6%
2012 Elantra
94%

Total votes: 18

karimjas

2012 Corolla vs 2012 Elantra

Postby karimjas » October 14th, 2012, 1:22 pm

Hi taking into consideration the resale value of Toyota in Trinidad and internationally. The question rely is has Hyundai made a car (elantra) that can compete with Toyota. History has shown that Hyundai sedans have not been a liked model in Trinidad more so in relation to its resale value, However the Tucson models is one of the most purchase vehicles in Trinidad and Tobago. So my question is taking into consideration the features currently associated with the elantra would you by one in Trinidad.
Last edited by karimjas on October 17th, 2012, 5:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: 2012 Corolla vs 2012 Elantra

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 14th, 2012, 1:23 pm

toyota any day any time.

Postby S_2NR » October 14th, 2012, 1:29 pm

elantra..

toyota is boring

Postby BrotherHood » October 14th, 2012, 1:29 pm

The new Elantra is a hot stepper. Aesthetically, i's way better than the Corolla IMO. Functionability, i've never driven them so I cannot say. I know the fully loaded Corolla is way overpriced.

Elantra for me. Hyundai seems to have stepped up.

Postby noshownogo » October 14th, 2012, 1:31 pm

Drive both but try to drive the one you have a preference towards last.

Both are good cars, Toyota with their renowned reliability and Hyundai coming of age all round package at a competitive price.

Postby Les Bain » October 14th, 2012, 1:32 pm

Hyundai has really upped their game as far as design and overall quality, but I'd take a long time to eventually choose the Corolla. Current model is a visual sleeping tablet, but an important factor for me is Corolla models 20 and 30 plus years are still running.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » October 14th, 2012, 2:38 pm

Not too fond of the Corolla's looks this model.. but the benefits will outweigh that of the Elantra..
Toyota is the way... It's boring but reliable.

karimjas

Postby karimjas » October 14th, 2012, 3:22 pm

Toyota has a history of recalls although they have not rely affect us here locally, its models have been reliable in Trinidad. The question is do you all see hyundia becoming the fourth most reliable compact sedan in Trinidad with its new innovation and expressive styling incoporated with a six speed automatic transmission. Don forget its six airbags.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » October 14th, 2012, 3:41 pm

test drove both, bought the elantra.

for me it was an easy decision.

bang for buck the elantra is the car i choose

karimjas

Postby karimjas » October 14th, 2012, 3:47 pm

I am considering getting the elantra but people are saying that it has no resale value, however i am more concern with comfort, durability, safety, and honestly i find that the elantra has it, does any disagree with me please tell me why.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » October 14th, 2012, 4:21 pm

i agree with you

6 AIR BAGS
color reverse camera integreated into car, not an add on
dual climate controls
leather interior
trunk huge enuff to hold yuh entire wardrobe
suspension firm but not evo stiff
price.. cah go wrong
looks well i doh hadda say anything
realistically the features u get in the elantra you can't get in any other manufacturer for such a low price.
my only issue is no HID headlights ( can buy out of malyasia as it came standard on those cars)
and i find the high beams a shine alittle too high.. so i never use it. the low beams bright enuff

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » October 14th, 2012, 4:39 pm

d only problem i hah with elantra is dat d H emblem lil bit crooked and sheety lookin

badart

Postby badart » October 14th, 2012, 4:48 pm

how much does it cost to service the elentra at massy? they do a good job?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » October 14th, 2012, 4:48 pm

well on average it is about 600-700 every 5000k

karimjas

Postby karimjas » October 14th, 2012, 4:52 pm

That's a good question i personally do not know but a friend how has a i30 said he has had no problems servicing his vehicle their and that he don't find it expensive, his views not mind. If any body knows please share some info.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » October 14th, 2012, 4:53 pm

yea no complaints with massy. i know of 2 other ppl who service.. another elantra and xtrail and no complaints

Postby noshownogo » October 14th, 2012, 7:30 pm

Thing is, Honda, Toyota and Nissan are playing it safe while the Koreans were pushing to reinvent their brands.

About 10yrs ago we would have never thought that Hyundai would still be in our market today far less for producing highly recommended vehicles, even over some previous class leaders.

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » October 14th, 2012, 7:38 pm

noshownogo wrote:Thing is, Honda, Toyota and Nissan are playing it safe while the Koreans were pushing to reinvent their brands.

this statement is the truth! Hyundai today is nothing compared to the past except for their pricing! As far as I know, Hyundai hired German engineers to design some (if not all) the recent models (I'm sure about the i30). Very reliable cars as of late and I have a 2003 and the newer models like 2011 and up are miles ahead of the old models.

Postby cinco » October 14th, 2012, 7:39 pm

do people really consider resale?
you trying to tell me you prefer buy a mediocre car for 20000 more just to get back 20000 more when the used time comes?
im sorry but i prefer buy the car that provides me the most satisfaction in the time i am driving it

Postby sharkman121 » October 14th, 2012, 7:48 pm

cinco wrote:do people really consider resale?
you trying to tell me you prefer buy a mediocre car for 20000 more just to get back 20000 more when the used time comes?
im sorry but i prefer buy the car that provides me the most satisfaction in the time i am driving it

i agree soo much with this statement, ive always been saying this. Buy a car that YOU like, not for the resale, not what someone else likes. Well said 5.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » October 14th, 2012, 8:00 pm

cinco wrote:do people really consider resale?

Bingo!

karimjas

Postby karimjas » October 14th, 2012, 8:27 pm

so Cinco which vehicle would you choose corolla or elantra taking into consideration the facts, value and safety features?

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » October 14th, 2012, 8:31 pm

Corolla all the way

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » October 14th, 2012, 8:31 pm

I'm obviously biased to the Toyota, even though I admit the Elantra is a very good car. I would go with the Corolla (and I did, but RORO) based on safety, fuel economy, reliability and all the other good stuff that makes a Toyota a Toyota. And also since I bought a RORO it was cheaper too

If only they brought these in TTTL *sigh*

Postby S_2NR » October 14th, 2012, 8:39 pm

^ still boring

yawn*

Postby sharkman121 » October 14th, 2012, 8:41 pm

not too shabby, how much?

silva7

Postby silva7 » October 14th, 2012, 8:43 pm

I don't own either I own a suzuki but me personally I would buy the elantra, simply because of the price and the parts would be cheaper to buy at neal and massey. Toyota prices for parts are ridiculous.

silva7

Postby silva7 » October 14th, 2012, 8:44 pm

But don't get me wrong toyotas are very good vehicles.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » October 14th, 2012, 8:57 pm

Kongorealm wrote:
noshownogo wrote:As far as I know, Hyundai hired German engineers to design some (if not all) the recent models (I'm sure about the i30).

Had to be. The thing looks like a 1 series clone!!!

Postby sharkman121 » October 14th, 2012, 8:59 pm

DTAC wrote:
Kongorealm wrote:
noshownogo wrote:As far as I know, Hyundai hired German engineers to design some (if not all) the recent models (I'm sure about the i30).

Had to be. The thing looks like a 1 series clone!!!

dont matter, its stylish, sporty, elegant and bang for your buck :wink:

how much for the elantra model with the push to start and sunroof?