013, 1:11 pm

sliderz1 wrote:the only thing more headstrong than a Toyota fanboy is an Euro fanboy

:popcorn:

Terran

Postby Terran » May 17th, 2013, 10:01 pm

Well, I must say, this thread has been informative and entertaining somewhat. Thanks to a lot of experienced drivers and owners right here, I think the average buyer can make a relatively informed decision.

Personally, I own 2 Toyotas. They are all I have ever owned, but I have driven lots of other makes and models. I bought my first car - a 1998 Tercel - new from Toyota Trinidad. Around that time, it was marginally more expensive than competitor cars in its class. Also, it was a time when a lot of my other friends bought new cars of different makes, and we all engaged in comparisons about who got value for money. For a very long time, I always felt I made a bad choice because my Tercel simply didn't come with all the goodies the other cars had. The Lancer had great economy and a body kit with fog lights. The Mazda 323 came with EFI and more power. Honda Civic had a completely customizable car and an advanced system (VTEC) and tons of aftermarket support and lots of guys put pretty pink and green neon lights on them. Wow. So I believed my little Tercel was fairly shitty in comparison. Time will prove otherwise.

As each dealership collated data and findings of their competitor brands, I learned that they did so not just to study how advanced the other brand had developed, but to determine strengths and weaknesses opposed to their own. This is what they use to emphasise their own vehicle's strengths about what made a Tercel a better car for me, rather than a Lancer. It suit my needs. For as long as I can remember, all or most other brands came with more toys and gadgets than most basic Toyotas, so there is a great deal of the argument in this thread that I've had with my friends about their cars 14-15 years ago. The trend is no different here now. Quite frankly, I'm very ashamed to see that the brand I will still choose to this day is using cigarette lighters, cup and bottle holders on doors as a marketing tool in this day and age. I guess nothing much has changed over the years. But what I know is that while each brand stripped down competitor models to determine each build's strength and weaknesses, Toyota emerged at the top in most instances for quality, economy, superiority, safety, durability, interchangeability of parts and reliability. In some way, I can relate this to the 'legendary reliability' that some of you are throwing back at toyota2nr because it is my opinion that Toyota made this and continues to make this their forte. Undoubtedly, others will catch up and they have. They too have stripped down Toyotas to see what they did and if they can do it as good or better. I also believe that they are the ones who have listened to their consumers and given them what they want. USB radios. Volume controls on the steering wheel. Reverse cameras. Etc, etc, etc. It comes down to your needs. I don't need USB, I hardly listen to music in my car. I love the sound of my engine and exhaust with my old VVT engine screaming at 8000rpm. I don't want controls on my steering wheel, just the horn is fine. And I don't or have ever had need for a reverse camera, I am a damned good judge of distance and use my mirrors properly. They sound like nice accessories to have, but I have always managed without them and I am not in the market for a new car now. My 91 Corolla (2nd car) made some dude in a Teanna wonder why he spent all that money for all that car and power and cannot outrun a smaller, older car. Maybe the gadgets were more important to him. To me, I have what I need and what I love the most - reliability and some driving fun. So, I don't think it's necessary to highlight all that Toyota does not have in comparison to the new Elantra - which to me, looks very attractive. If it can survive the test of time beyond its predecessors is left to be seen - and those did not fair too well now, did they? I am very certain they have made significant improvements with the evolution of technology. My old man drives an Audi A4 and he does not know it has a turbo or what 'quattro' means. He barely crosses 80kmh in it but maybe it makes him look and feel young again.

Bottomline: to each, his own. Buy what suits your needs. That way, only you can determine the real value for your money. The Corolla is not a bad car. It does what it has to do exceptionally well, and better in some areas than competitor cars. It is not by any means crap that some are bent on making it seem. And its 'legendary reliability' attests to that. I can't say anything about the new Elantra because I simply don't know. But from what I've read here, I'm curious.

Postby sliderz1 » May 17th, 2013, 10:09 pm

Terran wrote:Bottomline: to each, his own. Buy what suits your needs. That way, only you can determine the real value for your money. The Corolla is not a bad car. It does what it has to do exceptionally well, and better in some areas than competitor cars. It is not by any means crap that some are bent on making it seem. And its 'legendary reliability' attests to that. I can't say anything about the new Elantra because I simply don't know. But from what I've read here, I'm curious.

i read your entire post, but to point out the above...is a Corolla really value for money?

with some others
a car + f.u. engines + 10 yrs worth of control arms still cost less than a comparable toyota :|